Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guantanamo bay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'm quite sure you are right,but at least now they have SOME chance of changing things.

I'm quite sure the Non Whites of Zimbabwe were much "Better off" under Ian Smith than they are now.

However at least now their penury isn't enshrined in law,and ,however tenuous, they have some control over their own destiny.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Nodin wrote: »
    They don't go on public housing lists until they're granted asylum.

A myth. Unless of course you can amaze us all with proof.

9/10 Euro a week. The adults get around 20. Massive bucks there.

Yeah, a whole 20 Euro a week....imagine what ye could with that.

I'd return the compliment, but can't think of a destination that deserves to have that level of ignorance inflicted on it.

i dont know where you get your information from... the child benefit in this country ranges from 166 a month for one kid to 1550 for eight. Do tell me if they are not working or as you say not getting any form of really money do they magically pull 2 or 3 grand out of their ass to buy a car?.

The fact still remains that they go to the top of the list.

Here sure take a look at this(another reason why they shouldnt be allowed here)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-8364300m-1366632.html

Do they contribute to the economy ... the vast majority again dont(these are people who have been granted asylum, not to mind those who havent)
    How many laws of this country do they brake but we cannot touch them other wise we are branded as racists.

Sure while im at it you have these people coming from countries when the likes of aids,rabies etc are rampent yet they are not even screened when they enter the country.

You take a look at England where the islamic fundementilists(spelling) is growing because of the amount of asylum seekers there.. it was not the original people that came but their kids or grand children. IF these people come from Quan Bay it is not them that one has to worry about but the kids etc. I for one would rather look after the people of this country first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

walshb wrote: »
    Your views scare me mate!

America imprisons these possible infidels and terrorists; not all; and we then are supposed to put them up and care for them and house them etc etc. Do you have any clue what sort
    of troubles we face here already trying to bloody house and feed and look after our own people, without importing more; some of whom are going to be extremely mentally unstable and IMO, possible threat to society!

I have a sneaky feeling you live in a castle on a hill and have a butler and
    a chauffeur and everything else; because your views here are not in touch with reality!

My butler tells me he saw the following on the news:

1) These people have never had a trial of any sort.

2) We're not being asked to take huge numbers of them.

3) They're not safe in their home countries

4) They've been tortured

5) On of them was 11 years old when he was imprisoned

6) our government has been asking the Americans to shut gitmo since it opened.

If there was a whole load of punters who've been proven guilty of terrorist offences I wouldn't be keen to have them.

But they haven't.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,767 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

No we won't because we will all be dead, and they will eat the remaining non muslim babies....
    You would make Jonathan Swift proud with your Modest Proposal II.;)
    tallaght01 wrote: »

4) They've been tortured

You know what you are talking about, unlike most of us with opinions on this thread. A flashback from your African experiences tallaght01? **shiver!**

They don't go on public housing lists until they're granted asylum.

A myth. Unless of course you can amaze us all with proof.

9/10 Euro a week. The adults get around 20. Massive bucks there.

Yeah, a whole 20 Euro a week....imagine what ye could with that.

I'd return the compliment, but can't think of a destination that deserves to have that level of ignorance inflicted on it.

Seriously if you feel so strongly for these peoples rights why not go to iraq or nigeria and protest for their rights on their behalf i mean they have it 10 times worse than they have it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,341 ✭✭✭✭walshb

1) These people have never had a trila of any sort.

4) They've been tortured

If there was a whole load of punters who've been proven guilty of terrorist offences I wouldn't be keen to have them.

But they haven't.

News reports tell me that the USA started this and put them there and it's the worlds most powerful country. News also tells me that OAPs and everyone else has had some form of budget cuts, jobs are being lost, banks are folding, crime is up, bogus asylum claims
    are still happening.

Hmm, yes, the solution is to import possible terrorists. That's the solution isn't it?

Why not just adopt Guantanamo?:rolleyes:

Ok you have me convinced, what were they ,birdwatchers or something.??

