Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bullets, bomb scares, death threats, attacked in the streets and now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Le King wrote: »
    Too many dinosaurs out there too. They aren't fans though. They are bigots. I very much doubt the majority share these views.

This is something I've always had an issue with. I work with quiet a few Rangers fans, and while in general I do get on with them, its impossible to ignore the fact that the shirt they're wearing is that of what has long been a sectarian club. While I agree that its only a minority of 'fans' that are spouting the usual sh!te about killing Lennon on followfollow, I dont see how anyone who does not hold sectarian/BNP style views can supports Rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Degag wrote: »
    Is this actually news? I mean afaik Lennon has received more than a few "suspicious packages" through the post over the years as i'm pretty sure have former players and managers. Hell, it's not right but it's not like the game should be called off or anything....

My God...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Just a note on this. Never seen any of the regular teddies on here condem or distance themselves from this. Not saying they have to, and some on here are decent lads.

Their fans just keep adding to their woes. While it may not be a majority, it's a significant minority of them who support these bigots/attempted murders, and unless they stand up for Lennon and indeed their own club it may have a tragic ending.

The image of that club is damaged serverly since Christmas and alot don't seem to care, which is mind bogggling.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Just a note on this. Never seen any of the regular teddies on here condem or distance themselves from this. Not saying they have to, and some on here are decent lads.

Their fans just keep adding to their woes. While it may not be a majority, it's a significant minority of them who support these bigots/attempted murders, and unless they stand up for Lennon and indeed their own club it may have a tragic ending.

The image of that club is damaged serverly since Christmas and alot don't seem to care, which is mind bogggling.

To be fair, if you read the Celtic thread, you'll see EB has pretty clearly stated his view of whoever sent the bombs.

PauloMN wrote: »
    To be fair, if you read the Celtic thread, you'll see EB has pretty clearly stated his view of whoever sent the bombs.

Yeah, just read it duh.

Not just saying this but he's decent. I know that may be a bit after the horse has bolted but true. Fair play EB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Not been on the computer since yesterday afternoon as BBC Alba were showing the match delayed at 10pm so didn't see or read anything about this until this morning.
    You were to quick to start condemning folk

The people responsible for this are the lowest form of scum I can think of if or when they are caught they should be locked up and the keys thrown away.
    These people call themselves Rangers supporters they are not supporters in any shape or form they are nothing short of a total embarrassment to the club.
    As for the idiots making sick comments on other forums they are nothing but keyboard hardmen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Is this actually news? I mean afaik Lennon has received more than a few "suspicious packages" through the post over the years as i'm pretty sure have former players and managers. Hell, it's not right but it's not like the game should be called off or anything....

Yeah getting nail bombs in the post is pretty run of the mill stuff for the modern day football manager, there is much more important stuff to talk about like is hayley mc queen really hot.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Fcuk me I hope you were coming in from the pub or something when you posted this, how you can dismiss this as a run of the mill thing is beyond me.

And tell me what other players and managers have had to put up with this crap?? And would you dismiss it as lightly if say Liverpool* fans sent nailbombs to Alex Ferguson, his solicitor and a man utd supporting MP?

* This is just an example of a rivarly no reflection of Liverpool or their fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Fcuk me I hope you were coming in from the pub or something when you posted this, how you can dismiss this as a run of the mill thing is beyond me.

And tell me what other players and managers have had to put up with this crap?? And would you dismiss it as lightly if say Liverpool* fans sent nailbombs to Alex Ferguson, his solicitor and a man utd supporting MP?

* This is just an example of a rivarly no reflection of Liverpool or their fans.

