Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you deal with Teenage Troublemakers

• 07-01-2009 07:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi

I'm a 25 year old girl from Korea. I'm only 5'0 so quite small and slim.

This is a problem in that I find myself a prime target for Teenage Boys.

I've been attacked twice before by teenagers. Once was just a robery and the other was an actual physical attack which was luckily eventually interupted by passer by.

Both attacks were when I was walking home between 6-7pm.

After these attacks I'm really scared when I walk near teenage boys.

Today I had an encounter at a bus stop in Tallaght where 5 boys in their late teens where being very aggressive towards me.

Two of them stood in front of me singing into my face and another was at the side goading at me into my ear and at my bag on my back.

I just stood frozen in fear. I couldn't do at thing. They were others at the bus stop but the didn't do anything...not even look my way.

Eventually the lads lost interest and proceeded too shout at other people and hit them on the head and punch some of them in the stomach. Eventually when their bus came a long the all ran aboard without paying.. the bus driver just ignored them.

I'm afraid now of walking home from work in the evening. I can't even stand a bus stop without fear of some of these teenagers coming along.

I find that the guards in this country don't seem too want too do anything against them either.

I dunno what too do. How do you deal with these people? Is there anyway I can keep myself safe. I'm just in total fear now.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

How do you deal with these people? Is there anyway I can keep myself safe. I'm just in total fear now.

If there is a way of dealing with scumbags like that, I don't know what it is.
    Personally, I wouldn't think that Tallaght is the safest place to live.
    I lived in Ballyfermot for 6 years and couldn't wait to move because of knackers like this.
    I moved.
    If it is at all possible, I'd suggest you find a nicer place to live and work.
    If you cannot do that, get a friend to walk with you to the bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

You have my sympathy, it's a horrible feeling, I know. I'm a 22yo male, but I wouldn't be considered intimidating by any means, especially in my earlier teens. And I was never able to cope with such confrontation, I'd sooner cry than do anything proactive usually!

But I've gotten a little older, and a little less concerned. It's a mentality I think that saves you a bit. Of course I'm still afraid of these confrontations, but I think if I'm going down I'm taking someone with me. If you're confident about yourself you'll do better, fear is easy to read and if they get that they will be at you forever.

In terms of what you can actually do, I would recommend one of those personal alarms, and a can of mace. Tbh while you're right, the guards seem to not care, it's more a case that they can't seem to police it effectively. But I promise you if you blind one of them the cop that arrives on scene will probably shake your hand.

Are you actually living in Tallaght? Do you use have a regular schedule of public transport for work? You might find someone on the same schedule as you, that's at the same stop as you each day, maybe strike up a conversation and befriend someone that's in the same situation as you, strength in numbers you know?

I'm sorry I can't give anything better, maybe someone else will, but it's a very hard situation and the only real solution is to take yourself out of that place, but that's not always an option I know...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Where in Tallaght is this?

The only thing that I can recommend is that you learn to drive.

I'm in Tallaght and have had my fair share of ''experiences'' walking to and from work and/or getting buses. It all stops when you have to walk 6 feet from your door and into a car, you bypass all the scum:)

You'd be surprised how little a car (albeit crap) + insurance would be for a 25 girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Heya Op. That's a horrible experience you've had here in Ireland. It makes me very sad to read such stories.

I'm about the same height as you, I'm very small too and am an easy target for such scumbags. You actually can help yourself in this situation though. Of course you're scared, nobody likes being confronted this way and the fact that you've been physically attacked is certainly going to have you shaken. Watch how you respond to these people though. Often, if a person is loud and confident, fools like the ones descirbed above are more apprehensive about bothering you. Watch your body language too. As soon as they begin to taunt you, face them straight on, look at them and try to difuse the situation.

