Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

better way to isolate cymbals

• 22-10-2009 07:27AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

just started tracking the drums for our ep last night, the general drum sound is quite tight, but im having a serious issue with the overheads. the live room is quite small and the bleed off the other drums is big, so much so im picking up a bit more toms than cymbals, just wondering apart from eq'ing how am i best to try isolate the cymbals ? I'm using 2 akg c4000's and i think this might be the problem, would have preferred 2 small diaphragm condensers but thats not an option :(
    SO in a small room recording drums, whats the best mic postion,angling and polar pattern for cymbals ? all advise much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Taking it that the drumming/equipment is good.

If your room is small then it's hard, as you're up against physics. Mics changes or positioning will have limited use here.

There are a few of things you could try though.

One is see can you borrow smaller quieter hi hats and cymbals - that makes a huge difference, though maybe not enough in a small room.

The other obvious thing to do is strip silence your tom tracks i.e. remove all 'ambience' recorded on them that isn't toms, but you're probably already doing that.

If you're really stuck one 'desperation' solution is overdub the cymbals i.e. don't record them in the first place, and put them on last.

You could also get into triggering ambience samples that don't have cymbal spill etc etc but maybe life is too short for all that mularkey ...

Lastly, the overheads do pick up and overall image of the kit, not just the cymbals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭raidenft

cheers for havin a look paul, the drummer is top notch yep, with a beautiful sonar kit, and for the drums im using: beyerdynamic opus 99 for kick, 4 opus 88's for toms, sm57 for hats, sm58 for snare, the akg's for overheads and in general im getting a lovely drum tone. there's just no definition in the cymbals from the overheads. pretty much was hoping to have a little more cymbal in the overhead mix and a little less everything else. tried both nearfield to the cymbals and further away, but still the bleed is too much in the small room that no matter where im positioning the mics im getting an awful lot of everything and not as much cymbal as i woulda liked. dubbing the cymbals isnt an option i want to go down and neither is samples/synths

raidenft wrote: »
    cheers for havin a look paul, the drummer is top notch yep, with a beautiful sonar kit, and for the drums im using: beyerdynamic opus 99 for kick, 4 opus 88's for toms, sm57 for hats, sm58 for snare, the akg's for overheads and in general im getting a lovely drum tone. there's just no definition in the cymbals from the overheads. pretty much was hoping to have a little more cymbal in the overhead mix and a little less everything else. tried both nearfield to the cymbals and further away, but still the bleed is too much in the small room that no matter where im positioning the mics im getting an awful lot of everything and not as much cymbal as i woulda liked. dubbing the cymbals isnt an option i want to go down and neither is samples/synths

Usually it's too much cymbals is the problem !

i know, should have made it clearer from the start really. thats why i was saying i wanted small diaphragm condensers for the cymbals as apose to the akg's which are picking up too much of a full room level. but im broke right now so this isnt an option

That won't make any significant difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

just started tracking the drums for our ep last night, the general drum sound is quite tight, but im having a serious issue with the overheads. the live room is quite small and the bleed off the other drums is big, so much so im picking up a bit more toms than cymbals, just wondering apart from eq'ing how am i best to try isolate the cymbals ? I'm using 2 akg c4000's and i think this might be the problem, would have preferred 2 small diaphragm condensers but thats not an option :(
    SO in a small room recording drums, whats the best mic postion,angling and polar pattern for cymbals ? all advise much appreciated.

I track my kit in my own small (12x12) home studio. Smaller rooms generally (always!) mean poorer room ambience/drum sound (as Paul says, you canna change the laws of physics)… but I'm not sure why you think the smaller room specifically contributes to more spill in the overheads?

It sounds to me like it's down to the dynamics of your drummer's playing style... unless you are going to close mic only & overdub cymbals later (madness IMO) then the drummer needs to control his/her kit volume. So, in your case, the drummer needs to either hit the cymbals harder - or ease off the kick/snare/toms.

To be honest, it sounds like an unusual problem.. the vast majority of drummers (me included) are the opposite - ie, they overdo it on the cymbals/hats but don’t play the toms loud enough.

What type of set up are you using for the overheads?... XY, spaced pair etc?... that can have a big impact on how much toms you get. Likewise, EQing out the low end should in theory help minimise the drums in the overhead… but why do you want them out altogether?... as Paul says, one of the jobs of the overheads is to give the overall picture of the kit.

