Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lexus GS300 (05- model) - opinions?

• 31-05-2010 10:42AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,738 ✭✭✭

Very close to buying a 2005 Lexus GS300 (3l auto) and wondering if anyone has a good reason not to? Being sold through a Lexus dealer with 72k miles on the clock for approx €15k. One owner (Lexus Ireland) with full Lexus SH. Pretty much packed to the gills with toys - ventilated seats, keyless entry, xenons, adaptive suspension etc. Coming from a bit of a barge (current car is a 2008 Citroen C5) I'd prefer something with somewhat more of a 'sporty' drive. However, I simply cannot see anything with this much kit at this price point. There are a few E60 5 series out there but mileage tends to be leggy and spec pretty bare. Would love a 7er; this price would restrict to a 02/03 (not a problem) but I've seen most in my area and all have been in ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,489 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

This one is cheaper with similar mileage and might be worth a look at:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201021198191761

or this top spec Exec model with sat nav and lower mileage which could probably be bought within budget:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201019197933061

Regarding the car itself, ok it is not as good to drive as a 5 Series but they are still nice to drive, definately more a comfortable drive than sporty. Alot of car for your bucks imo and less common on our shores which would be a plus to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭caze

I've never drove one so can't comment on that but have always liked them.
    If you are happy to pay the road tax and holding on it it for a good few years then why not go for it!
    It's the tax that 90% of people in this country will have an issue with and it will cause you problems when you eventually come to sell it on.
    Have a good spin in it and coming from a lexus dealer should have proper warranty, should be more reliable than 5 series or E Class anyway if all those surveys are to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Absolutely nothing wrong with a GS. IMO it's a lot 'tighter' to drive than it's big brother, the LS.
    I had a '95 MK1 GS, and was impressed with it's performance.
    I am now driving a '00 MK2 GS, which is much better than the MK1.
    Had them both regularly serviced at a main dealer, but the bills came in at 'Toyota prices', not 'Lexus prices' - in other words very easy on the pocket.
    Also, they are ultra-reliable.
    I've looked at the '05 MK3 GS's, and driven them too.
    Very impressive..............but...........I think Lexus has dropped a clanger in the MK3 design.
    The boot, or to be more precise, the boot access.
    If you can live with the boot access, go for it. You won't get a better piece of kit for that sort of money anywhere, especially seeing that most of the 'toys' come as standard equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,738 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

bazz26 wrote: »
    This one is cheaper with similar mileage and might be worth a look at:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201021198191761

or this top spec Exec model with sat nav and lower mileage which could probably be bought within budget:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201019197933061
    First one seems to be lower spec (doesn't seem to have cooled seats, voice command or navigation); would also suspect that it doesn't have its original steering wheel (wood trim on gear level should mean wood on steering wheel too), which would raise questions. Second one looks good but can't see a trade in value on my own high enough to make it worth changing from current one with Lexus warranty etc. Thanks anyway!
    caze wrote: »
    I've never drove one so can't comment on that but have always liked them.
    If you are happy to pay the road tax and holding on it it for a good few years then why not go for it!
    It's the tax that 90% of people in this country will have an issue with and it will cause you problems when you eventually come to sell it on.
    Have a good spin in it and coming from a lexus dealer should have proper warranty, should be more reliable than 5 series or E Class anyway if all those surveys are to be believed.
    Yeah, tax is the bitch alright. At least it isn't in the >3L bracket I suppose! :p

Chippy01 wrote: »
    Absolutely nothing wrong with a GS. IMO it's a lot 'tighter' to drive than it's big brother, the LS.
    I had a '95 MK1 GS, and was impressed with it's performance.
    I am now driving a '00 MK2 GS, which is much better than the MK1.
    Had them both regularly serviced at a main dealer, but the bills came in at 'Toyota prices', not 'Lexus prices' - in other words very easy on the pocket.
    Also, they are ultra-reliable.
    I've looked at the '05 MK3 GS's, and driven them too.
    Very impressive..............but...........I think Lexus has dropped a clanger in the MK3 design.
    The boot, or to be more precise, the boot access.
    If you can live with the boot access, go for it. You won't get a better piece of kit for that sort of money anywhere, especially seeing that most of the 'toys' come as standard equipment.