Careful now, we don't want boards boycotted.:)

Not been on the computer since yesterday afternoon as BBC Alba were showing the match delayed at 10pm so didn't see or read anything about this until this morning.
    You were to quick to start condemning folk

The people responsible for this are the lowest form of scum I can think of if or when they are caught they should be locked up and the keys thrown away.
    These people call themselves Rangers supporters they are not supporters in any shape or form they are nothing short of a total embarrassment to the club.
    As for the idiots making sick comments on other forums they are nothing but keyboard hardmen

Wouldn't expect anything else from you BBE... yourself and EB are your usual decent selves when it comes to this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

As per usual it is Celtic getting provoked. It always has been and it always will be. Yet you get the same people remarking "they are both the same", "as bad as one another" and the usual cliches that are bandied about by ignorant people.

This will not get as much attention as it should do. We are only on Page 4 of this thread and this happened yesterday. If it was any other manager there would be tens of pages already but the majority of people on here dont think this is worth commenting on. A leading politician, a leading lawyer and the Celtic manager sent bombs in the post simply because they are Celtic fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

tommyhaas wrote: »
    This is something I've always had an issue with. I work with quiet a few Rangers fans, and while in general I do get on with them, its impossible to ignore the fact that the shirt they're wearing is that of what has long been a sectarian club. While I agree that its only a minority of 'fans' that are spouting the usual sh!te about killing Lennon on followfollow, I dont see how anyone who does not hold sectarian/BNP style views can supports Rangers

So Celtic have no sectarian fans??? :confused:
    On a personal note I have experience that they do.
    I was in Albufeira in the Algarve last July and was in a wee Celtic bar...just went in for the craic as there was a live singer...he was singing a mixture of Irish songs and Celtic songs...he sung one Celtic song and the crowd (who were all Scottish and included many middle aged and young women) added on their own lyrics which included the IRA. I had to smile to my wife who is from Mayo as I didn't know what else to do...I'm a Rangers fan...needless to say I left after the 1st drink.
    Sectarianism is a problem with both Rangers and Celtic...that is a fact!!!
    I will continue supporting Rangers and so will many other decent none sectarian Rangers fans!!!
    We will also continue to condemn sectarianism on both sides!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Paul4As wrote: »
    I was in Albufeira in the Algarve last July and was in a wee Celtic bar...

Jinkys by any chance? Biggest\smallest kip ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Wouldn't expect anything else from you BBE... yourself and EB are your usual decent selves when it comes to this kind of thing.

Damned if you do and damned if you don't it seems with the likes of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Neil Lennon should resign after this year, it's gone too far. If he stays he won't live to see 50. If Celtic were able to entice MON back Lenny wouldn't be doing the club a disservice by any means

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

So Celtic have no sectarian fans??? :confused:
    On a personal note I have experience that they do.
    I was in Albufeira in the Algarve last July and was in a wee Celtic bar...just went in for the craic as there was a live singer...he was singing a mixture of Irish songs and Celtic songs...he sung one Celtic song and the crowd (who were all Scottish and included many middle aged and young women) added on their own lyrics which included the IRA. I had to smile to my wife who is from Mayo as I didn't know what else to do...I'm a Rangers fan...needless to say I left after the 1st drink.
    Sectarianism is a problem with both Rangers and Celtic...that is a fact!!!
    I will continue supporting Rangers and so will many other decent none sectarian Rangers fans!!!
    We will also continue to condemn sectarianism on both sides!!!

Gosh.... imagine that. :rolleyes:

Usual "two side of the same OF coin" nonsense. Bombs and bullets in the post, threats and assaults on Lennon, Rangers in the dock on multiple counts with UEFA, Rangers fans smashing up Manchester and in trouble throughout Europe, and your retort is.... "I was in a Celtic bar and they were singing 'RA songs?".

Where's the face-palm smilie on here?

You just don't get it. I wouldn't step foot in a Rangers pub as I know what I'd hear. I know what they'll sing on a Rangers supporters bus - I don't care, it doesn't bother me. But comparing those types of situations to bombs, bullets, sectarian and racist singing at stadiums etc. is just pathetic tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Surprise Surprise.

