Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever dropped your phone in the toilet?

• 08-05-2010 10:01AM

I have.. and it makes the hangover that bit worse. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

nearly dropped iphone in the other day *shudder*

number 2 and all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

yep, then mammy being the lovely person that she is took it out and used a hair-dryer to fix it :L:L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

I did, the other day. Luckily it was post-flush! I turned it off straight away, took sim card out and put it under hand drier. I then put it into a bag of rice for a couple of nights which takes all moisture out. Worked a treat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

phill106 wrote: »
    nearly dropped iphone in the other day *shudder*

number 2 and all!

why do iphone users constantly have to point out that it's an iphone they're using and not just their 'phone'

ffs.

nearly dropped my Sony Ericsson W705 in it there today!
    see how stupid that sounds?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You had your phone in the bathroom... You would have to be hovering over the bowl to drop the phone in it... You don't need your phone to have a piss...

Someone was cracking one off while looking at porn on his mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

SV wrote: »
    why do iphone users constantly have to point out that it's an iphone they're using and not just their 'phone'

ffs.

He probably said it was an iphone as it's more expensive and therefore a bigger loss. I know a girl who dropped 3 phones down the toilet...wtf? My son left his phone on the back of the toilet, went in for a shower, I text him and the phone hopped into the toilet with the vibrations of it. He dried it with a hairdryer and it was ok. Think I heard someone say you can do more damage with a hairdryer as it blows the moisture into the wee crevices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Yeah. Years ago when them "new" camera phones came out. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

ffs.

It is quite petty on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

No i haven't. If the pocket that the phone is in is shallow,i'll take the phone out and put it down somewhere till i'm finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

ffs.

Haw haw, you only have sony ericisson

*looks for his nokia*

(post 4000 :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Yes, and i don't want to talk any more about it.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

ffs.

Because its not just a 'phone'. If you had one you'd know.

galwaybabe wrote: »
    I did, the other day. Luckily it was post-flush! I turned it off straight away, took sim card out and put it under hand drier. I then put it into a bag of rice for a couple of nights which takes all moisture out. Worked a treat

If it had already cut out before I got the battery out, do ya think there's a chance? It took all of 15 seconds between dropping it, getting pissy hands and getting it open.. Good drunken reactions I thought.

I've hoovered it, blow dried it and now it's sitting the hot press.. Bag of rice is needed aswell I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

jenno86 wrote: »

lol, it's a phone that has the capability to do ****loads of stuff you'll never do.
    Why not just get an ipod touch if you want that kind of thing? Save yourself a ****load of money too.

"ohhhhh yeah there's hundreds of apps to do like..stuff I'll never do..but it's really cool..huh? oh yeah I'm just gonna use it for texting and calling people though..totally worth the money"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Throw it in the microwave for a couple of minutes and it'll be grand.

If it had already cut out before I got the battery out, do ya think there's a chance? It took all of 15 seconds between dropping it, getting pissy hands and getting it open.. Good drunken reactions I thought.

I've hoovered it, blow dried it and now it's sitting the hot press.. Bag of rice is needed aswell I think.
    There is a chance if you avoid turning it on until you're sure its completely dry. Take it apart as much as you can, i.e. take battery out, take front and back covers off and remove memory and sim cards. Put the whole shebang into the bag of rice for a couple of nights and then try charging it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Aids By Google

Drop one in the toilet once. When I say dropped it was the same type of scenario as the one above with someone ringing me, it vibrating off the window sill, bouncing off the bog roll on the cistern and falling into the bog. It was one of them sturdy nokias so I put it in the rad with the covers off and bingo it worked OK the next day.

Nearly dropped my iPhone in one at work last week when I got up off the toilet it fell out of my fleece pocket and bounced of the rim but hit the floor instead, thank Jebubs!

Never thought I would say it or be the type BUT I love my iPhone. I hate apple though so I will be getting one of them new HTC's asap. Sony and Apple with their proprietary ways can sux donkey bollix.

It's in a tray of rice now.. So far I've done everything pretty much right.

Except all over the interent, it's saying I should put the phone into distilled water and completely drown it and wash it a few times.. Then do the drying process.
    I don't think I have the balls to do it though :(

It's in a tray of rice now.. So far I've done everything pretty much right.

Except all over the interent, it's saying I should put the phone into distilled water and completely drown it and wash it a few times.. Then do the drying process.
    I don't think I have the balls to do it though :(
    You're better off putting it into a plastic bag and tie a knot in bag so the rice can really do it's moisture sucking out work
    Don't like that drowning it idea at all. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Mine vibrated its way into the kitchen sink a couple of weeks ago, was lost under the sudsy water for a good ten-fifteen seconds! I tried to turn it back on after but it wasn't happening, so I took it apart and left it in the hot press overnight - it's working perfectly now! I think it depends on the make of phone a lot too ... in my experience, Nokias and Sony Ericssons are pretty much indestructable!
    galwaybabe wrote: »

Remind me never to eat any rice at your house! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Ann22 wrote: »
    He probably said it was an iphone as it's more expensive and therefore a bigger loss. I know a girl who dropped 3 phones down the toilet...wtf? My son left his phone on the back of the toilet, went in for a shower

Strange metaphor...

Haven't done it myself. Saw someone drop a phone in a troff once. I opted not to aim for it though

Metaphor?

Yeah, they were long brown conical phones with a pointy bit at the top.:D

Haven't done it myself. Saw someone drop a phone in a troff once. I opted not to aim for it though

That's one case where I would probably just accept defeat and move on.. Rotten!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I dropped mine in a cup of tea a while ago, took it apart as much as I could, covers, battery, sim, etc, dried it off with kitchen paper, then wrapped the separate pieces in kitchen paper and put them in the the hot press for a few days, perfect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

Strange metaphor...

