Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of hearing about green issues?

• 22-06-2008 01:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

Anybody else sick to the back teeth of hearing about 'Green' issues ?

I for one have really have had enough of Gormley et al, coming on the radio telling me I am a bad human and that I need to pay more tax in order to fix it.

For God sake people, the economy is in tatters, there are folks on our doorstep as well as across the world starving, our health system is a mess and all these clowns can do is tell me my heating the house is a bad thing ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The new Hulk is quite good I hear.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RobAMerc wrote:
    and all these clowns can do is tell me my heating the house is a bad thing ???
    well it is the middle of summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

RobAMerc wrote: »

I for one have really have had enough of Gormley et al, coming on the radio telling me I am a bad human and that I need to pay more tax in order to fix it.

For God sake people, the economy is in tatters, there are folks on our doorstep as well as across the world starving, our health system is a mess and all these clowns can do is tell me my heating the house is a bad thing ???

+1. Isn't it peculiar how every answer to "green" problems involves a tax? Long gone time when we should tell Gorgeous Gormley to get on his bike and ride away into the sunset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Just because you don't like hearing about "green issues" doesn't mean they're not issues.

I've never heard a politician tell me that heating my house is a bad thing. Maybe you mean they've been saying that inefficiently heating your house is a bad thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

ART6 wrote: »
    +1. Isn't it peculiar how every answer to "green" problems involves a tax? Long gone time when we should tell Gorgeous Gormley to get on his bike and ride away into the sunset.

Gormley needs to be done away with.
    For examole read this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055318085

A solution that is more green than any brought forward by Gormley and involves no punishment (read taxation) at all to the ordinary citizen. Yet our minister for the envoronment totally ignores it.

Everyone here should email every member of the Green Party and ask them WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I really just don't give a **** about that sort of stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Its the "Holier than thou" preachieness that grinds my gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I make a living out of selling renewable energy products.

Do i care.. that would be a yes.

If you had any sence you'd do the sums and realise all these measures are money saving for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

snyper wrote: »
    If you had any sence you'd do the sums and realise all these measures are money saving for you.

I have no issue with alternative energy sources (with the projected long term cost of oil, thats an no-brainer).

Its the hippies in socks and sandals tut tutting at the working class flying on holidays to Spain thats a sickener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

caoibhin wrote: »
    Its the hippies in socks and sandals tut tutting at the working class flying on holidays to Spain thats a sickener.

*Fires up ciggy*

Yup.. we should burn hippies.. they're carbon neutral i think

Yer man in Germany had the right idea i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Yes. I'm sick to the back teeth about people complaining about being asked to do something about problems they are contributing towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

+1. I'm sick to the back teeth of beardy bastards telling me how to live my life. I'd nearly cut down a load of trees just to sickin them even more.

* rant over *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭norbert64

you must be listening more intently than I am OP.

the last big green issue I recall was the banned lightbulbs thingy, there in the Spring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

When I'm back in Ireland, in 2 weeks, I'm gonna try do my bits for the environment.
    C'mon lads and gals, its not hard to recycle, sure it take an extra 2 minutes of your time, but this stuff is important, if we start doing it now then who knows, maybe the next generation will JUST DO IT!!

I'm gonna start with those new bulbs (provided they're still deemed safe), replace every bulb in the house with them, even if they save me a tenner a month on electricity, well, its a tenner saved and its better for the environment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 loozinfat

Yes, kind of like people whining about gas prices, when others are living in poverty and would give anything to live here with job, even it meant high gas prices.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Ok right so we live a totally luxurious life, able to afford the most ridiculous extravagances like throwing out a 3rd of the food we buy, drive everywhere, go on holiday etc.

This lifestyle is having a serious, negative impact not only on the state of our environment but also on the state of the environment in other countries where people can only dream about our wealth.Aad then people complain about having to hear about the damage they're doing?? The ignorance of this attitude is just mind-boggling. The environment doesn't belong to anyone else, it belongs to YOU.

