Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Final 2010 Cork V Down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭manster

well done Cork. The monkey is off your back now and I think ye will win a few more in the coming years if ye can get past Kerry.

Kerry are the only team to beat Cork since 2004.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭big_show

Well done Cork,

But can someone shine some light on why McComusiky for Down was taking off?
    He was one of the stronger down forwards yesterday, a few scores from play and won most ball that came his way. I thought it was madness taking him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

manster wrote: »
    well done Cork. The monkey is off your back now and I think ye will win a few more in the coming years if ye can get past Kerry.

Kerry are the only team to beat Cork since 2004.

If ye could get a decent rate of return from your forwards for the way ye dominate midfield ye would have nothing to fear from any team in the country. Down nearly made it a draw despite living on scraps at midfield for most of the game. Not placing the blame solely on the forwards though, there were too many way ward passes when the ball was kicked in. That said, its more a reason for optimism than anything else as it can easily be improved upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Great result for the boys, after 20 years and especially after last year's final they really did deserve it. I'm a hurling person but it was still wonderful to see my home county win yesterday, I was getting a heart attack towards the end, thought he'd never blow the bloody whistle! Some session in Cork tonight, wish I was there for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Congrats to the Cork lads.

Wont go down as a great final by any means but finals are for winning and generally don't tend to be all that great.

I think their experience in finals told in the end combined with their depth on the bench.

There's a fair few lads on the team who fall in to the deserving category in terms of service down the years so nice to see them winning something.

I still think this was won in spite of Counihan rather than because of him and think that under a different manager this panel would be a lot more dangerous of a unit.

Given the age profile of the Cork squad this still feels more like an end of an era than a start of a dynasty.

Wouldnt be surprised to see a fair few of the big names retire into the sunset over the next while and would imagine the Cork team in two years could look fairly different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Well done Cork, finally stood up to be counted!

terrible in the first half but what a seccond half! I dont see why they dont go and play more direct football rather than the rubbish, go nowhere passing they were at all year!

I think they may start to enjoy their football now and may have another few A.Is over the next few years.

As for down, great effort, but just couldnt stop the cork momentum in the seccond half.
    Great year for them and the final will bring them on a lot too.

Congrats to the Cork lads.

Wont go down as a great final by any means but finals are for winning and generally don't tend to be all that great.

I think their experience in finals told in the end combined with their depth on the bench.

There's a fair few lads on the team who fall in to the deserving category in terms of service down the years so nice to see them winning something.

I still think this was won in spite of Counihan rather than because of him and think that under a different manager this panel would be a lot more dangerous of a unit.

Given the age profile of the Cork squad this still feels more like an end of an era than a start of a dynasty.

Wouldnt be surprised to see a fair few of the big names retire into the sunset over the next while and would imagine the Cork team in two years could look fairly different.

It was a better final than last year - and thats coming from a kerryman! There was a lot more excitement this time around.

Would have to disagree with this, they have a lot of young players on the team, and they have had strong teams consistently under age for the last while. Canty et al wont be retiring this year i reckon, but when they do they should have a couple of lads coming through when the time is right. Anthony Lynch might be considering it though, might depend on how his form is next year and if he stays injury free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Lu Tze wrote: »
    It was a better final than last year - and thats coming from a kerryman! There was a lot more excitement this time around.

Would have to disagree with this, they have a lot of young players on the team, and they have had strong teams consistently under age for the last while. Canty et al wont be retiring this year i reckon, but when they do they should have a couple of lads coming through when the time is right. Anthony Lynch might be considering it though, might depend on how his form is next year and if he stays injury free.

Kinda harsh with the final comment alright I suppose - most finals dont tend to be classics.

The end of an era comment was based on looking at the ages of some of the big names in the squad. It just didnt feel like the start of something.

Within 2 years chances are most of the following will be gone - a lot of experience and ability included here. Cork have undoubtedly some serious prospects coming through but I find it hard not to see the team weakening a bit in the next few years, given there looks to be a bit of a gap between these guys and the under 25 guys.

Lynch 33
    Quirke 33
    Murphy 32
    Miskella 32
    Canty 30
    O'Neill 30
    Kissane 30
    Kavanagh 29
    O'Connor 29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

The majority of the team is under 25, with two U-21s. Its a young squad in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Kinda harsh with the final comment alright I suppose - most finals dont tend to be classics.

