Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pedestrian hopped on Icy footpath - RTE news

• 08-01-2010 06:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

Is anyone else watching RTE six-one news? They were showing the Icy conditions in Dublin and said how it was still dangerous for pedestrians and then without warning shows a guy getting completely flattened out of it while walking along by the wall. Was like something out of funniest home videos. lol :D
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i grabbed my bollix when i saw that because it looked he broke his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

friendface wrote: »
    Is anyone else watching RTE six-one news? They were showing the Icy conditions in Dublin and said how it was still dangerous for pedestrians and then without warning shows a guy getting completely flattened out of it while walking along by the wall. Was like something out of funniest home videos. lol :D

It was ****ing hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

That was some fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭brendanuk

Camera crew and watering can. That cant be a coincidence. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Saw it too, ****ing ouch. Worst lamping I've seen. TV3 did the same thing. Do they just set up cameras in notoriously slippy spots in hope of catching a pedestrian falling? Bad form tbh.

First person to get a video of it gets a thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

He will feel that in the morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I am waiting for it to be on the RTE Player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭boarddotie

Saw it!

Just as I was watching it I was thinking to myself 'this chap is going a little too fast for my comfort' and then he too the hop. But it was a bad one too as he didnt just fall down, his legs flew up in the air before he took the hop.

Oh the shame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭OnTheBalls

Yeah saw that. He hit the ground at some speed. If you look closely you see him on the ground thinking "Wait a second I'm on the ground". What I'm saying is he didn't realise he was falling until he was on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭HereKitty

Gentlemen I beg to disagree...didnt look funny at all looked bloody sore:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

I laughed, and felt bad, then laughed again. It was some fall. RTE did it yesterday also, had the camera set up on a corner and showed someone falling. Nasty one too. I'm staying indoors incase karma wants to get me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 technoman

Jesus if i was the cameraman i'd be shaking the camera hysterically from laughter.....:D:D:D, yes yes I am a cold hearted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭havana

I had one of them myself on the way home. Not pleasant. And the first thing i asked the guy who helped me up? Is my bottle of wine ok! Priorities....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yep saw it too-ouch. Wonder did the camera crew just leave him there flattened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Ye saw it too, felt guilty laughing.

i pulled a face like kenneth williams in the carry on films going 'oooh matron'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

please someone link!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

"hopped" the poor fcuker fell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭blueirishangel

I re-wound it 3 times!

So funny - you have to laugh!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

It looked sore alright, his arms went all over the place and to add insult to injury his glasses landed on the ground after he did,poor bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

This better be good after all this buildup.

havana wrote: »
    I had one of them myself on the way home. Not pleasant. And the first thing i asked the guy who helped me up? Is my bottle of wine ok! Priorities....

Served chilled? :cool:

anyone see the dog sliding down the hill. epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Morlar wrote: »
    This better be good after all this buildup.

He got properly slapped off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭Ardent

We need a clip folks! A hearty thanks awaits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Ardent wrote: »
    We need a clip folks! A hearty thanks awaits.

It's worth the wait. Dyin' to see it again :o I didn't catch what was said in the rest of the report cos I was splitting myself laughing at poor ol' Joe Soap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

hahaha saw it , so funny. He went about 4 feet up in the air :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

@00:12

Now fill me with your thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I witnessed this also. Absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Haha... I just knew there'd be a thread about this... It was inevitable at the pace he was moving, he saw the camera and saw a chance to prove his bravery I suppose. The path looked lethal, I wouldnt have went down there with tennis rackets on my feet... News moment of the yr so far though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Dog sledding down the hill...omg I wish I lived in the blackrock valley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭boarddotie

Not as funny the 2nd time around as I was expecting it. In fact, I think he could have hopped his head off the ground too (or was that just the voluminous hair?). Nasty...

But still the shame

banquo wrote: »

@00:12

Now fill me with your thanks.

ha ha, the evil laugh makes it even more funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

I re-wound it 3 times!

So funny - you have to laugh!!!

Yeah, me too. Then called the kids down to show them. Hy-LARious. Hope the guy's a boardsie. Love to hear his view on it.

i wonder if yer man knows he is now an internet epic fail legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

but sure half the city has fallen on their as* over the past week! he got some hop alright though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I know that guy! Hes from Tipperary!! :eek:

Gar!!!

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    Gar!!!

dan!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

That looked sore!

Not fell yet myself, not looking forward to it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Rega

If they show it on the news at 9 turn up the volume. You can hear him going "Oh sh1t" when he's on the ground.

Hahahahahahahahahhaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Twas funny.
    Eegit was going way too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BigMonsterLove

Thanks Banquo, you just made my evening. That poor lad.

Anyone see the fox going for the sheep at the end of the Carlow bit there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninalucy1985

link link link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Getting a lot of laughs out of RTE news lately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

theboss80 wrote: »

That's todays one o clock news. Not the six o clock one.