Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgusting things you see each day.

• 01-04-2011 05:47PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

Today I had to do the grocery shopping. I went into the butchers that was next door to Dunnes Stores. I asked for whatever meat I was buying and the woman scooped it up in her hand, wearing a glove.

I looked around for the desk to pay at, but there was none. The butcher lady then asked me for the money, I paid her and she took the money with the gloved hand she had just touched the meat with.

She scooped my change from the register and gave it back to me, using her gloved hand. A little horrified, I watched as the next person approached her and asked for meat. She didn't change her gloves, but touched their meat with the glove she had just been handling the money with.

I threw the meat in the bin outside the shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

People paranoid about germs throwing out food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 gerryatric

Waste of some perfectly good meat, You had to throw it out you couldn't of asked for a different slice or a refund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,676 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

My reflection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Today I had to do the grocery shopping. I went into the butchers that was next door to Dunnes Stores. I asked for whatever meat I was buying and the woman scooped it up in her hand, wearing a glove.

I looked around for the desk to pay at, but there was none. The butcher lady then asked me for the money, I paid her and she took the money with the gloved hand she had just touched the meat with.

She scooped my change from the register and gave it back to me, using her gloved hand. A little horrified, I watched as the next person approached her and asked for meat. She didn't change her gloves, but touched their meat with the glove she had just been handling the money with.

erm couldn't you have just cooked the meat to kill the germs?

also how many times a day do people handle money then food?

e.g handing money to shop assistant for sandwich- eat sandwich with same hands after being in shop.

handing money to till assistant in fast food place - eat chips with hands.

hand money over for ice cream - hold cone in hand and eat it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

When I spit in peoples faces and they don't rub it off.

I know I'm sexy but jeez have some self respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Tommyadams

Your ma's nether-regions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

gerryatric wrote: »
    Waste of some perfectly good meat, You had to throw it out you couldn't of asked for a different slice or a refund?

I think you missed the part where I said she had been wearing contaminated gloves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

An old man at a self serve buffet in a local hotel sucking the spoon after he helped himself to the desert, he just placed the spoon back on the plate for the next person to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

You must have loads of money to be able to fire away meat like that or maybe you were planning to eat it raw and didnt like the germs on it!
    But seriously why didnt you say it to the butcher or just say forget it Ive changed my mind??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I think you missed the part where I said she had been wearing contaminated gloves.
    Jaysus! Cook the feckin' meat and it'd be all right to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

Why didnt you just say it to her. Or to a supervisor to stop her from doing it again, as surely she was trained to take the gloves off when she is finished handling the meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Dumped rubbish along roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Appropriate username is appropriate.

You must have loads of money to be able to fire away meat like that or maybe you were planning to eat it raw and didnt like the germs on it!
    But seriously why didnt you say it to the butcher or just say forget it Ive changed my mind??

I don't eat meat - it was the grocery shopping for the house. And no, it would be cooked. But money is the most disgusting thing there is. Faeces/urine/vomit/sneezes could have been on it. Drug addicts money.

But you're right, I should have just asked for the money back. I just didn't think, I was so disgusted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

The contamination was on the change. You should have thrown your money in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sounds like Storm in a tea cup if you ask me :P

<insert drum noise here>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

People waisting food its disgusting :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Money being forceably taken from poor people and given to rich people.

Arguing on teh internets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

People clearing their throats/sinus and gobbing on streets. Turns my stomach. Ano no, it's not just a skanger thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

what a sheltered life you lead storminateacup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Homeless people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Oh! No recession here t'what t'what!

Most disgusting thing I see on a daily basis here is middle-aged Spanish men checking out girls in their early teens and not being in any way discreet about it. Heeby-Jeeby City.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Oh! No recession here t'what t'what!

Most disgusting thing I see on a daily basis here is middle-aged Spanish men checking out girls in their early teens and not being in any way discreet about it. Heeby-Jeeby City.

Early teens? Yuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I don't eat meat - it was the grocery shopping for the house. And no, it would be cooked. But money is the most disgusting thing there is. Faeces/urine/vomit/sneezes could have been on it. Drug addicts money.

But you're right, I should have just asked for the money back. I just didn't think, I was so disgusted.

So you wash your hands each time you touch money? Of course you don't. I think throwing out the meat was an over reaction...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

The soles of a colleagues feet as he is so far up the boss' ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Fuhrkin taximan gave me change, after spudding a thick hockle out onto the sidewalk, like a gold fcuking watch,prairie oyster, thick and phlegmy.

