Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

175+ hours worked ..... Paid 100E!!

• 30-12-2010 06:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭

I worked the month of September with a neighbour of mine because he asked me to help him and said he'd pay me. I have done at least 175+ hours helping him reinovate his property ... mainly doing labour work from mixing cement, lifting crap in and cleaning. I got paid today after 4 months. Yes today. And its gets worse ...... I got 100E for all that time which works out at 0.57c an hour. Yes 0.57c a fcukin hour.

How do I go back and approach him looking for more money. Min wage is like 8.75 an hour and builders labours get paid more. I am soooooooooooo :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: mad. In one way I feel like crying as I sip on my beer. Who can I turn to?

Cheers,

NoseyMike2010 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

in fairness you would have to be a complete wa**er to do that to somebody after no 1 they giving you a dig out and 2 doing that kinda man hours..i'd be sick as a pig too...i'd go around and give him a bollocking throw the hundred squid at him and tell him to go f**k himself... you'd want some neck on you

did you have any oral agreement about rate of pay or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

That sucks. A lot of people are using the recession as an excuse to exploit people. However, to make a valid assessment, I think it is important that we get a clearer picture of the arrangement you had with him.

Were you doing a 'favour' that would lead to a reward, or was it mutually understood that you were 'working for' him? Either way, your labour was definitely undervalued but if it is the latter scenario then you should definitely approach him about the issue.

E.g., Did you discuss payment terms at all before you started?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭NoseyMike2010

No payment terms were discussed. Being a usually good neighbour I didn't think we really needed to go into these type of details.

I also bought some 2 bags of lime that I forgot to mention. Great that brings my hourly rate down to 30c an hour .... This is making me worse. The money I have isn't even going to get me pissed :(:(

I guess I can't go to any union leader since i was in no union with him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

That's desperate mike.

But is there any way that he thought you were doing it as a favour rather than for payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

I know you say you he said hed pay you, but maybe he thought it was like ' ill give you something to say thank you'.

If you hadnt said he said hed pay you, then it has the sounds of the money being a Christmas thank you gift for being a good neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Respectivly...If your not happy why did you not say it.

He prob thinks your over the moon as you did it more as a favor and the money was a thank you.

You done well to get 100 out of anyone christmas week.

Just dont work for him again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

No payment terms were discussed. Being a usually good neighbour I didn't think we really needed to go into these type of details.

I also bought some 2 bags of lime that I forgot to mention. Great that brings my hourly rate down to 30c an hour .... This is making me worse. The money I have isn't even going to get me pissed :(:(

You were just helping the bloke out. Being a good neighbour, not in it for the money. Any payment he gave you should be taken in good heart. Thank him.

Unless you had to take time off at your own expense from work.

I'd like to have you as a neighbour!

On the other hand
    "since i was in no union with him"

I think you were in union with him, and you were the girl :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

thats cock but you are ****ed, should have discussed a pay at the start.

what a prick of a guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

You were just helping the bloke out. Being a good neighbour, not in it for the money. Any payment he gave you should be taken in good heart. Thank him.
    Are you simple, or just failing miserably to be clever?
    I worked the month of September with a neighbour of mine because he asked me to help him and said he'd pay me.
    If I was you, I would approach your neighbour first and tell him you're not happy. If that fails, you could always go down the legal route, as you have definitely been wronged against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Can't you just ask him when is he going to pay you the balance outstanding ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭NWPat

If I was you, I would approach your neighbour first and tell him you're not happy. If that fails, you could always go down the legal route, as you have definitely been wronged against.

What legal route:confused: This was a favour and no agreement on payment had been made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Are you simple, or just failing miserably to be clever?

I'm going to imagine that when you are sober you will understand my post. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

I worked the month of September with a neighbour of mine because he asked me to help him and said he'd pay me.

You worked and he paid you. you also learned a very valuable lesson :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

I think the 100 was the same as a bottle of Spirts to say thanks, not a payment. It wasnt a job in his eyes.
    Just a guess though. Maybe he is trying to rip you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭NoseyMike2010

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    You worked and he paid you. you also learned a very valuable lesson :)

I certainly have learnt a valuable lesson. Thanks to all for the help.

I might approach him but I certainly see his side from your comments.

Lesson learnt = I am a mugged off worker!!!!!! :o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Sorry to hear about that mike, really looks like he was using you and was completely unthoughtful. He probably justified it to himself by saying to himself you wanted to keep busy or something stupid like that.

Very awkward going back now seeing as ye agreed to nothing, but if you have the balls and you meet him again maybe say it to him , just mention you thought you were working for him, as oppose to doing him a favour,see what he says. He sounds like a complete user and chancer tbh.
    Never do an ounce of work again for him(he probably will come back and ask you again!!!;))
    Theres a difference between calling to a neighbour,giving him a hand for a day or 2 and working your brains out for 22 days(if my maths is right).
    At least go back and ask him for the money for the bags you bought.

Your story is even pissing me off, you really should have said something when he gave 100e.
    Even a good friend or relation wouldnt be that cheap if you put in that much work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Gazzumped

There must be some jobs you need doing around your house - turn about is fair play. If you helped him for €100, you can do the same. Start planning ...