Gosh.... imagine that. :rolleyes:

Usual "two side of the same OF coin" nonsense. Bombs and bullets in the post, threats and assaults on Lennon, Rangers in the dock on multiple counts with UEFA, Rangers fans smashing up Manchester and in trouble throughout Europe, and your retort is.... "I was in a Celtic bar and they were singing 'RA songs?".

Where's the face-palm smilie on here?

You just don't get it. I wouldn't step foot in a Rangers pub as I know what I'd hear. I know what they'll sing on a Rangers supporters bus - I don't care, it doesn't bother me. But comparing those types of situations to bombs, bullets, sectarian and racist singing at stadiums etc. is just pathetic tbh.

The singing of sectarian songs anywhere should be condemned whever it occurs...whether in be in stadiums or in bars in holiday resorts!!!
    What I couldn't get over where the women singing the letters IRA with their kids present.
    Interesting to hear you think that it alright!!! :confused:

Dancor wrote: »
    Jinkys by any chance? Biggest\smallest kip ever.

Not naming names...I was only attracted to it because of the live music...and the singer was good. I think he is the bar's local resident singer. He didn't sing anything sectarian by the way.
    That is why I am not naming names...the bar itself wasn't sectarian...the clientele were...and they were all scottish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Singing about a terrorist organisation isn't as bad as singing about another terrorist organisation WHILE a number of 'fans' actually carry out terrorist acts.

At least Celtic actually have songs about, y'know, Celtic. All i've ever heard from Rangers fans have been anti Irish or Catholic songs, never one about Rangers FC itself (bar that follow follow song that gets blared through the ibrox speakers)

The singing of sectarian songs anywhere should be condemned whever it occurs...whether in be in stadiums or in bars in holiday resorts!!!
    What I couldn't get over where the women singing the letters IRA with their kids present.

Do you honestly think a bunch of drunk knackers adding "IRA" to songs in some crumby bar in Portugal warrants a mention in the context of this thread which is about bombs being sent to people? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

im pretty sure its the people handling and delivering his post most at risk. he probably does even bother opening them at this stage, theres only a certain amount of things somebody can get in the post, unexpected...

Do you honestly think a bunch of drunk knackers adding "IRA" to songs in some crumby bar in Portugal warrants a mention in the context of this thread which is about bombs being sent to people? :confused:

Yes I do...whenever Rangers FC as a club is being classed as being sectarian on this thread...and in particular by Celtic supporters!!! :)
    By the way I think supporting and celebrating terrorist organisations (which was done by singing in this instance) is just as bad as being part of the terrorist organisation itself!

gustavo wrote: »

Jesus Christ mate, if you can't even understand basic English and that I'm congratulating Eire Bear and Broxi Bear Eire for their usual decency in condemning these fools then I suggest you take yourself to a different thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

gustavo wrote: »

:confused: BBE came on and condemed the actions of these clowns and bobby acknowledged it and praised him for doing so as he knew he would, not sure what you read?? Or are you just trying to stir it, again :rolleyes:

Yes I do...whenever Rangers FC as a club is being classed as being sectarian on this thread...and in particular by Celtic supporters!!! :)
    By the way I think supporting and celebrating terrorist organisations (which was done by singing in this instance) is just as bad as being part of the terrorist organisation itself!

:D So you think a bunch of folk adding "IRA" to the end of songs in a bar are just as bad as people who plant bombs under cars and blow up policemen for example?

Or have I just been whooshed?

Paul4As, you support a team that has a very serious significant minority of supporters who are sectarian. You can say we are both the same, but that arguement is getting old. Mean while the evidence keeps stacking up on your side.

Neil Lennon to me is a brave man, and should have support of The Rangers F.C supporters 100% in this matter. Its time to weed out this element of your 'club' and not blame anyone singing in Portugal.

Paul - No offence mate but if that bothers you that much then set up a thread about it.

This is about death threats to Neil Lennon, attacks on him in the street, viable devices sent to him etc... if you want to engage in "whataboutary" then please start up another thread and leave this one.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

First of all:

Whoever is responsible deserves all they're getting.
    Why they're targetting someone who's basically just one person who's hardly involved in the whole thing in Ulster is beyond me.

