Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new political party registering in a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

a party that thinks it needs a 'name' person will get no support from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

a party that thinks it needs a 'name' person will go no support from me

what?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

a party that thinks it needs a 'name' person will go no support from me

I don't understand either! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I think its clear that Lost Expectation (as was!) will not be voting for a party that thinks it needs some "star" name to attract support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭bryanw

imme wrote: »
    They look like Extreme Green.

I welcome their setting up, it adds to the political realm.
    I can't understand why some people on here are so virulantly oposed to them, the hatred and animosity are almost disturbing.

Let them set up if they want, they'll elect a few councillors, if even, and that might be about it.
    I'm not opposed to them setting up. New voices are always welcome in the public arena, but I'm perfectly entitled to criticize and say what I think of them. I also don't want them preventing me from doing so.

Like...:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Rosahane

This has to be a practical joke. Just read the manifesto - it looks like something cobbled together by a bunch of students as a wind up after the exam celebrations.

...as as for the one photo on the site;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Biggins wrote: »
    I'm sorry but why you have to be a communist to have "green" concerns!

That's a totally stupid remark and shows ones very little understanding of the issues and appreciation of those involved, more often than not with those on ground level doing great local work!

Totally mindless, false tainting remark!

No, you just have to have no real understanding of economic reality outside Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Denerick

They will get 0.05% of the national vote, aid the mainstream Greens as they will have less of the loony fringe in their ranks, and in certain constituencies they will look moderate and reasonable by comparison. Actually, I may be tempted to vote for them again this time round if this works as an effective safety valve and lets loose the more egregious type of environmentalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

These guys will probably get 25 - 30 votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

http://fisnua.com/

In some respects, the communist label wasn't far off the mark. "Our aim is to introduce a basic income for all." Their manifesto advocates a system whereby the government gets first dibs on housing development; that is, if you want to build an estate the government get to decide first if they'll build it instead. They propose the abolition of tax relief on private pensions; clearly moving towards government control of pensions. And so on.

All in all, it suffers from the usual drawback of Left-wing policy: it's economically non-viable. Their propositions would require huge increases in taxation, which would stifle the dynamic economy and thus tax revenues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

nesf wrote: »
    Should be An Fhís Nua...

What a wonderful start for the party...

Possible error on part of article ? ;)

At least someone is trying to clean the ranks :D

The need to prevent financial collapse has been used as a justification to prop up corrupt business dealings of property speculators and the financial community with the introduction of the blanket banking guarantee and the National Asset Management Agency (NAMA). We would stop the transfer of assets from banks to NAMA at above current market values and implement the structured wind down of non-systemic and non-performing banks. We would instigate a full public and transparent enquiry into the current crisis. We would introduce effective controls of credit and investment instruments and introduce restraints against any system of bonus payments to employees of financial institutions which encourage short term risky financial management. We would encourage the pursuance of legal action against those who have contributed, through financial mismanagement, to the current financial crisis. We would also support prosecutions against those property developers who fraudulently obtained loans or illegally disposed of assets, and those who helped or encouraged them in so doing.
    Property developments seized by NAMA will be completed as ecologically friendly social or affordable housing or other health, educational, social and community projects wherever possible.

I am reading their proposals now and they seem very sound and fair so far.

Some of their proposals are just insane. Take education:

"Ensure that student- teacher ratios do not exceed 15:1 at primary and secondary levels."

Where's the money?

Then they go on to tax, being deliberately ambigous and insanely promising to cut vat by 3%, one of our most reliable revenue streams.

'
    We support a broadly progressive tax system and bands to protect workers from inflation and avoid taxation by stealth.

Structure corporate tax reliefs and capital allowances in such a way that Research and Development, employment-generating activities, socially responsible activities, and sustainable and environmentally friendly activities are rewarded.

Reduce both VAT rates by 3%.

Phase out VRT over 5 years, scrap motor tax and replace with a fuel surchage.'

This really is back of the fag packet stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

These guys will probably get 25 - 30 votes.

That's a bit optimistic if the photo on that website is representative of the party members.

