Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trad music in pubs..ssssshhhh

• 18-04-2010 12:27AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭

Not for the first time was in a pub recently with a couple of fellas playing traditional irish music. Not caring for the ****e that it is I ignored it and kept on talking to my friends only to be met with hostile stares and plenty of ssshhhh. I was there with friends before these guys started up and while I appreciate that these guys want to be listened to the idea that everyone in the pub should have to shut the fcuk up while they play is beyond me.

Anyone else been at the end of a sshhhh while a precious trad band play ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

They're part of the entertainment; Would you do the same at a comedy gig?

Actually, nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

They're a band in a pub.

Everyone talks over music in the pub. Can't see why you wouldn't if it were a trad band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

I usually flee as soon as I see any sign of the fuckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

It depends where it is, a Gig like Vicar St, I have sussshhhed a few fcukers myself.

Pub, then you're supposed to be talking.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Wor dey playin de ballads?

Loike dat one about de time we blew up a postbox in Ballyvourney to teach de Brits a lesson. Ah be de hokey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's happened to me before. If it's a session or whatever: fine, but not somebody just playing (or leading a sing-song) in a pub. I've told musicians (or friends of them) stuff along the lines of fuck off I didn't pay for a gig when shushed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Great username for this topic, OP.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,261 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

After subjecting my American brother-in-law to that kind of establishment, I asked him what he thought of the music. He told me that no-one would get away with playing the same tune for two hours in an American bar.

If the diddly-aye fans want to listen without the background chat, they should go to a feckin concert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Embarrassing when this stuff starts being played. We're not gombeen idiots muttering about the Black & Tans anymore. Even worse when people who have no inclination to know any of this crap starts wailing about the rare 'oul times.

We really have no sense of perspective. Trad should be banned. It's an embarrassing byproduct of our previous lack of culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Trad banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Reminds me of the classic joke:

Fellow walks into a pub in Belfast with a plastic bag under his arms.
    The bartender asks "What's that?"
    "Six pounds of semtex", he answers.
    "Thanks be to Jaysus; I thought it was a bodhrán!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I cringe when everyone is expected to shut up and watch someone moan an incredibly bleak Oirish song.

Fùck off, I don't need you depressing me...................the drink does that on it's own! :pac:

Anywho, I always skip out for fag when that shìte starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Can't see why you wouldn't if it were a trad band.

Not amplified I suppose. That said, people go to pubs to talk. So f*ck em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Awful, awful sh1te, 40 verses, no hooks.
    Essentially jazz with a banjo, fuck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I quite enjoy the odd raucous trad session, but yeah, telling people, who have come to the pub to chat with their friends, to shut up is absolutely out of order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭lizardfudge

Yeah... I've had this as well... although usually my conversation isn't suitible for pretty much any given situation, so I'm used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

Woooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...ok...this is my 3rd time tonight..im offf to bed, bye bye!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

you don't likey the music then fook off somewhere else. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Shssssshhhhhhh.:D I am a trad player. :rolleyes: so i will not go into explaining how many different jigs and reels there is in a song 2 hours long.

needless to say me hands do be fooked.

I could actually tell you the type of pub that shuts people up.... and your either new to the pub or you know this happens and are just ranting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

If it's a Trad pub, that's the way it is, except it as that and enjoy the entertainment or go to a britney spears (pop) pub instead, Where people are encouraged to talk over the music as it's crap.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I am a musician and I have played in many pubs and all I have to say on the matter is this.

It's a pub. It's there to be talked in. So man the f%$k up and play your music and if you want people to be quiet and listen, go play in a proper venue for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

In most instances it is the people in the pub who tell others to hush a bit, not the musicians playing who in most cases are very polite. As said if it's a Trad bar that's the way it is. If the person doesn't like Trad as he said in his original post why would he go in and disrupt it for others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Heckler wrote: »
    Not for the first time was in a pub recently with a couple of fellas playing traditional irish music. Not caring for the ****e that it is I ignored it and kept on talking to my friends only to be met with hostile stares and plenty of ssshhhh. I was there with friends before these guys started up and while I appreciate that these guys want to be listened to the idea that everyone in the pub should have to shut the fcuk up while they play is beyond me.

sssshhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

cloneslad wrote: »
    sssshhhhhhhhh

Poor guy, he was just sitting in his living room eating his cornflakes and the travelling trad group burst into his home with pints and tabs and started practicing. Won't someone think of the breakfast eaters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Confab wrote: »
    Embarrassing when this stuff starts being played. We're not gombeen idiots muttering about the Black & Tans anymore. Even worse when people who have no inclination to know any of this crap starts wailing about the rare 'oul times.