Dirty fat jerk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Tommyadams

Oh Jesus! Sorry about that! I was mortified afterwards but the auld sushi from the Topaz garage aint what it used to be (Im' still none the better for it) Sorry about short-changin you as well, old habits and all that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I saw a junkie today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I think you are making a storm in a teacup out of this. Cooking meat correctly kills the germs, yes she still shouldn't be touching the meat like that but it's not actually that unsafe, we are overly cautious these days it seems.

lizt wrote: »
    So you wash your hands each time you touch money? Of course you don't. I think throwing out the meat was an over reaction...

I don't wash my hands after every time I touch money, but I do sanatinze them numerous times throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

People seriously giving the OP a hard time? That's ****ing disgusting practice.
    OP's mistake was not throwing it back at them and informing other potential customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Cribbins was it?

The-Rigger wrote: »
    People seriously giving the OP a hard time? That's ****ing disgusting practice.
    OP's mistake was not throwing it back at them and informing other potential customers.

I agree! Money is really filthy. I actually don't think the OP is being unreasonable here.

Yes, some people are overly-militant on germs but in some instances people have a right to be disgusted. People are saying "Cook the meat properly" but would you be the same if you saw someone pick their nose and then handle meat? Because you could just cook that meat well too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

I agree! Money is really filthy. I actually don't think the OP is being unreasonable here.

Yes, some people are overly-militant on germs but in some instances people have a right to be disgusted. People are saying "Cook the meat properly" but would you be the same if you saw someone pick their nose and then handle meat? Because you could just cook that meat well too.

I presume in that case you eat no fruit at all?

Because you have no idea who touched the food beforehand. And all you can do is give it a bit of a wash as opposed to actually burning all the germs off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I always wash my hands after touching my meat

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Judging from the OP's sig I would say she is pregnant? I don't blame her, I was paranoid about germs when I was preggers aswel.. any little stomach bug could be detremental to the baby.. dehydration from vomiting could lead to a week hauled up in Hospital.. you can't be too careful..

Although I probably would have fed the meat to some stray dogs or something as opposed to binning it :o

reprazant wrote: »
    I presume in that case you eat no fruit at all?

Because you have no idea who touched the food beforehand. And all you can do is give it a bit of a wash as opposed to actually burning all the germs off.

Raw meat is a higher risk area than fruit as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

my local butcher back home did the same one day. i still cooked it and ate it, but never went back there. it's a pity cause their stuff was really nice and really cheap.

i do believe nowadays we're over the top about hygiene but we've already screwed ourselves over, me deciding not to follow hygiene practices isn't going to get me anywhere.

in my old subway place in limerick there was a girl and two guy servers, the guys were always grand, but the girl, every time would put the stuff in the oven, take your money, hand you your change and go back to making your sandwich. drove me crazy. asked her to change her gloves, and i'm sure she remembered me because of it, but she still wouldn't have the cop on to do it. don't know how these people have jobs. When i worked in a deli i changed mine constantly.
    Collie D wrote: »
    People clearing their throats/sinus and gobbing on streets. Turns my stomach. Ano no, it's not just a skanger thing.

this also drives me mental. but what's worse for me is that my boss does it all day long, and he sits beside me. and he clearly doesn't need to. he was concentrating on something for a few minutes, and didn't do it at all, but then when he was done it was back to *snort* *snort* *snort* for the rest of the day.

I'm probably going to get some abuse for this, but i'm not liking how often i've been seeing women breastfeed in public.

i'm also quite sick of seeing people picking their nose right in front of me. i mean gross. i can see you, i'm looking right at you, you can see me looking at you. stop it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

My housemates boyfriend having pissed all over the toilet seat. Annoying little c*nt, I'm gonna lose it with him yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

On my way to work everyday I pass an old woman tramp with a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

What was the exact cut of meat that you bought ( Scooped indicated mince or liver to me :D ) oh yeah and where is the exact location of the bin..ahem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I don't wash my hands after every time I touch money, but I do sanatinze them numerous times throughout the day.

OCD much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Speaking of which, I was going down Camden near the Tesco shop, passed a laneway and there is a fat auld wan hoisting the skirt , exposing a dun coloured set of arse cheeks, then dropping a slate grey set of 'slugs' and hosing out a warm stream of piss onto the butt of the wall.

I know it was warm 'cause the steam rose up from it.

Disgusting tugboat.:mad:

What was the exact cut of meat that you bought ( Scooped indicated mince or liver to me :D ) oh yeah and where is the exact location of the bin..ahem

Diced beef and 3 pork chops!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

PK2008 wrote: »
    I always wash my hands after touching my meat

I never usually get change after somebody's handled my meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

The emphasis on germs the last while is ridiculous imo.
    No wonder everyone picks up every known bug going.
    See that new dettol ad?
    The soap has a sensor on it so the little kiddies don't get germs on their hands if they touch it.
    Fuck off.
    We went round filthy as kids, pulled chewing gum off the road to eat ffs.
    Washed our black handie's before we went to bed and that was it.
    Sophisticated child abuse.