Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long have you been unemployed?

• 26-02-2011 11:13AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭

Hey folks!

As I'm now approaching the 10 month unemployed mark, depression is starting to settle in. When I quit my horrible situation last year, I never imagined I'd be out of work this long and despite applying for job after job, (ANY job!), I'm getting nowhere. I also did a course to upskill, for all the good it did me. :(

I have no doubt there are many out there in the same situation but my latest PFO got me to thinking, how long? I know of one highly skilled person who's been looking for over 2 years and I think if that happens to me, I may shoot myself! So those with success stories, please also share to inspire hope. :)

Poll to follow......

How long have you been looking for work? 81 votes

Less than a year
    0% 0 votes
    One to two years
    50% 41 votes
    Going on three years - this damn recession!
    25% 21 votes
    Three years + :(
    23% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

I was unemployed for around 8 months. Started a FAS WPP job 2 weeks ago (started on the 14th of Feb), might be worth while looking at the FAS site and see if there's something there you like. To be eligible for them you need to have been on the dole for at least 3 months.

Word of warning though, there seems to be a lot of places trying to take people on under the WPP scheme rather than hiring properly paid workers. Personally I think the scheme is only worth doing if the experience you'll get from doing it is worth while and may help with getting a job in the future. No point doing it in a shop working behind a till or any job that you could learn in a week or 2.

The position I got was in exactly the area I studied in college and the company as basically using it as a way to train me for free, and seeing that I was getting no where with interviews since the summer, I've no problem now working full time, getting the dole and being trained for what will hopefully lead to a proper full time job in a few months.

http://www.fas.ie/en/WPP/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pat McGhee

Hi Recon,
    I'm checking the fas site every day, mutiple times! I've applied for loads of actual jobs on there but no luck so far.

As for the WPP, most of the 'jobs' seem to be in admin and I have more than 13 years experience in that area, ranging from reception up to office management. I can see the benefit for you but I wouldn't gain anything from it and as you pointed out, a lot of the employers are just looking for free labour - that just pi**es me off.

Thanks for the link though!

No problem, a friend of mine started one that was supposed to be working in gardening and stuff like that (biology and plants anyway) and she spends most of her time doing admin stuff, just wasting her time.

Can't she just quit, or is she obliged to stay on for x number of months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭purrrfect1

You are right about employers mostly looking for free labour.

I have been unemployed almost three years.

I have taken two courses designed to upskill

I have just finished a WPP in a company, who I thought would offer me a job, but no! They are once again going to look for someone to do the job for free.....

Its all very disheartening

I have vast experience and plenty of certificates - enough to paper a wall - Is there anything out there??

purrrfect1 wrote: »

I have just finished a WPP in a company, who I thought would offer me a job, but no! They are once again going to look for someone to do the job for free.....

I have vast experience and plenty of certificates - enough to paper a wall - Is there anything out there??

*HUGS!* Coz I think you need that more than me. :)

Pat McGhee wrote: »
    *HUGS!* Coz I think you need that more than me. :)
    Thanks - I really needed that hug!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 technologic22

Im finishing college in may but am hoping rather than looking for a job here (which could prove difficult) I was going to look for a job abroad and see a bit of the world. Im 22 so not much to stop me from leaving. Ill be honest I am not in much debt (apart from the typical 650 student overdraft that 90% of the student pop. took out!) what about the rest of ye? are ye married, have kids, mortgage? or is there another reason ye cant look abroad for work? Or maybe ye have im just guessing.

I can only answer for myself.

I am mature!! living on my own - but with adult children living here in the country.

I would go to any country if I thought I would have a permanent job there. The UK would be ideal for me, its easy enough to travel to & from.