The end of an era comment was based on looking at the ages of some of the big names in the squad. It just didnt feel like the start of something.

Within 2 years chances are most of the following will be gone - a lot of experience and ability included here. Cork have undoubtedly some serious prospects coming through but I find it hard not to see the team weakening a bit in the next few years, given there looks to be a bit of a gap between these guys and the under 25 guys.

Lynch 33
    Quirke 33
    Murphy 32
    Miskella 32
    Canty 30
    O'Neill 30
    Kissane 30
    Kavanagh 29
    O'Connor 29

Lynch hasn't played all year, Quirke is a goalie and easily enough replaced, Pearse has been rubbish and imo should be replaced regardless of age, Kavanagh is good but an impact sub and far from irrereplaceable, O'Connor, Kissane and Canty have a couple of years left at least imo. I wouldn't expect us to struggle too much, we have three U-21 All-Ireland wins to support us after all, and a more then decent Minor team. I'd be vaguely worried about our half-back line alright, although Damien Cahalane is a serious prospect. Jamie Wall isn't half bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

Lynch 33
    Quirke 33
    Murphy 32
    Miskella 32
    Canty 30
    O'Neill 30
    Kissane 30
    Kavanagh 29
    O'Connor 29

Couldn't disagree with you more, this team will only get stronger in the next few years, Lynch hasnt played all year, Quirke is a keeper and age doesnt matter, Murphy and O Connor will be replaced by Walsh and Gould, Goulding, Donnacha O Connor, O Neill, Shields, O Leary, Carey, Kerrigan, Sheehan, Kelly, all great young players that now have an All Ireland medal and will only push on from here. Still have unfinished business, we won't be a great team until we beat the Kingdom in Croke Park. This will drive us on, our underage players coming through have had great success at under 21 level and are used to beating Kerry. I agree with Billy Morgan's pre match verdict that if Cork win they will dominate for a few years, getting over the line will only make this team stronger and we will drive on from here.

Had a great night in the Burlington last night, I was one of the thousands that couldn't get into the celebration banquet but it was great to see the players and management come into the bar and mingle with the fans.

Corcaigh Abu!!!!!!!!!!!
    Champions at last!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

well done Cork & Down - we look forward to visiting/hosting yourselves in the League next year.

Overall a poor match - exciting for those involved but serious bad shooting from both teams (until Corks 14&15 decided to have a lash), bad passing at times and no real intensity to the game. A few yellows handed out for petty offences. Cork had the bench - Down kept kicking the ball to Cork to give them chances to score.

If it had gone to a replay I'd have feared for Down because Cork eventually worked out what to do to win (barely).
    Both teams lost in their respective championships to the two teams that since 2002 have won SAM.
    No dynasty being setup here and its all up for grabs next year.

As for the facts longtime since:
    both team captains didn't start the final
    both games (minor & senior) ended 16-15 to the winners
    both managers had won 2 all-ireland senior titles as players

Great to see the spectators staying off the field and I think its all summed up when Cork and Down squads/management met at the 21 at the Canal End/Davin Stand and congratulated/commisserated each other. Sportsmanship at its best.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

mrgaa1 wrote: »
    well done Cork & Down - we look forward to visiting/hosting yourselves in the League next year.

Overall a poor match - exciting for those involved but serious bad shooting from both teams (until Corks 14&15 decided to have a lash), bad passing at times and no real intensity to the game. A few yellows handed out for petty offences. Cork had the bench - Down kept kicking the ball to Cork to give them chances to score.

If it had gone to a replay I'd have feared for Down because Cork eventually worked out what to do to win (barely).
    Both teams lost in their respective championships to the two teams that since 2002 have won SAM.
    No dynasty being setup here and its all up for grabs next year.

As for the facts longtime since:
    both team captains didn't start the final
    both games (minor & senior) ended 16-15 to the winners
    both managers had won 2 all-ireland senior titles as players

Great to see the spectators staying off the field and I think its all summed up when Cork and Down squads/management met at the 21 at the Canal End/Davin Stand and congratulated/commisserated each other. Sportsmanship at its best.

As did last years Under 21 final between Cork and Down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

Dont know how anyone can say it was poor match.2nd half was excellent.
    Some brilliant scores from both sides-Down scored 12 FROM PLAY.
    Fair play to to Cork,they finally produced the goods when the pressure was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 bigSuzi12

I'm from Cork, was at the match yesterday and was delighted with the win. Well done to the lads. Credit has to be given to the sporting manner in which both teams played and celebrated/commisserated the result. It was one of the cleanest matches I've ever seen. Especially impressed with the Down team coming to congratulate Cork under the Davin stand.

