Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal v Liverpool - Sunday: 1600 BST

• 17-04-2011 12:41AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Arsenal v Liverpool

Barclays Premier League
    Venue: Emirates Stadium
    Date: Sunday, 17 April Kick-off: 1600 BST
    Coverage: Watch live on Sky Sports 1 and highlights on Match of the Day 2; listen on BBC Radio 5 live, BBC London 94.9 and BBC Radio Merseyside; text commentary on BBC Sport website and mobiles

Team News:
    Arsenal keeper Wojciech Szczesny is back in full training after recovering from a dislocated finger and could return in goal against Liverpool.
    The Gunners could be further boosted by the return of defenders Johan Djourou (shoulder) and Bacary Sagna (knee).
    Liverpool boss Kenny Dalglish reported no new injury concerns following Monday's defeat of Manchester City.
    Young defender John Flanagan won praise for an assured debut against City and is expected to continue at right back.

Arsenal:
    Doubtful: Almunia, Sagna & Song (all knee), Denilson (toe), Djourou (shoulder), Szczesny (finger)
    Injured: Bartley (knee), Fabianski (shoulder), Mannone (thigh), Vermaelen (Achilles)

Liverpool:
    Injured: Agger (knee), Gerrard (groin), Johnson & Kelly (both hamstring)

LAST LEAGUE MATCH LINE-UPS
    Arsenal (W3-1 v Blackpool, a): Lehmann, Eboue, Squillaci, Koscielny, Clichy, Diaby, Fabregas (Ramsey 88), Wilshere, Nasri (Gibbs 86), van Persie, Arshavin (Walcott 61). Subs Not Used: Almunia, Rosicky, Chamakh, Bendtner.
    Liverpool (W3-0 v Man City): Reina, Flanagan, Carragher, Skrtel, Aurelio, Kuyt, Lucas, Spearing, Meireles, Suarez, Carroll (Ngog 90). Subs Not Used: Gulacsi, Cole, Maxi, Wilson, Shelvey, Robinson.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/9455498.stm

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Will be a right test for Flanagan if he starts. He didnt get put under serious pressure against City so Im still uncertain about him, definitely our weak spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

As much as it pains me to say it I just can't see Arsenal winning tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭budgemook

Very hard to call.

Liverpool seem only to play well against the better teams at the moment but their away form has been shocking all season. Can't see them beating Arsenal I'm afraid but fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Th Pool hands down @ 4/1!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

Paul Merson thinks us Pool supporters face defeat what ever the outcome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Yakult wrote: »
    Will be a right test for Flanagan if he starts. He didnt get put under serious pressure against City so Im still uncertain about him, definitely our weak spot.
    Kyrgiakos should be recovered from illness so I'd imagine Carragher switching to RB with Kyrgiakos Skrtel Aurelio making up the defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

A second rate team versus champions elect...

Should be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

d22ontour wrote: »

Should be interesting.

Arsenal deserves more credit than that

d22ontour wrote: »

Should be interesting.

Arsenal are hardly second rate. Nice sig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Our away record doesn't give me much confidence going in to this game tomorrow.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Dotsey wrote: »
    Kyrgiakos should be recovered from illness so I'd imagine Carragher switching to RB with Kyrgiakos Skrtel Aurelio making up the defence.

I'd rather Flanagan :pac:

I cant pick a winner tbh. Would be happy with a draw but Liverpool tend to always play well against top teams so I wouldnt be surprised of a win.

4/1 is just too good to turn down really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,322 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Carroll & Suarez are absolute muck. Koscielny & Squillaci will have them in their pocket for the whole game.
    No chance Liverpool will get anything from this game.
    No hope.

(Hopefully that works :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Arsenal 2-1. Will have too much pace for Liverpool's back line. Suarez and Carroll could do damage as well if they get going. Hopefully Almunia doesn't play for Arsenal it's beyond a joke at this stage. After he returned and made that howler the last day I'm convinced he's gambling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

wishing dearly Liverpool win this whilst wishing I could thump the Sh*te out of Amir Khan :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭revz

As an Arsenal fan I could see this being very tough.
    We haven't been playing all that well lately, and liverpool brushed aside city in their last match...Carroll & Suarez could be tricky for our defence to deal with....Think I'm gonna go with a 1-1 draw :( pains me to say it but I think something like that will be the outcome.

Unless something like this was to happen again:

picimg_premier_league_arshavin_11c2.jpg

:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Boy do I remember that !! jees
    I hope Liverpool win of course but I always liked Arsenal .I love Arshavin ,hes like Russia answer to Messi ,isnt he though ? Hes like a bullet. The fact that Liverpool have new and shining hope with their savage duo has given all Pool supporters a kind of ' cant wait for next season ' feeling.But we should be thinking about the here and now and it would be fantastic for them to win .Its so true ,that they play the top teams better ,they were hopeless in the Euopa games ,most of them.And did ye see the state of the stadiums/pitches in these places .It was terrible.Really bad ,no wonder fourth place is like gold dust .
    It is going to be a cracker though .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Liverpool-Manchester-City-Andy-Carroll-Premier-League+cropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

One of the rare occasions I'll be cheering on Liverpool. Expect them to get a result there as well! Arsenals centre-halves wont cope with Carroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

It's hard to call, hoping to a Liverpool win:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Our complete inability to deal with Carroll is going to cost us big time today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

Frisbee wrote: »

Liverpool have a dreadful record at the Emirates. Flanagan will most likely be targeted also. I can see some goals for both sides but Arsenal having a lot of possession and will make it count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Hard to call this one. We alway's seem to step up againest fellow big clubs so i'm going to be optimistic and say 2-3 to Liverpool. I have 20 euro on Kuyt to be first scorer at 18-1.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

It's a horrible feeling knowing the only thing that could salvage your weekend is a Liverpool win. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    It's a horrible feeling knowing the only thing that could salvage your weekend is a Liverpool win. Ugh.

