Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the last book you bought?

• 08-03-2011 12:49AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

and read?

The last book I read was Wuthering Heights, it was quality!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm so cold, let me in-a-your window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

What was the English Leaving Cert novel in 1997?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Do calendars count?

(Think about that one!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Senna wrote: »
    What was the English Leaving Cert novel in 1997?

and 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Finnegans Wake - in 1989.

I've got to page thrupedy thrrrup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

"How the West was Lost: Fifty Years of Economic Folly" by Dambisa Moyo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Derek Mooneys autobiography, eh, 'How beige is my jacket'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_Mooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

whiteboy wrote: »
    and read?

Dark fcuking book. I think it's the only one she ever wrote.

Last book I bought was "A prayer for Owen Meaney" as a present for a friend. I stole a biography of Michael Collins from my cousin recently which I am now reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Didn't realise Derek is gay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

DUNE

CONTROLLIN' THE SPICE BITCHES (and by that I don't mean 90s pop 'sensation' the spice girls, who frankly, would not do well on Arrakis)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Criminal Behaviour A Psychology Approach by Bartol & Bartol. Books can be so expensive but this wasn't too bad at 60e. I have a 20e book token on my desk [a gift from my team whilst I was off sick a while back] which I should use up, but I know whatever I decide on will cost more than the token.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Laurent Fignon: We were young and carefree.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

*A dictionary,

...turns out the zebra did it

*The Bible

Its a Good Book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Last book I bought was "A prayer for Owen Meaney" as a present for a friend.
    I love that book - so fupping sad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

i respect you readers. was a top speed-reader in school, could read War & Peace during a single lunchbreak. but the day tuohy held my hand up to the principal's office changed all that :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

One of Andrew Vachss'. I buy little else right now.

Mainly his 'Burke' novels, so far. But, suffice to say, I own a dozen of those. And a few others of his books. Here comes a link to his site. But, go straight through to Writings then Free Excerpts and Short Stories. See if ye like the style.

However, much of the rest of the site shows ye what this guy's about. What drives him and his writing.

This guy is a modern day Hero. Linky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

A cretins guide to farmville, quite a good read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

The last book I bought was 'Post Office' for a friend, who's a postman. I thought he might enjoy a different (if somewhat exaggerated) account of the profession, so to speak.

The last book I read was a book called 'Ray' which I didn't buy - I found it in the street (with a few books by Saul Bellow too - result.) I can't remember who wrote the book, although it was fairly critically acclaimed; it was extremely reminiscient of Burrows but I found it fairly tough to read. I didn't enjoy that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

"Legionnaire" by Simon Murray.

I diary of 5 years in the French Foreign Legion during the 1960s. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Last one i bought that i actually finished reading was Hyperion. Awesome book was awesome.

Bought The Godfather an hour ago... Didn't want to but 3 flights in the next 24 hours and it was the only thing I could find. Was in the mood for some Alexander Dumas but not a chance of findin it.

Last book I bought and read was zen and the art of motorcycle maintainance.. Think I need to give it another go because all I got from it was that I'm a classical thinker. That Quality thing went over my head a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Undisputed by Chris Jericho,How to become a world champion in 1,372 easy steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I don't know yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Bought The Godfather an hour ago... Didn't want to but 3 flights in the next 24 hours and it was the only thing I could find.

Great book. I rather it to the movies TBH.

Last book i bought was "From a Buick 8" by Stephen King, got it in a second hand book store for $5 (3 euro). Cant remember the last time i paid full price for a book.

I got it for my 3 flights in 24 hours :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

Spunge wrote: »
    Last one i bought that i actually finished reading was Hyperion. Awesome book was awesome.

Dan Simmons?

SHRIKE all up in this MOTHERF*CKER!!!

Last one I bought was Woken Furies by Richard K. Morgan, had to read all the Takeshi Kovacs novles I could find!
    Also Lee Child productiveness concerning Jack Reacher has effected my personal finances badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

+1 on the Lee Child. Ridiculously addictive easy reads.