However:
    This has nothing to do with him being 'Irish'.
    Martin O'Neill is as much Irish as him, and he never had to put up with this.
    You have to wonder why it's him.
    Is it because he was involved in shady dealing with the IRA ?
    Is it because he's a public figure who has been outspoken about his support for the Republican cause ?
    Is it because he manages/supports Celtic ?
    Only those that send the packages will know.

And as for jumping to the conclusion that it was Rangers-fans, well yeah... :rolleyes:
    The comments on those message boards, some are probably half joking while some others are serious about (The hatred for Neil Lennon is quite big, even I wouldn't talk to him if I saw him). But to claim that those comments can only come from Rangers fans and it doesn't happen on the other side is deflection of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭stooge

Sad thing is, the police are only starting to take this seriously because an MSP was sent a bomb.

Exactly my thoughts.

He had been attacked in the street, sent bullets in the post, had received death threats etc but apart form the attack, nothing was really done by the police.

now its making the front pages because a MSP and solicitor are involved.

Jelle so whats your excuses for McCourt and Mc Ginn?

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    First of all:

Whoever is responsible deserves all they're getting.
    Why they're targetting someone who's basically just one person who's hardly involved in the whole thing in Ulster is beyond me.

However:
    This has nothing to do with him being 'Irish'.
    Martin O'Neill is as much Irish as him, and he never had to put up with this.
    You have to wonder why it's him.
    Is it because he's a public figure who has been outspoken about his support for the Republican cause ?
    Is it because he managers/supports Celtic ?
    Only those that send the packages will know.

And as for jumping to the conclusion that it was Rangers-fans, well yeah... :rolleyes:

Do we really? :confused: And why so? So as we can make excuses for nutters who send people bombs like you seem to be doing? :confused:

Jelle so whats your excuses for McCourt and Mc Ginn?

and what's the excuses for McBride and the MSP?

Do we really? :confused: And why so? So as we can make excuses for nutters who send people bombs like you seem to be doing? :confused:

Well, it's being claimed it's because he's Irish.
    Which doesn't hold up because other Irish Celtic managers didn't get this kind of abuse/threats.
    So there have to be other reasons, right ?

That's the first time I heard about McBride and the MSP though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭stooge

Le King wrote: »
    If managing Celtic Football Club endangers his life or members of his family then I certainly would.

Football is only a game. A game not worth dying for.

Of course family and life comes before football but if he resigned, then it gives the message that violence works. Whats to stop them doing it the next time a relatively successfull manager is at the helm? Whats to say they will stop sending doing this even if he resigned? The scottish ministers and solictor are not managing celtic. should they resign from their posts too??

Flawed thinking on your part.

Well, it's being claimed it's because he's Irish.
    Which doesn't hold up because other Irish Celtic managers didn't get this kind of abuse/threats.
    So there have to be other reasons, right ?

That's the first time I heard about McBride and the MSP though.

Who claimed it was just because he was Irish?

And had you not heard about McGinn and McCourt either?

Who claimed it was just because he was Irish?

And had you not heard about McGinn and McCourt either?

Yeah I did, but never looked further into it.
    Sounds like they (And the Lennon ones too) are probably sent by some Rangers-fan in any of the paramilitaries up north, they are criminals and I can't see a simple fan getting his hands on the materials needed.

And the fact the word 'irish' was included in the OP suggests that's one of the reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Sounds like they (And the Lennon ones too) are probably sent by some Rangers-fan in any of the paramilitaries up north, they are criminals and I can't see a simple fan getting his hands on the materials needed.

And the fact the word 'irish' was included in the OP suggests that's one of the reasons.

Typical of you. The amount of times oyu have posted here and then later siad you didnt know the full story is rather high.

Because nothing happened.

It was condemned, and nothing came of it.

