Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nadine Coyle's got an American accent now

• 21-06-2010 10:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭

There was a thread about this in DS. If you want to here the accent:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PysQi3hWiA

^^^
    she's being interviewed by someone. She defo sounds America, so strange! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

That's the worst American accent that I have ever heard.

It's cartoonish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Oh sweet Jesus it's awful :eek:

NAAAAAATURAL.....CLAAK...BAAND. Ugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭KillerKity

She has the worst accent and speaking voice. Derry people don't sound like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It happens to some people when they move abroad. It isn't an intentional thing. Especially when your accent isn't understand very easily by the native population. Many people subconsciously adjust.

I wish she'd feck off with it though - ruining her beautiful accent. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

dlofnep wrote: »
    Many people subconsciously adjust.
    (

Yes, very true; those people are called twats!

And it is very much intentional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

She's been talking like that for at least 5 years in fairness. Ye only caught on now?

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, very true; those people are called twats!

And it is very much intentional.

They aren't doing it on purpose.

My uncle has lived in London since he was 18, he's 55 now - and he still has his Waterford accent. He says stuff like "mate", but never says it in an English accent. In retrospect, I know a friend who has lived there for 4 or 5 years and has a strong London twang that seems to come and go.

Don't be so judgmental man!

They aren't doing it on purpose.

My uncle has lived in London since he was 18, he's 55 now - and he still has his Waterford accent. He says stuff like "mate", but never says it in an English accent. In retrospect, I know a friend who has lived there for 4 or 5 years and has a strong London twang that seems to come and go.

Don't be so judgmental man!

You just proved my point. I have relatives who went to England aged 18 and are now in their 50s and 60s and they STILL have their Irish/Dublin accents, and then you get some plonker' like Ronnie Whelan, from the heart of Finglas with his cultivated and forced scouse accent.

BTW, just so we are clear, I am talking about accent, not phrases or choices of words.

The strong twang from your mate is not natural, as you say, it comes and goes. That to me tells me it is controlled.

Do you think that people don't deliberately force and change their accents? It is
    all unintentional?

I could well understand that a child would develop an accent from
    being exposed for a long time, but these eejits who have spent
    many years with their Dublin or Derry or Kerry accent, they
    go off to England or the States for a year or two and next they're
    speaking in a yank or Brit accent? Gimme a break.

It is unintentional. It's very well studied. Your accent is adopted by your surroundings. Sometimes it's hard to break, but for other people - they lose their accents easily. It happens sub-consciously and isn't a forced change. That's why my uncle never lost his, but my friend did. It doesn't happen to everyone. Some people are mentally strong and don't sob-consciously feel the need to adapt to their surroundings. Other people are less confident and adapt quickly. At least, that's my understanding of it. There is no premeditated intent.

This is even seen in society, where people speak in a working class tone with their friends, and a upper-class tone within work. Ever hear of a phone voice?

This would be probably better discussed on the linguistics forum where they can explain it better.

Actually, another example is another friend of mine. He was born here in Ireland, has lived here for 26 years and has two accents. Both of his parents are from Kent, and when he speaks to them - he speaks with an English accent, but when he speaks with his friends it's with an Irish accent.

It is unintentional. It's very well studied. Your accent is adopted by your surroundings. Sometimes it's hard to break, but for other people - they lose their accents easily. It happens sub-consciously and isn't a forced change. That's why my uncle never lost his, but my friend did. It doesn't happen to everyone. Some people are mentally strong and don't sob-consciously feel the need to adapt to their surroundings. Other people are less confident and adapt quickly. At least, that's my understanding of it. There is no premeditated intent.

This is even seen in society, where people speak in a working class tone with their friends, and a upper-class tone within work. Ever hear of a phone voice?

This would be probably better discussed on the linguistics forum where they can explain it better.

Ok, simple question. Do you think "some" people deliberately change
    their accents, for whatever reason? I do, and I think Nadine is one such
    case, as are many others.

You keep proving my point. Ever hear of a phone voice? Yes, this is also a conscious decision by a person to alter their voice. This is my whole point. It is not there natural tone/accent

I am not saying that everyone is deliberate, but from my
    experience I can usually spot those that are deliberately
    altering/forcing/cultivating their accents. Nothing subconscious at all.