This happened to me recently, with two traveller girls. I was actually working at the time so there was little I could do so I made the best of a bad situation. They were shouting in my face, threatening me etc, I faced them both straight on and pretended I'd misheard what they said ;) I asked them to repeat what they'd said, gave them a huge smile and looked them straight in the eye. The first girl smiled back and started to walk away, gave me a wave and all. The second one started walking backways, still mouthing off but visibly blushing. I'd completely diffused the situation and when they seen I wasn't scared OR defensive towards them, they hadn't a clue how to react.

I'm not saying this is foolproof. Obviously I was lucky but I'm faced with situations where I'm confronted every single day (nature of my job sadly) by scumbags, junkies, drunks etc.. Sometimes the best solution is to just be brave, don't be aggressive, don't get defensive. They behave this way in order to get a reaction, preferably a frightened or intimidated one. If you find yourself in another situation like this, keep your head up. If one of them speaks to you, hold eye contact and answer as calmly as you can. Smile BEFORE the threats come. They don't have a clue what to do.

I probably sound crazy but if you're faced with a threat and you can't run away, best thing to do is try and diffuse it. So watch how you look at them, watch your body language and watch how the people around you are responding.

That advice only really applies to verbal abuse and threats. Unfortunately you described some physical abuse there and once it's gotten to this stage it is too late to try diffuse it. If you find yourself being physically attacked by a gang like this again, scream, shout, sing if you have to, just bring as much attention to it as possible. People DO notice when stuff like your attacks happen but unless they're faced with an actual plea for help, very few people try to intervene.

Again, in relation to physical abuse. Do try to avoid the bus stop alone. I know myself when you're tiny and timid it can be damn hard not to become a target. Best thing is to get mouthy (not cheeky!) when you have to. Open body language, loud responses, etc Always keep credit on your phone and call the guards and actually log these incidents. Even if you think it's pointless, don't stop trying.

Good luck OP. It can be awful when you're faced with this everyday. All that I've said here is really just a short term solution. If you're very scared and very unhappy, leave the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

drive a car even if its only a lil Matiz, but preferably something with tinted windows. people driving cars rarely get any trouble from scumbags. i'd know the village near me is packed to the brim with that sort of scummers, any time i walked there i got hassle from them but driving through it is grand

public transport also serves as a hangout a lot of the time for these sort of muppets. especially on a bus to an unpopular destination (like knocknaheeney in cork)

can you even buy pepper spray and the likes legally in ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

yes when i hear this stuff i feel ashamed to be irish, and i grew up around this cowardly malarkey..

as said above you can only try to project confidence when it's groups of them, it's usually one Ahole trying to show off to his mates... you may take solace in the fact he'll end up strung out/in jail/shot dead in a few years..

definitely report EVERY incident to the gardai.. they might not be able to do much.. but they might send the guards on the beat past your busstop a bit more often..

it's a shame we're having to advise people to clog up the roads with more cars just for safety.. if i ever was nearby i'd certainly help you..

would you take a self defence course??, if you knocked the main bully to the ground with a throw I guarantee you his mates will be too busy laughing at him to go near you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Mirror wrote: »
    In terms of what you can actually do, I would recommend one of those personal alarms, and a can of mace.
    Id agree but im not sure of the legal situation with mace and pepper spray in ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Overheal wrote: »
    Id agree but im not sure of the legal situation with mace and pepper spray in ireland.
    yes my apologies there, i didn't look into the legalities on mace etc., it may not be legal in this country. the personal alarms are though, and are RIDICULOUSLY loud, would be a good deterrent i imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

its a shame really. Stun Guns can be a lot of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CONMIKE12

Sorry to hear about your experience.Ireland, just like every other country in the world has it's socially deprived scumbags who gang together to give themselves a feeling of belonging and power, that they have not felt in their normal lives.Thats how gangs form.
    You were an easy target who was unlikely to fight back. You can't protect yourself against such things unless you meet fire with fire, and even a fully grown man against five or six 16 years olds, won't fair too well. They hunt in packs like the hyenas, who can take the food from the lions mouth, purely by being a gang.
    If you can move do so, but if your're at those bustops cos you work in the square or tallaght hospital, then that would mean a change of jobs too.Such a shame these misguided youths have such a negative effect on a persons life.You'll never forget what happened, they have done so allready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Where in Tallaght is this?

