Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving an automatic for the first time

• 04-10-2009 10:37AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

I'm renting a car in the US in two weeks' time and starting to think I'm being a bit too blasé about the prospect of driving a car with automatic transmission.

I've booked a Ford Mustang, which is a powerful enough car (although by all accounts is a bit primitive compared to anything similar from outside America) but while I'm not sure I'll actually get a Mustang, I'm quite sure it'll be an auto.

So here's my question: as someone with 11 years of driving experience and over 1k miles driving rented Fiestas around Portugal and a Galaxy around windy Tuscan hills, am I ok in thinking I can hop in to an automatic without further ado? Or do I need practice somewhere? Bear in mind I've never driven a single millimetre in an automatic! Are they as easy as I've led myself to believe all these years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

JayeL wrote: »
    I'm renting a car in the US in two weeks' time and starting to think I'm being a bit too blasé about the prospect of driving a car with automatic transmission.

I've booked a Ford Mustang, which is a powerful enough car (although by all accounts is a bit primitive compared to anything similar from outside America) but while I'm not sure I'll actually get a Mustang, I'm quite sure it'll be an auto.

So here's my question: as someone with 11 years of driving experience and over 1k miles driving rented Fiestas around Portugal and a Galaxy around windy Tuscan hills, am I ok in thinking I can hop in to an automatic without further ado? Or do I need practice somewhere? Bear in mind I've never driven a single millimetre in an automatic! Are they as easy as I've led myself to believe all these years?

There's nothing to it at all. I jumped into an auto a couple of years ago and just drove it. They really are as simple as you have led youeself to believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Tuck your left foot under the seat so you can't go for the "clutch" to change gear. Otherwise you will hit the brake and lock the wheels. Then when you get used to it you will wonder why we all don't drive autos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if you can drive manual transmission you can drive auto ......Americans are generally a lazy race so ...once you get the hang of it (5-10mins) ... you'll want one at home....in saying that I prefer driving manual and love that I can drop a gear to overtake someone.(when perfectly safe to do so while remaining under the speed limit)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

I tried an automatic before - simples.
    One to go and d'other one to slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

PCPhoto wrote: »
    in saying that I prefer driving manual and love that I can drop a gear to overtake someone

Autos will do that for you as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Dartz

One thing to remember.

Automatic cars roll forward when you take your foot off the brake. This caught me out once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

JayeL wrote: »

If you picked a convertible it's probably a Mustang "or similar". So it might be a Sebring, or worse a PT Cruiser convertible.

Anyway, as the others have said, it's a piece of piss. Here's a write-up of my holiday in the States, that included a 3 day road trip - a small bit of info on driving over there.

If you're used to driving on the right abroad, then you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Actually I have one caveat, I drive an auto on a regular basis now, but when I get back into my own manual I keep forgetting to clutch till the car starts hopping :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I drive an auto here, possibly the best invention since the car itself. Once you go auto, you never go back! Manuals are for tractors and boy racers really, I love being able to shoot away from traffic lights and be able to indicate at roundabouts etc. without having to do multiple things at once such as changing gears, pressing the clutch. The leaving up the clutch with a feather soft touch or else it would cut out.

You'll love an auto and the majority of people who drive them love them, those who knock them usually have never driven one, great for city traffic, clutching every few seconds what a nightmare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭traco

trad wrote: »
    Tuck your left foot under the seat so you can't go for the "clutch" to change gear. Otherwise you will hit the brake and lock the wheels. Then when you get used to it you will wonder why we all don't drive autos.

As above - you will need to have the brake pressed to shift from P (Park) tansmission locked to D (Drive) or R (Reverse). Only use your right foot and forget the left completely. The handbrake can sometimes be operated with your foot - if thats the case (model dependent) then thats the only time you would use your left foot, depress it with the left and theres normally a release catch that you pull with your hand to let it off.

Re - mustang, it'll make lots of noise but its not quick, not many american things are unless you get something with a V8, most rental stuff is V6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

traco wrote: »
    Re - mustang, it'll make lots of noise but its not quick, not many american things are unless you get something with a V8, most rental stuff is V6.

Mustangs are a thing of beauty and I saw a good lot of them last time I was over in Vegas, they are more of an image car and are built around the american idea of just cruising, now the Shelby Mustang on the other hand, now there's a car with power under the hood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭ei9go

Only one rule.

If you go to move your left foot, you are going to do something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just do what I do, stick your left leg up on the dash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,802 ✭✭✭cml387

..and if you exceed the speed limit, you will be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Dartz wrote: »
    One thing to remember.

Automatic cars roll forward when you take your foot off the brake. This caught me out once or twice.