Fis-Nua-mtg-26-Juli-2010-1-e1277725178256.jpg

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

That's a bit optimistic if the photo on that website is representative of the party members.

Four votes so. The lad with the beard was too busy textin:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

The Turquoise Party?

^^^Seriously underrated joke, people.

I applaud you, sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

yeah the manifesto is very short and of course uncosted...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

bijapos, don't post rubbish. This isn't AH.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

Denerick wrote: »

Lol

So if indeed that is them,you are judging on their clothes whether they are good at what they do,I would imagine if they didnt have the proper education and know how they would be bothered to try,never mind get any coverage at all.
    Three of them people look like teachers i know :p

caseyann wrote: »
    So if indeed that is them,you are judging on their clothes whether they are good at what they do,I would imagine if they didnt have the proper education and know how they would be bothered to try,never mind get any coverage at all.
    Three of them people look like teachers i know :p

I'm sure they are all pretty swell guys. But combined with their back of the fag packet manifesto, this photo tells us all we need to know.

I disagree and if you base by a picture just cause they arent faked out in suits,they bought with the tax payers money.They look pretty ok to me and bit more grounded.

Again, their manifesto is a joke and is entirely uncosted. They want to increase spending whilst cutting taxes.... BINGO! Call in the IMF lads!

They are open to new members to their party why not email them and give them a few tips or join them :p

I don't want to encourage them in any way. I rather do hope they scurry underneath a drain somewhere and stay there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

I don't want to encourage them in any way. I rather do hope they scurry underneath a drain somewhere and stay there.

Short of blasting on the scene with AC/DC's "Who Made Who" blaring in the foreground and some absolute kickass policies that would make FF/Glasraí quake in their boots this crowd of wouldbe wannabees will fade into the background along with their idealism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Lol
    true
    and the guy second from right looks like he`s smoking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

bryanw wrote: »
    I'm not opposed to them setting up. New voices are always welcome in the public arena, but I'm perfectly entitled to criticize and say what I think of them. I also don't want them preventing me from doing so.

Like...:

I`m sure they`ll be glad that you`re not opposed to their setting up:rolleyes:.

It was the virulance and the animosity that I objected to bryanw (not necessarilly on your part), it`s almost inhuman.

Who is preventing you from saying what you think:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Jaysus, if money grew on trees they'd be great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

On NAMA

The banking crisis will not go away. NAMA is now in Legislation, and is the only show in town. Rightly or wrongly, the solution to our banking crisis will have to be found within the NAMA framework. Interestingly "Fis Nua" [sic] dont seem to offer an alternative, beyond restructuring bonus payments, and criminal prosecutions of the protagonists.

Equality Agenda

Reflective of our current constitutional standpoint on "Equality". Nothing new there. Thus, why would I want to vote for them on an equality standpoint ?

Energy Emissions

Nuclear power is carbon neutral. There is no bogus argument in that. Obviously Fhis Nua have not made themselves aware of the anti-nuclear lobby's ability to lie, and distort important events (Chernobyl Disaster/Three Mile Island etc) to suit their purpose.

More taxes on greenhouse gases. Again, they are doing nothing to suggest that they are not the Eco-warriors which deserted the Greens after the 2007 election.

The above applies to their desire not to source valuable resources and keep them in the ground. Shell To Sea is a communist campaign,which has been punctuated by violence, civil disobedience, and jailtime for it's overzealous activists.

Transport

I have no problem with the development of national infrastructure. However, at a time of national economic crisis, I would like to see where they would get the money from.

"Prioritise cycling schemes/lanes". Again, this would require much public expenditure, incumbrance on employers, and taxation for "Green purposes".

Housing

Fhis nua clearly support the decentralisation of social problems, and the ghettoisiation of township problems into the ghost estates around the country. Furthermore, they would also appear to support attempts to draw blood from stones (impecunious developers), or stick the govenmental hands into the back pockets of the taxpayer to complete the unfinished homes of the country, or retain these homes and hand them over on a social and affordable basis.

Health

The manifesto clearly desires the end of ANY private involvement in healthcare. Naturally, that will be paid for by the empty public purse, will encourage people to run to the system at any point, and end up clogging the system, and will lead to the real cases sitting in amongst waiting lists, and waiting for years to avail of procedures etc.