The only thing that I can recommend is that you learn to drive.

I'm in Tallaght and have had my fair share of ''experiences'' walking to and from work and/or getting buses. It all stops when you have to walk 6 feet from your door and into a car, you bypass all the scum:)

You'd be surprised how little a car (albeit crap) + insurance would be for a 25 girl.

This was actually the bus stop right in front of the Tallaght square, the one near the Luas where there are usually a lot of people.

I have thought about getting a car. But it is a pity all the same cos its like giving them power over my life. Ive always used public transport and now i have to get a car to be safe... it seems unfair

I was surprised when i heard that pepper spray is illegal in Ireland.
    Having any dog like the ones you have mentioned above would definilty keep those teens away from me but i cant bring it to work.. so i think what ill do is go to another bus stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

there's plenty of room on the road for cars but thats not the point nobody should have to drive one for that reason. i'd almost advise carrying around a nice .177 pellet gun just in case however illegal it might be if you're going to be walking around in these places.

i never saw any kind of scummers in korea. i'm sure there must be a few but even late at night it was very safe. the only trouble makers were british drunkards who were sent over there for work. a drunk guy could be laying on the street asleep and nobody would take any notice but here he wouldnt last too long before someone would come along starting **** with him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This was actually the bus stop right in front of the Tallaght square, the one near the Luas where there are usually a lot of people.

I have thought about getting a car. But it is a pity all the same cos its like giving them power over my life. Ive always used public transport and now i have to get a car to be safe... it seems unfair
    I assume you're getting either the 77, 65, 65B, 50 down into Jobstown/Killinarden area?

If so, instead of going to that bus stop, exit the square on the ground level and walk to the village (past McDonalds and the Garda station down past the Abberly) and get one of those buses near the I.T, it's really not that much of a walk. Or alternatively walk to the previous stop before the Square and get the bus outside the Hospital. The stop you're talking about isn't pretty, but it's a lot better than it used to be, before all the apartments and luas was there!

If you're getting a bus from the other side of the road, then you might be better off waiting at the stops inside the square instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭mike o

i'm 17 and my normal strategy is sarcasm,it will either confuse them enough so they go away or provoke them enough so the will take a swing,it allows me to take the moral highground.

Oh did i forget to mention that i am 6'3 and look like someone who was raised with gorrillas?

A bloody protective dog? Christ...

Just move to a better area. Rents are coming down and if you like you could also house-share which is alot cheaper. While you may end up with annoying housemates, your chances of getting attacked will be close to nil.

I can't understand why you moved there in the first place to be honest..:confused:
    I mean, if you had to move to California, you wouldn't live in Compton..

mike o wrote: »
    i'm 17 and my normal strategy is sarcasm,it will either confuse them enough so they go away or provoke them enough so the will take a swing,it allows me to take the moral highground.

Oh did i forget to mention that i am 6'3 and look like someone who was raised with gorrillas?

that's not much help to a slight girl on her own, neither is taking the moral highground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭mike o

i understand that,but the question was how do you deal with teenage troublemakers,so in the interest of validating my seemingly useless post i shall make a suggestion.
    aim low-run fast,that advice was given to me when i was being bullied by people who where bigger than me,i just aimed for the guy i thought was in charge and delivered a size nine to the......ok,i'm guessing you get where.It may not be applicable in this situation but as a last resort,and i mean last resort,it worked for me the one time i had to do it,and i promise you,a swift kick there will normally give you enough time to run,against a group of people however i have no idea how this would turn out though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Deadeyes

I'm surprised no one has mentioned self-defence classes. Naturally you wouldn't try to use it against a gang of lads, but it might give you more confidence in other situations knowing that you can take care of yourself if the worst happens.
    You shouldn't have to change your life because of scumbags but if you can do something like moving or getting a car then it might be for the best.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    I can't understand why you moved there in the first place to be honest..:confused:
    I mean, if you had to move to California, you wouldn't live in Compton..
    No, I dont live there and I hope i never have to either. I live in Blessington but i do have to go to Tallaght for my work..thus the bus.

