Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flora's women's mini marathon 2011

• 23-03-2011 11:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

hi ladies,
    first time ever ive decided to do the mini marathon. looking forward to doing my training and hope to stick with it. now i'm going for the easier option and walking it. would never be able to do any sort of running.

anyone else going to do it and if not ye should as it is for a great cause. me running for Tesco ( my job) charity of the year ireland's cancer society. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

Im walking it for DSPCA.
    Cant wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

I'm "jogging" it! :p I'm gonna try anyway. My charity is Dogs Trust! I can't wait! I'm really unhealthy. Hoping that my training will help me lose a few pounds.

Really should start training......

I was going to do it for the dogs trust :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭JajaD

When is it on? Id like to do it for the irish kidney assoc.

It's on June 6th. You can register for it online. Costs €18 no matter whether you're walking or jogging.

Do u know how long the marathon is? I cant see it on their site?

Just saw its 10km :) better get training! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I'd love to do it unfortunately it's on my sisters birthday and she's already made plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

I'm doing it as well for the AADI, Autism Assistance Dogs Ireland.

How do you do it "for" a group?
    I mean what's actually involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

My sister has asked me to do it for the Niall Mellon foundation.

I wanted to run for MS Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

bluewolf wrote: »
    How do you do it "for" a group?
    I mean what's actually involved

Contact a charity and get a sponsorship card/pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I'm "jogging" it! :p I'm gonna try anyway. My charity is Dogs Trust! I can't wait! I'm really unhealthy. Hoping that my training will help me lose a few pounds.

Really should start training......

Go on then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

JajaD wrote: »
    Just saw its 10km :) better get training! :)

what??? i heard 5Km. wwaaahhh!!!!! thank god i started my training today. i'm in bits.

I always end up in a heap the day after I go jogging. Not good.

I just finished setting up an event page on my FB account. I've invited all my friends to sponsor me through it and linked them to my charity page. Such a good way of getting the word out so thought I'd share. :)

I always end up in a heap the day after I go jogging. Not good.
    Build up steadily and you'll be fine. Are you following a training plan?

I'm going to attempt to jog it, or at least some of it, this year. I haven't decided on a charity yet this year. I usually do it for either Aware or the Dublin Simon Community.

Build up steadily and you'll be fine. Are you following a training plan?

I've started week 1 of the Couch to 5K. Mini Marathon is 10K though so hopefully it'll work! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 louise82

Quick question, just signed up for the mini marathon my 1st time, was wondering can I walk this with a buggy, I want to do it for Ronald Mcdonald House or Crumlin,

last year we nearly lost our little girl and spent 3 months in crumlin with her, I said at the time last year that if we got her home I'd do the marathon with her.
    Well shes doing great now thank god and I really wanted to bring her along for the walk in her buggy, id be at the back of the pack what do ye recon.
    Thanks a mill

louise82 wrote: »
    Quick question, just signed up for the mini marathon my 1st time, was wondering can I walk this with a buggy, I want to do it for Ronald Mcdonald House or Crumlin,

Hi Louise,
    Unfortunately it states no buggies.

From their website:
    Please note the following:
    This is a women-only race.
    Please fill in the Entry Form carefully, as no changes will be allowed.
    Minimum Age: 14 years old on day of race.
    No buggies, roller blades or dogs please.

Great charity; glad your daughter is doing well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭car.kar

Yep, doing it for Blackrock Hospice, my friend died there a few years back and they took really great care of her :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

yep doing it for a dogs life, just walking it this year maybe next year ill be able to jog it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I believe it is fully booked now, and they are not taking on anymore ladies, the quota is full......