Maybe you could post a quick MP3 sample? I’d be interested to hear the type of sound you’re getting.

Best of luck either way!... it’s no easy task getting a good drum sound in a small room.

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    I track my kit in my own small (12x12) home studio. Smaller rooms generally (always!) mean poorer room ambience/drum sound (as Paul says, you canna change the laws of physics)… but I'm not sure why you think the smaller room specifically contributes to more spill in the overheads?

Because the sound has nowhere to 'go' in a small space, therefore the mics pick up more of everything.

In a big room you'd be surprised at the separation. The ratio between direct and reflected sound is much higher in a large space.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Because the sound has nowhere to 'go' in a small space, therefore the mics pick up more of everything.

In a big room you'd be surprised at the separation. The ratio between direct and reflected sound is much higher in a large space.

Not sure I understand that... if the toms are too loud in a small room, won't they still be too loud in a big room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

I agree with ZV Yoda, it's not the room, it's the drummer. It's true that in a big room, especially one that is acoustically designed, you can get amazing separation. But most of the time folks are not tracking in such great rooms, and it's not often you'd need separation between drum instruments. That's a backwards way of looking at it anyway, it doesn't really make sense to consider cymbals as separate from the rest of the kit. The close mics are supposed to give more focus to the overall sound that the overhead picks up. I think it's a mistake to treat them as cymbal mics.

I've tracked drums many times in rooms smaller than that, and it is possible to get a good tone and sensible balance. I never had that cymbal issue. Next time you're in a bigger space, like at a gig, try listening to him. Has he ever had formal lessons- i.e. rudiments, sight reading etc.?

madtheory wrote: »
    I agree with ZV Yoda, it's not the room, it's the drummer. It's true that in a big room, especially one that is acoustically designed, you can get amazing separation. But most of the time folks are not tracking in such great rooms, and it's not often you'd need separation between drum instruments. That's a backwards way of looking at it anyway, it doesn't really make sense to consider cymbals as separate from the rest of the kit. The close mics are supposed to give more focus to the overall sound that the overhead picks up. I think it's a mistake to treat them as cymbal mics.

I've tracked drums many times in rooms smaller than that, and it is possible to get a good tone and sensible balance. I never had that cymbal issue. Next time you're in a bigger space, like at a gig, try listening to him. Has he ever had formal lessons- i.e. rudiments, sight reading etc.?

Yip... not saying your drummer's bad by the way... it's just about balancing the kit volume. It's not that difficult to do once you become aware of it.

I know from person experience, when I first started tracking myself on drums I was amazed how lightly I was hitting the toms. In my head, I was playing the same volume all over the kit, but in reality, the tom volume was way down. I was never a big cymbals masher (lots of drummers are), but I was a bit heavy-handed on the hi-hats, so I learned to ease off... I also swapped my 14" medium hats for a pair of 13" lighter ones & that worked really well... in fact, I did that based on the advice of somebody from this very forum)

So, bottom line... fix the volume at source & you'll make life easier all round. Also, if like me you struggle to get a big/snappy snare sound in a small room, don't be afraid to augment with samples... this can work very well if done properly (i.e. don't completely replace the original snare, just use a sample underneath the original to give it a bit more oomph/body while retailing the drummer's original snare sound. I've also heard about people triggering a sine wave under the snare to give it a bit of lift (haven't tried that myself yet).

Not sure I understand that... if the toms are too loud in a small room, won't they still be too loud in a big room?

Aye, but I'm talking separation.

If you have your kit in a 8ft x 10ft x 8ft room the reflections are close and dense - so they have no time or space to decay.

So if you hit your tom (irrespective of it's 'musical' volume) more of it shoots down ALL the mikes as a rule - making things harder to control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

It might help to tighten up the sound of the kit, like using moongel or heads with dampening rings to make for a more dry controllable sound.

Aye, but I'm talking separation.

If you have your kit in a 8ft x 10ft x 8ft room the reflections are close and dense - so they have no time or space to decay.

So if you hit your tom (irrespective of it's 'musical' volume) more of it shoots down ALL the mikes as a rule - making things harder to control.

OK... I think I get it now!

OP, you mentioned Opus 88s... I've recently switched to using them & while they give a great crack off the snare/toms, they do seem to pick up a lot more ambient noise.