Right send the lot of them in, nice bunch of lads, sure we could do with a bit of tenderness and loving in these times.:rolleyes:

1) These people have never had a trila of any sort.

4) They've been tortured

But they haven't.

They wont be safe says who exactly??.. they would return as heros...
    Can you prove everyone has been tortured?

It is easy for you to say they should have a trial you didnt have planes crashed into your buildings....

And what of their families surly they will want to bring them over as well and what big families they do have

twinytwo wrote: »

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/false-claims-help-bill-for-asylum-seekers-to-hit-8364300m-1366632.html

t them that one has to worry about but the kids etc. I for one would rather look after the people of this country first

The problem is NOT the foreign nationals, it's the damn silly system and the Irish and the greedy lawyers making a mint from these people! Speak up about it an you risk being labeled a racist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I'm quite sure you are right,but at least now they have SOME chance of changing things.

I'm quite sure the Non Whites of Zimbabwe were much "Better off" under Ian Smith than they are now.

However at least now their penury isn't enshrined in law,and ,however tenuous, they have some control over their own destiny.:rolleyes:

You do realize that the country is largely lawless. So what the law says doesn't matter at all. The old tribal laws still rule outside Kabul. Womens lot in Afghanistan has no improved much (if at all) outside of Kabul.

It is easy for you to say they should have a trial you didnt have planes crashed into your buildings....

And what of their families surly they will want to bring them over as well and what big families they do have

Listen you got it all wrong, these guys are pussy cats, birdwatchers, astronomers,taxi drivers, priests,that's why they are out in the middle of the night wandering around the desert thousands of miles from home in terrorist controlled areas.Someone could be looking to be driven down to the take away:confused:

wes wrote: »
    You do realize that the country is largely lawless. So what the law says doesn't matter at all. The old tribal laws still rule outside Kabul. Womens lot in Afghanistan has no improved much (if at all) outside of Kabul.

Ahem. I think I just said that. hello hello.. testing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

If a plane crashed into liberty hall, would you not want a trial for whoever we arrest???????
    News reports tell me that the USA started this and put them there and it's the worlds most powerful country. News also tells me that OAPs and everyone else has had some form of budget cuts, jobs are being lost, banks are folding, crime is up, bogus asylum claims
    are still happening.

Hmm, yes, the solution is to import possible terrorists. That's the solution isn't it?

Why not just adopt Guantanamo?:rolleyes:

So, is your point that we shouldn't take them for financial reasons? or because you have a hunch that they're terrorists?

No they are all taximen, the frikken place is flooded with taxis

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,767 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

The American Civil Liberties Union filed court actions against the former Bush administration for torturing Gitmo prisoners. But the Bush administration claimed that such practices as waterboarding or being held in open cages like animals was not torture. It appears with Obama's recent executive order closing Gitmo and the secret CIA rendition camps around the world that he considered it torture, and literally said to the news media when signing the orders that he would not tolerate torture.

Geeeeee, former US Vice President Dick Cheney claimed that waterboarding was not torture, but I wonder if he would have survived it given his heart condition? I guess it depends if your are the torturer or the one being tortured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

i dont know where you get your information from... the child benefit in this country ranges from 166 a month for one kid to 1550 for eight.

Asylum seekers don't get it, they aren't entitled. Do try to keep up.
    i
    Do tell me if they are not working or as you say not getting any form of really money do they magically pull 2 or 3 grand out of their ass to buy a car?..

Which presumes they do produce 2 or 3 grand and buy a car.
    The fact still remains that they go to the top of the list.?..

They aren't on that list, and theres no proof whatsover that should they be granted asylum that they go to the top of it.

Do they contribute to the economy ... the vast majority again dont(these are people who have been granted asylum, not to mind those who havent)
    How many laws of this country do they brake but we cannot touch them other wise we are branded as racists..?..

Yes, I hear that a lot...anecdotal evidence, based on bigotry and ignorance.
    Sure while im at it you have these people coming from countries when the likes of aids,rabies etc are rampent yet they are not even screened when they enter the country. ..?..