So if anybody knows of a position going for a mature admin - let me know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭MrThrifty

Pat, fair dews, it takes a brave person to admit they actually quit their job and were not let go like the vast majority in this recession! I too am in the same situation and feel a bit awkward letting people know that my pain was self-inflicted! Funnily enough, I think that some people I have told actually believe I was let go but am too ashamed to admit it! Regardless, like yourself (initially at least!) I have no regrets. :)

However, it is very hard going psychologically with all the gloom and doom in/on the media all the time. That's the biggest problem as I see it in this country at the moment and is why I'm looking seriously at bailing out. To be honest about it, even if I had a job here, I don't know if I could stand the current mood which will probably take a few years at least to shift. I'm at 6 months now and the main thing that keeps me going are the (optimistic!) beliefs that 'there's more to life than money' (:o Cringe - must change my username!) and 'things will all work out'. But granted, it ain't easy, especially when your house is depreciating in value every day!! Still though, maybe there's some inspiration for you somewhere in this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

I'm checking the fas site every day, mutiple times! I've applied for loads of actual jobs on there but no luck so far.
    It's rather pointless checking Fas multiple times a day.
    Emigrate, at least temporarily to find employment. I'm sure employers laugh at the amount of certs some people list on their cv. 3 years unemployed and hundreds of certs suggests someone more interested in doing mickey mouse courses than actually working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

As I'm now approaching the 10 month unemployed mark, depression is starting to settle in. When I quit my horrible situation last year, I never imagined I'd be out of work this long and despite applying for job after job, (ANY job!), I'm getting nowhere. I also did a course to upskill, for all the good it did me. :(

Do courses while you're working, otherwise you look like a bluffer trying to cover up a period of unemployment with a part-time course.

Pat, I quit my "horrible situation" last November after 3 years in a company, 1.5 of which were in an ok paid but otherwise thankless "you're lucky to have a job"-type role. I'm a recently qualified accountant.

I got on a plane to Canada on the under 35 working hol visa (Xmas is a terrible time to look for work by the way, my savings are still recovering from over a full month out of work!)

Anyway, I found a temp job that would just about pay the bills which started 4th January on only $16 an hour. At the start of Feb I turned it down when they offered to make it a permanent job. Started a new temp job on $21.50 an hour, strictly 35 hour week with flexitime.. February seems to be a really busy time and i got several calls from agencies with roles paying $50-55k a year and $30 an hour. I decided to stick at my current job for the experience, also it's a public sector job and it's being advertised as a permanent job so fingers crossed I'm considered for a permanent role.

All in all, financially I was better off back home but the pressure of work was not matched by the pay and my commute was nearly 4 hours a day because of the disastrous public transport system Irish commuters suffer. It does a lot more for your confidence when agencies are headhunting you and you can see opportunities on the horizon.

It looks like your solution is to emigrate before you hit the one-year mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Have been in and out of college the past two years and worked in between but have been unemployed since I last finished college which was last summer so bordering on 8 months now and nothing! :( Undecided what to do now. I have been applying to numerous jobs regularly related to my field and outside it too. A mixture of graduate programmes, part time, full time, contract and permanent as well as upaid work its just getting ridiculous!

I Don't know whether I should keep going with job applications or just go back to college or emigrate! I keep being told I have strong skills, qualifications and work experience yet I'm not meeting "all of the job requirements" which no candidate can fullfill all required criterias for anyone one job its getting silly now, a few years ago if you didn't meet all the requirements, those who met the most of them managed to get a job but now thats impossible! I've done voluntary work sick of it now, doing a one day a week course to keep me occupide...what to do what to do...? I'm just getting fed up! I have done everything possible, networking with potential employers and updating CV and tailoring it. I have had interviews that haven't gone anywhere and only had a phone interview recently but to no avail I wasn't successful. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 technologic22

Have been in and out of college the past two years and worked in between but have been unemployed since I last finished college which was last summer so bordering on 8 months now and nothing! :( Undecided what to do now. I have been applying to numerous jobs regularly related to my field and outside it too. A mixture of graduate programmes, part time, full time, contract and permanent as well as upaid work its just getting ridiculous!

I Don't know whether I should keep going with job applications or just go back to college or emigrate! I keep being told I have strong skills, qualifications and work experience yet I'm not meeting "all of the job requirements" which no candidate can fullfill all required criterias for anyone one job its getting silly now, a few years ago if you didn't meet all the requirements, those who met the most of them managed to get a job but now thats impossible! I've done voluntary work sick of it now, doing a one day a week course to keep me occupide...what to do what to do...? I'm just getting fed up! I have done everything possible, networking with potential employers and updating CV and tailoring it. I have had interviews that haven't gone anywhere and only had a phone interview recently but to no avail I wasn't successful. :(

Emigrate. I cant speak from much experience but it looks as if you have tried everything you can to get a job here. Fair play to ya for doing volunteer work too. I have plenty of mates the same age as me who have gone to london, oz, the u.s etc and most of them dont look like coming home for a pretty long time so I reckon they must be pretty happy! And they all have jobs of course!