I did a direct AB comparison with an 88 on my snare vs. the SM57 I was previously using. The 88 was more detailed & had more presence (and volume!) but it picked up a lot more hit hat & top end. I noticed the same thing on the floor tom... when AB'd against a 57 on the floor tom, the 88 picked up a lot more snare. I'll need to play around with the positioning, but the AB I did on snare/FT was done with 88/57s in the same position relative to each drum.

Just goes to show, even at the low(ish) end of the spectrum, gear choice does make a difference (cue "I told you so" rant from Mr B).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Dynamics issue alright. Tell him to take it easy on the skins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭kfoltman

Just goes to show, even at the low(ish) end of the spectrum, gear choice does make a difference (cue "I told you so" rant from Mr B).

Well, it's condenser vs dynamic. Totally different mics, so you can safely expect them to give drastically different results.

From my (very limited) experience, the condensers, both small and large diaphragm, tend to pick up more ambience but also give you more detail.

kfoltman wrote: »
    Well, it's condenser vs dynamic. Totally different mics, so you can safely expect them to give drastically different results.

From my (very limited) experience, the condensers, both small and large diaphragm, tend to pick up more ambience but also give you more detail.

Yeah, condenser vs. dynamic made a difference alright... and I'd agree 100% with your comment there... the condenser produces more detail, ambience & body.

If anyone's interested, I could post some AB samples in the next day or so... may be of interest to any home studio folks (not the pro/semi-pros lads :o) who already (or want) to track drums at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Bluebirdstudios

Hi Raidenft,
    You might be having phase cancellation on high freq from the drum kit. This can be caused by primary reflections from the ceiling coming back to the overheads causes a nulling of high freq. You will in all circumstances get phase cancellations across the freq range but it could be in your set up more obvious at the higher range this is why the cymbols may appear to be lower in volume also lost in definition.

1 -Try moving the mics to different heights relative to the ceiling and listen to what's happpening
    2 - Use some absorbent material ( acoustic foam on the rear side of mic facing ceiling to minamise ceiling reflections.) attached to the stand
    3 - Place something on the ceiling that will break the parallel angle between floor and ceiling
    4 - extend the over heads so that they are looking away from drummer and across the cymbol plane not directly down on symbols and over shooting the tom racks **** Note a lot of cymbols energy comes from the horizontal plane.

-Declan

The reflections aren't going to change the level of the cymbals, just the timbre.

Incorrect !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also re-read my quote " this is why the cymbals MAY APPEAR to be lower in volume also loss in definition."

Are you quite sure? Because I am. :D Acoustic reflections and instrument harmonics are a lot more complex than the sine waves you see in books. They're 3D for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

have you tried "underheads"
    Mic the cymbals from underneath and the mics should reject some of the toms/snare and get more cymbals.
    Or mic from the front making sure the cymbals are positioned between the snare and the mics. The cymbals should block off some of the direct snare.
    But as paul says a small untreated room will fill with the sound and everything will go into every mic. Flutter echoes from above can cause phase cancellation and smear the clarity of the cymbals too.
    I am using acoustic panels above the kit and it makes a huge difference.
    http://www.studiosolutions.ie/2060-Acousti-Pro-ColourPanel-S-Acoustic-Tile---Blue.htm

Are you quite sure? Because I am. :D Acoustic reflections and instrument harmonics are a lot more complex than the sine waves you see in books. They're 3D for a start.

Hmmmmm.
    Firstly if your saying that phase can't effect amplitude maybe you should read more of those quoted books !!
    What a mic hears is only a postive and negative waveforms transformed into +/- voltage post diaphram. So even the most complex waveforms particulary at high freq hitting the mic will have degrees of amplitude and cancellation at this 2D phase.

Anyway I stand over what I said on original post.

Lastly - post any study,forum content,acoustic consultant study or any media that states signals out of phase won't effect amplitude of complex waveforms thus effecting their volume/energy.
    I AWAIT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Take the cymbals down and dub them on afterwards...

/*EDIT*/ Kfolt said it better than I did

Hmmmmm.
    Firstly if your saying that phase can't effect amplitude maybe you should read more of those quoted books !!
    Cancellation between two sine waves of same or similar frequency *does* affect amplitude. However, it affects amplitude differently for each frequency.

The cymbal sound consists of many, many partials. Lots of those. Just look at any spectrum analysis of a cymbal sample. Or try to synthesize something that sounds like a cymbal (even non-realistic one, like 808) from single sine waves.