Last book before the latest installments of them (one shot and the enemy) was The Lucifer Effect by Philip Zimbardo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

The Balkans (Nationalism, War, and the Great Powers, 1804-1999).
    By Misha Glenny.
    Very interesting and detailed book, quite enjoyed it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Below stairs Ebook four days ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Sylvia Plath - The Bell Jar

Will read A Tale Of A Tub by Jonathan Swift next.

Dudess wrote: »
    I love that book - so fupping sad...

Yeah. But brilliant and brilliantly written, and beautiful and beautifully written.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

the third book in stephen kings "gunslinger" series, the wasteland.

The last book I bought was 'Post Office' for a friend, who's a postman. I thought he might enjoy a different (if somewhat exaggerated) account of the profession, so to speak.

The last book I read was a book called 'Ray' which I didn't buy - I found it in the street (with a few books by Saul Bellow too - result.) I can't remember who wrote the book, although it was fairly critically acclaimed; it was extremely reminiscient of Burrows but I found it fairly tough to read. I didn't enjoy that.

You should get him "Going Postal" by Terry Pratchett. It's light, easy reading (although hidden depth, I'd like to think:rolleyes::o) and hilarious in places.

AMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Shogun by James Clavell. Bit drawn out but interesting enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Yesterday I bought the following book finally. I've been waiting a long time for Patick Rothfuss to get the finger out and finish it!

The Wise Man's Fear: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Book 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Wicked : The Life & Times of The Wicked Witch of The West by Gregory Maguire. Jaysus, I don't remember that much ridin and carnage in the film. Judy Garland was telling us a load of sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Why read a book when you can watch a movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

A brief history of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

50 feckers that fecked up Ireland

Bought The Godfather an hour ago... Didn't want to but 3 flights in the next 24 hours and it was the only thing I could find. Was in the mood for some Alexander Dumas but not a chance of findin it.

Last book I bought and read was zen and the art of motorcycle maintainance.. Think I need to give it another go because all I got from it was that I'm a classical thinker. That Quality thing went over my head a bit.

Hate to say it man, but The Godfather sticks in my mind as being the only book I've ever read that wasn't as good as the film; but maybe that was because I saw the film first and really enjoyed it.
    Alexandre Dumas is worth reading again and again. Thanks for the reminder.

*saunters off to library doffing hat to passing ladies*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.

Yup :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Bought Mr.Nice, Howard Marks' autobiography on Saturday, quite good so far! Also reading 'Going Home', a book on near death experiences and 'Alone in Berlin' by Hans Fallada.
    Love when I have a good few books at once :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Book 12 of The Wheel of Time series when it finally came out in paperback. Currently reading book 13 but I acquired it on my phone. The paperback version isn't out til October and I will add it to my collection then.

Usually get sucked in to epic fantasy series and read it through before picking another. I have 1 book by George RR Martin and Raymond E. Feist on the go too to be caught up on the series'.

finding harmony / catch 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

whiteboy wrote: »
    and read?

I hit the thanks button by mistake on my phone.

You must be fcukng joking about that being a quality book. It is the biggest heap of sh1t I have ever been forced to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Chuileog wrote: »
    Shogun by James Clavell. Bit drawn out but interesting enough.

brilliant book. Noble House is an excellent book also by clavell.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

kyub wrote: »
    The Wise Man's Fear: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Book 2
    This. I got it on the day of release but haven't started it yet (I want to take a breather before starting another huge fantasy tome). Bought the e-Book edition so I could read it on holidays.

Last one that I bought and read though? "The Crippled God" on the 24th of Feb. Finished it last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Swampy wrote: »
    You must be fcukng joking about that being a quality book. It is the biggest heap of sh1t I have ever been forced to read.
    Wow! So unless you like something it is shit.
    As people grow up they start to realise something about other people and that is, everyone has different tastes, seems you haven't quite got there yet. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Got a kindle and have pirated every book since. Probably through about 40 books since christmas.

On The Adventures of Tom Sawyer now, got Huckleberry Finn next, Of Mice and Men after that, and I'm looking to read them Cthulu books. Actually I'm not sure what way is best to go about reading those, if any Lovecraft fans want to clue me in, a PM would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Golf is not a game of Perfect - Bob Rotella

Helpful.