Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shower break-in

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

Eric_85 wrote: »
    Having shower for the forty minutes is too long. I can take it 25 minutes each and every time. But for cutting it to 15 10 or 5? I might want to try just to see if that is anyhow possible at all. This would be soap and shampoo on off and jump out. What will happen behind my ears? Will I have to move quickly instead of usual lasting pace? Will I have to surrender back massage? I would give an advice in return for those people who do care about their tidyness to measure how long does it really takes them inside the shower as 5 minutes is if you're in a rash. As a respectable person I'm never in a rash and have nothing to complain about.
    HMMM Anyone think This guy is taking the piss ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Having shower for the forty minutes is too long. I can take it 25 minutes each and every time. But for cutting it to 15 10 or 5? I might want to try just to see if that is anyhow possible at all. This would be soap and shampoo on off and jump out. What will happen behind my ears? Will I have to move quickly instead of usual lasting pace? Will I have to surrender back massage? I would give an advice in return for those people who do care about their tidyness to measure how long does it really takes them inside the shower as 5 minutes is if you're in a rash. As a respectable person I'm never in a rash and have nothing to complain about.

Now you're taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Eric_85

thermo66 wrote: »

Not even close to taking a piss. I have actually seen another person today taking the shower almost as long as I am. I don't see how is it possible to do it less than fifteen minutes unless you have to catch a transport or be in time or you simply start your day with hasty movement which is your choice.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

thermo66 wrote: »
    DarkJager wrote: »
    Now you're taking the piss.

If you have a problem with a post please report it rather than posting comments like this on the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Not even close to taking a piss. I have actually seen another person today taking the shower almost as long as I am. I don't see how is it possible to do it less than fifteen minutes unless you have to catch a transport or be in time or you're simply start your day with hasty movement which is your choice.
    Having shower for the forty minutes is too long. I can take it 25 minutes each and every time. But for cutting it to 15 10 or 5? I might want to try just to see if that is anyhow possible at all. This would be soap and shampoo on off and jump out. What will happen behind my ears? Will I have to move quickly instead of usual lasting pace? Will I have to surrender back massage?

A shower is supposed to be a quick wash of the hair and body, rinse it off and get out. If you want massages go to a spa. Overall, there is no excuse at all for taking 40 minutes to shower yourself - I take back my defence of you earlier in this thread and after reading the above, I'm not surprised this girl snapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

Not even close to taking a piss. I have actually seen another person today taking the shower almost as long as I am. I don't see how is it possible to do it less than fifteen minutes unless you have to catch a transport or be in time or you simply start your day with hasty movement which is your choice.
    of course its possible. Try it!! I have long hair and even when i take my time i never spend more than around 15 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

i wouldn't expect anyone to shower in less than 5mins but 40mins is far too long. and electric showers aren't meant to go that long in one go;they'll burn out faster(my uncle is a sparky and gave out ****E to me once for taking 30mins!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

A shower is supposed to be a quick wash of the hair and body, rinse it off and get out. If you want massages go to a spa. Overall, there is no excuse at all for taking 40 minutes to shower yourself - I take back my defence of you earlier in this thread and after reading the above, I'm not surprised this girl snapped.

I disagree.. I dont shower everyday and I have a twingy back so I like to spend a while in the shower.

Living with different people is all about compromise, how long does it take to have a shower ffs? You were already out of the shower when she was knocking on the door, why not just let her in? Instead you ignored her, only adding fuel to the fire.

its his right to have a shower however a negotiation should be worked out however it is also my guess is that she probably thinks he's fapping because he's in there so long. Seeing as she sounds partially paranoid she's probably thinking of all these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I actually dont believe Eric is taking the píss. Its possible theres a cultural difference. Too pull an example out of the air I know Italians are very maticulous about grooming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Phototoxin wrote: »
    I disagree.. I dont shower everyday and I have a twingy back so I like to spend a while in the shower.

but would you do that in the full knowledge that someone else really needed the showern and there were 7 other people needing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

Abigayle wrote: »
    I actually dont believe Eric is taking the píss. Its possible theres a cultural difference. Too pull an example out of the air I know Italians are very maticulous about grooming.

