Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monday Millions

• 29-09-2008 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,896 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Anyone seen the prize structure for the new Monday Millions draw...am I the only one who thinks there being a bit tight seen as the Million dosen't roll over.....€500 for 5 numbers in worse than a slap of a wet fish...

In each Monday Million draw six numbers and a Bonus number will be drawn from the numbers 1 to 39 inclusive. The prize amount payable for each Monday Million draw is fixed. To win a prize in any draw, the numbers matched must be on one line. The following are the prize categories and prize amounts for the Monday Million Draws.

Match 6 Numbers – Win €1,000,000
    Match 5 Numbers and the Bonus Number - Win €10,000
    Match 5 Numbers – Win €500:mad::mad::mad:

Match 4 Numbers and the Bonus Number - Win €100
    Match 4 Numbers – Win €25
    Match 3 Numbers and the Bonus Number - Win €10
    Match 3 Numbers – Win €3 scratch card

Of cource all will be forgiven if I win tonight:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

The €500 for matching 5 numbers is really scabby.

But the good thing about the game is that if more than one person gets all 6 numbers, then each person gets a million each unlike the lotto which is divided equally.

The same principle applies to all winning combinations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This is not the SVP. :rolleyes:
    Lotto = Taxation on stupidity.

Lotto = millions fundraised for charitable causes, sports clubs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Are you all pensioners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,896 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

kraggy wrote: »

But the good thing about the game is that if more than one person gets all 6 numbers, then each person gets a million each

I never knew that, not so bad then after all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

But the good thing about the game is that if more than one person gets all 6 numbers, then each person gets a million each unlike the lotto which is divided equally.

Only up to 5 people. If more then that win and 5 million gets split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

This is not the SVP. :rolleyes:
    Lotto = Taxation on stupidity.

Well it is and it isn't. Statistically, you're very unlikely to make money off the lotto. You're far more likely to make money using boring saving or by betting on Manchester United at 1/1000 to beat Covington Trucking & Haulage FC in the 3rd round of the FA cup.

But the point is that while you're far more likely to make money off the low yield safe bets, you will never get rich off them. Ever. There is the tiniest possibility that you will win the lotto if you play.

That's the attraction. The idea that your life could change instantly. Plus it's fairly cheap really. I mean playing the lotto week in, week out could simply mean forgoing one extra pint at the weekend. And then every draw there is always the chance, however small, that your numbers will come up and you'll be rich.

Are you all pensioners?

No that's the Telly Bingo crowd...

I blew all my cash on hookers and coke at the weekend and now halifax as looking for their pound of flesh....Can't speak for the other fellas but that's why I need to win the lotto tonight....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

anyone one else sick of playing the lotto and not winning. Has anyone heard sharing is caring:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Damomanye

what time is the draw on?, cant see it on any listings:confused:

Vain wrote: »
    anyone one else sick of playing the lotto and not winning.

I am. Just the feeling as your heart slowly sinks and you look at your life and realise how much better it would be with a few extra 0's in it :(

1 million would set me up for life. I have a job, but dont want it. I have no hopes or dreams. I just want my own house, an A-Team van and a full drivers license. That way no one can bitch and moan at me to "do something with your life".

I am doing something with my life.. But i dont want to! :mad:

Damomanye wrote: »
    what time is the draw on?, cant see it on any listings:confused:

Thats a good question... anyone know? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,546 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Thats a good question... anyone know? :o
    Maybe its been fixed earler on in a secluded secure studio like the last special draw they had!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

I think it was just on now on telly 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,623 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

8:27 on TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

you know th funny thing is if you win this tonight you may not have a bank to stick it in tomorrow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

you know th funny thing is if you win this tonight you may not have a bank to stick it in tomorrow :D
    Was saying that myself about the euromillions myself. IF you won the €130 million and the banks went bust, at least you'd have €100,000 safe. Haha.

Gold ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Forky wrote: »
    Was saying that myself about the euromillions myself. IF you won the €130 million and the banks went bust, at least you'd have €100,000 safe. Haha.

Gold ftw.

You couldn't even stick it in t-bills these days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

do you have to buy tickets for this or will saturdays one do

You've to buy a ticket...

One number for me... bastards :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Lotto = millions fundraised for charitable causes, sports clubs etc.