Oh and taxes are mentioned alot because money is the only thing people in Ireland understand these days. And pollution costs money to clean up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

They're here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

I really just don't give a **** about that sort of stuff

Aww, that's nice. Thanks for posting :D

Do you like to throw crisp packets over your shoulder and toss cigarette butts out car windows?

ANYWAY, i am not sick of hearing about so called green issues at all. i think it's healthy for society to wake up and take responsibility for all the muck and waste and pollution it creates. Remember back 10 or 15 years when we were landfilling everything except bottles and milk cartons?

As a child i remember the weekly family refuse haul was 5 or 6 full black sacks (sometimes more) lined up against the wall by the front gate. When our telly went bang or an old bed needed to be dumped, we'd drag them up in the back of the car to Dunsink Tiphead and watch them tumble down into 40 foot deep pits where scavengers would pick through their booty, dodging falling rubbish with each precarious step.

Whether or not you care about the environment is really irrelevant. It's rightly here to stay as an issue. And while i don't agree with anyone being forced to upgrade their house's insulation, i think it's fair enough for any potential buyer of your house to be able to easily see how energy efficient it would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭colly10

+1 - The greens got my #1 because they do very good work locally, they'll never get a vote off me again, plenty of scientist dispute global warming anyway, they just don't get the press coverage because the media loves the disaster story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

colly10 wrote: »
    +1 - The greens got my #1 because they do very good work locally, they'll never get a vote off me again, plenty of scientist dispute global warming anyway, they just don't get the press coverage because the media loves the disaster story

You gave them a vote because they do good work in your locality but you'll never vote for them again. Why?

What 'good work' made you vote for them in the first place? And why lump all green issues under one "Global Warming" banner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I've said it before, even if you don't 'believe in global warming' - what's wrong with looking towards other means of cleaner energy generation - to avoid sulphur emissions, methane emissions, diesel particulates, nitrous oxides etc? I mean, do you want to live in a polluted hell-hole? A bit of effort is all it takes ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Glowing wrote: »
    what's wrong with looking towards other means of cleaner energy generation - to avoid sulphur emissions, methane emissions, diesel particulates, nitrous oxides etc?

Not to mention the fact that fossil fuels are not inexhaustible. They're gonna run out sooner or later, people may as well start beginning to adapt to the alternatives now.

I don't like hippies as much as the next man, but I don't understand why people would forgo the chance to not throw away money on e.g. uneconomical houses/appliances/vehicles, or live a more economical life in general, for the sake of giving two fingers to the Greens/hippies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,018 ✭✭✭✭fits

plenty of scientist dispute global warming anyway, they just don't get the press coverage because the media loves the disaster story

Like who?

Good luck in your search:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I got a list of all things that need to be recyled, now I chuck them in the black bin. The faster we kill this silly planet off the better.

Death to mankind I say!

I mean, do you want to live in a polluted hell-hole? A bit of effort is all it takes ......

Is the whole smog thing not better than it was in the early 90's? I had heard as well that the average earth temperature has been lower than average for the past 10 years, don't know how true it is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭RealEstateKing

+1. I'm sick to the back teeth of beardy bastards telling me how to live my life. I'd nearly cut down a load of trees just to sickin them even more.

* rant over *

This is priceless. We are talking about nothing less than the completete and utter destruction of our entire way of life if we dont wake up and do something about it, you dont have to be a 'hippy' to see that.

This global warming problem doesnt give a **** whether you're on the right or left, whether you're a hippy or a hedge fund manager, it's happening anyway.

Get used to it.

fits wrote: »
    Like who?

There was a petition of something like 30k scientists that said it was rubish/misinformed/grossly exadurated. I couldn't be bothered finding it because I don't care enough about the whole global warming debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Frester

ART6 wrote: »
    +1. Isn't it peculiar how every answer to "green" problems involves a tax? .