Can't she just quit, or is she obliged to stay on for x number of months?

She can and I keep telling her she should. She just has to convince herself of that now...
    purrrfect1 wrote:

I hate hearing stories like that. Name and shame! ****ers taking advantage of people just trying to get free work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Papa_Bear

Well purrrfect1 and OP

I have been unemployed for over 10 yrs. Yes 10+ yrs! I only held a job for 10 months max (and a previous one for 8 months in uk) and I simply don't know what the hell has kept me out of the job market for so long. I do have a disabillity but it rarely comes up as an issue regarding employement and quite rightly so, but i'd say it gave employers and easy out.

But I can tell you that the depression as a result has all but killed me at this stage as my lack of experience has made me pretty unemployable and I have more or less given up. How the hell can you hide a past like that on your CV anyway? The only thing I can do now is try start a business of my own and give myself a job but thats not easy but im trying for ideas.

Frankly, I don't know whats kept me going all these years, to even stay alive has been a struggle. I cant even afford to think about looking for a job in the normal sense as it is emotionally traumatic after years of reading the first 4 words of the second paragraph of every letter I ever got from an employer saying "Unfortunately on this occasion". My hands would start to shake and id have to sit down. I'm not exaggerating this btw - think of getting a static electric shock everytime you touched something you use regularly, you would become fearful fairly quickly. Well thats how I feel about job hunting. And this was back in the so called boom times when jobs were being handed out like sweets, but i just couldn't have one despite my enormous efforts.

Anyway I am still trying but not in the usual manner as i now believe in the benefits of specific training such as private proprietry/professional skills and courses rather than more generic Bscs/Beng/MEng/MAs etc. For example, I am currently training as a welder and also looking into training in one or two more specific fields in the hope of making myself more attractive to potential employers. The idea is that I will have highly sought after skills whereby my lack of experience might not be such a hinderance and employers will focus more on my real skills rather than my interpersonal and soft skills.

Maybe I could give counselling on unemployment:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

3+ for meself. Starting another course this week. May do as many courses as I can until I find someone to employ me.

*edit* just read a bit of the last post. I also have a disability that happens to be a major hindrance to me getting a job. Any job at all. Hopefully soon ill be *well* enough to do something,anything.

MrThrifty wrote: »
    Pat, fair dews, it takes a brave person to admit they actually quit their job and were not let go like the vast majority in this recession! I too am in the same situation and feel a bit awkward letting people know that my pain was self-inflicted! Funnily enough, I think that some people I have told actually believe I was let go but am too ashamed to admit it! Regardless, like yourself (initially at least!) I have no regrets. :)

Well Thrifty, I spent 4.5 years working for a bullying tyrant whose only joy in life was to make everyone around him miserable. As a result, my nerves were shot and my thoughts took me to very dark places. If I didn't leave, one of us would have ended up 6 feet under! And it wasn't going to be me. :)

We may be gripped in the middle of a recession but I certainly was not lucky to have that job. I left on my terms, I can hold my head up high and I'm not facing prison :D I have nothing to be ashamed of, nor do you.
    tenchi-fan wrote: »
    It's rather pointless checking Fas multiple times a day.

Not really, job postings go up continually throughout the day, I like to get my CV in for new jobs as quick as I can.
    Papa_Bear wrote: »
    Maybe I could give counselling on unemployment:D

Maybe you should! I'm serious btw, the best counsellors can do so because they advise from experience. My mate's a drug cousellor, in the past he's done every kind of illegal you can think of and he's brilliant at his job.

After reading your story, I must admit I'm dumbfounded. Would you not consider going into business for yourself? Bypass all the job hunting stress and take control of your own destiny! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭6679

Finished college in August so since then really but I have found a job and starting in two weeks.