My arse, you should see what they're funding. Seriously, they used to show it on telly till they got so many complaints about the absolute wastage of money....ffs, childline get **** all off the cnuts, but everyone involved in it drives mighty nice cars.... wheres run-to-the-hills when ye need him/her

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    My arse, you should see what they're funding. Seriously, they used to show it on telly till they got so many complaints about the absolute wastage of money....ffs, childline get **** all off the cnuts, but everyone involved in it drives mighty nice cars.... wheres run-to-the-hills when ye need him/her

Check the walls of your local GAA clubs, facilities for the mentally ill etc and you're bound to see some signs stating "with the assistance of the National Lottery".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

carlybabe1 wrote: »

f uck all minus f uck all = €0. Thats what they'd get if there was no lotto. Theres more charities than Childline. It also goes to fund sprts and other community projects.

As for people driving nice cars, would you run a multi million euro company/industry for a pittance if you could get 6 figure wages elsewhere for the same job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,546 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Check the walls of your local GAA clubs, facilities for the mentally ill etc and you're bound to see some signs stating "with the assistance of the National Lottery".
    My local GAA club is a facility for the mentally ill

I won a €3 scratch card on the Monday Millions...Got myself a Winning streak with the winnings and won €5, now i'm running out to get 2 telly bingos before the 11 cut off time...

WooHooo.....come on Tuesday, be good to me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Went to check the numbers on the TV3 text around 10pm last night and they had a message up saying they wouldn't be available until tomorrow....what a shower of amateurs. only got 1 feckin number as well :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

I know, I fcuking hate that. Last friday my Da won 277 yoyo on Euromillions, One more number and he would have got about 9million or something like that!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭hippiechickie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,628 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

It looks like the only draw worth doing is Euromillions. The odds on all of the Irish games do not reflect the prize fund or odds when compared to other countries. We've a FF government with supposed centre-left leanings who are thoroughly infected with the PD virus even though the original host organ is now dead. And our national Lottery reflects this: - both in its array of funding recipients and in its prize structure. Look at the Spanish lottery and how it dazzles a community and enriches MANY players in smaller ways, many being able to buy an apartment etc with 70k winnings. Not bad for ex-fascists! We, however, have one person winning 4-€14m, which is plain stupid.

The Monday Million perfectly encapsulates the window-dressing / spin-doctory times we are living in. Tonight, no one won the top prize. of course, it doesn't roll over. God forbid. 2 lucky individuals won €10k. And after that, the prizes and total payouts resemble a local GAA lotto. This National Lottery outfit have one more year to milk us idiots and, fair play to them, they are giving it a good shake. Notice how the Monday Million was won in the 1st game, but not since. Notice how Irish national lottery prizes strangely creep up to monumental proportions, then when won, the next draw (€1.5m ish) is almost always won again!! To warm away those dampened spirits.

The French scratch-card system was proven to be fixed by the marketing boys. Does anyone reading this (I welcome experts' opinions to underpin or rip apart my bitter reflections) think that, with 15 minutes prior to draw time,that numbers can not be chosen to best suit sales drives in certain regions? To suit Quickpicks, Pluses, Multiplays etc etc. Of course it can. yer average Dell couldn't be exported to Saddam and they can't manage draw outcomes?

Purely suppositional material, you understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

An Ri rua wrote: »
    Look at the Spanish lottery and how it dazzles a community and enriches MANY players in smaller ways, many being able to buy an apartment etc with 70k winnings. Not bad for ex-fascists! We, however, have one person winning 4-€14m, which is plain stupid.

Sure the Irish Lotto could give four or five people half a million every draw instead of one person 2 million, but I could almost guarantee you the number of players would fall. Part of the appeal of the Lotto is that if you win, your troubles are over and you'll never have to work again. You don't get that "instantly rich" factor with half a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭HelloJellyFish

I like playing the lotto and mostly the Monday Millions, your odds of winning is bigger....:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lotto Fun

Very true, and all the odds plus analysis available here: http://www.lottoresults.ie/analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 alex23

In Italy you can win 1 milion on the scratch cards with only 2 euros and about 10 people per month do win.Then there are loads of other prizes,as cars,holidays,etc.I buy scratch cards for the past 8 years in Ireland and the maximum i ever won was 10€.My mother in law plays since 1960 and she never ever won more than 10€.In Romania i know 3 people who won cars on scratch cards.They charge 3 euros per scratch card and they dont even give you 3 stars so you can hope for the tv show.Its nuts.I bet if you buy 100 scratch cards in a row only about 10% will have 3 stars and maybe 5 will have 10 euros.It cost them 2000€ for 100k scratch cards.They will sell it for 300k but the prizes are around 20k,some business!

39C6 chance of winning, eh

oh well sure if it's only a euro might give it a go, even 25 quid would be welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

You either win or you don't so you have a 50/50 chance of winning.

Logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

We'll put this old thread to sleep on that note ^^