Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

40" Samsung LCD Full HD & HDMI cable

• 06-12-2010 07:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭

Just a heads up, I was on the hunt for a decent large screen tv lately and there is one currently in Euronics for E529 right now. There's no model number on display so I asked the sales assistant for it and he told me it was a Samsung LE40C530. I have checked out a few places and this seems to be one of the best priced tv's around - Argos are selling the exact same tv for 100 more (here!) while play.com are charging an extra 140 for it! (here!) There are a good few reviews online for it, all very good, like with most Samsung's!

Oh, and walking through Lidl today I found a HDMI cable on offer for E6.99, handy for the new baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

I hope you haven't bought it yet - that model is E499 on DID.ie and E479 on powercity.ie.

I don't think Play.com post electronics to Ireland and Argos.ie have some weird TV prices - sometimes very competitive, most of the time way overpriced.
    So not the best places to compare with. Power City link below:

http://www.powercity.ie/?par=10-13-40C530

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I'm an hour and a half away from the closest DID and 3 hours from Powercity, so if I put in fuel costs, I'm still better off. Thanks for the info, I didn't realise DID had a website:(

Plus, I shopped locally, so I don't feel that bad about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

For those that are interested in this TV, it has MPEG-4 Tuner and is MHEG5 OK.

That means you can tune the new Irish SaorView service and access Teletext features which are no longer available on many TVs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

+ 1 to the post above , bought this set in DID for around €530 back in August for that very reason , very happy with it.

Clover wrote: »
    + 1 to the post above , bought this set in DID for around €530 back in August for that very reason , very happy with it.
    How do you like it? I'm a huge Samsung fan in general and I find that this set is no exception. Really crisp picture and great black levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭langer91

how would this tv be for gaming with a ps3??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

Find it to be very good.

Use it mostly to play the PS3 and the blacks can be very black alright, soarview was a big surprise as the picture quality is very sharp.

langer91 wrote: »
    how would this tv be for gaming with a ps3??
    Very good IMO.

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/Samsung-LE40B650/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

OisinT wrote: »

Isn't the TV in question the C530 and not the B650, as you linked?

Sorry wrong link:

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/samsung-le32c530-le40c530-20100813815.htm
    Note: The specific model we reviewed was the Samsung LE32C530F1WXXU, though it may be sold by retailers/ e-tailers as the Samsung LE32C530, Samsung LE32C530F1 or Samsung LE32C530F1W. While we did not review the 40-inch Samsung LE40C530, there shouldn’t be any significant differences in picture quality given their similar specifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ted1

don't power city deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭breaux

ted1 wrote: »
    don't power city deliver.
    they do. Free of charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭madmoe

OisinT wrote: »
    For those that are interested in this TV, it has MPEG-4 Tuner and is MHEG5 OK.

That means you can tune the new Irish SaorView service and access Teletext features which are no longer available on many TVs.

Currently am getting all the digital channels via rabbit ears and MPEG4 decoder in my Samsung TV, is this SaorView or something else?

Cheers
    M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Jesus I cringe every time I remember I paid 1400 euro for my 40" Samsung 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I think I paid something like 1700 for a 32" samsung about 4/5 years ago! It's still on the go, one of the best items I've ever bought

madmoe wrote: »
    Currently am getting all the digital channels via rabbit ears and MPEG4 decoder in my Samsung TV, is this SaorView or something else?

Cheers
    M
    SaorView is our DTT, yes, but you need MHEG5 to avail of teletext now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Just wondering what else I'd need to access saorview with this tv? Do I just need an indoor aerial or would I need a decoder aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 fermeen

Salmon wrote: »
    Just wondering what else I'd need to access saorview with this tv? Do I just need an indoor aerial or would I need a decoder aswell?

If the signal in your house is strong enough then just an indoor aerial will do, otherwise you will need an outdoor one.
    No Decoder needed.

