Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Horgan wrote: »
    What the fudge?

Every pub in the country will be fecked for serving drunk people so,

c'mon get real,

A pub is a business, selling alcohol, not forcing it on anybody,

they are not the problen here.
    That is the law though, it is just never applied anywhere as far as I can see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

5 and 7 wrote: »
    I personally wasn't out that night so I can't judge what the situation was like.

But regarding the arrests; some people say a good number of them were due to a raid (in Templars Hall?), on another thread here someone said only 1 of the arrested was a WIT student, and others are saying the number of arrests should have been much higher because the Guards selectively went after the 'more serious crimes.' Which is which?
    you and i both know majority of them were WIT students, and did at some point get drunk in the dome, people can twist the facts which ever way they like, but they wont be facts anymore, doesnt really matter what other people say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

you and i both know majority of them were WIT students, and did at some point get drunk in the dome, people can twist the facts which ever way they like, but they wont be facts anymore, doesnt really matter what other people say.

I can see your point but i have to say i was in the dome most of the day and i didnt see many people overlly drunk or causing alot of problems, wheras i heard bad bobs was mental...... last year i heard tvs were ripped off walls and people were having sex and stuff in there..... id say alot of the trouble was caused by people in bobs or more than likely at house parties..... But i could be wrong

Clano wrote: »
    I can see your point but i have to say i was in the dome most of the day and i didnt see many people overlly drunk or causing alot of problems, wheras i heard bad bobs was mental...... last year i heard tvs were ripped off walls and people were having sex and stuff in there..... id say alot of the trouble was caused by people in bobs or more than likely at house parties..... But i could be wrong
    dome didnt really do anything wrong etc, well nothing happened "directly" in or around the campus (incl dome), AFAIK there werent any arrests on campus either, but dome contributed to the majority of the people being drunk towards the evening when people started going elsewhere, and were already smashed etc and went to house parties and started getting more drunk + causing trouble, a 1000 people can fit into the dome from what i have heard, thats 1/10th of the student body (10k students in WIT), and even if only 1/2 of the total students partied, if you do the math there were about 5k people partying in and around the city, so dome contributed to like 1/5th of the mess atleast (statistically haha :P)(indirectly obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭KeelanM90

Clano wrote: »
    That dosent make sense.........

Sorry I wasn't clear the fella who was djing is a volunteer who helps the student union not a SU employee so IMO he's entitled to go work with the dome! I know it could have been handled better by the SU but blaming them just doesn't make sense! If i told you there was a big band
    if they wanted to play no part in it they wouldnt have advertised it, there are other ways to go about collecting money rather than sponsoring a load of piss ups, i doubt many people actully went out of their way to give a couple of bob to charity rather than to pay the fees for going to an event which would be a sure fire piss up.

The big problem is there are really no other ways of doing it because in the end they all end up a piss up! I admit they shouldn't have advertised for the dome but they said if its going to happen anyway why not make money for something worthwhile. Again I admit it was handled wrong but all they did was point people in the direction of the dome where money would be raised for a good cause. No-one in the SU asked anybody to go and break the law. Its the same as every other event if you advertise for it to be bands you imply for people to go see a band not! As far as the SU would know no-one went out with intention of getting arrested

dome didnt really do anything wrong etc, well nothing happened "directly" in or around the campus (incl dome), AFAIK there werent any arrests on campus either, but dome contributed to the majority of the people being drunk towards the evening when people started going elsewhere, and were already smashed etc and went to house parties and started getting more drunk + causing trouble, a 1000 people can fit into the dome from what i have heard, thats 1/10th of the student body (10k students in WIT), and even if only 1/2 of the total students partied, if you do the math there were about 5k people partying in and around the city, so dome contributed to like 1/5th of the mess atleast (statistically haha :P)(indirectly obviously)
    I know what you mean but i also know that there was alot of parties etc in templars hall that would have started in the morning and none of them would have stepped into the dome so i would imagine they would have been the parties that caused the most hastle in the area.
    Iv seen figures that there was about 5500 people out wednesday night.

KeelanM90 wrote: »
    If i told you there was a big band....huh???

The big problem is there are really no other ways of doing it because in the end they all end up a piss up! I admit they shouldn't have advertised for the dome but they said if its going to happen anyway why not make money for something worthwhile. Again I admit it was handled wrong but all they did was point people in the direction of the dome where money would be raised for a good cause. No-one in the SU asked anybody to go and break the law. Its the same as every other event if you advertise for it to be bands you imply for people to go see a band not! As far as the SU would know no-one went out with intention of getting arrested

Yeah we all know that what i think people are saying is that the union shouldnt have advertised the event in anyway, and then expect to be completly absolved of it as soon as it had bad press. They cant advertise it (all be it as a good cause) and then have nothing to do with it after