Yet you can't condemn a bomb being sent to Neil Lennon without a list of "howevers" to damp it down a bit, no?

By the way, I think you should be very careful with your accusations there:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Nothing happened where? to what?

Thats exactly the point here Jelle. This element of your supporters which you claim to be attachted to a terrorist organisation, need to be outed. It no doubt breeds futher than just up North, plenty of the same in Scotland and come to think of it behind enemy lines also.

Attempted murders would be closer than criminals.

Yet you can't condemn a bomb being sent to Neil Lennon without a list of "howevers" to damp it down a bit, no?

By the way, I think you should be very careful with your accusations there:

Those aren't accusations, those are facts.

cardwizzard: Yeah, but how do start ?
    I doubt many people would know who they are, otherwise they would be monitored every step they go (And that includes getting on a ferry or plane to Scotland or vice versa).

And Coillte Bhoy, nothing happened to those that sent them.

Back them up please.

Can't at work since the news websites are blocked, but it's easy to look it up, google 'Neil Lennon IRA money' or something like that.

edit:
    http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20100328/ai_n52934586/

cardwizzard: Yeah, but how do start ?
    I doubt many people would know who they are, otherwise they would be monitored every step they go (And that includes getting on a ferry or plane to Scotland or vice versa).

And Coillte Bhoy, nothing happened to those that sent them.

Leave it, and let it fester then. Seems to have worked for years. Or try and be pro active, and rid yourselfs of this scum. How to start, TRY.

Can't at work since the news websites are blocked, but it's easy to look it up, google 'Neil Lennon IRA money' or something like that.

edit:
    http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20100328/ai_n52934586/
    There is no suggestion that Lennon has been accused of any involvement.

So, I'll ask again, can you back up your accusations seeing as you posted them as "howevers" to excuse the fact he was sent a bomb?

Club statement:
    http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=961
    CELTIC Chief Executive Peter Lawwell has today issued a statement following the revelation by Strathclyde Police that viable explosive devices were sent through the post to manager Neil Lennon, as well as to Paul McBride QC and Trish Godman MSP.

Peter Lawwell said: "Celtic Football Club and Neil Lennon have been kept fully briefed by Strathclyde Police with regard to recent events.

“In the face of these attacks, we will continue to liaise with the police in order to ensure the safety and security of Neil and all our staff.

“Neil Lennon is a football manager who simply wants to carry out this role to the best of his professional ability. However, in this horrific ongoing campaign, he and other Celtic personnel continue to be the subject of repeated threats and intimidation.

“It is an intolerable state of affairs which must end. Celtic, from our inception, has been a club open to all. We enjoy friendship and respect throughout the world yet, here in Scotland, we are caught up in these vile events.

“The most recent targeting of Neil Lennon, Paul McBride and Trish Godman - three people who are linked only by an affinity with Celtic - deserves condemnation from all right-minded people.

“Celtic and its supporters are more united than ever and we thank them for their expressions of goodwill to Neil at this time. We appeal to our fans to remain calm and to respond only through positive support for Neil and the team.

“On behalf of Neil and the Club, I would like to thank the police for their support and professionalism. We hope their investigations achieve a successful outcome as quickly as possible.

“Celtic supporters should rest assured that Neil will continue to receive the full backing of everyone at the Club. They should also understand that we will remain strong in the face of such intimidation.”

Thing about Trish Godman, she wore a Celtic top under her clothes for charity!! Beggers believe.

Anyway i'm bowing out of this, and hope that Lennon, McCourt, McGinn, McBride and Godman continue onwards and upwards on their successful lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

donfers wrote: »
    celtic need to find a way to get out of that league, simple as that, things have gone too far now

there has been a perfectly fine way open to both rangers and celtic for any number of years. they buy or form a lower league club in england, change their name to their own club name, and buy their way through the leagues. they could farm out their kids to get them first team experience, and when the time is finally right and the team looks like they'll be getting top flight football, they free transfer all their players over to the new club and move them into their scotish stadiums