Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: 4x05 - "Dirty Harry" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 26-10-2009 09:51AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭

TheTVDB.com summary:
    Recent events spur Dexter into his own investigation of the Trinity killer. His motivations are now personal, and the clock is ticking. But the closer Dexter gets, the more he realizes that Trinity is unlike any monster he’s previously encountered. Meanwhile, Debra blames herself for events that were out of her control, and in so doing pushes away those closest to her. As LaGuerta and Batista close in on the Vacation Murderers, Batista realizes he can use Quinn’s relationship with a certain reporter to his advantage. And when Rita discovers a secret Dexter’s been keeping from her, she begins to realize just how little she knows about the man she married.

I thought last week's episode was great so I'm looking forward to this later - synopsis sounds promising...

What did you think of 4x05, "Dirty Harry"? 47 votes

Excellent.
    0% 0 votes
    Very Good.
    42% 20 votes
    Meh.
    53% 25 votes
    Bad.
    4% 2 votes
    Crap with an extra helping of crap.
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

Another good episode, 8.5/10 for me. I hope Batista stays with homicide. I can't vote in the poll yet:confused:

Edit: Now I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Quite a sedate episode; great acting from Jennifer Carpenter. Not as good as last week's, but, very good. Obviously a scene-setter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Just started watching the episode and I'm more than a little disappointed that
    Lundy died. Was hoping for him to get onto Dexter a bit more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

I think Dexter is going to become very interested in Trinity and try and find out how he manages both the family and the killing. He won't want to kill him, and may actually come to admire him I think.

I also think that Dexter may join Trinity on his next city cycle. I think thats why they had Rita tell dexter to stay at his apartment. I reckon Dexter will say he needs a vacation to think about the marriage, and will use this excuse to follow Trinity.

All in all I liked this episode, but as was said, I'm a bit dissapointed that Lundy got killed, I liked his charachter and if he had to go, I would have liked for it to be Dexter doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Thought it was excellent... Think Trinity having a family is a big game changer... maybe he is like Dexter - perhaps he only kills people who deserve to be killed... it'll be interesting to see how it plays out...

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

wonder how they're going to explain Trinity travelling all over the country on his killing sprees away from his family.

Heard he's a deacon, so who knows.

Debbie a complete bitch. Even after she tells Anton he fúcked Lundy he says "Well you helped me through it(getting maimed by the Skinner) and I'll do the same for you" She then tells him to feck off. Hopefully Dexter will "take care" of both herself and Rita by the end of the season.

Also, was that coffee guy he bludgeoned with the hammer wearing eye makeup?
    Looked fairly camp for a family man.

vlcsnap-2009-10-26-20h03m45s9.png

Also, lol at the poster of Edward from Twilight in Astor's room.
    vlcsnap-2009-10-26-20h16m47s169.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

A good episode. A shame that Rambo didn't leave Rita get killed in the jungle though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Great episode....

Trinity is a great villain....

Quite odd the crap he does mumble when he is killing, and why was he trying to get himself beaten up last week. I thought he was trying to become the 3rd victim himself by getting beat up and killed at the bar.....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I like the little tie in to last weeks episode with the pipe bursting. It shows that family life is causing him to loose his focus and slip up. Only in a relatively minor way but it still fúcked him over and could have let to Rita finding out about him.

I loved how Trinity has a family. I wonder if him having two kids (he may have more but we only seen two) is significant. Didn't all the other victims just have two kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Quite odd the crap he does mumble when he is killing

I think he said something about the victim not being a good father so probably the male victim is a stand-in for Trinity's real, possibly abusive father - the two women, as others have mentioned in previous episode threads, are stand-ins for his mother and sister/girlfriend maybe? So I don't think Trinity kills like Dexter, based on if people deserve it or not, he's repeating some cycle from his own messed-up childhood.

The episode itself was a bit slow paced but overall, the season is moving right along: we're not even at the half way point yet and Trinity's cycle is complete, the vacation murderers are dealt with and both Rita and Deb are closer to Dex's secret than before.

Liking it very much so far, roll on next week :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

awesome episode - bar ****ing rita - if I have to turn up the volume any more when she talks I'll have to stop watching dexter. ffs. kill her already. whiny ****ing bitch.

interesting that the vacation killers have been snuffed out already tho - maybe they'll take lundys theory seriously now when the 3rd vic is found.

and really nice baps on the reporter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Solid episode.

I was starting to wonder where the season would go now that Trinity's Miami cycle is over, but the revalation of being a family man is really going to take this places. Dexter may have just found his most interesting victim yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Here's what I think's going to happen.

Trinity's secret is that his wife accepts who he is. She knows his secret. She isn't a killer herself, but she accepts that he is. Rita will have to find out. I think that's been hinted at already to be honest.

I see something developing with Angel. He will be transfered to another department and, somehow, he will discover that Dexter's a killer. He will give Dexter a chance to turn himself in, Dexter will tell Rita the truth and, to save their marriage, she'll kill Angel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Very good episode, nice twist with the family aspect at the end . I wonder what made him pick the sandwich guy as opposed to the security guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

I was wondering what the rest of the season was going to be like if Trinity killed his 3rd victim so soon. Its going to be interesting to see how Dexter reacts to Trinity having a family. It may confuse Dexter for a while and intrigue him but the code will eventually win out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Furet wrote: »

Trinity's secret is that his wife accepts who he is. She knows his secret. She isn't a killer herself, but she accepts that he is. Rita will have to find out. I think that's been hinted at already to be honest.