So, it's practically impossible that phase cancellations will cause a boost or cut of *entire* sound. What happens instead, is that some partials will be amplified and others will be attenuated. The overall level may be *slightly* different, but the difference will be minimal comparing to the difference in timbre.

Try putting a recorded cymbal sound through a chorus or flanger effect (which is based on phase cancellations) - it will fluctuate in timbre, it won't fluctuate much in amplitude. At least not enough to make it quieter than toms! :)

studiorat wrote: »
    Take the cymbals down and dub them on afterwards...

Said that 2 days ago 'Rat .... Keep Up.

Must remember to read the other posts and not just scan through!!

You'll have to forgive me I'm living in Mac Terminal hell right now...

Jaysus lads... the more experienced/pro gurus on here are always telling the bedroom/home studio warriors (of which I'm a proud card-carrying member) to get it right at source - and then work from there. That's good advice... (actually, anything other than "you're wasting your time if you're not using a Neumann/Neve/Abbey Rd Studio 1" is always good advice in my books ;) )

So (for starters at least)... tell you're drummer to ease off the toms or else hit the cymbals harder. If that really doesn't work, then you can start to work your way through the applied physics lessons above!

Agreed Kfoltman,

Read original quote below I used these terms :
    "Nulling of high freq" , "why the cymbols may appear to be lower in volume also loss in definition."
    Never said it would be the answer to Tom vs cymbals level for that I suggested using different overhead positions!!

I tried to keep suggestions general and simply without getting dragged into another acoustic knowledge debate it doesn't help original poster get answers or tips.

"This can be caused by primary reflections from the ceiling coming back to the overheads causes a nulling of high freq. You will in all circumstances get phase cancellations across the freq range but it could be in your set up more obvious at the higher range this is why the cymbols may appear to be lower in volume also lost in definition."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

good luck convincing your drummer to overdub cymbals separately. But try anyway, because it's so nice to have drum-less cymbal tracks.

But always remember to record overheads anyway because drums exclusively close-mic'd don't sound like drums. Much in the way that cows don't look like cows on television (or so that episode of the simpsons leads me to believe).

Actually on Takk apparently Sigur Ros' drummer overdubbed all the cymbal work. And rumour has it it goes on a lot these days.

(post deleted - the same thing was more or less described on previous page)

Hmmmmm.
    What a mic hears is only a postive and negative waveforms transformed into +/- voltage post diaphram. So even the most complex waveforms particulary at high freq hitting the mic will have degrees of amplitude and cancellation at this 2D phase.

Anyway I stand over what I said on original post.

Lastly - post any study,forum content,acoustic consultant study or any media that states signals out of phase won't effect amplitude of complex waveforms thus effecting their volume/energy.
    I AWAIT

In my opinion you've been unclear up to now. Let me illustrate:
    In response to a post stating:
    im (sic) picking up a bit more toms than cymbals

you stated:
    You might be having phase cancellation on high freq from the drum kit.

I pointed out that:

You responded with:
    Incorrect !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And now, you're being very unclear abut the point you're making. But I enjoy a challenge, so I will attempt to be very clear now :)

It's a lot more complicated than you appear think. I'm not saying that phase does not affect amplitude, it clearly does, but as kfoltman pointed out, you appear to be ignoring the complexity of the sounds involved. A mic translates 3D sound pressure variations in a room into a 2D representation, as you say, a varying voltage with time.

But in this case, it appears that you're not considering the behaviour of sound in a room, or the behaviour of a struck cymbal over time. It's the science of acoustics.

1. The frequency response of a typical small room, such as the one under discussion, is created by the interaction of all the reflections, giving large peaks and dips below roughly 400Hz- this figure is a function of the room's volume. It increases in smaller rooms and decreases for large rooms, it's called the room cutoff frequency. It's a good way to explain why bigger rooms sound better. Above the cutoff frequency, the peaks and dips are less pronounced. Broadly speaking, there are as many peaks as there are dips. So what happens is that the timbre of the instrument will vary from room to room, but not the amplitude. To put it another way- in the HF range, even though the peaks and dips are at different frequencies in different rooms, there is always going to be about the same of each. Here's a good example of a real room, measure your own, it will show the same "spiky" response at HF:
    110170d1234512962-result-measuring-hs80m-frequency-response-room-eq-wizard-nt1-graph.jpg

2. By the time the reflections hit the mic, their energy has been changed because some of it is lost as heat when it hits the wall. Furthermore, the cymbal will be producing a completely different set of harmonics to the ones that were originally reflected. There will be no correlation between the two wavefronts, therefore there cannot be phase cancellation, but there will be something like comb filtering. Again, that will change the timbre but not the amplitude.