Yeah, boot opening is like a letterbox alright! Good to hear Lexus servicing isn't too bad - especially seeing as it requires servicing twice as often as my C5 (15k km vs 30k) :(. Service history seems to indicate it has an appetite for brake pads and discs too.... Would normally go for 'local' servicing at this age; however, given it has a full Lexus history until now it may be worth keeping it up when I go to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

nice car, not overtly sporty but still tidy handling. not as common as a BMW 5 either which would be a + for me.

AFAIK wood wheel was an (expensive) option on the Exec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Lovely cars, I have a hankering for a Mk2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

brilliant car to drive and look really well, fuel economy isnt awful either, only thing to do is if your buying from a lexus dealer make sure they update the satnav to the latest maps before you buy, i brought my parents rx400h in for a service before and they wanted 350 euro for the map updates - not a huge issue but its 350 euro you dont want to bother with when servicing the car (that and the satnav is dead handy

colm_mcm wrote: »
    nice car, not overtly sporty but still tidy handling. not as common as a BMW 5 either which would be a + for me.

AFAIK wood wheel was an (expensive) option on the Exec.

wood wheel is 1200 euro or so, its rediculous, but looks so nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

hehehe hehe wood

wood wheel is 1200 euro or so, its rediculous, but looks so nice

First time I've seen one on a GS but it looks very nice. Prefer the leather wheel though.

Here's the one I'm getting - complete with wooden wheel!
    brilliant car to drive and look really well, fuel economy isnt awful either, only thing to do is if your buying from a lexus dealer make sure they update the satnav to the latest maps before you buy, i brought my parents rx400h in for a service before and they wanted 350 euro for the map updates - not a huge issue but its 350 euro you dont want to bother with when servicing the car (that and the satnav is dead handy

Don't talk to me! Concluded the trade in deal and thought of nav disc an hour later! If I can sell my car in the meantime and go cash I'll see what I can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Here's the one I'm getting - complete with wooden wheel!

Don't talk to me! Concluded the trade in deal and thought of nav disc an hour later! If I can sell my car in the meantime and go cash I'll see what I can do.

You should do waaay better on straight sale. They are a nice car i was tempted to buy a 07 one a few years ago. Silver dont really set them off though, black would be nicer to show off that chrome:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

What mpg do they get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Im thinking of gs450h myself. Hoping to get one for a weekend to assess real fuel consumption. tax is only 600 on 08 models with a 3.5L petrol engine & electric motor too.
    Very worried about resale though.

mickdw wrote: »
    Im thinking of gs450h myself. Hoping to get one for a weekend to assess real fuel consumption. tax is only 600 on 08 models with a 3.5L petrol engine & electric motor too.

450h will average out around 32-35 with a 50/50 mix of motorway and city

Really? Thats sounds too good to be true. My 1.8T Audi wouldnt get that

If you do let me know what its like. I looked at a 07 before.

Ive my A8 nearly sold. Thinking of a new e class but i think they look like a sonata from behind...

Im thinking along the same lines as you with the new Eclass although I was looking at A8 too whereas you are selling one!

Im selling my because i have had loads of problems with it. They cost a fortune to fix. Allthough I am told the ones with high mileage are high maintainence. New model will be nice but i couldnt afford one with this recession.

Really? Thats sounds too good to be true. My 1.8T Audi wouldnt get that

the rx400h (same engine, heavier car) did 35-36 average, that hybrid lark actually works

only thing to watch is make sure its had a lexus/toyota service history, the batteries need to be checked at service and if its been done independantly the battery warranty is void

SARASON wrote: »
    Im selling my because i have had loads of problems with it. They cost a fortune to fix. Allthough I am told the ones with high mileage are high maintainence. New model will be nice but i couldnt afford one with this recession.

Im thinking of 08 model gs 450h but in my head I know that a 09 E class would be the more sensible buy even if a little more expensive. Anyway, first step is to get an MPG reading for my useage & driving style over a few hundred miles. After that, decisions can be made.

