Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Championship

• 05-07-2010 10:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

The 2010 Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Championship will take place on Sunday, August 29th., at the Green Isle Hotel, Newland's Cross, Dublin, and the winner will qualify for the Ladbrokes.com World Championship at Alexandra Palace in London next December.

The competition at the Green Isle Hotel will be played down to the last two players on the day and the final of the Irish Matchplay will be played on stage at the City West Hotel, Dublin. on Sunday, October 10th., before the final of the World Grand Prix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Bagsy winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Dartgod wrote: »
    The 2010 Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Championship will take place on Sunday, August 29th., at the Green Isle Hotel, Newland's Cross, Dublin, and the winner will qualify for the Ladbrokes.com World Championship at Alexandra Palace in London next December.

The competition at the Green Isle Hotel will be played down to the last two players on the day and the final of the Irish Matchplay will be played on stage at the City West Hotel, Dublin. on Sunday, October 10th., before the final of the World Grand Prix.

are the forms for this posted on any site yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭501darts

Your wasting your time lads, I have this one in the bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Great idea having the 2 finalists playing on the stage just before the grand prix final, it gives the player who eventually makes it to ally pally the experience of playing in that kind of environment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Gonna have to find my darts for this one... After the IPCs finals day im not sure where i put em..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 KickingKen

Did you know Paul Nicholson wears his tri colour wristband in memory of the great Tom Kirby.

KickingKen wrote: »
    Did you know Paul Nicholson wears his tri colour wristband in memory of the great Tom Kirby.
    Yeah i heard that alright Ken, are u gonna have a bash at this competition?Would be good to see a fellow Boomers player on the Tv:D

yeah hopefully Graham if I can get the day off, wouldnt mind a bit of "World Championship" :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 doubletrouble

KickingKen wrote: »
    yeah hopefully Graham if I can get the day off, wouldnt mind a bit of "World Championship" :D:D:D
    only 1 boomers player will b winning this. cud be an all boomers final. me n skelo but we all know the outcome of dat 1!!!! hehehehehe

They must be putting some magic mushrooms into the mac donalds up there..... This lad is having weird dreams..

Dicie wrote: »
    They must be putting some magin mushrooms into the mac donalds up there..... This lad is having weird dreams..
    Haha love it dicie:D

They must be putting some magic mushrooms into the mac donalds up there..... This lad is having weird dreams..
    u mite say dat but im averaging 80 in practice n i know i can push dat up to 85!!!!!!!!!:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Off to the pdc with u then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

oh yeah, definitely entering that one.. i'd say every player from every league will enter it tho..

Bah:pac:
    Im up around that myself so watch out:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 mr big dong

gringo the only 85 u get is a bus into town and as for the honey monster the only 85 he gets is stones when shane and himself get on a weighting scales:p:p:p:p:eek:;)

CLassic comedy gold here with mc cracken.....:D:D:D

n this is coming from the red pig who cant even win a game against a kerry second team. u were a legend anto now ur just a plonker

The legend will be back, have no doubt... :D:D Now, whos round is it???:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 mr big dong

didnt want u to be a plonker on ur own tried alot cant match ur standard of being a plonker but it doesnt come naturally to me like it does to u ;):cool:

Well just over 6 weeks now to the Tom Kirby memorial, be nice to see you 2 drawn against each other... Only 1 winner there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Christ lads clam down.
    voices_scousers_200x150.jpg

Carrickman wrote: »
    Christ lads clam down.
    voices_scousers_200x150.jpg

Hahhahaahahaaaaaaaaaaa, the scousers.... :D:D:D

Well just over 6 weeks now to the Tom Kirby memorial, be nice to see you 2 drawn against each other... Only 1 winner there...
    id love nothing more than a showdown with a washed up mouth piece. i already took care of grey, ur nxt red balls!!:D;)

:D:D U forget i was watching that game u played against gareth in kilkenny... Lets not call it a victory shall we. U cant beat me, not sure how ur gonna beat mac cracken.....
    piece of piss

2m2u8oh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

C'mon lads, give us a break, please !

Just back from holidays and back to this endless drivel !

Can we stick to the subject of the thread ? - - - Tom Kirby Memorial Matchplay and getting an Irish player into the Ladbrokes.com World Championship.

Let's TALK DARTS and NOT DRIVEL !

Entry forms are available on www.dartsinireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Maby one of the Mods could tidy up this thread and keep a bit of order.

Carrickman wrote: »
    Maby one of the Mods could tidy up this thread and keep a bit of order.

Give your head a wobble there...

keep a bit of order, it was a bit of a joke, i dont see any rules that has been broke, between players that will take part in the event giving each other a bit of banter.

anyone know what would be the final day for entering this, will probabaly not know whether i could enter until the monday before the event

btw, mr ding dong and doubletrouble are mates, and rumour has it they are former lovers :D, so its only a bit of a domestic !

Bagsy winning

I see that you are "raring to go" this year, Dion, with your entry already in the post with a month to go !

Yeah i'm always the one who's last in the door, thought i'd get it out of the way while i could

If only more players did that and not wait till the last minute !

How can I get me hands on an entry form for this?

www.dartsinireland.com

If you look along the left as you scroll it has stuff about the World Championship Qualifiers.

First one is the U21's so don't print that

Alternatively i've added a news post about the form here

http://www.irldarts.com/2010/07/26/tom-kirby-irish-matchplay-and-u-21-qualifiers-form-available/

Second is the Tom Kirby

PDF document for you to print is there

www.dartsinireland.com

If you look along the left as you scroll it has stuff about the World Championship Qualifiers.

