Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting a car in the States

• 18-01-2009 11:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭

I am looking to rent a car in the States in a few months time for 4 days - one day either side of a drive from San Fran to Vegas.

I've been looking around, and most the sites say something like "Ford Mustang or similar". The "similar" bit is worrying me, as it could easily be something like a convertible PT cruiser or Chrysler Sebring you end up with instead, which would be a pisser. I am more than happy with an auto, and it doesn't even have to handle particularly well - I'd just like a cool car that I probably won't have a chance to drive over here.

So, what's the best way to get the nicest car in the range? I imagine it makes sense to go to the bigger rental offices that will have a bigger selection - e.g. the airport, but aside from that I am not sure. I think if I book it now, there is no guarantee what I will end up with.

Also, if there are any other handy tips you might have - like what rental options and insurance to go for, and what ones to ignore etc, I'd be most grateful.

thanks,

Eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,442 ✭✭✭✭unkel

eoin wrote: »
    most the sites say something like "Ford Mustang or similar". The "similar" bit is worrying me, as it could easily be something like a convertible PT cruiser or Chrysler Sebring you end up with instead, which would be a pisser.

They're all sh1t. I had a Sebring over there and it was the worst car I have ever driven (in 23 years). You stand a good chance though in renting a performance European car over there for relatively good value. Google a bit more :D

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

As for insurance, I tend to get the works anyway when I'm on holidays. When I was over in Florida, it was for work, so I made sure I got myself covered and I claimed my expenses back from the company

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

If you don't book it now, they will absolutely ride you if you do not book and walk up.

I always rent from Hertz in the US. Whenever I rent I book the class of car in advance. It always says "Ford Mondeo or Similar". That is just the group. I got a pontiac G6 the last time. What happens is they tell you what cars they have in that group and you pick. Of course they always try to upsell you to the next group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

I am looking to rent a car in the States in a few months time for 4 days - one day either side of a drive from San Fran to Vegas.

I've been looking around, and most the sites say something like "Ford Mustang or similar". The "similar" bit is worrying me, as it could easily be something like a convertible PT cruiser or Chrysler Sebring you end up with instead, which would be a pisser. I am more than happy with an auto, and it doesn't even have to handle particularly well - I'd just like a cool car that I probably won't have a chance to drive over here.

So, what's the best way to get the nicest car in the range? I imagine it makes sense to go to the bigger rental offices that will have a bigger selection - e.g. the airport, but aside from that I am not sure. I think if I book it now, there is no guarantee what I will end up with.

Also, if there are any other handy tips you might have - like what rental options and insurance to go for, and what ones to ignore etc, I'd be most grateful.

thanks,

Eoin

I booked a convertible with Hertz from San Fran (Mason Street). Specifically requested a Sebring (whats wrong with a Sebring..?!) but when we went to pick up on a Sunday morning they had NO convertibles!!! Anyway after about an hour and a half or so they gave us some Toyota convertible which was grand ut not what i was looking for.

It seems that,, if the time of pick up isnt an issue, pick up a bit later in the day (especially at weekends) as the arriving rentals will be back in - and call them early and ask them to contact u when a Mustang arrive - Weekdays will be better for choice of cars

Vegas is some drive from San Fran - bring coffee

drkpower wrote: »
    Specifically requested a Sebring

Are you a US citizen?
    drkpower wrote: »
    whats wrong with a Sebring..?

Everything :D

It's a total piece of sh1t. It wobbles all over the place even when driven gently on perfectly straight roads. The build quality is probably worse than 70s soviet Ladas. Panel fit is the worst I have ever seen. The only good thing about the car is that the air conditioning system works. That said, the air con is louder than a jet aircraft. The one I drove 7 years ago was supposed to have a 2.7 V6 petrol engine, but it felt more like a 1.6

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

unkel wrote:
    They're all sh1t. I had a Sebring over there and it was the worst car I have ever driven (in 23 years). You stand a good chance though in renting a performance European car over there for relatively good value. Google a bit more :D

I will google more, but I do have a real soft spot for the Mustang! I'm sure a big Merc is great and all, but the idea doesn't do much for me I'm afraid.

There was a link to some more exotic car rentals recently enough here, but they were pretty pricey as you can imagine.
    Bond-007 wrote:
    If you don't book it now, they will absolutely ride you if you do not book and walk up.