I'd like to say that the Down supporters were some of the best supporters I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Great banter before and very gracious in defeat, and never a bad word.

For the last few years I've been very dissappointed in the way supporters of different counties treat each other(and yes Corkmen are as guilty as other). There's too much bitterness and venom. But yesterday I left Croker for the first time in ages feeling more upbeat about our organisation. Hopefully Down will be back next year for another Cork v Down final :), because they were a breath of fresh air this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

The first half wasn't great but the second half was more exciting.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,550 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Fiche Bliain ag Fás !!
    Sam is home and all is well in the world!!!!!
    Not sure where to start... Poor first half but I felt at HT we would win as those couple of points in the last 5 mins got us close enough. We have always been a second half team .... but what a second half!!! O'Connor and Goulding were simply fantastic. I was directly behind the goal in the second half and to see point after point going over was truly savage!!
    I did feel the officials made some shocking bad calls, missing so many obvious fouls, but the umpire who was 2 feet away from the Down defender who picked the ball cleanly off the ground with his hands and threw it over the endline only to give a 45 was dumbfounding in the extreme! I haven't watched it again - although I certainly will :D - but there were some yellows issued that I found very confusing.
    I was delighted also that Plan B was not needed. Lap(s) of honour, star diving and a truly special sporting moment- when the Down team came over as one to congratulate
    the Cork team right in front of me. That showing of true sportmanship was refreshing to see and added (if even necessary ) to the general perception, that this really is a special Down team. They deserve huge credit for what they have brought to the AI series this year.
    Finally, having caught up with the last few pages, all I can say is, there are one or two seriously deranged, bitter and confused Kerry folk out there - looking forward to keeping them exactly as they are;)
    Tá Sam ar ais arís i gContae Chorcaí - you were missed bai !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Rebel Fan wrote: »
    Couldn't disagree with you more, this team will only get stronger in the next few years, Lynch hasnt played all year, Quirke is a keeper and age doesnt matter, Murphy and O Connor will be replaced by Walsh and Gould, Goulding, Donnacha O Connor, O Neill, Shields, O Leary, Carey, Kerrigan, Sheehan, Kelly, all great young players that now have an All Ireland medal and will only push on from here. Still have unfinished business, we won't be a great team until we beat the Kingdom in Croke Park. This will drive us on, our underage players coming through have had great success at under 21 level and are used to beating Kerry. I agree with Billy Morgan's pre match verdict that if Cork win they will dominate for a few years, getting over the line will only make this team stronger and we will drive on from here.

Had a great night in the Burlington last night, I was one of the thousands that couldn't get into the celebration banquet but it was great to see the players and management come into the bar and mingle with the fans.

Corcaigh Abu!!!!!!!!!!!
    Champions at last!

I remain unsure as to Cork's potential to dominate the footballing landscape. In fact, I see much of the Dublin victory in 1995 reflected in this Cork team. They have been chomping at the bit for some time now, and have been rewarded with a NFL title and a deserved All Ireland title. There is no question that Sam is where it should be this year. However, I feel Cork are not in a position to claim that they could dominate. Subsequent to Dublin's deserved victory in 1995 (given all that had gone on before), the winning edge seem to disappear. It wasnt helped by a change in management, and a change in personel. However, Dublin looked frail, and could just as easily have lost the All Ireland Final in 1995. Cork could well have been knoced out by Limerick and Dublin this term. It also took a lot of resolve to overcome a vastly inexperienced Down team. The dominance that Kerry and Tyrone enjoyed in the noughties had a very different feel to it. It seemed to come in a rather "in your face" manner, and it had been built quietly. On the other hand, this Cork team have been building to this for the guts of five years. This is another parallel between the current Cork set-up and the Dublin team of 1995. It was the product of long term work, and trial and error.

Football is also entering unchartered waters. When Kerry and Tyrone dominated the footballing landscape in the noughties, there was a significant lack of competition in Ireland. For most of the noughties Dublin, Cork and Mayo were not good enough. Galway, Derry, Meath and Kildare hardly showed up (Galway after 2001). As a result the likes of Westmeath and Laois came to the fore, and at no point did they really have the ability to take the likes of Kerry, Tyrone or Armagh. Now, Cork will have to compete with Down, Kildare, Dublin, Kerry, and Tyrone (neither of which are licked yet). Limerick are developing into a credible force, while I dont believe that Galway and Mayo will be as poor in 2011 as they were this term.

