Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Murder' - a hypothetical question!.

• 29-05-2010 03:00PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry not a juicy one like a speeding ticket, or insurance disc quiry...

But!..

'Frost', 'Bergerac', 'Morse' etc...

Could one detective and an assistant solve a murder case?.

I know its TV and far removed from real life (soldiers are asked the same Q's about soldier movies - so if you ever want to see realistic, download the first series of 'soldier soldier' or watch 'The Hurt Locker').

So, can it be done?.

Or, has there ever been a realistic police series (not counting those 'Road Wars' type programmes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

You don't even need a dectective and his assistant.

What about Murder She Wrote? That Jessica Flectcher sure knows how to bag them. Mind you if I saw her coming towards me, I would certainly run away.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

They could probably covertly determine the facts, source witnesses and compelling evidence, but the DPP has to be involved to prosecute the suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The_wire was pretty realistic I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Sorry not a juicy one like a speeding ticket, or insurance disc quiry...

But!..

'Frost', 'Bergerac', 'Morse' etc...

I know its TV and far removed from real life (soldiers are asked the same Q's about soldier movies - so if you ever want to see realistic, download the first series of 'soldier soldier' or watch 'The Hurt Locker').

So, can it be done?.

Or, has there ever been a realistic police series (not counting those 'Road Wars' type programmes).

Generally no....unless its a cut and dry case of seeing them do it!!! Murder inquiries sometimes have up to and more than 50 persons working on the case.

As Don says The wire is pretty realistic....Third Watch was also.

The rest are generally good tv....but thats it. Nowhere near the real thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Deadwood could solve a murder on his own :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

columbo will always be the best......:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Several of the busier police forces in the US do use pairs of detectives to investigate murders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

delancey42 wrote: »
    Deadwood could solve a murder on his own :D

Colonel mustard, in the library using a candlestck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,903 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ye really haven't a clue....there is only one true crime solver and that is Frank Drebin of Police Squad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Ye really haven't a clue....there is only one true crime solver and that is Frank Drebin of Police Squad.

He does. He got it for Christmas.

clue-pcgame.jpg

In 1992, a Garda Traffic Corps Unit were sent to prison by the DPP for a cime they didn't commit.
    These men promptly walked away from a poorly executed Garda stockade to the Dublin Underground.
    Today, still wanted by an incompetent Government, they survive as Social Welfare recipients.

If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them...

Maybe you can hire, the NGA-Team.

I'd watch it!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,755 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

cushtac wrote: »
    Several of the busier police forces in the US do use pairs of detectives to investigate murders.

Indeed, and with this in mind I would recommend Homicide:A Year on the Killing Streets. Its written by David Simon who was behind The Wire and it follows a specific shift of homicide detectives from the Baltimore PD for a year. When a murder came in, whoever was up for next lead detective got teh shout along with another detective working with them. Some cases were solved nearly as soon as they happened, others took a lot of luck and hard work while others remained unsolved to this day.

Obviously its a different society than merry old Ireland, but its an amazing incite into how a murder can be solved and sometimes come so agonisingly close to being cracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Taggart-Death-Call-Set.jpg
    Practice saying; "There's been a murrdherrrrr".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

So, can it be done?.

No reason in theory, but in reality most crimes are detected in Ireland by arresting someone and asking them questions until they confess. This process can be done by a minimum of 3 gardai for a simple crime, but for a big murder case you would need several members in charge, an exhibits officer, forensic scientists, pathologist, a bunch of gardai to do the interviews and a number of superintendents/chief supers need to be woken up out of bed to authorise longer detention.

So to come to a "whodunnit" conclusion, one person could do that. But to come to a convincing conclusion that might actually go to trial you need a lot of gardai, and for a bloody murder, maybe 30 gardai plus lots of other witnesses.

This process can be done by a minimum of 3 gardai for a simple crime.

You only need one to investigate, two if you're interviewing.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

You only need one to investigate, two if you're interviewing.

Three for interviewing, unless your MiC is called Garda P. Hantom.

The member in charge has nothing to do with the investigation, he merely facilitates the interview.

You need a member in charge to conduct an interview. Well technically you don't but if you want it to stand up in court, my point remains that the minimum amount needed is 3 gardai.

The member in charge is not involved in the investigation though, which was my point. You might need a minimum of three to conduct and interview, but only two do any investigative work.

In cases where you don't interview someone you don't even need a second member.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jeeze lads, I didn't mean to cause murder in the thread :p

The member in charge is not involved in the investigation though, which was my point. You might need a minimum of three to conduct and interview, but only two do any investigative work.

In cases where you don't interview someone you don't even need a second member.

Which is why I don't understand why you're trying to disagree with me. There is no reason in theory why 1 garda can't detect a murder on his tod, but if he wants something to go to court on there must be at least 3 gardai. A murder prosecution could only function with one garda if that garda witnessed the murder, and even then it would be ropey as it would be unlikely that there is evidence of intent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I had always thought that ' Member In Charge ' referred to a Garda Superintendent but I get the impression here that in fact it can be a Garda of any rank ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

delancey42 wrote: »
    I had always thought that ' Member In Charge ' referred to a Garda Superintendent but I get the impression here that in fact it can be a Garda of any rank ?

Member in Charge is the Garda (A Garda in the sticks and a Sergeant in cities) who is in charge of a station in accordance with the Criminal Justice (treatment of persons in custody regulations 1987) Act 1984. He calles the shots in regards the prisoner and his detention.

Which is why I don't understand why you're trying to disagree with me. There is no reason in theory why 1 garda can't detect a murder on his tod, but if he wants something to go to court on there must be at least 3 gardai. A murder prosecution could only function with one garda if that garda witnessed the murder, and even then it would be ropey as it would be unlikely that there is evidence of intent.

I'm disagreeing because the member in charge does not investigate; he does not gather evidence, take statements, question suspects, arrest people or do any of the other work required. He is involved in the case because he has to authorise detention & facilitate the interview, but he's had no input into the actual investigation of the crime.

When I said one person I was referring to the simple crime you had previously mentioned, not murder.

I'm disagreeing because the member in charge does not investigate; he does not gather evidence, take statements, question suspects, arrest people or do any of the other work required. He is involved in the case because he has to authorise detention & facilitate the interview, but he's had no input into the actual investigation of the crime.

Look, it's perfectly simple. Just because the member in charge doesn't gather evidence, take statements or arrest people, doesn't mean that they are not vital to the prosecution. Without them, the statement would be inadmissible. So, although it is not as flash a job as some of the others, it is just as important.

Which is why, the bare minimum gardai needed to bring a prosecution (other than one based on direct oral evidence) is 3. You cannot bring a prosecution with less and hope to succeed. If you don't have the member in charge, you don't have a valid statement. It doesn't get more simple than that.

Look, it's perfectly simple. Just because the member in charge doesn't gather evidence, take statements or arrest people, doesn't mean that they are not vital to the prosecution. Without them, the statement would be inadmissible. So, although it is not as flash a job as some of the others, it is just as important.

Which is why, the bare minimum gardai needed to bring a prosecution (other than one based on direct oral evidence) is 3. You cannot bring a prosecution with less and hope to succeed. If you don't have the member in charge, you don't have a valid statement. It doesn't get more simple than that.

It is indeed simple, you are talking about prosecution and I am talking about investigation. The two are separate processes and I never once talked about prosecution.