As far as the SU would know no-one went out with intention of getting arrested
    exactly how naive is the SU? you should know there are always some trouble makers looking for opertunity, and these events provide just that opertunity..., i dont even know why they bother to organise charities, i know its a good cause etc etc, but if your putting your name and the college's name at risk it is just not worth it which ever way you look at it, the world isnt perfect, everyone is quick on the buzzer to recieve some credit, but no one wants to take the blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

Lads why are you slating the union?Like if some more students were willing too volunteer maybe it could of been dealt with better? but us few who did volunteer tried our very best and there was no trouble or very little while the dome was open!When the students and there friends went elsewhere is when it kicked off and the union have noting to do with what people do outside the college, yet still had groups in templers and lismore trying to stop the anti social behavior!!Like you would have to be very naive to think students would listen to volunteers when there pissed!!I was surrounded by 15 fellas in templers and they were screaming in my face about how the union were a load of **** yet when ever they need something who do they go to??

Its just unfair like im taking it personal because i now know i wasted a day for people who just dont give a f**k like :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Moonmad

I think the fact that the SU have to volunteer to act as stewards is a sad indictment that bloody students can't act responsible with a bit of drink in them...
    I've been studying here for the past four years, i wouldn't admit to many around 'Christmas Day'. Every year the students that act like savages and wreck the reputation for the rest of WIT... Seriously their actions are despicable. Wrecking estates, pubs apartments wherever. They need to cop on and learn to drink responsibly.

Lads why are you slating the union?Like if some more students were willing too volunteer maybe it could of been dealt with better? but us few who did volunteer tried our very best and there was no trouble or very little while the dome was open!When the students and there friends went elsewhere is when it kicked off and the union have noting to do with what people do outside the college, yet still had groups in templers and lismore trying to stop the anti social behavior!!Like you would have to be very naive to think students would listen to volunteers when there pissed!!I was surrounded by 15 fellas in templers and they were screaming in my face about how the union were a load of **** yet when ever they need something who do they go to??

Its just unfair like im taking it personal because i now know i wasted a day for people who just dont give a f**k like :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:.

oh i completely understand you, but your missing the point, why does the WITSU organise directly or indirectly these piss ups which they will have to police, and fail at policing them(we know some students are retards and gob shytes who wont listen), and then when push comes to shove they wont stand for taking part of the blame, and defend themselves like kim jong ill trying to defend him owning nukes, WITSU need to take responsibility and need to stop telling lies to the likes of RTE etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

Lads why are you slating the union?

Its just unfair like im taking it personal because i now know i wasted a day for people who just dont give a f**k like

Nothing personal lad, its further up the WITSU ladder that there’s questions over. In fairness its not the people discussing it on here who aren’t giving a f**k, its the scumbags causing havoc around the town last Wednesday.

Why am I unhappy with the union, firstly the hypocrisy of washing their hands of any part of the organisation and promotion when they’ve clearly been advertising the days events.

And secondly the way in which their media responses have been so wide of the mark and misleading, portraying the message that they are a totally innocent party in all this. Hell they even managed to pull the wool over Joe Duffy's eyes who was under the impression the WITSU had zero to do with organisation of it.

Anyway I'm sure it will be all over Billy AM on WLR come Monday again so I'm sure we will hear in their news bulletins if the current message from WITSU is sounding the same.
    Like if some more students were willing too volunteer maybe it could of been dealt with better?
    Cant see why people who can enjoy alcohol in moderation should have to sacrifice their day to stop the drunken masses from up the country falling on their collective a***.

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    Nothing personal lad, its further up the WITSU ladder that theres questions over.

Why am I unhappy with the union, firstly the hypocrisy of washing their hands of any part of the organisation and promotion when theyve clearly been advertising the days events.

And secondly the way in which their media responses have been so wide of the mark and misleading, portraying the message that they are a totally innocent party in all this. Hell they even manged to pull the wool over Joes Duffy's eyes who was under the impression the WITSU had zero to do with organisation of it.

Anyway I'm sure it will be all over Billy AM on WLR come Monday again so I'm sure we will hear in their news bulletins if the current message from WITSU is sounding the same.

Thats it exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭FrankieMul

yeah i'd like to see the figures on how many students actully voted, i for one didnt, because, people always get screwed over in a democracy, doesnt matter who wins the election, no one gets things done, from what i have heard, alot of these things are riged etc etc. so spare that "you voted for them" crap.

That is the most ridiculous quote ever the votes are counted in public in front of all candidates and on the day and verified by the assistant registrar from the college who oversees the count you have no right to critisise something if you are given the oppurtunity to take part in the process and dont even bother. usually the amount that vote is around 1500 students and up to 2000 in some of the election and discounting the students on placement is around 40% of students eligible to vote. And what you heard and what you make up are 2 different things! At least they make an effort to make college life better and improve things! Would you have preferred exams starting after new years or the lecturer union trying to ban student parking or campus services trying to ban outside food in the cafeteria! Please!