As such, I dont think footballing dominance will come to Cork. They are entitled to this win, and I think they may well win another during this decade. However, I dont believe that they will enjoy anything like the success that Kerry and Tyrone had in the noughties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Still sweet

Run out of Kerry heads to annoy and that is difficult in my family.

Ps eighty five year old aunts can swear like a trooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Het-Field wrote: »
    I remain unsure as to Cork's potential to dominate the footballing landscape. In fact, I see much of the Dublin victory in 1995 reflected in this Cork team. They have been chomping at the bit for some time now, and have been rewarded with a NFL title and a deserved All Ireland title. There is no question that Sam is where it should be this year. However, I feel Cork are not in a position to claim that they could dominate. Subsequent to Dublin's deserved victory in 1995 (given all that had gone on before), the winning edge seem to disappear. It wasnt helped by a change in management, and a change in personel. However, Dublin looked frail, and could just as easily have lost the All Ireland Final in 1995. Cork could well have been knoced out by Limerick and Dublin this term. It also took a lot of resolve to overcome a vastly inexperienced Down team. The dominance that Kerry and Tyrone enjoyed in the noughties had a very different feel to it. It seemed to come in a rather "in your face" manner, and it had been built quietly. On the other hand, this Cork team have been building to this for the guts of five years. This is another parallel between the current Cork set-up and the Dublin team of 1995. It was the product of long term work, and trial and error.

Football is also entering unchartered waters. When Kerry and Tyrone dominated the footballing landscape in the noughties, there was a significant lack of competition in Ireland. For most of the noughties Dublin, Cork and Mayo were not good enough. Galway, Derry, Meath and Kildare hardly showed up (Galway after 2001). As a result the likes of Westmeath and Laois came to the fore, and at no point did they really have the ability to take the likes of Kerry, Tyrone or Armagh. Now, Cork will have to compete with Down, Kildare, Dublin, Kerry, and Tyrone (neither of which are licked yet). Limerick are developing into a credible force, while I dont believe that Galway and Mayo will be as poor in 2011 as they were this term.

As such, I dont think footballing dominance will come to Cork. They are entitled to this win, and I think they may well win another during this decade. However, I dont believe that they will enjoy anything like the success that Kerry and Tyrone had in the noughties.

Not forgetting Sligo and Roscommon could be the new Galway of the decade yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Rebel Fan

Het-Field wrote: »

I agree to a certain extent but my belief that Cork could dominate for a few years comes from the fact that we have a big selection of players coming through the ranks, these guys have enjoyed great success at under 21 level and now a few of them have a senior medal in their pockets as well. The key to us remaining successful though is keeping Counihan for at least another 3 years. John Cleary has developed some great players at underage level and Counihan seems to be the right man for bringing them on even more. look at the year Aidan Walsh had in particular, hard to believe he's 19 or 20, he had a brilliant game yesterday, midfield can be a daunting place for a young player but he owned most of the ball when it was up for grabs. He can get better though, some of his distribution and shots this year were poor but this is where counihan will develop him.

Added tothis they are coming through to seniors with the habit of winning which many of the current great players haven't, habits like that are difficult to break! But would agree that i dont think they will be pulling in a mojrity of all irelands over the next 5-6 years, mainly because the competition is greater now. And they will be meeting kerry every year at least once. Though the kerry team may be a bit weaker now, they always tend to play better against cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭dring

Don't expect Cork to dominate but it would be disappointing if one or two more All Irelands didn't follow, winning even two in a row is very difficult now with the huge physical and mental effort involved. Tyrone won three out of six 03-08 and Kerry four out of six 04 -09. Cork hurlers won with a very young team in 99, had some disruption before winning two more in 05-06. Several counties will feel in with a shout next year but the goal of beating Kerry in a final or semi can spur Cork on.

These guys have the talent and the time to scale the heights again: Born 1981: D. O'Connor, 1982:O'Leary, Masters?, 1985: Kelly, A. O'Connor, 1986: Cadogan, Carey, Shields, Goulding, F. Gould, Kerrigan, 1987: Cotter, 1988: O'Sullivan, C. O'Neill, D. Gould 1990:Walsh, Sheehan

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

John Cleary has developed some great players at underage level and Counihan seems to be the right man for bringing them on even more. look at the year Aidan Walsh had in particular, hard to believe he's 19 or 20, he had a brilliant game yesterday, midfield can be a daunting place for a young player but he owned most of the ball when it was up for grabs. He can get better though, some of his distribution and shots this year were poor but this is where counihan will develop him.