Actually there are a number of projects that just require people to walk and cycle as oppose to drive. Going green is a good thing in my opinion, you're saving money most of the time and the weather is better in third world contries leavig less Concern adds on TV! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

There was a petition of something like 30k scientists that said it was rubish/misinformed/grossly exadurated. I couldn't be bothered finding it because I don't care enough about the whole global warming debate

Is that the petition where most of the scientists are electronic engineers and the likes with almost none in a relevant field of expertise?
    The one where the "institute" that the survey is attributed to is actually a shed in someones back garden in some tiny town in the states?

That's the survey that keeps getting brought up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not sick of hearing about green issues but then I really like this planet.
    I understand that people are unwilling to part with their earnings but there is a lot you can do anyway.

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Well will any of you people take a walk outside now quickly? This weather is dire. I for one welcome global warming, especially in Ireland!

Mena wrote: »
    Well will any of you people take a walk outside now quickly? This weather is dire. I for one welcome global warming, especially in Ireland!

Ah for god's sake, what age are you, 2? Do you know anything about climate CHANGE at all? :rolleyes:

It's very likely that Ireland will get damper, cooler, during the winter. We'll have more vapour in the atmosphere, so more cloud cover. But we will get more extremes - higher temperatures in the summer, more rain, more storms etc. Hot, dry countries will likely get even hotter and drier. So what does that result in? More deaths, more drought, more food shortages.

You can put away your deck chair and rubber ring.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,379 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

You'd better get used to it: heavier rainfall is a result of global warming. Plus tell that to the islanders in the Pacific who will lose their homes due to rising sea levels.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/2219001.stm

The worst thing about it is they aren't the ones driving around their lovely new sprawling housing estates in their shiny SUVs, pumping out C02 like there's no tomorrow - that was us Westerners. As usual its the worst offendors that don't suffer.

Actually, I read an interesting article about Ecological Debt. The author stated that if you calculate the cost of the immense damage that global warming is being done to 'developing' countries by 'developed' countries, and factor in current debts in these countries, we end up owing them a feckload of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭carveone

cornbb wrote: »
    Not to mention the fact that fossil fuels are not inexhaustible. They're gonna run out sooner or later, people may as well start beginning to adapt to the alternatives now.

Just to be picky, I think fossil fuels aren't going to run out for a very long time. I believe the issue is peak export availability rather than the peak oil people keep talking about. I remember in '06 trying to convince people that export availability was the number to worry about and getting blank looks. The graph of available oil peaked in July 06 or thereabouts.

It's simple: production growth is flat, population growth is +75m/year, living expectations are rising very quickly in China/India/everywhere. Don't have to be a genius to figure out that as demand goes up and oil producing countries have to keep more of their own oil, cost skyrockets. I think the gap between production and demand for those who depend on imports is about 2%. In market terms that's a chasm.

Net oil exporters are absolutely awash with cash, which makes the situation worse - they invest in their own infrastructure and economies and subsidise fuel costs (China is less that 50 c/litre, middle east is less than 25c/litre), which causes more consumption of energy which drives prices up which gives more money to oil exporters which.... You see the problem.

Anyway, my point is that in 2006 I felt that we might be in serious trouble by 2015. Now I'm sure of it. I don't believe oil prices will ever fall significantly which will put our economy (and the US/Britain/Europe) into the crapper.

It makes financial sense to think about "green" issues and technology simply as a matter of self-preservation. It's about figuring out how to live the next 50 years without starving to death. Wish I'd bought land in Wicklow 15 years ago...
    I personally think global warming is a huge sideshow, distracting the world from more important issues like pollution, destruction of habitat, etc. I want to strangle "Green" politicians who twitter on about biofuels and wave power like it's a magic wand to solve the worlds problems. Ehhhh, Wrong.

Still, Ireland is much better off than the US could be. Imagine millions of people living 50 miles out in some bland exurban wilderness with no way of getting anywhere except in their SUV. Man, that's going to suck in 10 years time...

(Jaysus, I do go on a bit don't I!)

taconnol wrote: »
    The author stated that if you calculate the cost of the immense damage that global warming is being done to 'developing' countries by 'developed' countries, and factor in current debts in these countries, we end up owing them a feckload of money.