I always rent from Hertz in the US. Whenever I rent I book the class of car in advance. It always says "Ford Mondeo or Similar". That is just the group. I got a pontiac G6 the last time. What happens is they tell you what cars they have in that group and you pick.

I get the concept of the grouping of cars all right, that's what worries me! A PT cruiser would not be my idea of a similar car to a mustang.

I'll probably book early and just hope that there will be a half decent selection. It would take a bit of the shine off the holiday to be in a real mundane yoke though.
    drkpower wrote:
    It seems that,, if the time of pick up isnt an issue, pick up a bit later in the day (especially at weekends) as the arriving rentals will be back in - and call them early and ask them to contact u when a Mustang arrive - Weekdays will be better for choice of cars

Vegas is some drive from San Fran - bring coffee

Thanks - we are doing it over 2 days, we'll be taking our time. The late pickup sounds like a good idea.

If they bollox around and don't have what you want, insist on a better car free. Hertz are good for free upgrades when they are pushed. If they won't pay ball go elsewhere.

I do have a real soft spot for the Mustang!

By all means, get one. Your soft spot for them will disappear mighty quick though :)

Maybe get one for a few days with the option to change to another car. And I wasn't thinking big Merc saloon either. If you could ever rent a Porsche or a Ferrari for reasonable(ish) money, it would be over there

My ads on adverts.ie:

unkel wrote: »
    By all means, get one. Your soft spot for them will disappear mighty quick though :)

Maybe get one for a few days with the option to change to another car. And I wasn't thinking big Merc saloon either. If you could ever rent a Porsche or a Ferrari for reasonable(ish) money, it would be over there

I don't think I'll get a chance to change cars, which is why I am checking this stuff out as early as I can.

I'd say you'd be looking at a few grand easily for a Porsche or Ferrari, which is a little more than I was planning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

Go with Hertz

Register as a gold member free of charge on their website, book a small car, they are giving out free upgrades on large cars and jeeps because of gas prices. They are excellent to deal with.

Go with Hertz

Register as a gold member free of charge on their website, book a small car, they are giving out free upgrades on large cars and jeeps because of gas prices. They are excellent to deal with.

Hertz are the best in my experience to deal with.

Christ, it's looking expensive already. It's looking like nearly €700 for 4 days. What a rip off. They really screw you with the one way charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

unkel wrote: »
    Are you a US citizen?

Everything :D

It's a total piece of sh1t. It wobbles all over the place even when driven gently on perfectly straight roads. The build quality is probably worse than 70s soviet Ladas. Panel fit is the worst I have ever seen. The only good thing about the car is that the air conditioning system works. That said, the air con is louder than a jet aircraft. The one I drove 7 years ago was supposed to have a 2.7 V6 petrol engine, but it felt more like a 1.6

Looks like i dodged a bullet so!! Wife wanted it coz it looked nice!

Not a US citizen - why?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

We used Hertz when we rented for ten days there last September and found them very good - when our car developed an engine problem after a week they exchanged it with no quibble at a local Hertz in a totally different state and threw in a tank of gas to compensate us for having to drive thirty miles out of our way to pick it up as they had no driver available to bring it to us.

Am just checking now for prices as we want to drive the old Route 66 from Chicago to LA next year
    but they want $500 for the one-way fee :( anyone know of a reputable company that doesn't screw you on this?

There are all going to sting you hard on the one way fee.

That's what it looks like alright - your best bet is to go with one of the bigger agencies from what I have seen so far.

I had another look at the Hertz site, and from what I can tell - if you pre-pay online, then it's a lot cheaper, as that seems to be an all in price that includes any extra mileage and one way fees.

I think I'm just going to book a standard saloon sedan and just see what they have available on the day, and see if it's worth upgrading.

Which way are you driving,

I would recommend going up to through Beatty into death valley, into Lone pine, pass the mammoth lakes, pass accross by Yosemite, drive the Tioja pass, and then head back up to south Tahoe and on into Sacremento, and then cruise into San Fran, it is the most awesome scenery that you will ever see, you will be going down to -400 feet and up to 9,900 feet and back up and down between 3,000 and 7,000 about 5 or 6 times. Take 2 days driving accross though, its a long drive.

Get out in Death Valley and just stand there, the silence is almost deafening to your ears.

