Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to save a life...

• 13-04-2011 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Soo..

Simple question..

Who knows CPR and how to use an AED?

Would ye use one? Have you got one in your workplace?

hmmm????

Do you know how to savea life? 114 votes

I know CPR
    0% 0 votes
    I know CPR and can use an AED
    38% 44 votes
    DEA? Isn't that what Bruce Willis plays in movies?
    44% 51 votes
    Atari mouth to mouth
    16% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

blast them with air!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Havent a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'm a qualificed Occupational First Aider.
    Whatever that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I did a CPR course 5 years ago... got a certificate and all. I remember bits of it, but could do with a bit of refreshing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I was meant to learn CPR when we were teaching the Scouts (I'm a leader) first aid, but I never did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Been trained in both,

Haven't had to ever use either thankfully :)

great, you made me have to listen to the song now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Ride them back to life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I have no time to help people. People need to help themselves - I have no inclination to give people handouts. I got to the top by being ruthless, by being a 1980's business powerhouse. I didn't get here by letting anybody get in my way, looking for an undeserved leg up on the bottom rung. No, if you want CPR, don't expect me to do it for you. Learn it yourself. It's a dog-eat-dog world out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Just curious.

5000 people in Ireland die from sudden cardiac arrest every year. That sucks.

Be nice to be able to help eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭NeitherJohn

Trained in both, used training twice.

Successfully :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭user1842

I have no time to help people. People need to help themselves - I have no inclination to give people handouts. I got to the top by being ruthless, by being a 1980's business powerhouse. I didn't get here by letting anybody get in my way, looking for an undeserved leg up on the bottom rung. No, if you want CPR, don't expect me to do it for you. Learn it yourself. It's a dog-eat-dog world out there.

Your the 80's guy in Futurama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'm a doctor! someone call 999 and get me some wet towels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

jd007 wrote: »

I was just about to ask who did that suck ass song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The AEDs are idiot prove. If the patient doesn't need a shock the machine will not let you give one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I've no idea how to but would like to.
    I've offered to go on the first aid courses with work multiple times and they never got back to me; instead they have the guy down as the First Aider here twice a week instead of me whose here five days a week. That said, not bothered enough to go learn independantly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I done a occupational first aid course recently so yes :D.

Azureus wrote: »
    I've no idea how to but would like to.
    I've offered to go on the first aid courses with work multiple times and they never got back to me; instead they have the guy down as the First Aider here twice a week instead of me whose here five days a week. That said, not bothered enough to go learn independantly.

You should! The occupational first aid course standard now includes AED training. Kill two birds with the one stone :)

Or you can just do CPR, AED and choking in a 4 hour course!

Einstein wrote: »
    Or you can just do CPR, AED and choking in a 4 hour course!

True, although at the moment I'd be doing all the upskilling I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

I have my ALS (advanced life support) qualification ... but then I am an RGN.

It's surprising how many of the general public don't know the basics of resuscitation really.

George83 wrote: »

It's surprising how many of the general public don't know the basics of resuscitation really.

Returned goods notice?

George83 wrote: »

Be surprised how many doctors and nurses don't either!
    I remember the first time I was sent to teach in a medical centre. Faced with docs and nurses who hadn't done CPR in 10 or 15 years.

RichieC wrote: »
    Returned goods notice?

LOL. Registered General Nurse.

Be surprised how many doctors and nurses don't either!
    I remember the first time I was sent to teach in a medical centre. Faced with docs and nurses who hadn't done CPR in 10 or 15 years.

Actually that wouldn't surprise me either. Mind you, despite going on the courses and having the 'skills' I haven't had to do CPR since qualifying 6 years ago ... hope I haven't jinxed my next shift now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

CPR is pretty useless in most cases, its fairly well known that CPR almost never works (something between 2 - 4% survival rate), and unlike the movies if the persons heart has already stopped it won't do anything

Indeed correct, although it will keep the body supplied with oxygen to give time for advanced care to get there!
    Bring an AED into that situation within 3-4 mins and survival rate jumps to about 70%!

It's not supposed to work on its own. It does sometimes, but it's ridiculously rare. CPR buys time until the arrival of an AED. You have about 4 minutes before irreversible damage occurs. Chance of survival decreases about 10% a minute. If an AED can't do anything for them then there's probably a serious amount of underlying damage.

CPR is probably the most important link in the chain of survival.

And the easiest one for the public to get to grips with :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Mrs. Simpson, your husband was brought in DOA,,, no, sorry. i mean DUI, im always getting them two mixed up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I know how to give CPR, we were taught how to do it in school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

It's mandatory in my job But like everything you need to continuously research and study standards and procedures regarding cpr and aed as they can be forgotten about pretty quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

I learned how to do CPR and use an AED with the scouts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,144 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I know how to give CPR, we were taught how to do it in school.

It should be required learning in all schools.

I volunteer with the Civil Defence so know the basics. Hope I never have to practice it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Warrior011

I'm in the Order of Malta and have done the training multiple times over the past 3-4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

I can! Have used CPR on a person till an ambulance arrived. Once, I got to do the whole chest compressions while on a moving hospital trolly, it was very E.R/casualty!! XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

It should be required learning in all schools.

I volunteer with the Civil Defence so know the basics. Hope I never have to practice it though!

Aye. agreed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

Yeah, we did a first aid course in school last year. Our caretaker is qualified and is always doing classes on it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

bluewolf wrote: »
    great, you made me have to listen to the song now

It's a terrible song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭mydearwatson

I did a basic First Aid / CPR course in secondary school. That's about ten years ago now - I really hope never to be in a position where I'd have to use it, but would probably remember enough to give it a go if I had to. From what I remember, apart from possibly cracking a rib, you're unlikely to make matters worse if you've at least some idea of what you're doing.

nice :)
    Good to hear that some people have the skills :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Soo..

Simple question..

hmmm????

Yup, hands up here!.

Met the man afterwards, and have a nice 'thank you' card (treasured) from him and got a nice phone call from his sister too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Yup, hands up here!.

Met the man afterwards, and have a nice 'thank you' card (treasured) from him and got a nice phone call from his sister too.

Fair play to ya man, its great that he made it.

Some feeling seeing a person coming back seconds after pressing the shock button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I can trach you back to hades :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Fair play to ya man, its great that he made it.

Thanks.

Tbh, its the scariest thing I've done in my life!.

And I've done a lot of what people might consider scary.

After he was taken away by ambulance I got into the jeep, and started to shake but drove off thinking I'd be fine - then it really hit me hard. I rang the medical corp and explained what had happened, and that the guy was dead and how I could still taste him on my breath (and more smaller details).

Turns out I was in shock.

I rang me brother (he's an EMT) and told him what happened and that I was rattling. He told me to expect the worse that in all his years in the service he could count on one hand the amount of arrests on the street who had someone do CPR and didn't know one that had made it.

Long story short, as you can see from the link the man made it.. But scared the living bollox out of me.

Since then when new lads in the army ask me about courses, I recommend a first aid course as its one of the only courses you'll ever do in the army designed to save a life as opposed to taking one.

(I believe an occupational first aid course is now part of a soldiers recruit training).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Soo..

Simple question..

hmmm????
    Had to learn a lot of first aid for work, forgot most of it by now being perfectly honest.
    But I'd do my best to save anyone anywhere, assuming they haven't wronged me in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

It won't restart their heart but it will keep oxygen circulating until help arrives. That's extremely important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Step one, you say we need to talk
    He walks you say sit down, it's just a talk
    He smiles politely back at you
    You stare politely right on through