Good point. You can add that to the trillion dollars the US owes Africa for 200 years of unpair labour.

You're right about biofuels - total disaster. And yeah global warming isn't the most important enviromental issue.

Although I would say that as Ireland has the highest car usership stats in the world (ie we drive our cars more ethan anyone else in the world - even the Americans), I do think we're going to be in for a shock over the next few years. Interesting film on the topic: "End of Suburbia"

You're right about biofuels - total disaster. And yeah global warming isn't the most important enviromental issue.

Yep, I agree. There are going to be enough food shortages without us growing crops solely for transport.

No, we're not going to run out of fossil fuels overnight - peak gas is about 50 years behind peak oil, but there are enough reserves of coal to last us 250 years at the current usage rate (which will increase when oil reserves are limited). Coal is a filthy fuel however, with huge CO2, and sulphur outputs when burnt. A good carbon capture and sequestration process might enable us to utilise this coal without worsening our carbon dioxide concentrations.

Anyway, if we all keep driving the way we do, and consuming the way we do, we're fecked anyway despite what measures the government takes ....

I only heard this from my grandmother yeaterday but I was shocked by it, apparently America has loads of oil still and they just want to keep it! They are using other countries oil so they won't run out and then when it IS scarce they will sell it for a FORTUNE! :o

I do think we're going to be in for a shock over the next few years. Interesting film on the topic: "End of Suburbia"

That looks interesting, must google it. TG4's Fiorsceal has had some pretty inciteful (and depressing) films on over the last couple of years too. Ireland was really late to the 20th century urban sprawl scenario so whatever happens, I think we'll be OK. People can adapt to pretty much anything given a bit of time and a chance. I think we can be pretty cheerful about the future, especially in contrast to the 1980s when many were convinced nuclear armageddon was just a matter of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

carveone wrote: »
    I personally think global warming is a huge sideshow, distracting the world from more important issues like pollution, destruction of habitat, etc. I want to strangle "Green" politicians who twitter on about biofuels and wave power like it's a magic wand to solve the worlds problems. Ehhhh, Wrong.

Biofuels and wave power won't solve all the worlds problems, but they are hardly unimportant or irrelivant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishfeller

I think its fairly thick to say yis are sick of hearing about green issues. The whole pollution and global warming thing isn't going to have massive implications for our generation but it will have big implication for future generations. So think of yer grandchildren and greatgrandchildren.

carveone wrote: »
    That looks interesting, must google it. TG4's Fiorsceal has had some pretty inciteful (and depressing) films on over the last couple of years too. Ireland was really late to the 20th century urban sprawl scenario so whatever happens, I think we'll be OK. People can adapt to pretty much anything given a bit of time and a chance. I think we can be pretty cheerful about the future, especially in contrast to the 1980s when many were convinced nuclear armageddon was just a matter of time.

Yeah I mean I want to bury my head in the sand sometimes because it seems so daunting and depressing. It would be much easier to ignore it all and carry on my merry, consumeristic way. - that's true about nuclear armageddon, although having studied Soviet History, it was pretty close to being a reality. Another scare - acid rain.

thelordofcheese - yeah biofuels are important but basically we don't know what we're doing. The EU have set these crazy targets (they love targets) and we may be doing more harm than good. Last year the US diverted 1/5th of its total corn to biofuels*, leading to higher corn prices. We need to pull back, sit down, do the science & figure out the best way forward. We should be concentrating on waste biofuel (ie animal waste) and denser biofuels (wood), ie 2nd & 3rd generation biofuels before we jump on the bandwagon. At present the EU doesn't have enough land to produce all its biofuel so does that mean we bring it in from Indonesia, where they're chopping down the rainforest & destroying the last natural habitat of orangutans so we can pat ourselves on the back & keep driving our SUVs?

I've said it a million times - behaviour modification (ie cycle, don't drive) is the way to go but it isn't as sexy as biofuels or hydrogen cars or nuclear or wave power. No one's going to get as excited about insulation as they are about geothermal (ooh..geothermal...) We want the scientists to do it all for us.