Yeah, especially when sitting at traffic lights and the car is in D (drive mode). I forgot about this and let my foot off the brake and tipped a car in front slightly. No damage whatsoever, just tipped it, but I'm always careful of that now when driving in the US.

Mustangs are cool, but they aren't that quick acceleration wise. Just for cruising... and they are perfect for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭firefly08

Be warned about one other thing!: when you take your foot off the gas in an auto, at speed, it feels like you're coasting. The engine braking effect just isn't there to the same extent. So you have to be a bit handier with the brakes! Once you start braking, it'll eventually change down through the gears and help slow you down, but it can easily catch you by surprise! Mustang's brakes are pretty good though.

Any car you rent stateside will be an automatic, even the Mustang. I rented one a few months ago over here in the US. It's not really that fast however. I'm not a fan of automatics but I have to say the auto box in the Mustang is the best I've seen - really smooth! (A lot of cheaper automatics change gears very roughly). You made a great choice

And if you're wondering whether it's OK to keep your foot on the brake to prevent the rolling forward at traffic lights, yes it is. You might think you have to pop it in neutral, but it's not necessary for short periods of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

A mate of mine is recently back from a cross country trip across the States in a convertable Mustang. He liked it well enough, but said it was a bit thirsty and his Subaru back home would rings around it. Still, a classic way to do it. Automatics are easy peasy, the only problem is trying to drive a manual after it. And you will keep getting into the wrong side of the car for a while after you come home. Have a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭USER X

Dont be so worried about it, its really not a big deal. Im just back from holidays in the states and I drove all around LA and then down to Vegas and to the grand canyon. I even drove around LAX, was a bit worried about that but it was fine.

Do you use a GPS here? If you're going to have one over there and you dont use one here, try to just listen to it and dont look at it too much. If your going to LA, you should beware of the 10 lane highway, thats 5 lanes in each direction and the occasional 6th lane for turning off. From my expenience, the americans are actually good drivers compared to the rubbish we have to put up with here.

P = Park
    R = Reverse
    N = Neutral
    D = Drive

This was the sequence in the car I was using (Jeep Grand Cherokee). Its a good idea when you first get in to adjust your mirrors, get your seat right and set the Sat Nav. Then put your foot on the foot brake, pop the gear selector into drive, let the hand brake off and slowly release the foot brake to start off. Once your out of the parking lot (area) you can push the accelerator a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

its easy to drive an auto (i think, never did it) but i like having to change gear on my own, if i were to sit in an auto and try to drive it, the chances are, as im going up i'd try and change gear :o

also, i gear hop, so i'd be in second and skip into 4th most of the time aswell :pac:

or sometimes it'll be 3rd to 5th :)

i dont know, i wouldnt feel natural driving an auto, i like gears :o

i like going down in hills in very low gears too, in 4th down hill and the revs would stay at about 1100 without using the foot :) (very eco friendly)

if i had to buy a brand new car and pick one, it would be a manual one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭USER X

robbie_998 wrote: »
    its easy to drive an auto (i think, never did it) but i like having to change gear on my own, if i were to sit in an auto and try to drive it, the chances are, as im going up i'd try and change gear :o

also, i gear hop, so i'd be in second and skip into 4th most of the time aswell :pac:

or sometimes it'll be 3rd to 5th :)

i dont know, i wouldnt feel natural driving an auto, i like gears :o

i like going down in hills in very low gears too, in 4th down hill and the revs would stay at about 1100 without using the foot :) (very eco friendly)

if i had to buy a brand new car and pick one, it would be a manual one ;)

I like manuals too, wheel spinning, kicking the back out on round-a-bouts, double clutching..... But I drove over 3000 Miles in 2 weeks in France last year and trust me, manual gears are not nice for something like this.

USER X wrote: »
    I like manuals too, wheel spinning, kicking the back out on round-a-bouts, double clutching

no i dont like doing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

Just forget that you have a left foot and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭moonage

As others have said keep your left foot tucked away, when you stop keep your foot on the brake or the car will creep forward and remember that there's very little engine braking.

Also, autos don't roll back on hills, which is handy. If you'll be doing a lot of hiway driving, make sure the Overdrive is engaged; if it's not engaged the car won't go into top gear and petrol is wasted.

>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

USER X wrote: »
    P = Park
    R = Reverse
    N = Neutral
    D = Drive
    That'll be the sequence in all standard automatics.

P is really only for when you are parked, as in about to switch off the engine and leave. Some cars won't release the key from the ignition unless it's in park. It's essentially the same as putting your manual into first to park it properly.

R is self explanatory

N is really for long stops like waiting for someone outside a shop etc.