We really have no sense of perspective. Trad should be banned. It's an embarrassing byproduct of our previous lack of culture.

Talk about issues (and ignorance of the difference between a trad session and a folk session).

Yeah, I'd rather have English soccer blaring on pub tvs (usually all of them in the one pub) every single night. That's so "cultured". So conducive to having a chat. I say the trad lads should get up, connect everything to microphones and blare the fuck out of that pub especially if it's a pub that has that tv on in the background every night intruding on conversations.

If anything should be "banned" it's this modern "Oirish" pub, which is merely a Sky Sports outpost wrecking conversations in pubs across Ireland.

If it's a Trad pub, that's the way it is, except it as that and enjoy the entertainment or go to a britney spears (pop) pub instead, Where people are encouraged to talk over the music as it's crap.

Well said!

This reminds me of a rock gig I paid into in Roisin Dubh one night.. The entire place was dead silent listening to them and it was packed. They weren't even an acoustic setup but for some reason, the masses decided to treat the night like they were in the cinema.. Class band but if I can't chat to a friend or a stranger, what's the point.
    I got told to shush while chatting to my friend in the middle of the crowd and I've never wanted to shout out "Fuk off ya pretentious prick" so much in my entire life and I ended up havin the craic in the smokin area instead.

My mum killed trad music for me.. Every song sounds the same and I swear if I put the CD on repeat track, she'd never know.

Heckler wrote: »

Did you go to the pub or did the traditional music? If it's a trad music pub that's just the way it is and you should just avoid it if you don't like it. I have to avoid most pubs any time I want to go out and have a quiet chat when there is a soccer match on. Similarly I know which pubs to go to when I want to hear some ceol. In fact, there is one place that I go to in Dublin regularly, An Góilín Traditional Singers' Club, where nobody but nobody speaks when singers are performing (without microphones, obviously). I would never go there if I wanted a chat. It's not their fault if I do. It's about respect. And cop-on. And respect. Oh, and respect.

At least trad music adds something to Irish cultural life, something distinctive. I doubt there are many tourists who've come to Ireland to see the main "cultural" aspect of the new "traditional Irish pub": soccer matches blaring on all tvs every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Griffen262 wrote: »
    Woooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...ok...this is my 3rd time tonight..im offf to bed, bye bye!!! ;)

Brilliant stuff and congrats on losing the virginity - You get better as you go along so this one should last a bit longer.

Dionysus wrote: »
    At least trad music adds something to Irish cultural life, something distinctive. I doubt there are many tourists who've come to Ireland to see the main "cultural" aspect of the new "traditional Irish pub": soccer matches blaring on all tvs every night.

I go to pubs two or three times a week and it's rare that there's soccer matches blaring.. It's been said a few times in this thread so far and I call shenanigans.

Well, my last few attempts to go out for quiet chats in pubs in Dublin and Galway during the week were marked by opening the pub door and hearing the tv noise, moving on to the next pub, same thing, and again, and again. In fact, any pub with a pub was almost certainly showing the same match, with guys standing around shouting at the tv. I finally found a "dead" pub with a few auld lads, and it was perfect for a good chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

Did you go to the pub or did the traditional music? If it's a trad music pub that's just the way it is and you should just avoid it if you don't like it. I have to avoid most pubs any time I want to go out and have a quiet chat when there is a soccer match on. Similarly I know which pubs to go to when I want to hear some ceol. In fact, there is one place that I go to in Dublin regularly, An Góilín Traditional Singers' Club, where nobody but nobody speaks when singers are performing (without microphones, obviously). I would never go there if I wanted a chat. It's not their fault if I do. It's about respect. And cop-on. And respect. Oh, and respect.

Nah, t'was a regular pub (non-trad) that just happened to have a few guys playing that night. I used to play diddly-eye myself years ago but it was purley background music. I just don't like the reverential nonsense that seems to kick in when some aul langer starts singing the aul triangle.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Question:

Why are the options being presented either

a) Trad music pub

or

b) Football pub

can we please have option c)

something different and perhaps even original

please?