As kfoltman has already pointed out, a cymbal produces very complex harmonics. It's almost white noise. It doesn't sound like white noise because, among other things, the phase, amplitude and pitch of the harmonics vary over time. If you were to synthesize a cymbal sound by adding sine waves, you'd probably find that you'd need millions of them.

I've left out some detail to clarify the issue at hand. I don't think I need to post a reference for any of the above, it's all very basic acoustics that you'll find in any book on the subject. This Ethan Winer article is a great primer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Ronan Murphy

This is a very rare situation. Usually its way too much cymbals overpowering the toms and snare. As a mixer your actually sounds like a great situation if...... IF.... the toms are tuned or treated to have a very short decay. With toms that ring out for a bar and a half this would be a mess, but nice short toms like you hear on most major records should work great.

When it comes time to mix, I would usually do some fairly aggressive paralell compression on the drum buss and this would bring out the cymbals and and sit the toms where they belong.

Try this experiment. treat the toms so they decay fast and try using your best compressor plug in to compress the overheads pretty aggressively. Good hardware works much better for this, but your best plug compressor can get you going in the right direction.

This is a very rare situation.

Lads talking bollocsk on Boards ? Nah, happens every day ....

Oh you mean Low Cymbals , yes I agree !

Lets just say we disagree and move on .

You can't disagree with physics. :p

Yes you can! However, sometimes it results in a Darwin award.

kfoltman wrote: »
    Yes you can! However, sometimes it results in a Darwin award.
    LOL :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Darwin awards?

Yeah... it's a special award given to drummers who defy the laws of physics!

Named in honor of Charles Darwin, they commemorate those who improve our gene pool by removing themselves from it...

eg.
    (March 1989, South Carolina) Michael Anderson Godwin was a lucky murderer whose death sentence had been commuted to life in prison. Ironically, he was sitting on the metal toilet in his cell and attempting to fix the TV set when he bit down on a live wire and electrocuted himself.

****BUT YOU CAN DISAGREE WITH HOW AND WHO'S DELIVERING IT.!!

I wasn't going to do another reply to this thread and already tried to end my part in it but I was bugged by some sign off remarks. So here it is --

1. deleted.

2 You talk about "the science of acoustics" and typical room responses for the room in question but ignore the freq spectrum of the cymbals themselves. Let me explain A ride cymbal depending on size and make may have a strong partials even down as far as 400 hz or lower. THE CONSTRUCTIVE AND DESTRUCTIVE INTERFERENCE OF THESE SINE WAVES WILL EFFECT BOTH AMPLITUDE AND TIMBRE TO VARYING DEGREES--- ABSOLUTE FACT !!!

3.You talk about timbre as if it’s not important that somehow the compensatory behaviour of the higher complex waveforms keeps that amplitude averagely the same (true) and again you ignore the fact how important fundamental freqs are to our perception of sound.

A hi hat has a lot of its defining freq's (Partials) as low as 850hz or below needs these partials and harmonics that are factors above ,even and uneven, so we can perceive its timbre accurately. So if these partials (lets take 850hz for example) which has a wavelength of 1.5 foot ? or thereabout and considering our room and the likelihood off the mic being 1 -3 foot away from ceiling its phase may be possibly between 0 - 180 degrees out on primary and secondary etc reflections form said ceiling.
    It’s these initial reflections that are vital, they hold most of the impressions of the timbre of the sound/ instrument. The later reflections will have less and less effect as time varies on the brains perception of the sound. There are theories out there that point to the possibility of the brain decoding a sound source in milliseconds not needing to hear the whole sound. The thinking is that the "clues" for what the sound is going to develop into are already decoded from the first waveform impressions ( Off point -I know)But trying to illustrate the need for high freq to remain relatively in phase despite their short wave lengths we still decode this information. That’s why you’ll often hear engineers/musicians refer to sweet open high end in certain studios – good diffusion unlike perhaps the original posters room.