D = Go, stopped at lights, anything not taken care of above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭You

Not sure if it's been mentioned before, but a handy tip to prevent you mistaking your brake pedal for a clutch, is leave your left hand resting on your left leg.... just reminding yourself to leave your left leg out of the equation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭kuro_man

You use the accelerator differently in an automatic car:

To gear down (eg. climbing or overtaking) push accelerator all the way to the floor and get engine reving; ease slightly when gear changes down

To gear up, hold accelerator or release slightly at current speed

In other words, you control what gear you're in with the accelerator.

You can also use the selector to gear down if you find that easier and quicker, it's handly when you don't want to car to change to the highest gear, for example, between bends. The selector defines the maximum gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Drove an automatic Mustang in the States two weeks ago. Nice car, seemed to be a RWD, though I could be mistaken. Not a lot of "poke" in it though as far as I could tell.

Driving the automatic is dead handy in that you only need to focus on the road and the signs, but it seemed to leave you somewhat out of touch with the vehicle and it was hard to get exactly the right amount of power I needed when overtaking or accelerating - you either didn't get enough (too high a gear), or it went into too low a gear and took off unnecessarily. Which is never a problem for me with a manual. That might be something that comes with experience though. Still wouldn't get an automatic in Ireland.
    cml387 wrote: »
    ..and if you exceed the speed limit, you will be caught.
    Depends on where you are. Law enforcement is very parochial in the states, and administration often takes place at the county level instead of the state or federal levels. Some counties have too many officers (who are bored and will do you for anything), some have the right amount, some don't have enough. I exceeded the speed limit a couple of times on Interstates without any hassle and most of the time there were people shooting by me in the overtaking lane doing 90mph+. This was California.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭db

The one thing that caught me out a few times with an automatic is the car will not start if it is not in Park. if the car will not start you probably left it in Drive when you stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Automatics are straightforward, move the lever to desired position, relase the handbrake and off you go.

A car in Drive will always move forward. This has the interesting effect of meaning that you will not roll backwards on an incline (unless it's very steep).

You cannot start the car unless it's in Neutral.

Some cars have a quirk about Reverse as well, but I can't remember it now.

I'd take a manual over automatic anyday, but automatics are great when you're driving somewhere unfamiliar or long distance.

Get a sat nav and listen to the instructions. I spent a week on the road last year in the States and no problems (Washington DC airport -> Niagara Falls (in Canada) -> Cornell -> Harrisburg and finally back into Washington DC itself. Drove right through the middle with no probs.

Just remember that in the States, you can usually turn right at a junction, even on a red light. Just check the signage, as it is forbidden at some junctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

dudara wrote: »

You cannot start the car unless it's in Neutral.

WTF??

All autos can be started in either P or N.

The ONLY difference between P and N is the solenoid pin to lock the transmission from rotating.

Some autos wont let you take it our of P unless the brake pedal is pressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

mullingar wrote: »
    WTF??

All autos can be started in either P or N.

The ONLY difference between P and N is the solenoid pin to lock the transmission from rotating.

Some autos wont let you take it our of P unless the brake pedal is pressed

Maybe I'm wrong here - there was some quirk with starting my car.

Either way, automatic driving is a doddle once you get used to the differences.

You wrote:
    Not sure if it's been mentioned before, but a handy tip to prevent you mistaking your brake pedal for a clutch, is leave your left hand resting on your left leg.... just reminding yourself to leave your left leg out of the equation

Do many people have a problem with this? My only issue is using a manual after an auto, rather than the other way around.
    I'd take a manual over automatic anyday, but automatics are great when you're driving somewhere unfamiliar or long distance.

That's hardly the only benefit of an auto, but I suppose this isn't the thread for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

The most important thing is to drive on the right! Gears are no problem.
    At some point you'll pull out of your driveway/shops/carpark and there'll be no cars around to remind you and you'll drive on the left. At least that's what I did

Yeah, pulling out of junctions and left hand turns can catch you out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

if you have someone with you in the car, it can be helpful to get them to remind you which side of the road you're supposed to be aiming for etc. when making turns, it can be very easy to forget!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,718 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Maybe I'm wrong here - there was some quirk with starting my car.

Either way, automatic driving is a doddle once you get used to the differences.

it was probably that you have to have your foot on the brake for it to start.

ah lads come now, just put one foot in the grave and you'll be fine :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

netwhizkid wrote: »
    You'll love an auto and the majority of people who drive them love them, those who knock them usually have never driven one, great for city traffic, clutching every few seconds what a nightmare!

I drive pretty much everything (with or without wheels :) ) and have had both.