First of all, I though you meant a pig trough.

I now realise it was a piss trough.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Nope, but I dropped a toilet on my phone once though. I still have a few pieces of it around somehwere. The phone I mean, not the toilet.

One of the dangers of home construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

jenno86 wrote: »
    Had one.
    Its just a phone and a pretty bad one at that except a lot of models come with a side of smugness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭col.in.Cr

I was trying to have a crap in work and the fire alarm went off
    and the phone fell in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

ffs.

Because they cost more then your average 29 euro sim free phone, and they are also notoriously bad dealing with liquids, hence the visibile liquid sensors inside the dock connector and earphone socket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Dropped my old phone in the jacks more than once, still works and have it as a back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Yup when I was 16 my 3310 nokia, hell hath no fury like a 16 year old without their phone. I had to wait months before I got a new one.
    On the upside I did realise how much credit I used to spend!
    Ah meteor free text how I love you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Sitec wrote: »
    I was in the shower before and heard my phone ringing, it vibrated of the top of the toilet into the bowl. Should have answered it!

Same thing happened to me, got out of the shower got my girlfriends phone and began to ring the people who would usually call me. After a few calls I found out it was my little brother who had rang me and began shouting down the phone at him about how stupid it was that he rang me and it was his fault my phone was broke.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Same thing happened to me, got out of the shower got my girlfriends phone and began to ring the people who would usually call me. After a few calls I found out it was my little brother who had rang me and began shouting down the phone at him about how stupid it was that he rang me and it was his fault my phone was broke.

My son was quite irritated that I texted him at that particular moment in time too..:( (I feel uncomfortable saying 'I text him' in the past tense..dunno why really. I know it's proper grammar but It sounds crappy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I had just unloaded a right knot splitter down the claypit, and was in the process of bringing the rusty sheriff's badge back to 'Blue Flag' standard, when :eek: clump... phone nosedived into the tepid arms of a solid chump of knobbly stool and lodged up to the display screen at a jaunty angle.

fcuker was looking up, and starting to do a 'Twin Towers impression' and sinking into the morass,when I grabbed a wad of shite paper, and rescued her from a bad place.

Tip under the hot tap to shift the clag and in fairness she worked perfectly .

Always had the faint bang of stale pork off her though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

NO BUT I HAVE DROPPED A BIG FLOATER IN THE TOILET MANY TIMES HEHE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dropped it in a mug of hot chocolate before.

I lost patience and switched it on again after a few hours in the rice.. working perfect :D

It would have been a tough one to swallow.. Love the phone nd only have it a month like.
    http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/products/mobilephones/overview/w995

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

YUP, Having Phone Sex one time, got a bit carried away (.)(.) :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

i dropped the ex's in the loo, it was an on purpose tho. lying two faced funker. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭gingelion

I was taking a piss in a portaloo at a festival once when i got a call. Took the phone out of my pocket but was obviously too drunk to deal with the complexities of answering it and dropped it into the mess below.

It landed face up in the foulness and i could clearly see who was ringing me as i continued pissing on it. Damn you Martin, damn you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

see how stupid that sounds?

Very stupid, it's a really crap product name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

I put mine through a run in the washing machine once, thing still worked fine when it came out.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

ffs.

It's down to a good product and brilliant marketing. Same reason so many of us refer to a vacuum cleaner as a hoover.

If you don't feel you're missing out don't let it bother you, I think they're the dog's danglies though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I've never dropped my phone in the toilet, but I've dropped something else in there. Years ago, me and my boyfriend went clubbing and had some ecstasy pills that we wanted to take into the club. We dropped a couple before we went, but wanted to smuggle more in for later. My boyfriend had a little plastic spliff case, so I put the pills in there, inserted them bodily, and we went into the club. It was so comfortable, that hours later I had forgotten they were there. I went to the toilet later and while sitting on it, felt a strange urge to push. Something plopped out, and I was really worried as I'd totally forgotten about the spliff case, and I knew that the object hadn't come out of my bum. I was worried that I may have unknowingly been pregnant, and had just given birth to a barely developed foetus. I was so scared when I looked into the toilet to see what it was, and so relieved when I realised that it was just the spliff case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

ive dropped my work phone into the toilet twice now, not the same phone obviously.. @400 yoyos a pop I will be trying not to do it again:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

Before there were mobile's my father in law used to loose his teeth down the jack's throwing up, it wasn't a problem he'd get them the next morning out in the back yard, in :eek:the shore ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

mail4liam wrote: »
    Before there were mobile's my father in law used to loose his teeth down the jack's throwing up, it wasn't a problem he'd get them the next morning out in the back yard, in :eek:the shore ?

classy:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Yep,twice!

Once in a resteraunt,didn't realise and flushed the toilet,then i seen it after put it under the hand dryer,and it still worked after!But got stolen 2 months later,whoever it was,is now in possesion of a toilet phone:pac:

Other time i didnt even realise till an hour later when my friend came back from the toilet and said my phone sitting at the bottom with some red light on..it didn't work after:pac:

And another time i jumped into a lake with my phone in my pocket..

I've stopped spending ridiculous amounts of money on phones since because im so unlucky with them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Never dropped a phone, but I did drop a cheap memory card from China in it a minute after the card arrived. Amazingly I just wiped it dry with some tissue and it worked perfect.

Who says Chinese tech is crap? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

I threw mine in there once. I was in the jacks, had some tissue in one hand and my phone in the other, meant to throw one into the bowl. Picked the wrong hand