Well I'd say I'm just as meticulous but it still only takes me 20 minutes to have a shower and be ready to leave the house. Regardless, 40 mins in the shower alone, is way too much. I mean you're looking at an hour to get ready ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

So what if he's also paying rent? My god, I didn't know paying rent meant you could take the piss over and above co-tenants. If you're a renter you have plenty of rights but you don't have ANY right to impinge on your housemates.

Renters who expect their housemates to pay extra towards bills/rent because of their selfishness - e.g. having their girlfriend/boyfriend stay every night (which will inevitably mean them also using facilities), wasting electricity by leaving lights on and heading off to work, AND spending much longer than necessary in the shower every single day (no harm in the odd long, luxurious shower - e.g. on a Saturday or Sunday)... are an absolute scourge and are let get away with it far too much.

OP, while your flatmate shouldn't have lost it, she was no doubt at the end of her tether - I mean, she DID have a job interview to go to... :rolleyes:

I was starting a new contract last year and some muppet boxed my car in the first morning of it - I was absolutely fuming, and that was hardly unreasonable of me. That said, I didn't inflict damage on the car in question (other than leaving a note) but I was damn tempted to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I may agree that having a shower 20 to 40 minutes is anything but short and quick. To explain myself on this as far as I haven't previously had time to read that the need actually arised I can say that yes this is the activity I mostly enjoy! I am in no way trying to put a blame on myself for that. I can understand the point of view from which being different from the most in this feature would be in fairness completely unconventional!

There are 8 other people living in the house in 7 rooms. During 2 and a half years I have had once a little chat with one other tennant at the time I was taking a bath which had been dismantled some few months ago. But really I would not want to sacrifice this little pleasure of mine to extent that I may even rent a membership in the facility that will allow me to exercise it as far as paying more for the electricity bill will not do any good to any other tennant... Though quite frankly I do not view myself any difficulty from my own side in the case that everybody would occupy the shower for this time cutting me for two hours off it. I would in this case either get up earlier or wash in the evenings. I would not bring the question which is against the deliberate comfort of other tennants up. I would not get pissed off because this rarely really brings any good results in life unless there are people eager to tolerate it.

I find your posts very bizarre. You sound like an extremely selfish and childish person.

If you want to be reasonable, before you take a shower tell your flatmates "I'm about to take a shower" so they can take a shower before you hog the entire bathroom.

I'd hate to live with a person like you.

DarkJager wrote: »
    It shouldn't matter what length of time he's in there for, so long as its not deliberate abuse just to piss off the housemate.
    Oh so you can waste resources as much as you want and expect to only have to pay an equal amount towards bills as everyone else... as long as you're not doing so to piss them off. Come off it.
    He said he usually does it in the after noon OR evening, and has done it in the morning in the past. So, sounds to me that he does it anytime.
    And he was delaying the girl who had an interview - open and shut really.
    mumhaabu wrote: »
    The OP gets pummeled as he is male, now imagine how different the thread would be if he was a she. :eek:
    :confused: Exactly the same I would have thought? I have lived with selfish females who took really long showers before bed and another one in the morning :rolleyes: and no, I didn't think "ah it's fair enough, they're girls".
    I like to take long showers occasionaly especially if I had missed a day or two, however 18 to 20mins would be the longest and it was regular once when I had dandruff and I had to leave Neutrogena on the scalp for 10mins.
    Yeah, those scenarios aren't everyday ones. The OP does this seven days a week.
    Eh, I have to say that some of the replies here, including some from people with mod status, smack of racism.
    Are you actually for real? I mean, seriously? You're saying if the OP was Irish, people would be ok with him hogging the bathroom and wasting electricity? Please, get off your high horse. Everyone else is having a go at him because his behaviour is selfish and inconsiderate, nothing else. It's only you that has made an issue of him being foreign. Oh yeah, one person asked for confirmation that English wasn't his first language, due to his rather unusual style of writing.
    And moderators are members like anyone else when they're posting outside of the forum(s) they moderate.
    jessbeth wrote: »
    She sounds a bit insane, expecially if all she had to do was turn on the heating and use the other shower.
    More like she finally snapped after months of selfish behaviour by the OP.
    You should be able to shower as long as you want at the place where you're living
    That seems a common enough misconception on this thread - if you pay rent to live somewhere then you can do what you want. Eh... no you can't. And that's not just with regards to anti-social/criminal behaviour, it's also with regards to far more mundane things.
    Phototoxin wrote: »
    The OP DOES shower everyday. And yeah, do you delay people and drive up bills that others have to pay? When you say you spend a while in the shower, how long do you mean?
    its his right to have a shower
    Of course it is - who says it isn't?
    it is also my guess is that she probably thinks he's fapping because he's in there so long. Seeing as she sounds partially paranoid she's probably thinking of all these things.
    She lost her temper because he drove her to it and he doesn't even seem to realise his selfishness - or he's smugly ignoring/getting a kick out of pissing her off. Totally understandable she lost her cool (even if breaking in the door wasn't)... how does that indicate she's paranoid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Mailman