The one thing that bugged me about being unemployed was not knowing when it was going to end! Oh and the hole being bored 24/7 and lack of any motivation was a nuisance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 carriej

The AA are hiring now for call centre jobs if anyone is interested?

www.twentysomethinginireland.blogspot.com/2011/02/aa-call-centre-jobs.html

Theres also a fair few grad programmes just opened/about to open. I saw one for johnson and johnson on the same site above!

Best of luck with the job hunting everyone, it aint easy but keep the head up. Hopefully things can only get better! :)

After reading your story, I must admit I'm dumbfounded. Would you not consider going into business for yourself? Bypass all the job hunting stress and take control of your own destiny! :)

Yes ,so were most people when they discovered I was a qualified engineer and could't find a job especially during the so called good times!..Anyway I appreciate you sentiments and will continue to make an effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭bijou

Hi all - we moved to Ireland 7 years ago and (pretty much) walked straight into jobs on arrival. However I was let go in early 2008 - couldn't find anything at all until I got on to a ce scheme late in 2009 - wasn't particulary happy about the position but it kept my mind going (and helped to an extent with the bills!!), also I managed to get a couple of training courses done while on the scheme.

Was then offered a full time permanent job in sept last year - so I jumped at it (was something I actually enjoyed and wanted to do!!)

Happy Days??? Not at all - the job was fab BUT they closed the doors in January :( so here I am back to square 1.

We've talked about moving back to UK but the only way we could do that would be to try and sell the house (and the chances of that are.......??) any "savings" we had have been depleted trying to keep the heads above water.

So here we are :rolleyes: I was thinking of trying to get back onto a fas course (don't know what - was thinking of going for something completely different to what I'm used to) but not sure now after reading some of the posts here.

What do ye think???? Should I try something different?? :D

bijou wrote: »
    Hi all - we moved to Ireland 7 years ago and (pretty much) walked straight into jobs on arrival. However I was let go in early 2008 - couldn't find anything at all until I got on to a ce scheme late in 2009 - wasn't particulary happy about the position but it kept my mind going (and helped to an extent with the bills!!), also I managed to get a couple of training courses done while on the scheme.

Was then offered a full time permanent job in sept last year - so I jumped at it (was something I actually enjoyed and wanted to do!!)

Happy Days??? Not at all - the job was fab BUT they closed the doors in January :( so here I am back to square 1.

We've talked about moving back to UK but the only way we could do that would be to try and sell the house (and the chances of that are.......??) any "savings" we had have been depleted trying to keep the heads above water.

So here we are :rolleyes: I was thinking of trying to get back onto a fas course (don't know what - was thinking of going for something completely different to what I'm used to) but not sure now after reading some of the posts here.

What do ye think???? Should I try something different?? :D

Have you thought about trying for any of the FAS WPP positions? If you've a level 7 or higher qualification you can go for the graduate one (WPP1). You might see something you'd like to try, and if it doesn't work out you can give a weeks notice and go back to looking for another one.

I started one 3 weeks ago, in the area I studied in college, the place here are basically using it as a way to get someone trained up to where they want. I'm happy to be doing it because I've been looking for something for ~8 months and there's a good chance of a full time job from this.

If you've any questions you can PM me.

Starting a FAS course on Monday..... that will keep me busy for a few months! :)

Best of luck with it!

Starting a FAS course on Monday..... that will keep me busy for a few months! :)

Hi Pat

Good luck with the course - what is it in?

I myself took a few night time welding courses in FAS last year and at the time they were starting a new full time welding course up so I signed up in May of last year. While I was in the local FAS office in Jan last enquiring about something else I discovered I had been taken off the list since sept.:confused:

It turns out I had been sent a letter for a group interview which I didn't turn up for apparently. I maintained I never even got any letter. I know they had my correct address as they had sent me letters concerning the night time courses before so I don't see what the hell went wrong other than them saying they sent it, although maybe not actually sending it!

So I got back on the list but am now at the back of it and there are some 150 others in front of me now. I have been royally screwed over by these incompetent FAS admin staff. I have complained but to no purpose as these guys are a law onto themselves and have no one to answer to.