* (not necessarily a bad thing, if you read Michael Pollans 'The Omnivore's Dilemma' - book on how EVERYTHING in the US is made out of corn. It's fed to cows, who arent' designed to eat it, cue: animal disease & overuse of antibiotics - scary)

I've said it a million times - behaviour modification (ie cycle, don't drive) is the way to go but it isn't as sexy as biofuels or hydrogen cars or nuclear or wave power. No one's going to get as excited about insulation as they are about geothermal (ooh..geothermal...) We want the scientists to do it all for us.

Yep, it's the boring things that make the biggest difference ...... !

Biofuels and wave power won't solve all the worlds problems, but they are hardly unimportant or irrelivant.

I didn't mean that really :) The thing about wave, wind and solar power is that they are intermittent. I will readily admit that I'm not sure how much power is going into the grid from the wind turbines. Wikipedia says 800MW. That's pretty damn impressive really, especially considering that energy is created without screwing over the rest of the world. However system peak winter demand is 5 to 6000MW.

I'm just saying that something is going to give. And it'll be our lifestyle. Hell, maybe it's all for the best that oil prices are the way they are. Don't need those carbon taxes now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

fits wrote: »
    Like who?

Read "The Skeptical Environmentalist" or "Cool It" by Bjorn Lomborg. He challenges the current view of global warming and is really well researched (about a third of the total pages of "Cool It" is his bibliography at the end).

From memory I think he pointed out that there has been a net gain of snow in the arctic, of the 20 subpopulations of polar bears only 1 or 2 are experiencing a decline in numbers and these are declining for reasons other than global warming, Kyoto will achieve practically nothing for enormous costs which would be better spent elsewhere, and freak weather events such as hurricanes only cause more damage today than they did 100 years ago because more houses are built along coastal areas.

We should be concentrating on waste biofuel (ie animal waste) and denser biofuels (wood), ie 2nd & 3rd generation biofuels before we jump on the bandwagon.

Sometimes this country is so great. It takes us so long to do anything that by the time we get around to it, the rest of the world has discovered that it was a bad idea in the first place. So we didn't contribute to the problem. Works for me!
    I've said it a million times - behaviour modification (ie cycle, don't drive) is the way to go

We want the quick fix now at zero price. Not going to happen I'm afraid. Still, just think of the great cycle tracks we'll have in 20 years time. The M50 cycle track. Yummy. And it'll be faster too :)

Ah for god's sake, what age are you, 2? Do you know anything about climate CHANGE at all? :rolleyes:

It's very likely that Ireland will get damper, cooler, during the winter. We'll have more vapour in the atmosphere, so more cloud cover. But we will get more extremes - higher temperatures in the summer, more rain, more storms etc. Hot, dry countries will likely get even hotter and drier. So what does that result in? More deaths, more drought, more food shortages.

You can put away your deck chair and rubber ring.
    You'd better get used to it: heavier rainfall is a result of global warming. Plus tell that to the islanders in the Pacific who will lose their homes due to rising sea levels.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/2219001.stm

The worst thing about it is they aren't the ones driving around their lovely new sprawling housing estates in their shiny SUVs, pumping out C02 like there's no tomorrow - that was us Westerners. As usual its the worst offendors that don't suffer.

Actually, I read an interesting article about Ecological Debt. The author stated that if you calculate the cost of the immense damage that global warming is being done to 'developing' countries by 'developed' countries, and factor in current debts in these countries, we end up owing them a feckload of money.

Sorry, that certainly cannot be right, if it was, they'd have called it global wetting.

Read a book will you?

I think the weather is affected differently depending on what part of the world you're in? Or else its something to do with something melting?

Increased temperature means more evaporation of water into the atmosphere and its gotta come dowm some time. Get ready for cloudy skies-alot of cloudy skies. Trust me-I just did a masters on this subject.

Edit: This is the case for Ireland anyway, although there will be some regional variations.