Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Simpsons come to Ireland...again

• 17-03-2009 05:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2009/0317/thesimpsons.html

Special first broadcast on Sky 1 later for those of you not already langered, interesting how James L Brooks and all the other assorted writers suddenly make a big fuss of their Irish connections :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

When were they in ireland before :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Thought they were...maybe twas Family Guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭pandamoanium

Nearly forgot this was one! Must watch!

What time is it on at?

Is 6pm still Simpsons O'Clock?

• Moderators Posts: 51,992 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

According to my guide, its the 7.30 episode.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭pandamoanium

Whooo!

Tis on now (I think!) Sky One FTW! :D

Cyndi Lauper? Old episode? Mebbe.. I dunno?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

it's on at half 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

keep my eyes opened on hulu :)

You know they only just recently switched simpsons to HD? Difference is kinda night and day, you know, for a cartoon. Theyre celebrating with off-the wall couch sequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Ah here listen lads. We all know that any episode made after ~2000 is going to be terrible. Don't be getting your hopes up just because its Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

At least they seem to have updated their p*sstake of the irish (sorta), its weird when I see American and German programmes which have settings and stereotypes right out of the 1950's. I remember finding the Family Guy episode rather unfunny because it was the same old jokes (that and for some reason they got a london taxi cab to the pub). Even more *way* back in season 1 or 2 they did some great twists on the old jokes (the classic invention of whiskey gag)
    But visiting the watering hole he finds it has no customers, as the Irish are too busy working.

Though they seem to be a bit late with that gag.

One thing South Park will also have over its competitors is that they can take the p*ss quicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Derry Air. Ha! Ha! [/Nelson]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Yeah. Derry Air. WTF.

It's better than Londonderry Air. That's for sure.

Ah.. Derrière. Very nicely done...

It's French for behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Leprachauns!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fore front of tech boom!???!!!! Ah hardly!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Yeah. Derry Air. WTF.

It's better than Londonderry Air. That's for sure.

Ah.. Derrière. Very nicely done...

It's French for behind.

Behind as in hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,703 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

u2 moving crew
    we move in mysterious ways

haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I already want to kill myself due to the fecking sh!t accents.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Simpsons stopped being funny a long time ago anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

So dissapointed, its awful :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,703 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

BOFH_139 wrote: »

they're pretty rubbish... more like english... english red bus too

good to see glen though

Is it just me or do the "police" look like "Black and Tans"....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭XxXciaraxXx

Police??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

good to see glen getting a piano thrown at him though

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

The police look like the PSNI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭XxXciaraxXx

That was terrible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 lestat72

Just watched the simpsons in ireland the WORST EPISODE EVER
    :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

WORST EPISODE EVER:pac:

Cack of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

Is it just me or do the "police" look like "Black and Tans"....?
    Huggles wrote: »

im glad i wasnt the only one that thought the cops were dressed like brittish police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Ah got a good laugh out of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Huggles wrote: »

Terrible episode. Not that I'm too surprised, they should have ended it two series ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 lestat72

plus they stole that whole song and dance thing from family guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

apart from one or two good jokes it was a very weak episode, They just copy pasted much of the English story to the irish one. Homer gets arrested for doing something stupid, It won't be memorable like the Aussie one or anything but at least the stereotypes weren't as stereotypical as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Ah it was worth it for the Glen Hansard bit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

The best bit was where the irish musician was singing to the married polish chick. :pac:

The episode wasn't that funny but it was pretty acurate,except for the tiny distance between everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Leprachaun wrote: »
    The episode wasn't that funny but it was pretty acurate,except for the tiny distance between everything.

Not if your a certain government minister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I blame the internet, i had read all the jokes beforehand.:rolleyes:

Agreed. well that was to be expected tbph.

It was a bit confusing. When I saw the red bus and black coppers outfits I was wondering wtf was going on.

Although Derry is part of Ireland to me, but it is under English rule.

Irish Nelson sounded like a pirate with the har har..

Meh tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

It was pretty unfunny as the Simpsons tends to be these days... I had to laugh once or twice though. "Get in the paddywagon!... eh... I mean the us-wagon"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

Even my 12 year old brother saw that for the drivel it was......worst simpsons episode i've seen in a long time:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Bloody terrible. Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,233 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

This Shane Ritchie 'Make me Irish' thing on after The Simpsons is totally cringeworthy......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

KevIRL wrote: »
    This Shane Ritchie 'Make me Irish' thing on after The Simpsons is totally cringeworthy......

Yeh,at least Battlestar galactica is next and then off to the pub. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

KevIRL wrote: »

Doesn't look like they're even leaving Dublin on that show, pff.

The bus had Dublin on it display.
    Abigayle wrote: »
    Agreed. well that was to be expected tbph.

It was a bit confusing. When I saw the red bus and black coppers outfits I was wondering wtf was going on.

Although Derry is part of Ireland to me, but it is under English rule.

Irish Nelson sounded like a pirate with the har har..

Meh tbh.

The bus had Dublin on it display.

Thats worse! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Prime Time cartoons in TV forum would be more appropriate.