Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with my week off?

• 03-01-2011 06:08AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

So, I've got the week off, but my holiday plans have been cancelled.
    The weather forecast says it's gonna be freezing for the next couple of weeks. I've overdone the movie watching over the christmas.
    And now I find myself facing 7 days being cooped up in my apartment with nothing to do.

Any useful suggestions/ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Go back to work and rearrange your week of for again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Rearrange hols.
    Failing that.............Suck your left testicle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 anorange

Going back to work, or arranging another holiday are not options available to me unfortunately. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Go undercover on the streets as a homeless junkie, equipped with a hidden video camera. Make the footage into a documentary about how something or others happens and it shouldn't and how if only they could change these issues over here, then these other things would never be allowed to happen over there.

Or infiltrate the gangland and expose how easy it was for you to to become a member of one of the most notorious drug gangs in Dublin in just under one week and how you were lucky to make it out alive.

Or, set up Paul Williams and go undercover as one of his informants. Make up some trash about how you know a gangster called The Squirrel who does this that and the other thing and when he prints the 'Exclusive', run after him with a camera crew calling him a scumbag thug.

Just for the craic like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Read a good book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 anorange

Read a good book.

The first decent suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Daytrip to Galway or Belfast ? Train or bus, get the early one there and be home by 7pm. No hotels to pay for.

Sort out your music collection - like get rid of random stuff you never wanted or name all your "unknown" albums / artists.

Buy a cheap acoustic guitar (like 40 quid in case you don't like it) and a beginner's music book for chords and a few tunes.

Stalk a celebrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I assume you are based in Dublin. Is there anything in the city that you have always wanted to do/see and have never gotten around to it. How about pretending to be a tourist in Dublin and checking out all the touristy stuff. That would be better than sitting at home in your apartment all on your own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Go to a different gym each day and get one of their free workout offers.. So you get to train/swim, sauna & shower for feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Go to Antrim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

Hello,

Does anyone know where I could get a few packets of Banshee Bones?

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Cancel your leave......because you are just going to waste it watching Jeremy Kyle!!

Hello,

Does anyone know where I could get a few packets of Banshee Bones?

Thanks.

Pop into your local time machine and go back to 1993!!!

The "new" banshee bones are sh1t!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

benwavner wrote: »
    Cancel your leave......because you are just going to waste it watching Jeremy Kyle!!

The After Hours of TV viewing!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

anorange wrote: »
    So, I've got the week off, but my holiday plans have been cancelled.
    The weather forecast says it's gonna be freezing for the next couple of weeks. I've overdone the movie watching over the christmas.
    And now I find myself facing 7 days being cooped up in my apartment with nothing to do.

Any useful suggestions/ideas?

Raid your porn stash. If hve overdone these babies then you are in trouble.

The After Hours of TV viewing!.

Jesus yeah......sometimes this place makes ya cringe alright, and like JK...im sure there are a few "plants" around here!

OT.....do any DIY you need to do in the gaff, go walking up the mountains, cycle, go fishing, go "oldskool" and climb a tree. Theres plenty of stuff to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭solerina

I agree with one of the above posters, we all have places where we have never been that are not too far away or too expensive to get too.....The places we may consider touristy....go become a tourist for the days and read a good book in the evening....a day trip to a spa can be included as a real treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

Shantaram by Gregory David roberts is a great read and at nearly 1000 pages should take the guts of the week to get through...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Sergeant wrote: »
    Read a good book.

Snore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

pick up a new hobby and do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Brandog

Get on a ferry to Holyhead for the day.Then when you return you'll fully appreciate what you have and inspiration and motivation shall flow.Otherwise go out and talk to a stranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Read Dostoevesky's (spelling might be a bit off there), crime and punishment, or spend a week hiking the wicklow way or through Connemara and West Mayo depending on what side of the country you're on.
    Or hope on the cheapest ferry/plane you can find and see what happens where-ever you end up.
    Or build a home-made wind turbine in your back garden.
    Or buy a wreck of a car for dirt cheap, strip it apart completely and see if you can put it back together again in working order.
    Or see how many times you can get laid in a week.
    Start an artistic project, maybe your house needs a mural.
    Do some volunteer work.
    Go mountain biking in Balinastoe or Ballyhouragh.
    Play x-box.
    Start learning Portugeese.
    Start teaching yourself to cook really well.
    Buy a TIG welder, some Reynolds 531 steel tubing and some lugs and build yourself a frame for a track racing bike.
    Knit.
    Sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Watch the Darts and develop a fairly decent beer belly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Travel, join a society.