Question:

a) Trad music pub

or

b) Football pub

something different and perhaps even original in Dublin city

please?

Yes, a quiet pub where people can have good chats with friends and strangers alike. That would be a genuinely traditional Irish pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Crystal Swing>Jedward>Irish "traditional" Music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭punkindrublic

Can't stand when I'm at a bar and they start playing this sh*te. I always get the "shush" and evil stares too. Now I just leave when they start playing and go somewhere else. Not worth the headache

Question:

a) Trad music pub

or

b) Football pub

please?

Where do ye lads head out like? I could name 15 pubs in Galway good for what you're looking for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Yes, a quiet pub where people can have good chats with friends and strangers alike. That would be a genuinely traditional Irish pub.

If you are ever in england with a group of friends, go into a wetherspoons pub. We went over for a 30th birthday, primarily coz flights+hotel+2days boozing was cheaper than boozin in dublin for 1 night. Very cheap booze, no music, great spot to just chat and have the 'craic'. (of course once you are wrecked you can move on to a 'normal' place where there is music and expensive beer). Mixed in with a few locals which we never really do at home, great weekend

10 people, round of 6 pints+2 corona+double g&t+rum and black =18quid, cant go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Question:

a) Trad music pub

or

b) Football pub

please?

Yes you can have the pubs that act like nightclubs with either MTV on a giant screen or really loud DJs blaring out Lady GaGa and Girls Aloud without even the benefit of a dancefloor. They're the worst pubs of all and all too common IMO :mad:

Truley wrote: »
    Yes you can have the pubs that act like nightclubs with either MTV on a giant screen or really loud DJs blaring out Lady GaGa and Girls Aloud without even the benefit of a dancefloor. They're the worst pubs of all and all too common IMO :mad:

I wouldn't actually see it as an issue Truley.. Them pubs and bad clubs are great for one thing. They take all the crap people with them and leave the other places better for it. :cool:
    Just never go to them and it's never an issue.. CPs in Galway is great for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Nail on the head! Why is it when a shower of tradicians are in a pub, the whole fcuking pub starts sssssshhhhhing alright. Why? Are they trying to show how patriotic they are or something? Fcuking saps. It never really registered until the OP pointed it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Only trad worth listening to is the Wolftones or Eire Og. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've a few issues with Trad. Mostly, it's crap. Normally you look at the musicians, and they seem depressed, staring at the floor, or at someone elses instrument, solemn faces. Unless it's the Sharon Shannon, look at me, I'm smiling to offset how crap the music is face.

Then, there's the music itself. Written by fans of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. Lets have a line of melody, repeat it 4 times, then move on to a newer, similar line of melody (One or two notes changed), repeat that 4 times, then move on to a slightly different line again, and repeat that 4 times. Then go back to the start, and repeat that 4 times.

Worst of all, are the people who love it. I'd the misfortune of being at a wedding I was gigging for in the INEC thingy in Killarney, we were in one room of the Hotel, and the Wolftones were in the other. Wall to wall celtic jerseys, scobe tashes, gelled down fringes, and any time someone like Bobby Sands was mentioned, one'd hope up, hold his pint glass in the air "shhhhurrrrr we'll aaaaaalll drink to Bobbbaaaya Saaaaaaans".

And no, I will not shusssh so you can listen to it. If I interrupted the flowing music for you by talking, hold on, they'll be repeating it in a minute, you'll hear it then. And if you miss that, you'll hear it again 10 seconds later, and after that, and after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Nail on the head! Why is it when a shower of tradicians are in a pub, the whole fcuking pub starts sssssshhhhhing alright. Why? Are they trying to show how patriotic they are or something? Fcuking saps. It never really registered until the OP pointed it out.
    I quite like a trad session, as opposed to rebel rousing muck, but I have never heard anybody shushing at one.

If you are going to have noise in a pub, and I am resigned to the fact that it has somehow been decreed that this must be :(, then I would take trad performers, or any decent live act, over piped music or TVs or increasingly, and bizarrely, both together.