As for Nadine, a 20 something year old with a ridiculously THICK
    Derry accent, and now all of a sudden she has a Derry/U.S accent? C'mon, you don't buy this?

Your friend has been exposed a lot to English and Irish accents. This is a separate issue.
    For 26 years his parents have been speaking to him in an English accent, and when
    a child it would have been intense. He also hears a lot of Irish accents as he
    is living here. This is not the same as some twat going across the water
    and coming home a few months or years later with a whole new accent

No, I don't believe she is doing it deliberately. The fact that she has a thick accent is more of a reason to adapt to American culture, as they would find it hard to understand her.

And a phone voice is not a conscious decision. It's passive. I've worked for a company operating via phone for 7 years and I certainly speak clearer when I'm on the phone. It's not a conscious decision for me. It's just something I do.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I came to Ireland from New York 20 years ago. Still have an accent. But that made me throw my headphones out the window. Technaaaaaalagy. *shudder*

No, I don't believe she is doing it deliberately. The fact that she has a thick accent is more of a reason to adapt to American culture, as they would find it hard to understand her.

And a phone voice is not a conscious decision. It's passive. I've worked for a company operating via phone for 7 years and I certainly speak clearer when I'm on the phone. It's not a conscious decision for me. It's just something I do.

We seem to be getting confused in our debate. I know full well a person can be clearer, more audible and all that when on a phone. I am talking about an actual change of accent. Not clarity, phrases, sharpness etc. Just accent.

Ok, you wanna' argue that she is adapting; hence it's a conscious and deliberate change, to adapt. It is not the girl's natural accent. It is forced.

Anytime a person alters their speech is an example of a conscious decision.
    When you're with the lads, relaxed and having the chat, it will
    not be the same as when you are say in an interview for a job.
    You make a choice to speak clearer, slower, more deliberately.

Ok, you wanna' argue that she is adapting; hence it's a conscious and deliberate change, to adapt. It is not the girl's natural accent. It is forced.

No, this is what you seem to be misunderstanding. You assume that it is a conscious decision. While it can be, it doesn't mean that it is.

Do you accept that people can subconsciously adjust their accent to fit in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭j1974

fullstop wrote: »
    Oh sweet Jesus it's awful :eek:

NAAAAAATURAL.....CLAAK...BAAND. Ugh

I heard that accent before, its so bleedin pretentious. She sounds like she's doing a bad jerry hall impression. she's a dim Cu*t!!! another famous *****r who's sold his irish accent is that poxy cork lad from the TUDORS> you ever here him in an interview?? it's ridiculous how he speaks, totally english, even when being interviewed in Ireland!!! I watched an interview with english actory TOM HARDY on jonathan ross lat week, and his accent was so odd, that ross mentioned it at leaset twice. it kept changing from a london to american to slight new orleans twang, it was stupid!! It was put on big time, what's this in aid of??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It happens to some people when they move abroad. It isn't an intentional thing. Especially when your accent isn't understand very easily by the native population. Many people subconsciously adjust.

I wish she'd feck off with it though - ruining her beautiful accent. :(

In fairness, she had a horribly thick Derry mucker accent to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That's the worst American accent that I have ever heard.

It's cartoonish.

It's nearly as bad as that fake Nordie accent she's been peddlign for years now.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

You just proved my point. I have relatives who went to England aged 18 and are now in their 50s and 60s and they STILL have their Irish/Dublin accents, and then you get some plonker' like Ronnie Whelan, from the heart of Finglas with his cultivated and forced scouse accent.

Not sure which Ronnie Whelan you know but it's not the Ronnie Whelan on TV, who has a Dublin accent. Which is cool because he probably went to Liverpool when he was an impressionable teenager.

Stop talking ****e please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

ok - can we have less of the arguing please? This thread has gone way off topic. Just drop it please and keep this thread to discussing Nadine Coyle specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

Ray Foley from Today FM was saying on his show on Monday that he bumped into her in LA last week and he was shocked with how old she looked. He said she looked like a typical Irish Mammy. Thats no compliment! She'd need to put a few lbs on methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭j1974

BTW, just so we are clear, I am talking about accent, not phrases or choices of words.