Stay in the Bellagio in Vegas

Try Alamo for 1 way rental

I'm going the opposite direction - here's the route I've come up with so far.

That's just the first draft though and I don't mind adding a few hours on to it, if you reckon it's worth taking a different route to Yosemite?

Very similar to mine from Bishop to Vegas, I went through Beatty, better road if I remember, and I went up to South Tahoe, amazing views coming in over Luther pass (ski area overlooking south lake Tahoe) to Sacremento.

Didn't go the other way so I don't know what its like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Bond-007 wrote: »

They may try to ride you at the airport, because you are considered to be a 'captive market'. If you are prepared to go downtown to the rental places and take a look around, you should be able to locate the best deal.

I did this in Auckland, New Zealand, and I got a Mitsubishi Carisma for 3 weeks at NZ$19 per day. That is after I haggled the rep down from $22/day. (The guy was pretty laid back!) The company were a reputable company in NZ and I had no problems with them.

After I had signed up, I asked the guy who rented the car to me what was story with car rentals. I had noticed that there seemed to be a huge variation in prices between places like Herz, which were among the most expensive, and other places. He explained that in that business you have First Tier car rental companies such as Herz and Budget, which charge the most. Their target market is made up of people who are renting the car to come over on business, so these people recover all of what is paid out in expenses. Price isn't really an issue. Then you have Second and Third Tier car rental companies. They rent more older vehicles, not necessarily span new etc. And they are cheaper.

So it can pay to shop around. If you are only gonna be renting for 4 days, maybe you don't have half a day to spare messing around looking for a cheap deal tho.

Very similar to mine from Bishop to Vegas, I went through Beatty, better road if I remember, and I went up to South Tahoe, amazing views coming in over Luther pass (ski area overlooking south lake Tahoe) to Sacremento.

Didn't go the other way so I don't know what its like.

Thanks, I changed the route to go through Beatty. South Lake Tahoe is adding on a bit more time than I was hoping though

Edit - just saw your route, thanks for that. Did you see a good bit of Yosemite park? I think that will probably be our overnight stop.

So it can pay to shop around. If you are only gonna be renting for 4 days, maybe you don't have half a day to spare messing around looking for a cheap deal tho.

Yep - I've definitely noticed big differences in shopping around, but the killer seems to be the one way journey fee.

That's what it looks like alright - your best bet is to go with one of the bigger agencies from what I have seen so far.

I had another look at the Hertz site, and from what I can tell - if you pre-pay online, then it's a lot cheaper, as that seems to be an all in price that includes any extra mileage and one way fees.

I think I'm just going to book a standard saloon sedan and just see what they have available on the day, and see if it's worth upgrading.
    That would be the best way to do it tbh.

The walk up rates are crazy.

Thanks, I changed the route to go through Beatty. South Lake Tahoe is adding on a bit more time than I was hoping though

Edit - just saw your route, thanks for that. Did you see a good bit of Yosemite park? I think that will probably be our overnight stop.

No I just went to the entrance of the park, up the Tioja pass, not a drive for the faint hearted, heres a pic, look at the drop, next time I will go through it and do some hiking, there is a lovely cafe along it.

Go to Hoover dam when you are in Vegas and do a helicopter tour of Grand Canyon from Boulder, its so worth it.

[IMG]file:///O:/Photos/USA%20july%2008/Disc%202/DSCF0058.JPG[/IMG]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Try Alamo for 1 way rental

Alamo were even worse, they wanted €780 for the one-way fee, and 'Budget' (cough) car rentals wanted €1000!!

$500 is the lowest I've seen, and that's on Hertz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Are you fixed on the inland route?

I did the coastal route last year along Big Sur & it was shunning, cut inland for the Grand Canyon & back to Vegas. If you have only 4 days could cut inland at LA for Vegas. I highly recommend Big Sur.

Yeah, Alamo's prices didn't impress me. I went to http://www.carhire3000.ie/ and the prices looked great, until I realised that this didn't include mileage supplement and one way charge.

I'm not done yet, but so far Hertz look the best price given that it appears to be a set price.

McSpud wrote: »
    Are you fixed on the inland route?

I did the coastal route last year along Big Sur & it was shunning, cut inland for the Grand Canyon & back to Vegas. If you have only 4 days could cut inland at LA for Vegas. I highly recommend Big Sur.