I dont know. I dont like the back of the e class though. Maybe a s line a6.
    I think im mad on the other hand. :confused:

Picked mine up on Friday :)

Can't report proper proper mpg figures yet - came with half a tank. Filled her for the fiorst time today so should be able to do a 'proper' calculation once that's gone. Encouraging so far though. Did about 25km after filling with approx. equal ratio of city/motorway/back road driving and computer reported 30 mpg average - would be delighted if this kept up but would expect closer to 25 mpg over the longer term. Official figure is 29 mpg combined. Initial impressions suggest it's surprisingly economical when cruising but sups heavily in traffic.

Have heard that many people get nowhere near the official mpg figures with hybrids (GS450H is 36 mpg). 06ish GS450Hs seem to carry about a 10 grand premium over the GS300, which would buy a lot of petrol!

Mickdw: compare specs! The Lexus will almost certainly have a way higher spec than the Merc. I've got ventilated seats, nav, keyless entry, adaptive xenons, voice command - and it's not even the top model!

Well wear boy!!!!

Picked mine up on Friday :)

Can't report proper proper mpg figures yet - came with half a tank. Filled her for the fiorst time today so should be able to do a 'proper' calculation once that's gone. Encouraging so far though. Did about 25km after filling with approx. equal ratio of city/motorway/back road driving and computer reported 30 mpg average - would be delighted if this kept up but would expect closer to 25 mpg over the longer term. Official figure is 29 mpg combined. Initial impressions suggest it's surprisingly economical when cruising but sups heavily in traffic.

Have heard that many people get nowhere near the official mpg figures with hybrids (GS450H is 36 mpg). 06ish GS450Hs seem to carry about a 10 grand premium over the GS300, which would buy a lot of petrol!

Mickdw: compare specs! The Lexus will almost certainly have a way higher spec than the Merc. I've got ventilated seats, nav, keyless entry, adaptive xenons, voice command - and it's not even the top model!

get your satnav disk in the end ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Yeah, boot opening is like a letterbox alright! Good to hear Lexus servicing isn't too bad - especially seeing as it requires servicing twice as often as my C5 (15k km vs 30k) :(. Service history seems to indicate it has an appetite for brake pads and discs too.... Would normally go for 'local' servicing at this age; however, given it has a full Lexus history until now it may be worth keeping it up when I go to sell.

Not worth keeping a main dealer FSH on a 15k car Imo..

get your satnav disk in the end ?
    Aye!
    bryaner wrote: »
    Not worth keeping a main dealer FSH on a 15k car Imo..

When that 15k car becomes a 5k car in a couple of years (months?!), a full dealer SH should make it a lot easier to sell. Turns out that main dealer servicing is a condition of the (1 yr) warranty anyway.

My new wheels!:
    IMAG0041.jpg

Aye!

When that 15k car becomes a 5k car in a couple of years (months?!), a full dealer SH should make it a lot easier to sell. Turns out that main dealer servicing is a condition of the (1 yr) warranty anyway.

My new wheels!:
    IMAG0041.jpg

:D:D that is a lovely motor , always loved the gs300 , my insurance company doesnt agree, but I think i know what ill buy myself when im 25

Only costing me an extra €90 or so a year thankfully.

Aye!

My new wheels!:
    IMAG0041.jpg

Jaysus never thought it was hard to sell 5K motors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Jaysus never thought it was hard to sell 5K motors

It is when you still have 70k car repair bills...

EPM wrote: »
    It is when you still have 70k car repair bills...

How?? by sticking the oil filter up your ring piece?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

How?? by sticking the oil filter up your ring piece?

Smart feck aren't ya?

That car will have a small enough market when selling on. I would go for the one that had a full dealer history, getting all the recommended checks and software upgrades over one that had been independently serviced.

Not saying there's anything wrong with indy work - quite the opposite - but it would show to me that the owner didnt spare any expense on its upkeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭kurant

Aye!

My new wheels!:
    IMAG0041.jpg

congrats !!! nice car! and welcome to Lexus world !!;)

06ish GS450Hs seem to carry about a 10 grand premium over the GS300, which would buy a lot of petrol!