More info here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

love it. highly recommend it! not that i used many hdtv but this one works really well with my xbox :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

From reading the spec of mine it looks like it does not support MHEG5??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

To those of you who cringe about what you paid for top end TVs in the past I guarantee you my story will make ye feel a lot better. Up to last Wednesday I was the proud owner of a 39" lcd hd flat/wide screen top end Toshiba TV until my three and a half year old terrorist son attacked it with a wooden spoon. Needless to say it doesn't work any more. To make matters worse the next day my whirlpool 6th sense tumble dryer stopped working as a direct result of my son persistently pressing the on off button. It is cheaper to replace both appliances than repair them. Needless to say I have written to Santa asking him to bring money for replacements instead of presents for my son!

Sorry for ambushing the thread but talking about this helps me deal with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Moycullen1 wrote: »
    To those of you who cringe about what you paid for top end TVs in the past I guarantee you my story will make ye feel a lot better. Up to last Wednesday I was the proud owner of a 39" lcd hd flat/wide screen top end Toshiba TV until my three and a half year old terrorist son attacked it with a wooden spoon. Needless to say it doesn't work any more. To make matters worse the next day my whirlpool 6th sense tumble dryer stopped working as a direct result of my son persistently pressing the on off button. It is cheaper to replace both appliances than repair them. Needles to say I have written to Santa asking him to bring money for replacements instead of presents for my son!

Sounds like if you were selling your son he'd be going for a bargain price here too!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

To those of you who cringe about what you paid for top end TVs in the past I guarantee you my story will make ye feel a lot better. Up to last Wednesday I was the proud owner of a 39" lcd hd flat/wide screen top end Toshiba TV until my three and a half year old terrorist son attacked it with a wooden spoon. Needless to say it doesn't work any more. To make matters worse the next day my whirlpool 6th sense tumble dryer stopped working as a direct result of my son persistently pressing the on off button. It is cheaper to replace both appliances than repair them. Needless to say I have written to Santa asking him to bring money for replacements instead of presents for my son!

Should have 'paid' more attention to your son, you get what you pay for :D

What is wrong with tv? if the screen is fecked .. it is a lost cause .. other wise buttons can be fixed, or u can use it as a monitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

check your household insurance, may be covered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

What is wrong with tv? if the screen is fecked .. it is a lost cause

Outer protective cover is fine. Inner screen is busted. Looks like a broken windscreen when switched on which is why i'm scouring the net for tv promotions. Roll on the sales. Think I'll console myself with an upgrade to a 46"!

check your household insurance, may be covered?

Covered but after excess and future premium increases considered its not really worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭big_show

Just to bring this thread back to life,

The same C530 is going for 479 in harvey norman

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

big_show wrote: »

Linky

Nice

its € 666.83 at the mo delivered from www.expansys.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

hmmmm considering getting this on Friday, my 32" just doesnt do it for me anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

maximoose wrote: »
    hmmmm considering getting this on Friday, my 32" just doesnt do it for me anymore.

Whoever said that size doesn't matter was so wrong ;)

And it really does drive home the reason why this post should go down as BA of the year ! Paid €629 for it recently and opted for the extended warranty. A dream to watch and the media player functionality is a great bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Geezy

Linky

Saw that too, Power city have the same price if you buy online. Brought an internet print out of their offer to Currys and got it for €470... after some haggling. Cant get better than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

Linky

harvey norman have a sale on today, anyone know how much this has dropped by?? if at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭BobMc

got mine from powercity €479 delivered, not opened yet it for my kids playroom for christmas so hoping its a good one, delivered next day from powercity great service, replacing a monster 32" tube tv so looking forward to seeing the back of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

dodzy wrote: »
    Whoever said that size doesn't matter was so wrong ;)

And it really does drive home the reason why this post should go down as BA of the year ! Paid €629 for it recently and opted for the extended warranty. A dream to watch and the media player functionality is a great bonus

I looked at that at the time when it was posted but didn't have the money to throw at it. Looks a flipping steal though.