Automatic is nice alright, but if you carry a good bit of weight you want manual or an engine that can take it. Give you an example, I've had 2 van's with automatic, last one being a 78 bhp diesel. That's not fun, when you try to get up the hill from Dunnes in Cabinteely and up towards Foxrock, with a big trailer and fully loaded on the back.

So manual has it's purpose and honestly I prefer it, but that comes down to my choice of car.

Again, as stated by others: just forget your left foot and you'll be alright. It's easy as pie.

/M

traco wrote: »

All convertible Mustangs are V6 nowadays. And getting a V8 Mustang as rental is impossible (well .. at least in the states :) ).

Anyhow, Hertz will most likely give you a Mustang, if you rented there. Don't expect a muscle car with the V6, but it's a nice drive. Just the interiour is a bit cheap compared to similar cars.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Mick Bloggs

I was a passenger in a BMW 5 series in on the autobahn in Germany a few years ago, the knock down on this car was a manual selection i.e., the gear lever while in drive was shifted to the left (towards the driver) to maximise engine speed & then manually shifted back to D to cruise. I thought it was sweet as it gave the driver a certain manual/sporty interaction when overtaking. Are there any other autos this side of the world like this? or is it unique to the beamer? Also would you use this knock down to aid slowing down in an emergency or descending a steep gradient? Sorry for all the questions!

It's called speed-step in the BMW.

The concept originally comes from Porsche and also exists in VW and Audi (called tip-tronic).

The next generation of that is the flappy padel box, which everybody hates, but is used in a lot of supercars and E60 M5's.

/M

Mercedes electronic 5-speed (pre-tiptronic) gear boxes were set up like that too.

Previous ones had standard selectors that would do the same job, albeit not a smoothly.

kuro_man wrote: »
    Previous ones had standard selectors that would do the same job, albeit not a smoothly.

Not quite right. On the older auto-gearboxes, same as most of the americans, the selection for 4,3,2 etc. locks it to use that gear at a max.

Will say, if you have a 4 or 5-speed auto-box and you set it to 3, it will only switch between 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. These are load-gears, so that when your car/van is heavy loaded, you prevent it from using the top gears.

Tiptronic/Steptronic gearboxes removed the need for them being there.

/M

242377400_cb096b68e9.jpg
    http://farm1.static.flickr.com/86/242377400_cb096b68e9.jpg
    In the photo above you'll see that D is directly opposite 4, to make gearing down from 5th to 4th easier "D< >4". This is an electronic (but not tiptronic) gearbox. Previous non-electronic would have 2nd highest gear (eg. 3) below Drive.

Correct. But that has nothing to do with tiptronic/steptronic gearboxes.

It's just a load-gear, limiting how far up the gearbox can shift. The way, where you shift left and right is just to prevent, that you accidently happen in the load gears etc. and to make it easier.

Tiptronic/Steptronic gearboxes give you the possibility to move the lever to the left and then shift up and down in the gears by simple tipping the lever forward or backwards. You switch it back to the right and it becomes a normal automatic again. It's basically a half-automatic or full-automatic by choice.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    Correct. But that has nothing to do with tiptronic/steptronic gearboxes.
    /M

Yep, I never said it was!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,718 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

It's called speed-step in the BMW.

The concept originally comes from Porsche and also exists in VW and Audi (called tip-tronic).

The next generation of that is the flappy padel box, which everybody hates, but is used in a lot of supercars and E60 M5's.

/M

it's called steptronic in BMW, nearly every 3.0l or bigger engine BMW comes std with paddles if you spec auto trans, it's not just M5s.

copacetic wrote: »
    it's called steptronic in BMW, nearly every 3.0l or bigger engine BMW comes std with paddles if you spec auto trans, it's not just M5s.

My bad. I know it was something with "step" instead of "tip" used for Porsche/Audi/VW. I wouldn't drive any of the newer BMW's :) I don't like the looks of'em.

And as for the flappy paddles, they are just a pain in the neck.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Sean.2

Drove an automatic for first time a few weeks ago Golf. Was used to drivin manual and was tipping along then came to a big straight so put my foot down and went to change gear as if I was in a manual and jammed on the brake and into a hedge, not a pleasant experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

My bad. I know it was something with "step" instead of "tip" used for Porsche/Audi/VW. I wouldn't drive any of the newer BMW's :) I don't like the looks of'em.

And as for the flappy paddles, they are just a pain in the neck.

/M
    You're doing it wrong, you're supposed to operate them with your hands! :D

Thanks you, thank you; I'll be here all week.

Seriously though, the only time the flappy paddles get used on my yoke is to show a passenger what they do; otherwise, they're wasted space and extra weight on the steering wheel.