Walsh mentioned about being spoken to by the management about his shooting, to give it to a player in a better position, which he did yesterday - simple instruction that he wasn't given during the season before that, which worked wel yesterday!
    dring wrote: »
    Don't expect Cork to dominate but it would be disappointing if one or two more All Irelands didn't follow, winning even two in a row is very difficult now with the huge physical and mental effort involved. Tyrone won three out of six 03-08 and Kerry four out of six 04 -09. Cork hurlers won with a very young team in 99, had some disruption before winning two more in 05-06. Several counties will feel in with a shout next year but the goal of beating Kerry in a final or semi can spur Cork on.

These guys have the talent and the time to scale the heights again: Born 1981: D. O'Connor, 1982:O'Leary, Masters?, 1985: Kelly, A. O'Connor, 1986: Cadogan, Carey, Shields, Goulding, F. Gould, Kerrigan, 1987: Cotter, 1988: O'Sullivan, C. O'Neill, D. Gould 1990:Walsh, Sheehan

Masters is gone off the panel for the last year! I think a lot of the older players would have something to say about that list! Kavanagh is 29, Kissane 30, Canty 30. The impact Canty had when he came on was enormous, Nick Murphy would have enough in the legs for a good 30 mins if needed. Don't write any of the current panel off yet!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Deco0224

Fantastic game - Well done to the Rebels!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭dring

Walsh mentioned about being spoken to by the management about his shooting, to give it to a player in a better position, which he did yesterday - simple instruction that he wasn't given during the season before that, which worked wel yesterday!

Masters is gone off the panel for the last year! I think a lot of the older players would have something to say about that list! Kavanagh is 29, Kissane 30, Canty 30. The impact Canty had when he came on was enormous, Nick Murphy would have enough in the legs for a good 30 mins if needed. Don't write any of the current panel off yet!

Masters is young enough and good enough to come again I hope, he has been starring at club level. Kavanagh will be a good squad player for a few years. Canty, Murphy, Kissane, Miskella, Quirke and P. O'Neill can't have much more than another year left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,562 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Wow, I suppose we were never going do it the easy way but we are Champions and thats all that matter.

Im delighted for this Cork team they have been a credit to football and the rebel county itself.

I dont think I enjoyed a single minute of the match I was just so bloody nervous but when final whistle went it was just sheer relief. Only really sunk in yesterday that we are champions. God 7 AI seem much better then 6 AI.

Also thanks to all the Down supporters who I met after the game and praised us and wish us well. They are good side and think they will claim back Sam in coming years they sure have the players to do so. They have some best supporters in country and what the players did shaking hands with Cork team after the game I hope all Cork fans remember that if Down do get to another final and cheer them on was nothing short of fantastic sportsmanship

I bought 6 papers yesterday (as im United fan too so was good reading all round in sports sections;)) but was just nice to hear former intercounty players give praise to this current Cork team. Eoin Liston in Herald was extra special coming from Kerryman but he was aslways a gentleman as player so was not surprised of his kind words to this current Cork panel.

Back to work toay but I think im still floating around the place.

I think Nial Cahalane summed it up perfect "What is rare is wonderful"

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

Only back to work but the win hasn't set in yet. I knew when they drew level in the 2nd half that they were going to see it through. Long ball paid off in my opinion and O'connor played exceptional at full forward. was doubtful at the early stages of his selection at that position but he came into the game and fought for every ball and scored some sweet points.

Midfield was unbelievable. They knew what they had to do and didnt waste any possesion. And Down...what a team and supporters. I mean to go up to the cork players athe end and shake hands, i have never seen that before and i think everyone in Croke park gave high praise to them for that. They will be back and I hope they will too.