Neither are people born here, which, considering the amount of mindless rabid froth flying around in a few threads here, is definitly something that should be looked at.
    You take a look at England where the islamic fundementilists(spelling) is growing because of the amount of asylum seekers there....?..

More nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Listen you got it all wrong, these guys are pussy cats, birdwatchers, astronomers,taxi drivers, priests,that's why they are out in the middle of the night wandering around the desert thousands of miles from home in terrorist controlled areas.Someone could be looking to be driven down to the take away:confused:

Most of them weren't taken in "terrorist controlled areas", if you bothered to read up on it.

Ahem. I think I just said that. hello hello.. testing...

I was pointing out that the changes in law, don't have any effect on the lives of Women, as the country was lawless.

I was agree with you on there other stuff.

I

So, is your point that we shouldn't take them for financial reasons? or because you have a hunch that they're terrorists?

A bit of both; and the fact that all will be very unstable from their time held in
    captivity. Not our problem. Why is it that The Irish are so so so eager to save the world; yet we can't even save our own bloody country. We are just showing off, as usual!

We cannot afford to give the elderly med cards, nor vaccine our young
    against cervical cancer; that's how desperate we are; yet we can take in any stray or waif and feed and clothe and house them; all expense paid; weird!

Haven't we got enough possible criminals here already?

I was pointing out that the changes in law, don't have any effect on the lives of Women, as the country was lawless.

I was agree with you on there other stuff.

The fact is that the changes in law make all the difference .

I accept it's not enforced yet, but it's there, and that's the important bit.

The Irish are so so so eager to save the world
    700 years of occupation by foreign powers might have something to do with it?

Most of them weren't taken in "terrorist controlled areas", if you bothered to read up on it.

I have read extensively on it and read about young UK citizens going out there.

For what? Sun holidays??

700 years of occupation by foreign powers might have something to do with it?

Has it?

I don't think so, the vast majority of Irish probably know feck all about that.
    Most spend their days watching the English premiership?:rolleyes:
    Then moan about the English! Watch English tv programmes etc etc!

Anyway, I've moved on and I don't believe that's anything to do with it!

Bottom line is that we are not in a position to do this in a financial way or any other way; so why the hell are we pushing for it? That's what I find weird!

Has it?

I don't think so, the vast majority of Irish probably know feck all about that.
    Most spend their days watching the English premiership?:rolleyes:
    Then moan about the English! Watch English tv programmes etc etc!

Anyway, I've moved on and I don't believe that's anything to do with it!

Bottom line is that we are not in a position to do this in a financial way or any other way; so why the hell are we pushing for it? That's what I find weird!

because the bleeding hearts are always with us B, that's why.

The same people still believe that those three guys were birdwatching in Colombia, despite the fact that Nordie minister made about 29 trips out there promoting their innocence.

You will also find B that some of the bleeding hearts don't even reside and pay taxes in Ireland, so they couldn't give a fcuk.

Always look for the agenda, me poor mother used to say.

The fact is that the changes in law make all the difference .

I accept it's not enforced yet, but it's there, and that's the important bit.

I would disagree, enforcement of any new laws is what important.

Writing stuff on paper and not implementing them, doesn't mean anything.

I have read extensively on it and read about young UK citizens going out there.

For what? Sun holidays??

Visit family, go to weddings etc. Plenty of reasons. Its up to the American's to prove guilt, they have been unable to do so. So these men are innocent until proven otherwise.

Visit family, go to weddings etc. Plenty of reasons.

Swallow a brick springs to mind!

The financial crisis is indeed real, and things will get a lot worse before they get better.

It may be weird, and your telly comments are well taken (LOL!). But when I get together with extended family back home on holidays, there's always a cousin that bit***s about the 6 counties, especially after too many drinks.

Swallow a brick springs to mind!

I have no idea what your talking about.

People have families, they go visit them, they go to family events. Its happens all the time.