No, not set in stone, though Death Valley and Yosemite really look like must see places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

I used Alamo via Trailfinders although I think I got stung with fuel charge. When holiday was over I didn't want to think about much. I don't think there was much if any one way fee with them.

If you go the coastal route you can stop off at Laguna Seca ;)

n738492994_634245_8289.jpg

n738492994_634252_510.jpg
    Big Sur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

I will google more, but I do have a real soft spot for the Mustang!

Was there in the summer and rented with Budget in San Francisco (city not airport) and drove to San Diego. We booked an ordinary 4dr and were upgraded to a Mustang (V6 4ltr) as they had no 4dr's :D. I took this as we had booked the most popular car (pricewise) and they had none left. They also had a Yellow Corvette in the garage

111.jpg

The Mustang is a really crap car to drive but it looked great and really set the tone for the holiday. The GF especially loved the car, there were tears and all when we handed it back.

Big Sur and Monteray were highlights. Ran into a massive classic car meet in Monteray which was my personnal fave (Festival Italia, early september).

122.jpg

Unless you're going to Tahoe/Yosemite/Death Valley don't drive to Vegas, its a boring drive and you are charged more rental for dropping off in another state. We flew to Vegas instead and it was better.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Went to Orlando in August, prbooked a Mazda 6 "or similar" for €410 for 3 weeks. Arrived o the desk and she gave me the keys to a PT Cruiser. I argued it out with her bit, and she said they were both rated for 2 medium suitcases and 2 small. She suggested I go up the range $200 (About 50% of the original rental!!), until my wife pointed out that the "larger car" has the same bag capacity = 2 medium and 2 small. She shut up pretty quickly then. I was sure the Hertz.ie website said 2 large and 2 small, and having checked again, it does. Bring a print-out of the website with you if there's any dispute. Put up with a 2.4 SE Cruiser Turbo which averaged about 18 gallon!!!!!!! Still managed to get 4 large suitcases, 2 medium and 4 small as well as the laptop bag in it. Hertz guy taking it back was well impressed. All I couldn't fit in was the kids.......

Also check the condition of the paintwork thoroughly outside - I was told mine was perfect until I discovered about 6 marks from rubber on the bumpers and bodywork, which I would have been charged for if I hadn't spotted it.

The standard hertz rental agreement for non US renters covers LDW and CDW so you would not be charged in any event.
    You would only be charged if you chose not to take their insurance. That option is not available to foreign renters.

Wow, so much to think about. Thanks again folks.

I will google a bit more, but it really looks like Hertz's all inclusive pre-pay price is the way to go. I will just book a large car and see what's there on the day. If I book it at the airport, there may be a better selection.

The coastal route seems really cool, but I think Yosemite and Death Valley are definites at this stage. We may even do two overnights en route so we can take our time. We're going to fly back to San Fran for our return flight though.

Wow, so much to think about. Thanks again folks.

I will google a bit more, but it really looks like Hertz's all inclusive pre-pay price is the way to go. I will just book a large car and see what's there on the day. If I book it at the airport, there may be a better selection.

The coastal route seems really cool, but I think Yosemite and Death Valley are definites at this stage. We may even do two overnights en route so we can take our time. We're going to fly back to San Fran for our return flight though.

Sanfran back with aerlingus, its a nice flight, you can go vegas Ny (5hrs jetblue) and Ny Dublin, in the same time you fly back to San fran,

OR

If you do a Helicopter tour of grand canyon with Papillion
    http://www.papillon.com/?s_kwcid=papillion|1848586144&gclid=CPLT4dbhn5gCFQ2ZQwodiB2HoQ

one of the pilots John lives in San fran and flys home once a week in his helicopter, could be interesting way to go back to san fran

Sanfran back with aerlingus, its a nice flight, you can go vegas Ny (5hrs jetblue) and Ny Dublin, in the same time you fly back to San fran

I was thinking about that, but that would mean two one way flights which is far more expensive than one return flight. BMI and United Airlines seem to be the best prices so far - Aer Lingus are very dear.