Im not looking at the hybrid thinking it will give a petrol saving over the GS300, I looking at it because if the figures are to be believed, it is a very powerful car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Hope you did not update the sat nav as there is a new version comming out next year which is compatible with the Traffic warning system, I forget what it is called.

dingding wrote: »
    Hope you did not update the sat nav as there is a new version comming out next year which is compatible with the Traffic warning system, I forget what it is called.

TMC , TMC isnt used in this country, but even so thats a hardware upgrade and isnt compatible with this age of vehicle , it will only be given to model year 2008 and newer vehicles and at a premium far above the cost of that disc, also afaik all 2010 lexus;s with the navigation have TMC

Im not looking at the hybrid thinking it will give a petrol saving over the GS300, I looking at it because if the figures are to be believed, it is a very powerful car.

the electric motors chop the 0-60 time down but nothing further, the 450h wont do 60-100 etc... any faster than the non hybrid equivalent ,

EPM wrote: »
    Smart feck aren't ya?

That car will have a small enough market when selling on. I would go for the one that had a full dealer history, getting all the recommended checks and software upgrades over one that had been independently serviced.

Not saying there's anything wrong with indy work - quite the opposite - but it would show to me that the owner didnt spare any expense on its upkeep

Lol no

I hear what your saying but those motors are pretty bullet proof and the majority of people that own them will have them well looked after so I wouldn't be to bothered to get one in a few years for 5k without a dealer FSH..

the electric motors chop the 0-60 time down but nothing further, the 450h wont do 60-100 etc... any faster than the non hybrid equivalent ,

But if Im cruising at 60mph for example with the hybrid system charged, surely the electric motors will give me a boost?

they have a speed limit, i think they kick out at 40mph , they basically do the first part of acceleration (the part that would get you as far as 3rd gear say) far faster than a petrol engine, then the petrol engine takes over for the rest , it makes your 0-60 faster but after that they do very little, going up a hill they can give more torque when fully charged but do very little when accelerating from 60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

actually not really through, all acceleration is a combined output from both mg motors and engine, you can get about 60kmh out of just motors with a very light foot which is an economy thing.. and that full torque range is there at all speeds depending on gear and output torque, its important to understandthat battery always stays above 40pc (an empty battery display on screen is actually only 45pc) so there is always torque availible for acceleration when needed. my two cent... but I know lexus inside out.. :-)

What a car. Well wear.

Yeah, 345 bhp isn't to be sniffed at! I suppose it's easy to think wanting a hybrid = wanting to save on fuel.

I hear what your saying but those motors are pretty bullet proof and the majority of people that own them will have them well looked after so I wouldn't be to bothered to get one in a few years for 5k without a dealer FSH..

But if you have two €5k motors of similar cosmetic condition, one without a history, the other with full dealer history, which are you more likely to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Confab wrote: »
    Lovely cars, I have a hankering for a Mk2.

I just recently moved my Mk2 on. Had it for 6 years and not a minutes' bother with it:):). I just couldn't justify keeping it,:( as personnal circumstances have changed somewhat recently.
    If your hankering is strong, you'll find it here - http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/GS300/3.0/201022198271021/advert?channel=CARS (no affiliation to the garage, I would just like to see her go to a good home)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Chippy01 wrote: »
    I just recently moved my Mk2 on. Had it for 6 years and not a minutes' bother with it:):). I just couldn't justify keeping it,:( as personnal circumstances have changed somewhat recently.
    If your hankering is strong, you'll find it here - http://www.carzone.ie/search/Lexus/GS300/3.0/201022198271021/advert?channel=CARS (no affiliation to the garage, I would just like to see her go to a good home)

Same colour/Spec as my GS300 (mines a 98). :D;)

WTF Did you do to the rear light clusters??

Have her 4 years now and I just cant part with it. Thankfully I only do 10k miles/yr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

When that 15k car becomes a 5k car in a couple of years (months?!), a full dealer SH should make it a lot easier to sell.

I don't believe it will. It'll be a nice add-on, maybe, but that's as much, and if we were talking about a German brand, I'd probably be more agreeable, but on a Lexus, it's in a different (higher) league with regard to reliability in the first place....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”