Rebels Abu:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

To finally witness Cork lifting Sam for the first time in my lifetime was something really special to me. I was a toddler in 1990 so I cant say I remember it. The final whistle was the greatest moment in my life and seeing Canty lifting sam was a dream come through. Fair play to the Down players and supporters. Down are a proud footballing side and their fans are the soundest Ive ever met. If Cork are beaten next year and Down are still there I hope they will go on to win the All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My first All Ireland Final. Never managed to get tickets to any of the recent ones and was too young for last time Cork were in a football final. Got a single ticket so headed up on my own and didn't regret a second of it. Was sitting next to a Tyrone man who I had a great chat with through the whole day - minor and senior games. The buzz around the stadium when Cork finally started to take the game head on. The roar when that equalizing point went over. I stood in the pouring rain, soaked to the skin, as the players came over to our side of the pitch with Sam. And credit where its due - the Down supporters around us shook hands and wished us well. Very gracious in defeat.

There are memories there Ill take with me for a long time to come. In the words of Conor at the final whistle "a great day to be a rebel."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

teednab-el wrote: »
    To finally witness Cork lifting Sam for the first time in my lifetime was something really special to me. I was a toddler in 1990 so I cant say I remember it. The final whistle was the greatest moment in my life and seeing Canty lifting sam was a dream come through. Fair play to the Down players and supporters. Down are a proud footballing side and their fans are the soundest Ive ever met. If Cork are beaten next year and Down are still there I hope they will go on to win the All Ireland.
    It was a great day last Sunday. I was in Croke Park in 1990 when the footballers last won and little did I think back then it'd be 20 years later when Sam would return to Cork! Still suffering today from the celebrations!

I will have great memories of this final. So many Cork fans on the motorway up waving flags and saluting each other. The same happened going down the motorway. The final whistle and the celebrations on the hill eventhough it was raining I stayed there. Canty lifting Sam and his speech.

Flanaggans was great craic sunday nite with all the Cork fans inside there watching the sunday game...there was a great atmosphere there and I will never forget it for the rest of my life. The craic in coppers afterwards was epic. All Cork fans congratulating each other even Cork people that you didnt know were coming up to you and congratulating each other on the win...there was a sense of togetherness amongst the county inside there....I also admire the Down fans that were out..they were great craic and didnt begrudge us the win. Their players were gracious in defeat. Couldnt say that about some of the other counties that play football especially some of them near home. For that reason alone Id love to see Down winning another All Ireland if Cork are knocked out in the process.

It was great to be there. I hope I wont have to wait 20 years to experience these memories again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

an incredible second half.

aidan walsh was simply brilliant from start to finish - fair play to conor counihan for sticking with him and having faith in his talents which he finally proved to the whole country (in some style). it would have been easy for him to be dropped and no one could argue, but counihan showed his managerial prowess here.

a midfield legend in the making

In fairness guys I see alot of cr*p here about Kerry and how if they were there they would win easily...but the reality is they failed to get past Down and were beaten fairly convincely so enough said. Kerry just cant seem to beat the Northern teams when it matters most and Cork are All Ireland champions 2010.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,550 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

In fairness guys I see alot of cr*p here about Kerry and how if they were there they would win easily...but the reality is they failed to get past Down and were beaten fairly convincely so enough said. Kerry just cant seem to beat the Northern teams when it matters most and Cork are All Ireland champions 2010.

Is it strange that I love BOTH lines?;)
    :D The one in bold is my favourite though :D

Kerry just cant seem to beat the Northern teams unlike Cork when it matters most and Cork are All Ireland champions 2010.

Fixed that for ya;):D

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

I forget to buy the papers next day...was still on a high...

Here's my tribute to the lads...well done :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25AVMJ0MGzY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭acequion

Kerry just cant seem to beat the Northern teams when it matters most and Cork are All Ireland champions 2010!

And Cork just can't beat Kerry when it matters most! Not even this year when ye are All Ireland champs. So get the chip off yer shoulder lads and quit having a go at Kerry until ye can actually beat them in Croke Park!

acequion wrote: »

And Cork just can't beat Kerry when it matters most! Not even this year when ye are All Ireland champs. So get the chip off yer shoulder lads and quit having a go at Kerry until ye can actually beat them in Croke Park!

... you just keep telling yourself that.... all through the winter..... and when Cork beat Kerry next year in Croke Park ( as All Ireland Champions ) I can only imagine what tripe you will come out with then.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

You mean like Kerry just can't beat the Northern teams? Down?? Tyrone?? Sure were it not for Cork demolishing Tyrone last year (which Kerry couldn't do), Kerry would never have won the All-Ireland in 2009.

True, Kerry are the only team to have beaten Cork in the championship since 2005. Now how many tams beat Kerry in that time, well there's three for a start, Down, Tyrone and of course, Cork.

