Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

As much as I hate starting a stephen jones thread.

• 28-05-2009 08:29AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭

"Some people concluded that I was winding up the Irish and, admittedly, they as a nation are in the Kiwi category when it comes to a total failure to spot irony"

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/rugby_union/article6373363.ece

I think him and eddie butler must have been been thought by an Irish Christian Brother or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

ah please..just ignore the fecker:mad:....all he is looking for is a futher response so he can write another article next month..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

I have just read the first paragraph :)

must read more and have a laugh

*edit* great stuff out of auld Stevo today hes always good for a giggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 TheBigGuy

haha he is an international media troll, seriously he is clearly just trying to sell newspapers he said so himself with his 650K hits remark. he is just generationg controversy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭7mountpleasant

Riskymove wrote: »
    ah please..just ignore the fecker:mad:....all he is looking for is a futher response so he can write another article next month..

I know , I Know i keep on telling myself the same thing but he is the first person I read on a Sunday , just for the wtf factor to set me up for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

His record with the Lions, the only true arbiter of all-time greatness,

ffs...give me a break. The Lions is in no way the true arbiter of all-time greatness. If that was the case then there could never be any Aussie, Saffie or Kiwi all time greats. The Lions is a touring side that occasionally does something special.

SJ is a numpty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I read about 2 paragraphs on the HCup final by him on Sunday. You would have sworn Leicester won - basically they showed way more than Leinster on the outside etc etc. Everything this muppet writes has to be a justification for leaving O Driscoll out of the Lions team.
    (on an related topic - Hipkiss was the best centre on show but don't tell Jones I said it)
    Also the "ropey Irish teams " comment is a classic - especially since Ireland have won the same ammount of games in the 6 Nations as France!! Ireland since 2000 have had a good team for 7/8 of those seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

SJ doesn't base his arguments on reality. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭wexican

Noopti wrote: »
    SJ doesn't base his arguments on reality. ;)

Couldn't agree more.

Jones is deluded to suggest that O'Driscoll has not just had a "rejuvenated" season. He's been magnificent, and is clearly miles better than Hipkiss or Erinle. He is far and away the best centre in world rugby. He deserves a good tour now to wrap up such a fine season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

In his Lions selection with about 5 other rugby players (guscott, luger can't remember the others) he didn't have O'Driscoll in his team. All the others just laughed at him! I suggest everyone do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

The comments after the article sum it up really....for those like me who stopped reading after the 2nd paragraph.
    SJ is not happy about BO'D & PO'C being in the test team. Having sown sufficient seeds of doubt about them, he's now well placed to say 'I told you so' if the tour does not end in victory. And if the Lions somehow win, no doubt it'll be despite them. I'm sure the Irish will appreciate the irony.

John, Reading, UK

jonesy i honestly think you never watch any rugby outside the GLORIOUS premiership. i am a huge shanklin fan a was devastated hes missing the tour but o'driscoll not one of the greats? get your tash out of the sand!! hes a winner and the greatest centre to play the game.

ross, swansea, wales

Yawn. Usual junk from Jones.

O Driscoll clearly in bad form. Only won the Grand Slam and Heineken Cup this year. South Africa must be pleased to be facing him rather than Shanklin (no disrespect to Tom Shanklin as I think he is a fine player).

Hows that for irony!

Dave B, D,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Interesting reading and I'm sure he was pissing himself laughing as he wrote the article but he is not a credible journalist and is just comic relief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Can think of several on here who wum with more class, style and better diction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I still support the idea that our own Juvenal should replace Stephen "Anti - BOD" Jones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭7mountpleasant

He is at it again, this time he reckons that Paul O'Connell should be replaced by Simon Shaw for the first test

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/rugby_union/article6492967.ece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

You know that Jones, I can take him or leave him, he talks some sh1te, he talks some sense..like most of us. But what he is, undoubtedly, (and it may be unpopular to say it) love him or hate him, agree or disagree, is a brilliant polemicist and an excellent columnist (don't confuse that with rugby analyst by the way). He polarises opinion and stimulates debate..so, from his perspective, and more importantly his editor's, job done....

But;
    "Some people concluded that I was winding up the Irish and, admittedly, they as a nation are in the Kiwi category when it comes to a total failure to spot irony"

100% on the money...As a nation we're brilliant at slagging ourselves and each other off, but we bloody hate it when some sliebhin from across the waters starts at it...!!! Lets get over ourselves, and leave Mr. Jones to his own devices....*ducks and covers*

Oh, absolutely love the Juvenal(or perhaps jackass) idea....all for it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I've stopped reading/buying the times/Sunday Times because of him. He's a clown of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

This guy is just Marmite, you either love him or hate him. Not sure where the very anti-irish views come from but as the saying goes: those who can,do. Those who cant, become critics....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

He is at it again, this time he reckons that Paul O'Connell should be replaced by Simon Shaw for the first test

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/rugby_union/article6492967.ece

He does explain why he thinks this, I'd tend to agree with him that POC should not be a guaranteed starter - but he will start though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

zAbbo wrote: »
    He does explain why he thinks this, I'd tend to agree with him that POC should not be a guaranteed starter - but he will start though.

Having your tour captain on the bench iv heard it all now.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Having your tour captain on the bench iv heard it all now.

His conclusions are totally flawed but it's an interesting argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

His conclusions are totally flawed but it's an interesting argument.

He's the best lock we have (and iv been fairly critical about him aswell) who else in the 2nd row is playing as consistent as him?

Stev_o wrote: »
    He's the best lock we have (and iv been fairly critical about him aswell) who else in the 2nd row is playing as consistent as him?

No-one. I said it's a flawed argument. ;)