The other two points are predicated on the remarks about universal healthcare. While admirable, they will be expensive, and encourage unnecessary use.

Recreational Drug Use

Hard to disagree. Prohibition has failed.

Education

Fhis Nua seek to deprive the Third Level sector of it's inly source of non-state funding. The contribution is a miniscule cost for what one gets in return. A 100% public 3rd level sector will put further financial strain on the strained colleges/universities. It is another example of Fhis Nua's hard-left tendancies.

15.1 teacher ratio. ROFL LOL. Any person with half a brain would know how unworkable and expensive that would be.

This all doesnt even seem to include the 1 Billion investment which is proposed.

Tax

Replace the current rate of VAT ? No doubt that will be mitigated by another Carbon/environmental tax which will be used to satisfy a "climate change" penchant.

I like the abolition of the motor tax in favour of an increased fuel charge. However, I would question wheter this falls in line with Fhis Nua's agreement with progressive taxation.

Basic Income

Extreme Left if ever I have seen it. Even at the best of times, unemployment will usually hit 70,000 +. What about those people ? Will this basic income come to them through the social welfare system ? Equally, employers will be intruded upon. The taxpayer will be intruded on when the state is the one paying the "basic wage". Why not hand out "food stamps" and "clothes stamps". They would give a "basic income", but it would be ringfenced, and ensure the necessities of life are obtained.

Crime

Another bastion of public expenditure. They are alos being very populist by paying deference to those who were involved in blowing and bursting the property bubble.

They have offered no emperical evidence why "15000" Gardai are needed. While I believe extra Gardai are needed, I believe that an appraisal needs to be done as to how existing resources are used, and whether existing Garda resources are wasted in tracking small traffic infractions etc.

Road Safety.

Do we not already operate a system of random breath testing ? If we do, this is a platitude.

Waste

Huge expenditure on the EPA increasing the nanny state to watch a small amount of illegal dumping, and failure to accord to national standards.

Agriculture

Ban GM food, and promote a "green brand" label. Again, this is expensive and unsustainable. GM Foods are important, and regardless of whether they are less desirable then organic etc, it is not up to the state to tell people what they can eat and what they cannot. Again, this is large scale regulation, and the nanny state gone wild in the name of "Green".

Animal Welfare

An issue that is irrelevant to me, and to many more like me.

Irish Resources

Let us keep our resources in the ground, where they cannot make money and increase our international credibility Natural resources have acted as a dividing line between countries which the recession has battered and which it has not.

Ban the sale of land/resources to foreign investors. I suppose we can always run the state off green taxes and an empty public purse.

Tourism

Lets tell private companies to hand out free tavel to over 65s who visit. State telling private companies what to do = Communism.

Broadband

Excellent policy. No solution as to how to do it. No declaration as to how it shall be funded. Equally, if it an extension of the "next generation broadband" thing, then it is worthless, and will stunt the growth of good broadband in Ireland as offered by the likes of UPC.

Children

Banning Junk Food advertising. More nanny statism, which is a direct attack on successful companies. It will also have a wider effect, and is completely unnecessary.

Older People

Pilfered from the Progressive Democrats manifesto of 2007. Nothing new or innovative here.

Disability

Disability payment of 40 Euro per weeks. Another public expenditure which sets these guys as fruitcake lefties.

The manifesto is a leftist, regressive and pilfering piece of nonsense. It is certainly remeniscent of the Green Alliance/Green party manifestos between 1982-2002. I would never vote for these guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Political Reform
    Reduce the number of TDs from 166 to 130 and more than double Dáil sitting time. Abolish the un-elected Seanad. Cap elected representatives including the President's pay to a maximum of 2.5 times the national average wage. Complete overhaul of expenses provision to elected representatives that should be capped at an appropriate level.
    Free National Travel Passes on public transport to be issued to all public representatives in lieu of travel expenses throughout the country.
    Ban corporate, institutional or foreign-based donations to political parties.

I can see it now, Brian Cowan sitting on the back seat of the bus to Tullamore