And promoting and organising are 2 very different things I have always believed! They made an effort to help the residents and even ask the Templars and Lismore residents association of the work they have done to improve their relations with the student body!

FrankieMul wrote: »
    And promoting and organising are 2 very different things I have always believed! They made an effort to help the residents and even ask the Templars and Lismore residents association of the work they have done to improve their relations with the student body!
    i wont even bother defending myself to you because of your previous comments and im just going to bold with what i just think is beyond stupid

advertisment/promotion is trying to make an event/service popular
    organisation of an event usually implements advertisment/promotion

im not in a business related field but i still get this.

and dont give me that "youre allowed to eat your own food in the canteen because of the WITSU" or "NOW YOU CAN PARK YOUR CAR BECAUSE OF WITSU IF YOU CAN ACTULLY FIND A SPOT" how many people actully drive to college? its a minority, so spare the B.S

Ya its a minority but that doesnt mean they dont have the right to get represented they pay their union subs! Actually it was the union who prevented the lecturers union from getting their way wit the college as they were the only one who opposed it! And tell me so if you think they organised how they did? What did they do??

And tell me so if you think they organised how they did? What did they do??
    find me where i said they organised it and i'll tell you how they did it

i just said they advertised it. aid and abet, accessory to a felony etc. (drama lol)

Your post yesterday at 9pm basically!

oh i completely understand you, but your missing the point, why does the WITSU organise directly or indirectly these piss ups which they will have to police, and fail at policing them(we know some students are retards and gob shytes who wont listen), and then when push comes to shove they wont stand for taking part of the blame, and defend themselves like kim jong ill trying to defend him owning nukes, WITSU need to take responsibility and need to stop telling lies to the likes of RTE etc.
    i said directly or indirectly organising an event, as i proved advertising is like aiding and abeting, or being an accessory, advertisment/promotion is part of organising an event, and i wasnt really reffering to xmas in genral, i was talking more in sense of rag week, where they play an active role and do hardcore advertisment

Ya but in recent years the union has made a huge effort to provide non drink related entertainment for RAG week unlike other unions! People should stop complaining about them and try to aid them in making things better! Waterford students are too fond of sitting back and wanting to be entertained! No such thing as wanting to do anything or adding constructive criticism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

i said directly or indirectly organising an event, as i proved advertising is like aiding and abeting, or being an accessory, advertisment/promotion is part of organising an event, and i wasnt really reffering to xmas in genral, i was talking more in sense of rag week, where they play an active role and do hardcore advertisment
    To be honest, you proved nothing. You seem to be clutching at straws in arguments that seem to be full of contradictions and more melodrama than you'd see in the likes of One Tree Hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

This entire post makes absolutely no sense :confused:

Admm made an effort a few years ago organising a poker tournament during rag week if i rememeber!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭KeelanM90

People should stop complaining about them and try to aid them in making things better! Waterford students are too fond of sitting back and wanting to be entertained! No such thing as wanting to do anything or adding constructive criticism!

Completely agree!!! Its easy see theres a few in here who have never even bothered to check out what the union is at let alone give a hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 duffrystar

The reality of the matter is weather or not witsu had anything to do with the promoting of xmas day it would still turn into an all day piss up

i had mates who were talkin about comimg down for xmas day for the last few weeks.. do u really think they knew or cared what witsu were sayin?
    No.. it had no affect on where they went or what they did... and id bet that is the reality of the situation for most wit students aswel.

so witsu are not to blame we are all adults and it is up to us to behave that way... at the end of the day scumbags wil always act like scumbags no matter what u do.

AdMMM wrote: »
    To be honest, you proved nothing. You seem to be clutching at straws in arguments that seem to be full of contradictions and more melodrama than you'd see in the likes of One Tree Hill.
    i proved that they advertised/organised the event if you dont like the argument post a coutner argument rather than insult my post and not have the balls to correct me.
    This entire post makes absolutely no sense :confused:
    i wouldnt expect it to at 3am
    Completely agree!!! Its easy see theres a few in here who have never even bothered to check out what the union is at let alone give a hand
    Calm_down_bro-DWrvfmLVFfKK0S1yir7V.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭ec18

ec18 wrote: »
    nice one cheers, heard a bit on the bus didnt quite catch it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 simon365

Moonmad wrote: »
    I think the fact that the SU have to volunteer to act as stewards is a sad indictment that bloody students can't act responsible with a bit of drink in them...
    I've been studying here for the past four years, i wouldn't admit to many around 'Christmas Day'. Every year the students that act like savages and wreck the reputation for the rest of WIT... Seriously their actions are despicable. Wrecking estates, pubs apartments wherever. They need to cop on and learn to drink responsibly.

Those "volunteers" that act as stewards are paid handsomely for their so called volunteer work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 simon365

Volunteers do not get paid, you however, did!