ESB approx 20c per KWh inc. vat
    standard electric pumped shower is 8.5 or 9.5KWh
    round down to 8.
    usage .6666 of an hour

20cents x 8kwh = 1.60 per hour. = €1.07 per use x31 day month = €33.17.

assuming people sleep 8 hours and work 8 hours.
    8 x60 min = 480 mins of which you use 40mins so OP is in there 8.333% of the time that people would actually want to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

eric you should of phoned the police on the spot.
    if you had of did what she did you'd be in big trouble so l dont think there should be a diffference because shes a women..
    they would'nt of done anything but she would think twice about
    harresing you again.

lots of people losing the plot here about the lenght of time he spends in the shower,eric was asking advice on what way the approach this matter
    with the lunatic women not peoples opinion on his lenght of time in the shower.

lm sure if she gave her side of the story there has probably been complaints to eric before and the long shower the other day was probably the straw that broke the camels back but it does'nt take away from the fact that a man is feeling vunerable in his ownhome and thats not right full stop.

one things for sure u cant keep living with that lunatic and maybe you should think about renting a room with an ensuite in it.
    will be more expensive but out of respect to fellow housemates if ur gona keep having 40 minute showers its the best thing to do..

robbie1977 wrote: »
    eric was asking advice on what way the approach this matter with the lunatic women not peoples opinion on his lenght of time in the shower.
    And they advised him he was spending too long in the shower and being inconsiderate to his housemates, and thus, decreasing the amount of time he spends in the shower would be a way to sort out the problem.
    u cant keep living with that lunatic
    How does being pushed and pushed and pushed to the point where she lost her temper make her a "lunatic"? I agree, maybe she should deal with anger more rationally but labelling her when you've little to go on is of no benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Your landlord will not do anything if she is the sort to leave you all to freeze while she locks up the controls! Don't expect any help from her.

I think you're being selfish also, you are living with 7 other people (or is it 8 others?) so you have to compromise. Even living with one person demands some compromise, and you are effectively all sharing one bathroom, yikes.

The simple solution is dialogue. You must hold a house meeting, you don't talk with your housemates enough and you simply must if you are to continue to be healthy in the mind.

Call a house meeting and do a house meeting every month or so, regularly. (or do you do that? I can't understand all that's posted tbh)

How does being pushed and pushed and pushed to the point where she lost her temper make her a "lunatic"? [/quote]

its one thing being pushed into losing your temper it happens to us all from time to time but breaking down a bathroom door it my opinion makes her a lunatic..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

eric you should of phoned the police on the spot.

What crime did she commit?

This bit of advice is for your flatmate. Next time you act like such a knob, get a bag of flour and dump it over him when he leaves the bathroom. And then go have your shower.

I honestly wouldn't have been able to control myself in that situation. You would have been dragged out of the shower. A job interview on its own is stressful enough without you adding to it.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    What crime did she commit?

breaking down a bathroom door with an intimidating atidude knowing the man was possible naked is definately a crime in my book..

put it this if a man did it to a woman its a crime so there should'nt be a difference.

breaking down a bathroom door with an intimidating atidude knowing the man was possible naked is definately a crime in my book..

put it this if a man did it to a woman its a crime so there should'nt be a difference.