****Point 3 in summary ,the explanation you give re “reflections aren't going to change the level of the cymbals, just the timbre” while true at higher freq in fact the higher the freq the truer it becomes, but again you fail to realise that moving to the cymbals lower freqs (partials) the more possible impact phase has on sounds amplitude.
    Your argument focuses too much on high freq aspects and behaviours while again ignoring lower harmonics which are more prone to phase anomalies due to wave length and time domain factors and are also essential to our perception of the instrument.

Your quote – “the cymbal will be producing a completely different set of harmonics to the ones that were originally reflected. There will be no correlation between the two wavefronts, therefore there cannot be phase cancellation, but there will be something like comb filtering.”
    IS NOT ACURATE WHEN CONSIDERING LOWER PARTIALS BELONGING TO SOME CYMBALS (eg 18 -20” crash) AND THEIR PRIMARY AND SECONDARY+++ REFLECTIONS ALSO COMB FILTERING IS A FORM OF PHASE CANCELATION – JUST TO BE CLEAR !!

4. You used kfoltman as your reference to support your argument so let take what kfoltman said :
    ---Try putting a recorded cymbal sound through a chorus or flanger effect (which is based on phase cancellations) - it will fluctuate in timbre, it won't fluctuate much in amplitude.

******Now what I said in original post
    ---- You will in all circumstances get phase cancellations across the freq range but it could be in your set up more obvious at the higher range this is why the cymbals may appear to be lower in volume also lost in definition. ( the word lost is suppose to be loss – typo )

Are those 2 statements consistent –yes
    If you do put cymbals through a chorus or flanger effect
    Will you lose some top end and a smearing of definition –YES That’s classic chorus !!!

4- You accuse me of being unclear – which I’ll accept, reason why I was speaking generally if I was to be clear on original post I might have took 20 pages or so to explain all the permutations. Look how long are banters are!! ALSO I DON’T LIKE THIS KIND OF FLEXING MUSCLE BULL S*** AS I SAID BEFORE IT DOESN’T HELP ANYBODY AT THE END OF THE DAY AND WASTES SERIOUS AMOUNT OF TIME.

5- Finally my original post was a general type of tip thing – which by the way I never said the amplitude of high freq would be drastically effected quiet the opposite here again is the exact quote
    --“this is why the cymbals may appear to be lower in volume also lost in definition.
    Given the above quote I’m surprised at your pages,charts and references to amplitude arguments.
    As I’ve already indicated your arguments are in principle true but not fully inclusive and balanced in regards to my original post.

Mr Brewer I now accept I’m speaking bollcoks but I was kind off dragged in !
    Too anyone else who has read this I apologies for wasting your time ye could of had a lovely cup of tea instead.

Is there a better way to isolate the pair of ye ? :mad:

I'm finished on this topic anyway. I've managed to bore myself !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

A friend who used to record in a shed, used cardboard, and hardboard baffles - even putting blankets on top of the shells of the kit to cut down on reflections.

Though is there decent sized, decently acoustically treated rehearsal rooms around that can be rented from the day to record drums? - Drum rooms?

Baffles - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JQHA7H8l2w&feature=related

In a small room you can't stop reflections completely. In a larger room, acoustically treated - most of the the waves loose their energy travelling across the room and back - if you're in a small room with drums, the waves will be able travel rapidly across the room - hit the wall, reflect, hit the drum shells hit the wall - even come back and do it again. the speed of sound is 340 metres per sec - so if you had perfect reflections, and you were 1/2 a metre from the wall you'd get get 340 reflections in a second - which would inevitably lead to phase. In a small room there's nowhere for all the air to go.

Sound waves of all frequencies interact with each other if they cross each other - A sound wave when it's in the air, is the air compressing and decompressing - A compression point of a high frequency sound meets a compression point of a low frequency sound the air pressure at that point will be the sum of the two - if compression meets a decompression it's the sum of the two again - Only two perfect notes of the same frequency coming directly at each other will cancel out - will give you a perfect phase cancellation. (otherwise you get interference beats)

sorry on the late reply. my mac's been in the studio, no interweb in there :(
    Or mic from the front making sure the cymbals are positioned between the snare and the mics. The cymbals should block off some of the direct snare.