I've a few issues with Trad....Worst of all, are the people who love it. I'd the misfortune of being at a wedding I was gigging for in the INEC thingy in Killarney, we were in one room of the Hotel, and the Wolftones were in the other. Wall to wall celtic jerseys, scobe tashes, gelled down fringes, and any time someone like Bobby Sands was mentioned, one'd hope up, hold his pint glass in the air "shhhhurrrrr we'll aaaaaalll drink to Bobbbaaaya Saaaaaaans".

Ahem. Since when did the Wolfe Tones become a 'trad' band? Martin Hayes is a trad musician and has more talent in his toenail than the combined forces of all those hairy stinky smelly leather-jacket wearing hippies who pass themselves as rock musicians and refuse to feck off back to the 80s.

The Bothy Band were trad musicians; Planxty were trad musicians ....The Wolfe Tones are comparatively talentless individuals who have few if no traditional tunes in their repetoire. No tradhead would contend that they are traditional musicians. They are balladeers who, like rock "musicians", only need to master a few notes on simple instruments like guitars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The Only trad worth listening to is the Wolftones or Eire Og. :p

If you're listening to the Wolfe Tones then you're probably draging your knuckles around with a massive chip on your shoulder from the bastard English poisoning our potatoes.

Cant stand trad music either, on the rare occasion where we had to play it in the music shop I worked in before whenever some arann jumper clad ginger released a new album it was horrendous listening to it, fiddle diddle fiddle diddle fiddle diddle, repeat for entire album. Its the gobsh1tes who shout things like " 'HUP" "GWAN NOW" "yooo!" when a trad session starts that signals my hasty departure from a bar, last time I checked its 2010 and we dont live in cottages and spend our days digging shpuds out of the ground with our bare hands anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

You're coufusing rebel ballad singing with the instrumental tradition, which has nothing to do with the black and tans and the like. I don't think traditional music is an embarrassing byproduct of our culture in the slightest. In fact before the famine traditional music was a huge part of our culture. People used to play and dance all over the country. They would dance in houses and at crossroads and everyone would be involved. It wasn't until the folk revival of the 60s that traditional music moved into the pubs. All the plastic paddy ****e in the tourist hotels and bars in Dublin with guinness and leprechauns and diddley-i has destroyed a lot of that humble and modest element of our culture. But if you head for the right pub you'll hear a mighty session and have great craic and chat away to people.

I play traditional music in pubs, I have no delusions of grandeur and i don't expect people to shush and listen. But id like to think that there are people out there who do enjoy it and appreciate the lively atmosphere it creates, and if they want to have a conversation over it sure whats the problem?

Once upon a time traditional music was all we had. It should never be put on a pedestal, but it should be accepted as a rich and important part of our cultural heritage. Its a living tradition, if you go to clare or west cork or donegal you'll find that people don't feel the need to dress up in costume because its still alive and growing today. It breaks my heart to think that there are people out there who feel it should be banned.

Beanstalk wrote: »
    You're coufusing rebel ballad singing with the instrumental tradition, which has nothing to do with the black and tans and the like. I don't think traditional music is an embarrassing byproduct of our culture in the slightest. In fact before the famine traditional music was a huge part of our culture. People used to play and dance all over the country. They would dance in houses and at crossroads and everyone would be involved. It wasn't until the folk revival of the 60s that traditional music moved into the pubs. All the plastic paddy ****e in the tourist hotels and bars in Dublin with guinness and leprechauns and diddley-i has destroyed a lot of that humble and modest element of our culture. But if you head for the right pub you'll hear a mighty session and have great craic and chat away to people.

I play traditional music in pubs, I have no delusions of grandeur and i don't expect people to shush and listen. But id like to think that there are people out there who do enjoy it and appreciate the lively atmosphere it creates, and if they want to have a conversation over it sure whats the problem?

Once upon a time traditional music was all we had. It should never be put on a pedestal, but it should be accepted as a rich and important part of our cultural heritage. Its a living tradition, if you go to clare or west cork or donegal you'll find that people don't feel the need to dress up in costume because its still alive and growing today. It breaks my heart to think that there are people out there who feel it should be banned.

+ 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

the fuck are you shiting on about? there are fcuk all songs about the tans, but you would like to cling on to the few that do. if you dont like it, you dont like it stop dressing that rubbish up as a reason for not likeing it