Ladies does anyone have a copy of the entry form? It is fully booked but a friend might be able to get a place if she can get her hands on it...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Doing it for MS Ireland :) Walking though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Walking it. No charity picked yet though. I'm almost a bit scared in case I chicken out. Might do it for a charity next year :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Fully booked? Awh just saw this thread and would have loved to do it.
    Next year then-I dprobably die if I attempted 10k right now anyway :o

There are plenty of other races around if you really wanted to do a 10k - I'll be doing one in Dunshaughlin on 25 June if you wanted one around that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Did it last year with my sisters for Breast Cancer Awareness ( as my aunt is a survivor of it) and will be doing it again this year. Going to try to get my mom in on it too and maybe get my brother and dad to dress in drag. There were loads of men in drag last year, fair play to them!! :D

<snip - number transfers are not allowed under race rules>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I'm doing it but only got about €20 raised:( last year I got about €200. I was also going to jog it but my knee/leg got sore and I've only started going back to the gym. That and some other stuff looks like I don't know if will do it or not.

<snip - number transfers are not allowed under race rules>

crap, sorry! didn't even realise that :o

Is anyone going for a drink afterwards?

ya me def up for drinks after. first time doing the marathon so would like to mark the occasion:) since im walking it i don't plan on breaking too much of a sweat:)

I'm walking it this year, I always pulled out of it other years because I don't like doing things by halves, I would only be happy if I could run it, and never bothered to get fit enough. But a group of my friends are walking it this year for Alopecia Ireland, so I'm in!

sorry budgese am a bit wrecked from the last few days in work. does that mean you'll be joining myself and snoopy for drinks after the marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭applejam

I'm doing it too
    Walking it for ALLF : A Little Lifetime Foundation, I do it for them every year.
    Sister is walking for Suicide Prevention

mollybird wrote: »
    sorry budgese am a bit wrecked from the last few days in work. does that mean you'll be joining myself and snoopy for drinks after the marathon?

I think our charity organiser has a piss-up of our own planned....

ah cool, no worries. ya only 3 of us doing it from our job's charity of the year. do don't think they organising any drinks after. so thought id try and organise something myself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭moretothegirl

I can't make it up to the RDS this weekend, does anyone know if my brother can get my number for me? I'm afraid he won't be able to get in because its in the World Womans show, will my acceptance letter be enough for him or will he be expected to pay in?!

He should be fine with the letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 splash137

Just wondering what the baggae areas are like..are they secure lockers, will they be jammers or is it best to leave my stuff with a friend?
    Also, realistically what time should I aim to be on site at?

I didnt know there was baggage areas there. Im aiming to get there about 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭desolate sun

splash137 wrote: »
    Just wondering what the baggae areas are like..are they secure lockers, will they be jammers or is it best to leave
    my stuff with a friend?
    Also, realistically what time should I aim to be on site at?

the baggage area is at one end of Stephens green. It's open air. Basically they put whatever you give them in a plastic bag and they put your race number on it. The baggage area is manned and is secure enough. I've been putting my stuff in there for years and it's been grand.

Not sure what time. Maybe 2 at the latest. Cos u have to go to baggage area and then walk to your area from the green.

How safe is the baggage area? WOuld you leave your wallet there?
    Ive just been to RDS got my race number. Cant believe i had to pay 6 euro for a 5 minute visit :mad:

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    How safe is the baggage area? WOuld you leave your wallet there?
    Ive just been to RDS got my race number. Cant believe i had to pay 6 euro for a 5 minute visit :mad:

I had no problem leaving my bag (containing my wallet) there last year. What I'd be more careful about is making sure your bag is waterproof, or can be sealed, if the weather is bad. It bucketed rain last year on race day.

If its raining im not getting out of bed!!!

I have a small enough shoulder bag, that i was just going carry with me through the race. Im walking by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭claire983

Can anyone tell me if i have to pay into the RDS today to pick up my number, i know the Womens World exbo is on, but really dont want to be paying 12euro in just to pick up my number for the marathon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

claire983 wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me if i have to pay into the RDS today to pick up my number, i know the Womens World exbo is on, but really dont want to be paying 12euro in just to pick up my number for the marathon..

No you don't have to pay in but you need to bring a printout of the 'letter' you got when you entered (it has a bar code on it). You need this anyway to pick up your number. At the bottom of the page it says 'this letter entitles you and a friend to visit the Woman's World Show free of charge'. You'll have to pay for parking at the RDS if you drive though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Do I just need the letter to pick up my number? Or do I need ID or anything??