It could be upto 3 yrs before I get on this course in this particular location now. Fortunately I sought help from a very helpful individual who was able to put me on the list for a similar course in shannon with very few on the waiting list, so will see how that goes.

Turns out they actually had an incorrect email for me which may well have contributed to the mess they made. /geniuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Ironman76

I was let go three weeks ago. Loved the last company I worked for and thought I had finally found a job I would stay in long term but they were bought out.

There seems to be jobs popping up and i have had two interviews already whicih is a good sign, having said that I believe this is the busiest time of the year for jobs which Im weary of.

As a poster said earlier the hardest part is not knowing how long youll be out of work for. Im okay for the time being but this is no picnic. The one thing I have going for me is a really strong qualification that is in demand, particularly abroad so theres always that option.

Dont know how people out of work 2 years or so manage to keep the head up. Its pretty inspiring to hear actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 youngmagee

Well Thrifty, I spent 4.5 years working for a bullying tyrant whose only joy in life was to make everyone around him miserable. As a result, my nerves were shot and my thoughts took me to very dark places. If I didn't leave, one of us would have ended up 6 feet under! And it wasn't going to be me. :)

We may be gripped in the middle of a recession but I certainly was not lucky to have that job. I left on my terms, I can hold my head up high and I'm not facing prison :D I have nothing to be ashamed of, nor do you.

I agree totally. It is depressing being unemployed but you can't sacrifice everything for a job. I'm going on 9 months unemployed and as things stand there is a job I'm offered back home and which i did in the past. Most people who know this consider it ridiculous that i don't take it but it comes with a catch. i would have to give up any free time and any form of social life. The boss is also imposable to deal with and unless you can predict the future and read his mind you have no chance of pleasing him.

I understand how depressing it is to be unemployed but ill take it over that stress. We can't let employers take advantage of us be cause of the situation we in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Granger13

Hey folks!

I have no doubt there are many out there in the same situation but my latest PFO got me to thinking, how long? I know of one highly skilled person who's been looking for over 2 years and I think if that happens to me, I may shoot myself! So those with success stories, please also share to inspire hope. :)

Poll to follow......

Hi Pat,

I am unsure of where you are located, but just so you know a company called bcw located in Blanchardstown dublin are currently looking for people. Might be worth a shot..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Em well.....6 months before Christmas, a month in work, and now just over a month since then.
    Sucks, sucks, sucks.
    Hanging on til we get married later in the year, and if there's nothing by then, we're going. I've already spent enough of my life sitting around counting pennies and worrying.It's not my fault that I'm in this position, and I'm not sitting around indefinitely waiting for the lunatics who run this hell hole to figure out what they have to do to fix this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 scrappycoco

Unemployed for about almost 2 years now. Graduated in 2009 with an honours degree in Finance and didnt even get a sniff then after applying for almost everything. Worst possible time for a grad looking for jobs in financial services. Took a year to go travelling till the heat of the recession and financial crisis cooled down. Back in September and since took 2 online financial courses to upskill myself and now Studying for Professional exams but even at that I struggling to even get an interview.

Word back from a few saying I lack professional experience so applied for numerous internships but been told I need experience for that too. How is a grad meant to get prof experience these days ? is emigrating the only option now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 bain_triail_as

I can only answer for myself.

I am mature!! living on my own - but with adult children living here in the country.

I would go to any country if I thought I would have a permanent job there. The UK would be ideal for me, its easy enough to travel to & from.

So if anybody knows of a position going for a mature admin - let me know!!

Try www.jobcentreplus.gov.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 bain_triail_as

Unemployed for about almost 2 years now. Graduated in 2009 with an honours degree in Finance and didnt even get a sniff then after applying for almost everything. Worst possible time for a grad looking for jobs in financial services. Took a year to go travelling till the heat of the recession and financial crisis cooled down. Back in September and since took 2 online financial courses to upskill myself and now Studying for Professional exams but even at that I struggling to even get an interview.

Word back from a few saying I lack professional experience so applied for numerous internships but been told I need experience for that too. How is a grad meant to get prof experience these days ? is emigrating the only option now?

EEC currently recruiting. see www.publicjobs.ie