Let's not get all worked up about the whole crime thing, ok? The only possible charge that could be brought against the woman is criminal damage for breaking the door, and it would be up to the landlady to decide whether she wanted to press charges on that. Getting an intimidating attitude ramped up to the level of a public order offence such as disorderly conduct or threatening behaviour would probably be impossible without any other witnesses, and I don't even know if they'd apply in a private dwelling. And as for seeing your flatmate naked in the bathroom? Well if it was a crime I would have been arrested for it myself on at least once occasion. Thankfully she chose not to call the Gardaí. :)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

TBH, I think 40 mins in the shower is a bit much. I'm a girl, and I've got a good thick head of hair which is about waist length, and I can have my shower, shave legs, exfoliate etc and it takes me 20 mins max, and that's if I'm using one of those 'leave in for 5 mins' conditioners, on an average day I'd only be 10-15 mins. I don't live in a house share, I live with my OH and if he was in the shower for 40 mins, I'd probably start getting worried in case he'd fallen and knocked himself out or something!!!!

I know you enjoy your shower, but you need to accept that with 8 people sharing a bathroom, for you to be doing this every day is quite selfish. Would you not consider having a quicker shower (10-15 mins) maybe 5 or 6 days a week and having your more luxurious shower on the other 1 or 2 days? You may also find that this cuts down on the electricity bills. Not to mention being better for the environment.
    Gordon wrote: »
    The simple solution is dialogue. You must hold a house meeting, you don't talk with your housemates enough and you simply must if you are to continue to be healthy in the mind.

Call a house meeting and do a house meeting every month or so, regularly. (or do you do that? I can't understand all that's posted tbh)

This is very good advice. The impression I've got from reading your posts is that you don't really communicate with your housemates. Your showering habits may well really annoy them, but maybe they just haven't said anything to you. A regular house meeting would mean that issues like this could be brought up and addressed as they arise, rather than a case like this where someone's anger built up so much that they broke a door down. Yes, her actions were out of order, however I think if you're going for a 40 minute shower in a shared house, it's just common courtesy to mention it to people before you go in, especially if you're not in a hurry and are just showering for pleasure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

40 minutes is a joke!
    Everyone has a breaking point and this other tenant reached hers. I don't know how long the two of ye were living together but it could have been slowly building from the first week.

And you mentioned she had a job interview so she was likely very stressed and in these tough times, maybe desperate for a job.
    Now it doesn't excuse what happened and for sure, if a lad did this to you OP, i expect the posters here would giving different responses.

Someone else mentioned this and got an infraction, don't know why as it was a good idea. :confused:
    Go join a leisure centre, you can spend a hour or two in sauna, steamroom, jacuzzi, cold showers and whatever else and it seems like something you'd be into

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

You hog the main bathroom in a house that 8 people live in? That is so so so selfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

What exactly do you do in the shower for 40 minutes? Genuine question, I'd really like to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Looking for his brain cell or something
    Op is a fcukin nutjob ..that's for sure.
    It's the rest of the tenants I feel sorry for..surprised they didn't get him kicked out already.

Looking for his brain cell or something
    Op is a fcukin nutjob ..that's for sure.
    It's the rest of the tenants I feel sorry for..surprised they didn't get him kicked out already.

Banned for a week for personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    What exactly do you do in the shower for 40 minutes? Genuine question, I'd really like to know.

OP has already told us. With 8 other people in the house its pure selfish OP.
    OP wrote:
    In the shower I usually use one sponge which is metally hard, another massage brash for about 5-7 minutes, then the simple soft sponge to thoroughly and slowly cover every tiny part of the body. When I use hair gel I have to wash the head twice or three times with the freeze tamper shampoo. Besides I was taught to let shampoo stay on your head for at least five minutes while massaging it. I also like to spend the first five and the last five minutes simply under running water, I really love the specific feeling deep and slender from playing with the temperatures while doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I'm sure if the situation was reversed, and the guy broke into the girls bathroom, while she had but a towel wrapped around her, there'd be the exact same reaction to her taking that long in the shower. Isn't equality great?