Hey Mizzlolly, that method u used in you situation is something i would never have thought off and it is a great idea. Im not too sure if i would be able to pull it off like you but i will definiltely keep it in mind :)

Deadeyes, i think taking self defence class is a brilliant idea. I might not be able to use it but it would help built more confidence in myself. Ill have a look around and see what is available around my area.

How exactly do you get the dogs onto the bus?

No, I dont live there and I hope i never have to either. I live in Blessington but i do have to go to Tallaght for my work..thus the bus.

Ah, thats terrible. Maybe you could cycle it? Or is that too far? Don't really know the geography of the area. Maybe the other bus stops idea is your better option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Messed Up Mind

That's one of the worst bus stops in Tallaght. I've seen some people writing into the Tallaght Echo to complain about it. I'd advise going to another bus stop. The one that Magic Marker recommended in the village would be okay, but a closer one, just across from the hospital would be good too. I hope you don't experience any more trouble. Dublin's a nice place apart from the trouble makers.

And hey, less of the comments equating Tallaght to Compton please from other posters. I've lived there all my life and have never had any trouble from anyone. There's trouble in all areas no matter how good or bad they are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And hey, less of the comments equating Tallaght to Compton please from other posters. I've lived there all my life and have never had any trouble from anyone. There's trouble in all areas no matter how good or bad they are.
    How true that is.

*Mod hat on*, ease up on the stereotypes folks. I've damn good mates in Tallaght, so maybe I'm being biased, but then aren't we all....

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Mod hat on*, ease up on the stereotypes folks. I've damn good mates in Tallaght, so maybe I'm being biased, but then aren't we all....

I've good mates there too, but it's still rough and I don't think the reputation is undeserved. Plenty of sound people there, but there's a higher chance of getting hassle than in Donnybrook or Ballsbridge. I've been in the OP's position a few times. It sucks, but the only thing you can really do is try to avoid the dodgy bus stops, even if it means going out of your way a bit by using a different stop or taking a detour. And of course walk around like you own the place and with a sourpuss look on your face - it really helps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 localnutjob

gassing them and their parents would be a start .

sorry to hear this , marry a big man maybe ?

or carry a heavy umbrella and beat the head off the first one that comes near you .

these kind of people only repect having extreme violence doled out to them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

localnutjob please ease up on the Nazi angle and general violence aspect. It's against the charter and hardly helpful for a 5 foot lady. Infracted. Only warning

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

sending a 5 foot nothing korean girl to self-defence classes isn't really going to solve anything, if she laid a hand or sprayed mace at these cretins they'd lay the boot into her until she was dead or on a life support machine, this is what happens, no regard for life anymore. Just move if you can, no one should have to put up with that but for some reason Ireland and the UK have a huge population of these kind of untermenschen compared with other countries, god knows why, maybe it's the bad weather or the drink or who knows what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Taking into account what you've said here OP my suggestion is

1) Change the bus stop you use.
    2) If changing the bus stop means that the bus is quite full when it gets to you, do not sit upstairs.

Also, with regard to other peoples reactions, they're just as afraid of physical retort from these guys as you are.

There is no real way to deal with scum like that but avoidance. There is no need to feel defeated by avoiding them just think of it as the best course of action you have available to you.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    sending a 5 foot nothing korean girl to self-defence classes isn't really going to solve anything, if she laid a hand or sprayed mace at these cretins they'd lay the boot into her until she was dead or on a life support machine, this is what happens, no regard for life anymore. Just move if you can, no one should have to put up with that but for some reason Ireland and the UK have a huge population of these kind of untermenschen compared with other countries, god knows why, maybe it's the bad weather or the drink or who knows what.