That final hurdle seemed to be a difficult one to overcome for Cork but now that it's behind them and looking at the strong squad, with great players coming through, I'm not so sure that it's the Cork supporters are the ones with chips on their shoulders.

Well it looks like Kerry werent there this year for Cork to beat them. Instead Down walloped ye and ye exited the championship in style. Cork have beaten Down and Tyrone now in the space of a year and Kerry failed each time. No chip on Cork shoulders it looks like you acequion has that chip. Now cheer up buddy...its gonna be a long winter. :D

The best reply to this stupid Kerry joke. "A Great crowd also turned out for Kerry when they won their 7th All Ireland football title in 1926".

All the Cork fans have to say is "Was that against Down too was it???" Keeps the Kerry fans nice and quiet. :D

In reply to some of the stupid Kerry jokes over the years.

1.What does NAMA stand for in Cork?

NEW ALL IRELAND MEDAL AGAIN

2. Gardai in Drumcondra have questioned Cork goalkeeper Alan Quirke in relation to a burnt out car yesterday. Alan claims to have been in Croke Park between 3:30pm-5:00pm at the time of the incident, but as yet no witnesses have stepped forward to back up his story

Well guess what Alan was out signing autographs and had the Sam maguire trophy in his hands after Cork won the All Ireland against Down the one team Kerry couldnt beat. It must be Paul Galvin who they are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭scifi77

The best reply to this stupid Kerry joke. "A Great crowd also turned out for Kerry when they won their 7th All Ireland football title in 1926".

All the Cork fans have to say is "Was that against Down too was it???" Keeps the Kerry fans nice and quiet. :D

Good reply to another one of those silly jokes to come out of Kerry. Mind you, as a Dub, I think your best reply is:

"Cork won their 7th All-Ireland way back in 1919! Then again, Kerry never could manage the sliotar the small ball."

Wow! Ye might be the 2010 All Ireland champions but ye're still bitter as hell towards Kerry.Get over yerselves lads and face facts!

Fact one: Kerry have 36 All Irelands to Cork's 7.
    Fact two: Kerry beat ye again in 2010.
    Fact three: Even though ye beat [not demolished] a declining Tyrone team last year,Kerry still beat ye in the final.
    Fact four: Kerry have consistently humilliated ye in Croke Park.

I could go on but I really can't be bothered. So why don't ye just enjoy one of yer rare All Irelands and forget yer petty hang ups about Kerry for one year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I thought this might have finished now but as I said earlier, let's leave Kerry out of this.

Wow! Ye might be the 2010 All Ireland champions but ye're still bitter as hell towards Kerry.Get over yerselves lads and face facts!

Fact one: Kerry have 36 All Irelands to Cork's 7.
    Fact two: Kerry beat ye again in 2010.
    Fact three: Even though ye beat [not demolished] a declining Tyrone team last year,Kerry still beat ye in the final.
    Fact four: Kerry have consistently humilliated ye in Croke Park.

I could go on but I really can't be bothered. So why don't ye just enjoy one of yer rare All Irelands and forget yer petty hang ups about Kerry for one year

Fact five: Kerry have failed 3 times to beat the Tyrone team of the decade.
    Fact six: Kerry have never beaten Down in championship.
    Fact seven: Kerry just always struggle to beat the Northern teams.
    Fact eight: Kerry have lost the most All Irelands.

Rare?

Sure Jesus we won the same amount of Senior All Irelands as ye in last 20 years.

Speak for yourself.

Be honest your doing your county no favours with childish and petty comments like this.

A thread was set up for the people who hate Cork footballers, maybe your best bet is in that and leave us Cork and Down fans or any genuine GAA fans talk about the final last week

EVENFLOW

Be honest your doing your county no favours with childish and petty comments like this.

You don't even know what my county is! And my "childish and petty" comments are facts.

And talk about a blatant distortion of facts and statistics! You guys haven't a clue what you're talking about.You're a bunch of small minded idiots calling yourselves Cork supporters!The genuine Cork supporters are too busy enjoying a rare,yes, rare, All Ireland win to be worried about Kerry or any other county. And most other Irish people,myself included,were pleased to see Cork eventually lift Sam. But facts still remain facts whether you like it or not.Kerry and Kilkenny are the all time greats of both football and hurling in Ireland.

So,rant on lads! Be my guest and have the last say if it makes ye feel better!