Even a draw would get the frown off my face.

I'm hoping Suarez will take advantage of Arsenals insistence on playing high line.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Hoping for the same line-up that beat Barca and Chelsea (so no Squllaci, Diaby, Eboue, Almunia or Lehmann... sorry Jens!).

Arsenal's form is gammy but with the key players coming back, I feel a win here could inspire the side to produce a run of victories. If the boys do manage to win I'd say it'll be one of the toughest wins of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nnnnneeeeeeeeeeeeooooowwwwwwwwwwwwww!
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Liverpool-Manchester-City-Andy-Carroll-Premier-League+cropped

"I'm a plane mum I'm a plane!"

Couldn't call this so 4/1 for a Livepool win look very generous, won't be taking it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Not enough Scousers in Liverpool's team for them to roll over for us. I'd expect them to get their usual draw against us at least. We have put in good performances at times in the bigger games this season, so here's hoping for another one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

This is going to be a high scoring ding dong of a game , with Pepe been the difference .

3-2 Liverpool win .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

We ain't a bad team with Djourou and Szczesny at the back so i'd be hopeful that Nasri and Walcott can do damage especially if Flanagan is playing, it's in the Emirates so hopefully Arsenal get the job done.

mixednuts wrote: »
    This is going to be a high scoring ding dong of a game , with Pepe been the difference .

3-2 Liverpool win .

If Djourou and Szczęsny start and are fully fit, I'd be confident that we won't concede too many. Wouldn't be surprised to see Reina having a good game though either, most good keepers seem to against us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He didn't last time! So he ows us one ;)

mike65 wrote: »
    He didn't last time! So he ows us one ;)

3 saves and 1 fumble, can't remember what the saves were like though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

As much as i'd like a liverpool win. Arsenal are ready for this game. As long as their goalie doesn't pull a Gomes they'll be fine. I expect the arsenal strikers/midfield/pace in general to be cause more hassle than the liverpool attack. If Song and Djouru are back it'll make it easier but even if not i think they'll out score them.

Some sick side of me is looking forward to a long hard run-in neck and neck with arsenal.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,550 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Pool are blowing hot and cold away from home. This really could go either way, if Carroll/Meireles/suarez perform they will give the arsenal defence nightmares.
    At 15/4 on pp I will have to throw a few quid on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,534 ✭✭✭✭cson

Famous last words but I really hope the ref has a quiet game. We've been on the end of some shocking decisions against Liverpool over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,410 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

cson wrote: »
    Famous last words but I really hope the ref has a quiet game. We've been on the end of some shocking decisions against Liverpool over the years.

didn't one of your players basically catch the ball in the penalty area either last season or the season before in the last minute of the game and no penalty given..............

what were the shocking decisions?? the fowler penalty is the only one that springs to mind and he missed anyway, i seem to remember 2 or 3 liverpool players sent off away to arsenal around about 2001-02 and none were even bad tackles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Why on earth did Sky and ESPN schedule this game and the cup semi at 4 with no game at 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

rossie1977 wrote: »
    didn't one of your players basically catch the ball in the penalty area either last season or the season before in the last minute of the game and no penalty given..............

what were the shocking decisions?? the fowler penalty is the only one that springs to mind and he missed anyway, i seem to remember 2 or 3 liverpool players sent off away to arsenal around about 2001-02 and none were even bad tackles

The 2001 cup final springs to mind - But we won't mention that now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Was Fabregas last season but as I remember it was outside the box anyway so a penalty wasnt given.

As for the other match you were talking about I think two liverpool players were sent off and so was Patrick Vieira for a nothing challenge on Hamann I think.

On todays game its simply a must win for Arsenal, anything less and its a record 19th title for Man Utd. Really nervous about today but I think we will do just enough with hopefully Woj and JD back in the lineup.

What about Joe Cole being sent off at Anfield? Shocking decision! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

If a few decent crosses go into the Arsenal penalty area I could see Carroll getting on the end and scoring one, not sure how good Arsenal are defending agaisnt that
    On the flip side I could see Arsenal dominating the midfiled and passing us by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

budgemook wrote: »
    What about Joe Cole being sent off at Anfield? Shocking decision! :cool:

Didn't Liverpool play better once he was off?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,550 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Didn't Liverpool play better once he was off?

doesn't chage the fact about the decision though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,534 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ah jaysus, all I was saying is I hope the ref has a quiet one, no need to pour over every specific incident between the two clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Think this thread might be more interesting than the match...expect the usual United lads to come out attacking in an attempt to feel better about yesterday...hopefully the Liverpool lads keep their heads and don't pick up any bans.

I'll go for a repeat of the first fixture 1-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Frisbee wrote: »

Optimistic as ever :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

what were the shocking decisions??
    I don't think it's really fair to pick out the 2001 Cup final either.

Liverpool's keeper had a stormer that day and we can't say he didn't deserve to lift the cup after that display:

henchoz-coupe01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭djfitzerjnr

There's goals in this game anyways. I can see Liverpool scoring and if Soto is starting, as rumoured, we will be slower at the back and conceding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,604 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Carroll v Djourou is key (if Djourou plays).

but i fancy a big game from Luis Suarez, to really announce himself officially to the league.

realistically, i predict 3-1 Arsenal.

optimistically, i'll go for 0-1 Liverpool.