FWIW, the 3 S's can easily take the guts of half an hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

OP, that is an absolutely crazy routine. 10 mins just under the water? Get a ****ing grip as well as some sense of decency towards your housemates. Unless you've got hair like Rapunzel then cop yourself on and have some god damn respect for your housemates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Dudess wrote: »
    How does being pushed and pushed and pushed to the point where she lost her temper make her a "lunatic"?

Because she reacted like one. You're responsible for your own actions, nobody else is - "he made me do it" doesn't wash. I'm sure it was a pain in the arse for her, but only a lunatic would knock the door in.
    Let's be realistic here, I'm a 14 stone grown man and I'd have to put some effort in to kick a door in. This girl must have been waaaaaay out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

davyjose wrote: »
    I'm sure if the situation was reversed, and the guy broke into the girls bathroom, while she had but a towel wrapped around her, there'd be the exact same reaction to her taking that long in the shower. Isn't equality great?

FWIW, the 3 S's can easily take the guts of half an hour

I don't think anyone is debating that she was wrong to burst in like that. The OP did willingly and selfishly ignore her requests and from his post it seems that he quite enjoyed annoying her. Both are in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

davyjose wrote: »
    Because she reacted like one. You're responsible for your own actions, nobody else is - "he made me do it" doesn't wash. I'm sure it was a pain in the arse for her, but only a lunatic would knock the door in.
    Let's be realistic here, I'm a 14 stone grown man and I'd have to put some effort in to kick a door in. This girl must have been waaaaaay out of control.

I'm taking a wild guess here but I doubt it was quite the psychotic door-breaking image you have in your head
    After which with a repetitive knock she actually broke the door in.

After a repetitive knock. Hardly sounds like the door was very secure anyway.
    Don't think she deserves the lunatic label quite yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Guess I know how much your word is worth now, Zaph. One page! Also, if you are going to ban that guy for a week for insulting the OP then that Kinetic mod deserves one too as they are being just as annoying. You should be ashamed of yourself after what you posted to me just one page ago!

I'm sorry, have I just acquired magical powers of omnipotence that I know what everyone has posted in every single thread? I told you before that if you have a problem with a post you should report it, didn't I. But no, you'd rather act the smartarse and post rubbish like this instead.

As regards Kinetic^'s post, annoying is not the same as calling someone a fcukin nutjob. His post is no better or worse than countless that have gone before it berating the OP for his lack of consideration. Should I go back and ban all them too?

As it is if you weren't hiding behind an unregged login I'd be banning you for backseat modding. But seeing as I can't do that I'm taking the next option available to me, which is to lock this thread. It's only going round in circles anyway. If you have anything to say about this please feel free to do so on the thread in feedback, although unfortunately you won't be able to stay unregged there.

In the interests of full transparency, I'm copying the following unregged post that was made on a different, unrelated thread to here.
    re. Shower post, Zapherilla. Back seat modding my arse. I dunno if yer drunk or if the other mods have got to you or what but you semi had my respect there for a bit. And no, I couldn't be arsed taking it further. This is about you making a promise to me and breaking it a page later. Be ashamed! And no, I don't expect or want you to unscreen this. Fer your eyes only, caver! ;) I like PI and have been known to give good advice to people and my bit to you would be to not let people come in throwing 'mod attitude' around. And they were on that thread. Have a good night!

As I said previously, any further discussion on this can be comtinued on the thread in feedback.

And another one.
    Full transparency, my left nut! Full transparency would be unscreening my 2 posts answering that mod and yourself on page 9 of the shower thread, Zapherilla! Ooh cheeky. Tou-bloody-che, I guess. Go ahead, get the last word in! The break-in girl is still a nut, though...

I can only see one post of your's deleted, and it wasn't by me, it was another mod. I can undelete it if you like, but it's pretty much the same thing as the post 3 above this one questioning mod actions on the thread. I see no reply to Dudess anywhere. Give me a post number and I might have some chance, I'm on a different post count per page than you.

And stop it with the posts on other threads. If you have something to say to me PM me or post in feedback instead of hiding behind an unregged ID.