The strong twang from your mate is not natural, as you say, it comes and goes. That to me tells me it is controlled.

Do you think that people don't deliberately force and change their accents? It is
    all unintentional?

I could well understand that a child would develop an accent from
    being exposed for a long time, but these eejits who have spent
    many years with their Dublin or Derry or Kerry accent, they
    go off to England or the States for a year or two and next they're
    speaking in a yank or Brit accent? Gimme a break.

well said mate, well said!! duffman says, what a guy!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Wonkagirl

Do you accept that people can subconsciously adjust their accent to fit in?

Definitely agree with that.

I'm from Cork, and when i'm in Cork i speak with a cork accent. I live in dublin, and i definitely conciously playdown my cork accent when i'm in work, or socialising with dublin friends. Why? Lots of different reasons. It's not that i'm embarrassed of having a cork accent per se, I just dont want to stand out. I dont 'put on' a dublin accent, i just neutralise the cork element of my accent.. people often say that they wouldnt know where i was from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

Not sure which Ronnie Whelan you know but it's not the Ronnie Whelan on TV, who has a Dublin accent. Which is cool because he probably went to Liverpool when he was an impressionable teenager.

Stop talking ****e please.

nah ive noticed the way ronnie says things, its not really dub i can hear a liverpool accent kicking in. the guy who mentioned this is right.

Wonkagirl wrote: »
    Definitely agree with that.

I'm from Cork, and when i'm in Cork i speak with a cork accent. I live in dublin, and i definitely conciously playdown my cork accent when i'm in work, or socialising with dublin friends. Why? Lots of different reasons. It's not that i'm embarrassed of having a cork accent per se, I just dont want to stand out. I dont 'put on' a dublin accent, i just neutralise the cork element of my accent.. people often say that they wouldnt know where i was from.

But, are you not deliberately doing this with your natural accent? That was my point.
    You are choosing to play down the accent, it is not a natural thing you are doing. If you were natural and not bothering you would still have your natural Cork accent.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Man thats shocking!!

But, are you not deliberately doing this with your natural accent? That was my point.
    You are choosing to play down the accent, it is not a natural thing you are doing. If you were natural and not bothering you would still have your natural Cork accent.

No- not really- it's mostly subconcious- I only notice it when I go home to Cork, when i realise how strong the accents are down there and that mine changes back a bit... but then 'ABOVE IN DUBLIN' i notice it every now and then that i am indeed playing i my accent down a bit- but it's deinitely more subconcious than concious. I cant really explain it

what is a natural accent anyway? surely they evolve over time, depending on circumstances? in a chameleon manner? Perhaps it's a survival thing to fit in? You'd be worn out from having people take the piss out of the cork accent, so i think i play it down subconciously so as not to having people POKE fun at me

Natural accent is just that, what naturally comes from your mouth.

Now, if you are a person constantly on the move all the time and
    going from County to County and country to country, then I could
    understand it getting a bit warped and distorted, but a life long Dub,
    Kerry man, Cork man, Yank, Englishman etc, doesn't suddenly
    subconsciously alter their accent to their surroundings after a few weeks and months.

This is forced and deliberately cultivated.

It's genuinely not forced nor deliberate though in my case.. It's a subconcious (or perhaps semi-concious if there's such a thing) thing that i do in order to not stick out.. I dont even notice I'm doing it most of the time.

I think it stems from when i moved up here first, and i was in UCD- in my class of 30, i was the only ''bogger''. I got continually slagged for my accent, LIKE! It was actually unbelievably annoying to be honest. It was like as if i had no other facet to my personality other than my cork accent (which, to be honest, isnt that strong anyway). I guess over time it flattened out a bit as a survival measure. Trust me it's not deliberate, or as i say, if it's deliberate it's on a subconsious level

So maybe wee nadine is the same? except at least i've been 11 yrs in dublin, she's not even a yr in the states!

Hey, at least you have some excuse, you have been 11 years mixing mostly amongst Dub accents directly and indirectly. What I do not get and sort of refuse to accept is these plonkers who deliberately force and cultivate an accent, thinking it's so freaking cool. Nadine is one.