I see something developing with Angel. He will be transfered to another department and, somehow, he will discover that Dexter's a killer. He will give Dexter a chance to turn himself in, Dexter will tell Rita the truth and, to save their marriage, she'll kill Angel.

I think Trinity's wife knowing about him would be a great twist, but if angel found out and ended up being killed by Rita, it would be a bit too much like the Doakes and Leila thing from Season 2.

I would prefer if Trinity and Dexter became some kind of acquantices but Trinity kills Rita or something, which would be great because I am so sick of that whiney bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Didn't see the family man angle coming at all. Dexter is up against it this season. Promo for next week looks good.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Completely forgot. Naked reporter chick was hot!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I see Trinity mentoring Dexter after Dex tries to kill him but finds out that it was Anton who shot Lundi and Deb and the two of them hitting Anton together. Whatever happens it's a great season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Bubs101 wrote: »
    I see Trinity mentoring Dexter after Dex tries to kill him but finds out that it was Anton who shot Lundi and Deb and the two of them hitting Anton together.

Is this a guess, or do you know something about the next episode? TBH, I was thinking the same myself. If Trinity had shot Deb and Lundy, why not show him doing it? My guess would be Anton, or possibly Quinn (for some unknown reason). I don't think Trinity would have let Deb live, nor would he kill outside of his ritual.

What's with all the Rita hatred too? She's a wife, she's supposed to nag.

Trinity having a family is very strange, though I doubt Dexter will get into another kill-buddy situation like he did last year. I could see him study Trinity, to see how he balances the killing and family though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

Furet wrote: »

**** me I want what you're smoking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

J-blk wrote: »
    I think he said something about the victim not being a good father so probably the male victim is a stand-in for Trinity's real, possibly abusive father - the two women, as others have mentioned in previous episode threads, are stand-ins for his mother and sister/girlfriend maybe? So I don't think Trinity kills like Dexter, based on if people deserve it or not, he's repeating some cycle from his own messed-up childhood.

Or is the older guy he kills a representation of himself? Like he hates himself for doing what he does? Prob the abusive father though.

Who was the coffee guy who got killed - did the character have a name? know I've seen him before but doesn't seem to be listed in IMDB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

He looks like John Billingsley from Star Trek Enterprise.

I'm thinking the cycle is that his father was an abusive, and also a bartender (possibly a drunk - hence the drink he lifted to him over the pictures). The father probably drove the sister to kill herself, which then caused the mother to kill herself (or they had a confrontation over the death of the daughter, and she fell). When he went to confront the father, he got beaten up by him. He then went back 5 days later and killed the father. The action of killing his own father, much like dexter seeing his own mother cut up, 'made' him.

Though there's the possibility that he could look to this guy as someone to learn from, or connect with, if he was going to do it, he'd have done it with his brother in season 1. As his brother was going to hurt/kill his sister he killed him instead. If trinity was the one who shot his sister, he'd probably do the same thing he did to his own brother.

I don't think Anton would bother to kill Lundy. He's a bit too relaxed for that kind of response. If Quinn shot lundy as suggested, then you could have the dexter & trinity coming together story line. I doubt it though.

I guess it'll just be a case of wait and see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭FedEx

So far series is quite good , if Rita can just be left out more ... she is a pain in the ass. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

FedEx wrote: »
    So far series is quite good , if Rita can just be left out more ... she is a pain in the ass. ..

>
    jor el wrote: »
    What's with all the Rita hatred too? She's a wife, she's supposed to nag.
    ' wrote:
    [cEMAN**;62778390']He looks like John Billingsley from Star Trek Enterprise.
    Think Rita is playing her part perfectly.
    I knew I saw him in something. He did look like he was wearing a lot of makeup.

Some interesting theories put forward above. Really enjoying this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

MOH wrote: »
    Who was the coffee guy who got killed - did the character have a name? know I've seen him before but doesn't seem to be listed in IMDB.

It wasn't John Billingsley - it's Patrick Labyorteaux:

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0479779/

He played Lt. Bud Roberts on JAG for almost 10 years so that's probably where you know him from (endless JAG repeats on 3e :))... though he has been in a ton of stuff over the years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

never seen an episode of JAG...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Baldie

This is a good turning point in the series, almost like a Chapter 2. Lundy is dead, the facation murderes have been caught/killed, and Trinity's cycle is over. It'll be very interesting to see what happens in the second half of the series....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

J-blk wrote: »
    It wasn't John Billingsley - it's Patrick Labyorteaux:

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0479779/

He played Lt. Bud Roberts on JAG for almost 10 years so that's probably where you know him from (endless JAG repeats on 3e :))... though he has been in a ton of stuff over the years...

Jesus, thank you. That's been doing my nut in.
    I'd swear he wasn't listed when I checked that episode on IMDB before, he's there now though.