First one is the U21's so don't print that

Alternatively i've added a news post about the form here

http://www.irldarts.com/2010/07/26/tom-kirby-irish-matchplay-and-u-21-qualifiers-form-available/

Second is the Tom Kirby

PDF document for you to print is there
    Cheers!
    Now all ive got 2 do is find somebody who has a printer:D

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Cheers!
    Now all ive got 2 do is find somebody who has a printer:D

Any problems, Gringo, give me a shout and I will post them to you !

Cheers mate i will let you know;)

Irish PDPA members have a choice this year to qualify for the Ladbrokes.com World Championship.
    They may compete in the Tom Kirby Irish Matchplay Championship or the PDPA qualifying competition in November. They may not compete in both events.
    Regarding PDPA lapsed members - - - any player that was a member of the PDPA in 2009 and who did not renew his membership in 2010 is NOT eligible to compete in any PDC event in 2010 unless he renews his PDPA membership before the closing date for that event.

4 weeks today.. Time flys when ur having fun...

My darts are in kerry, i better send for them and do a bit of practice.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Irish PDPA members have a choice this year to qualify for the Ladbrokes.com World Championship.
    They may compete in the Tom Kirby Irish Matchplay Championship or the PDPA qualifying competition in November. They may not compete in both events.
    Regarding PDPA lapsed members - - - any player that was a member of the PDPA in 2009 and who did not renew his membership in 2010 is NOT eligible to compete in any PDC event in 2010 unless he renews his PDPA membership before the closing date for that event.

May i ask why the rules where changed this year to allow PDPA players play in it compared to last year where no PDPA member could play in it and it turned out to be a cracking day of darts for many a player who can't get the money to play in the other qualifying competition.

I For one really hope this isn't the beginning of the end of yet another chance for the joe soap players in this country who haven't got the chance or the sponsorship to play.

We have already seen the Qualifiers for city west taking away which in my opinion was the highlight in many a players dairy in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

S.T.D Ste wrote: »
    May i ask why the rules where changed this year to allow PDPA players play in it compared to last year where no PDPA member could play in it and it turned out to be a cracking day of darts for many a player who can't get the money to play in the other qualifying competition.

I For one really hope this isn't the beginning of the end of yet another chance for the joe soap players in this country who haven't got the chance or the sponsorship to play.

We have already seen the Qualifiers for city west taking away which in my opinion was the highlight in many a players dairy in this country

I don't see this ruling making much difference tbh, the irish pdpa members atm are I'm pretty sure the one who qualified last year Aodhagen, Willie O'Connor, Mick McGowan etc... 2 of whom were there last year.

What confused me was the last line about lapsed members. Those that mean that players who left the pdpa cant compete?

padr81 wrote: »
    I don't see this ruling making much difference tbh, the irish pdpa members atm are I'm pretty sure the one who qualified last year Aodhagen, Willie O'Connor, Mick McGowan etc... 2 of whom were there last year.

What confused me was the last line about lapsed members. Those that mean that players who left the pdpa cant compete?

It seems like a slap on thw wrist to those that have left the PDPA/PDC... There punishment for leaving is not being let try qualify for this event. Thou it is the same in the uk for the qualifiers for the uk open in rileys, lapse members of the pdc cant try qualify..

It was only Aodhagen that qualified last yr, thru the Irish qualifiers.

Wether the lads choose the Irish route or not is non of my concern, but how many chances do they need..

- Top 32 in PDC rankings qualify

- Top 16 players in the players championship Order of merit (that doesnt include the top 32) also qualify.

- A PDPA members qualification comp.

SO out of all the travelling players from the PDC, you could be ranked 48th in the Players championship order of merit and qualify for the world championship, but have already knocked out 5 or 6 lads on your way to winning the tom kirby memorial trophy.

Then no doubt the player that was beaten in the final would be 1st reserve for the place at the Ally Pally, but what about the players that were beaten by the player that qualified thru the order of merit.

It throws up alot of scenarios.

But as i said, means nothing to me, can only play the man that is in front of you.

In reply to the previous posts - - -

Regarding the Irish Qualifiers for the World Grand Prix - - - we have been over that ground before, S.T.D., and nobody was more disappointed than I was when the qualifiers were pulled !
    I had spent the previous years building it up to more than 500 entries in 2007 before the PDC made their decision to discontinue the event.

In 2008 we were invited to organise a qualifying competition for the Ladbrokes.com World Championship with one place available for an Irish player at Alexandra Palace - - - thus, the Irish Matchplay Championship was inaugurated.
    Irish PDPA members were given the choice of playing in the Matchplay or in the PDPA qualifying competition in the U.K but they could not compete in both.
    The vast majority of the Irish members opted to go to the U.K. with more places on offer in the World Championship.
    Last year the PDC did not organise a qualifying competition and PDPA members could only qualify through the PDC Order of Merit or through the Players' Championship Order of Merit.
    This new rule prohibited Irish PDPA members from competing in the Irish Matchplay.
    This year they have reverted to the 2008 format where Irish PDPA members can compete in either the Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay or in the UK Qualifiers - but not in both.
    Regarding padr81's query about lapsed PDPA members - - - any player that was a member of the PDPA in 2009 and who has not renewed his membership in 2010 is NOT ELIGIBLE to compete in the Irish Matchplay unless he renews his full membership before the closing date of the Matchplay.
    The same rule applies to the UK Qualifiers.

Entry form attached - - -

You get that entry DG???

Yes, Dicie, the postman arrived with that.

The other forms are in the post to you.

Yes, Dicie, the postman arrived with that.

The other forms are in the post to you.

Thanks oldboy, i aint to keen on sending entries thru the post...

Wnt be long now, over 2 weeks away!!!