I don't think the suggestion of self defence classes is to encourage her to start fights with these people. She's been physically attacked before so naturally enough she's petrified of them, self defence classes might make her feel more confident, and in turn may make her seem like less of a target. And of course, if she was attacked again, she'd be better off with a few self defence classes behind her than nothing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

The idea behind taking up self defense is not just about being able to physically defend yourself or start fights. Violence should always be a last resort. What martial arts can give you is an increased confidence and this in turn means people like this are much less likely to mess with you. I personally am not big nor do I look tough, but I've never once had anyone try to start any of this kind of crap with me, and there is nowhere in Dublin that I avoid going. People subconconciously pick up on the way you carry yourself, and lack of confidence/fear can make you look like a victim.

For the op, given you are Korean, I would definetly recommend taking up Tae Kwon Do - you will be fitter, healthier, better able to handle yourself should the worst come to the worst. But also, the confidence martial arts training can give you will make it far less likely that these incidents will re-occur.

Hey everyone,

I have taken up you advice and got the bus at another stop today and there was no problem at all. I did not know that that the bus stop in front of the squre had such a bad reputation. I know it now so i wont go back ther in a hurry :)

Several of you have mentioned taking up self defense class, i am thinking of doing so, not so much for figthing but more to built my confidence. At this stage i get an uncontrollable fear everytime i see a group of young teenagers coming my way so self defense classes would help me get over this fear.

As for getting a dog, it would be a good idea if i was living in the area but i dont. And i cant very well bring it to work and im not sure if u can bring big dogs on the bus. But it is true that i would feel so much safer if u had a dog by your side while walking about.

Thanx for all your posts everyone. They have all been very helpful and you all made me feel so much better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

call into your local guards office and make a complaint. even if it does nothing if everyone did it, when there was a problem they might drive past that bus stop more often.

ask the people at the bus stop to help you if that happens again. maybe they might side with you and ask them to stop. there is strength in numbers.
    it will shame them anyway, and they deserve to be ashamed for not speaking out.

if it helps at all, i witnessed a terrible attack last year on an irish guy in a chip shop, and i a girl was the only person to stand up and help. he didnt do anything except ask someone to stop kicking a door. grown men watched me standing up to these nut jobs and only the fact that i screeched and roared and made a huge fuss saved both of us as finally some people were shamed into helping! however i am a fairly substantial strong girl so i dont recommend this for you.

its probably not because you are korean, if you werent there, it would be someone else.

glad you found an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

estar wrote: »
    if it helps at all, i witnessed a terrible attack last year on an irish guy in a chip shop, and i a girl was the only person to stand up and help. he didnt do anything except ask someone to stop kicking a door. grown men watched me standing up to these nut jobs and only the fact that i screeched and roared and made a huge fuss saved both of us as finally some people were shamed into helping! however i am a fairly substantial strong girl so i dont recommend this for you.

That's because the majority of guys (not all) would hesitate to hit a girl intervening in such a situation.
    MizzLolly wrote:
    If one of them speaks to you, hold eye contact and answer as calmly as you can. Smile BEFORE the threats come. They don't have a clue what to do.

This is very true, body language in general is huge, the way your palms are facing or the way your arms are positioned can totally change the impression someone gets off you.

Holding eye contact and smiling would demand some good confidence though.

Smiling tells another person you are non-threatening and asks them to accept you on a personal level, it is a submission signal, so it would confuse the hell out of most people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Terodil

Self-defense classes... mmh. I don't think it'd work because of the asymmetry of the conflict described.

The fact that you know self-defense tactics is all good and well but it can lure you into a false sense of confidence. Confidence doesn't help you if that gets you into an arms race. Who is to say that the attackers aren't carrying knives or makeshift weapons (e.g. broken bottles). Since it's almost exclusively several people ganging up on a single victim you are always outnumbered *and* face the threat of hidden weaponry... no no. I'd rather stick with switching stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Hey OP, any chance that this story might be related?

If so, maybe with the media interest, the guards might do more now.

If there is no improvement, can you possibly move to a different (safer) part of Dublin. This is not Tallaght bashing, but even my friends from there will tell you that it's not exactly the safest suburb.