This is kind of what i ended up doing, i gave up on the idea of a stereo overhead sound, and went very near field to the cymbals.
    trying to use the cymbals to block the toms, lost the stereo image but im fairly happy with how it turned out each akg's picking 2 cymbals each and a nice general bit of bleed from the whole kit.
    did 6 songs over saturday and sunday, will try whack one up here would love some advice on the drum mixing, as yoda was saying i found alota bleed from the opus 88's but thats gota be expected using condensers for toms in a small room, the tone of them though is lovely. heres a link to a quick banger of a mix of the drums, the vocals and guitar are guide tracks, bass hasnt been added yet. all advice is much appreciated...

http://www.sendspace.com/file/p3zzew

Great drum recording, they sound really good. The snare is a little off centre? I like the hard left and right cymbals. I wonder if you could make more of the dryness of the drum sound?

2 You talk about "the science of acoustics" and typical room responses for the room in question but ignore the freq spectrum of the cymbals themselves. Let me explain A ride cymbal depending on size and make may have a strong partials even down as far as 400 hz or lower. THE CONSTRUCTIVE AND DESTRUCTIVE INTERFERENCE OF THESE SINE WAVES WILL EFFECT BOTH AMPLITUDE AND TIMBRE TO VARYING DEGREES--- ABSOLUTE FACT !!![/FONT][/COLOR]

Just a small observation. The fundamental will be the bottom frequency, the partials will be multiples of it ABOVE the fundamental. We can have partials working to make it sound like tones below that, but the harmonics go up from the fundamental, not below it. Maybe that's what the poster meant but I would like to state that for clarity.

Great drum recording, they sound really good. The snare is a little off centre? I like the hard left and right cymbals

hmmm dont think the snare is off center in the panning, cant imagine myself doing that, is probably the overheads being panned and more snare in one particular overhead will have to look into when im back in there. overheads need to come up a bit and i want to add a bit more ring to the toms, hats need a bita work aswell but in general im pretty happy with how it turned out, drums really arent my thing though, havent recorded or mixed drums in years so any advice is really helpful
    I wonder if you could make more of the dryness of the drum sound?
    do ya mean make it less dry? not really sure from your comment.
    because of the bleed i had to go pretty dry to get nice clarity, the eq on the overheads is probably a little too subtractive though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

make sure you have something on the ceiling over the kit to dampen down ceiling relection.

1/ the akg c 4000 has a cardoid and even a hyper cardoid switch no ?

switch to hyper and place both 1.5 feet over the cymbals , 6-7 feet apart but with cymbals hiding them from the toms - yes you can get the drummer to rearrange the kit

try to get the snare exacatly same distance from each oh mic

2/ the drummer is playing correctly - drummers should hit the toms hardest in recording - fact .

3/ group the overs to a group and pan them left and right to taste ( 65% each is good )

4/ hi pass the overs at about 300 - 400 hz to remove the toms and kick
    and snare body / low end

you should be left with the drums attack, and loads of cymbals .

5/ blend in the close mics to fill out the tom low end and volume .

you can improve it more with buss compression , but try this first .

EDIT - heard your file - you have it pretty good there - but id pan the overs less, sounds like the the band are playing inside the kit - other wise id say you are doing well.

DaDumTish wrote: »
    make sure you have something on the ceiling over the kit to dampen down ceiling relection.

1/ the akg c 4000 has a cardoid and even a hyper cardoid switch no ?

switch to hyper and place both 1.5 feet over the cymbals , 6-7 feet apart but with cymbals hiding them from the toms - yes you can get the drummer to rearrange the kit

try to get the snare exacatly same distance from each oh mic

2/ the drummer is playing correctly - drummers should hit the toms hardest in recording - fact .

3/ group the overs to a group and pan them left and right to taste ( 65% each is good )

4/ hi pass the overs at about 300 - 400 hz to remove the toms and kick
    and snare body / low end

you should be left with the drums attack, and loads of cymbals .

5/ blend in the close mics to fill out the tom low end and volume .

you can improve it more with buss compression , but try this first .

EDIT - heard your file - you have it pretty good there - but id pan the overs less, sounds like the the band are playing inside the kit - other wise id say you are doing well.

ha yeah the guitar and vocals are only guides not focusin on them at the minute. yer right yeah need to take back the panning on the overheads, as madtheory said its making the snare sound panned and the hard left hard right cymbals are a bit much, will give yer 65 % each suggestion a shot and see what it comes out like. thanks