And, whether Nadine's accent is forced or not, it has achieved what it set out to
    achieve, PUBLICITY, even if only on boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

Hey, at least you have some excuse, you have been 11 years mixing mostly amongst Dub accents directly and indirectly. What I do not get and sort of refuse to accept is these plonkers who deliberately force and cultivate an accent, thinking it's so freaking cool. Nadine is one.

And, whether Nadine's accent is forced or not, it has achieved what it set out to
    achieve, PUBLICITY, even if only on boards.ie

I think you're being a bit ignorant here. People almost never "put on" an accent. Try and purposely speak with an altered accent for a whole day. It's hard work, and you'll almost certainly drop it after a while.

People change their accent in response to social queues - it's unconscious, and it's just like reacting to body language. There are few people who consciously try to change their accent, who are not professional actors.

Changing your accent happens all the time - most people do it to a certain extent - teenagers talk differently to their friends than they do to their parents, then they do while they are at work, on the phone. Your accent generally is pretty fixed once your older than about 12, but before that it will just reflect the accents you are most exposed to. If you spend a lot of time abroad, it will drift a bit - someone who grew up in Ireland for 20 years, then spends 40 years in the States will sound a bit American to Irish people, and a lot Irish to Americans. Women often change quicker than men.

And judging someone on how "real" their accent is even more pathetic than putting on a posh accent to look down on them. There is no such thing as a correct accent to speak any language in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Chimichangas

I listened to the clip and I is sorry but I hear nothing wrong with her accent. It sounds to me like she is from the north and so she speaks that way.
    Anyone else who thinks she now has some dodgy american accent (i think some ppl called it the worst ever?)-well no offence but imo you dont really know what youre talking about do ye? Maybe if you took the time to visit and hear the accents spoken at street level you would have a better chance with making an informed comment.
    I hope I dont sound too harsh, but I was so disappointed with that youtube clip, I thought it would be funny to hear her talk in an american accent, but it seems the joke is on me for thinking this post was going to be interesting and funny!

ah well, better go look for another post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Her voice has definitely changed but thats probably, as someone said above, as a result of the people she comes into daily contact with. You definitely do tend to mimic the accents you hear if you are around them long enough. Having said that when she started off on Pop Idol (or whatever the hell it was called) I couldnt understand a word she said. Shes only famous because she cheated her way into the bootcamp that year. The rules were changed so that she could audition to be in Girls Aloud. And for what its worth I don't find her attractive at all, I'd much rather be stuck in a lift with Kimberley Walsh ;o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,731 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I listened to the clip and I is sorry but I hear nothing wrong with her accent. It sounds to me like she is from the north and so she speaks that way.
    Anyone else who thinks she now has some dodgy american accent (i think some ppl called it the worst ever?)-well no offence but imo you dont really know what youre talking about do ye? Maybe if you took the time to visit and hear the accents spoken at street level you would have a better chance with making an informed comment.
    I hope I dont sound too harsh, but I was so disappointed with that youtube clip, I thought it would be funny to hear her talk in an american accent, but it seems the joke is on me for thinking this post was going to be interesting and funny!

p5.jpg
    "Respect!"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

marwelie wrote: »
    And for what its worth I don't find her attractive at all, I'd much rather be stuck in a lift with Kimberley Walsh ;o)
    Agrred, best looking bird out of them all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Chimichangas

yeah, i can prob agree with marwelie, there may be a slight twang to her accent due to her spending time in USA but I dont think it is that bad to be called an american accent. MAybe since there is so much alster skats accents over in the USA it is easier for NAdine to be influenced in some words.

To be fair to Nadine in this specific case, she still sounds 90 percent Derry, and about ten percent American. But, give her time....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I had an English accent and then moved here when I was 11. Now it's mainly Irish but I'm asked ALL the time if I'm American.

Shít happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Maybe it's just me, but she definitely sounds like she's from norn iron in that clip. :confused:

WTF !!!

Imagine listening to that 24/7 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Sounds like a Derry accent to me. A bit of an american accent came out towards the end. It's a hard accent to lose. I'm from donegal but down south for last 4 years and my accent is sort of neutral but it depend who you are talking to. It's a subconscious thing.

Aye so it is aye :)