Las Vegas to San Fran will be about €150 for the two of us, and it gets us to the airport a couple of hours before the flight home which seems to work out.
    If you do a Helicopter tour of grand canyon with Papillion
    http://www.papillon.com/?s_kwcid=papillion|1848586144&gclid=CPLT4dbhn5gCFQ2ZQwodiB2HoQ

one of the pilots John lives in San fran and flys home once a week in his helicopter, could be interesting way to go back to san fran

Now, that would be cool!

Edit - has anyone used www.holidayautos.ie? Their prices seem to be pretty good, just need to check for sure if there is a charge for the one way journey.

You can bet the house that there is a one way charge.
    The supplier may charge locally for this one way rental. Please check the "Extras Payable Locally" section below.
    Holiday autos are probably reselling Hertz or Budget rentals. Best to go direct imho.

You can bet the house that there is a one way charge.

Holiday autos are probably reselling Hertz or Budget rentals. Best to go direct imho.

That's the thing - sometimes a one way charge appears in the "Extras Payable Locally" section on that same page, and sometimes it doesn't. But I'd say I would just get hit with it when I pick up the car.

I have emailed them to ask them what the story is, but I think just budgeting for the Hertz all in price is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

That's the thing - sometimes a one way charge appears in the "Extras Payable Locally" section on that same page, and sometimes it doesn't. But I'd say I would just get hit with it when I pick up the car.

I have emailed them to ask them what the story is, but I think just budgeting for the Hertz all in price is the way to go.

We rented flights and car rental through Tour America, the car rental was basically for nothing and the flights were with Aer Lingus and seemed reasonable. Most other airlines will make you stopover. We flew Dublin-->San Fran on the way over and San Diego-->Vegas and Vegas-->Chicago-->Dublin on the way back. We also booked our accomodation through them with mixed results but it all seemed reasonable to me.

Thanks - I'll check them out. I am using eBookers at the moment, and the prices seem very good, unless they hit you for extra charges when you check out.

I will be booking this week, so I'll check out that site now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 ca3nie

I went to the states last year, we rented with hertz at San Fran airport.
    They seemed to be the cheapest, we rented our car for about 2 weeks and droped it of at Las Vegas airport.Since myself and my partner are both under 24 we havd to pay extra. We had a choice of aout 20 differnt cars. We ended up going for a Santa Fa, which was perfect for all our
    luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Dartz

Left field option...

Buy a car, drive it, sell it. Like Top Gear.

Dartz wrote: »
    Left field option...

Buy a car, drive it, sell it. Like Top Gear.
    It is not as easy as made out on Top Gear.

To buy a car you need a US licence and an address. You need to get insurance again impossible unless you have a US licence and address. You need to register it and obtain licence plates, impossible unless you have ah you get the drift now. ;)

In california you have to pay for a smog test before you can register it.

It is way too much hassle and expense for a holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

It seems the states is even worse than europe for not wanting to rent to anybody under like 25... Will anybody rent to me at the prime age of 20 years!?

OK, I just rang Trailfinders, and it looks like they can get a much better price using Alamo, and they said it definitely includes the one way journey. 4 days rental for an intermediate saloon with an upgrade works out at under €300.

I would get that in writing. Sounds very cheap to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

We usually use autoeurope.ie. My wife used to work for them before they closed their office here years ago.
    anyway we always find them cheapest, as in 10 days for about €270 or less with FULL in your face insurance and a full tank of fuel (bring back empty) using the gold rate.

I have seen people mention Hertz, sure they are a great company but very expensive.
    for instance when we arrived in New Orleans on Christmas eve (Christmas day by then) our flight was delayed and instead of 10:30 pm we arrived after 2:30am. All the car hire places were closed except Hertz so we decided we could always get a refund from autoeurope because dollar was closed and get a car with Hertz.
    anyway Hertz were going to charge €933 for 9 days! We had already paid €280 or so for 10 days!! So we politely declined and the lovely Hertz girl put us in a car and drove us to the nearest Hotel. Maybe she wanted out of the office for a few mins or maybe it was that southern friendliness.

So Hertz are a great company but expensive from my experience.

Hertz are crazy for walk up rates. When you prepay they are far more reasonable.

Thanks - I checked out autoeurope.ie, but they don't give you the one way fee until after you book, and I'd prefer to know it up front.

I would get that in writing. Sounds very cheap to me.

Just rang them again, and they said because that's a very common route there is no drop-off fee when you book it with them. Seems like the best option so far.

Ok then. I would still be a tad wary.