Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Curtains - open or closed?

• 22-05-2011 6:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

Which do you prefer? The curtains open or closed?

I like them opened in the kitchen as you need the daylight in there.

But the sitting room and bedroom, has to be closed.

Im living in the city with people walking past the sitting room window. You cant see the TV with the sunlight and if its raining, who wants to see the miserable weather.

Im sharing with a proper cow who is soooooooooooo nosey, she has to have the sitting room curtains open. She due back soon after few weeks being sick and staying at her partner's house. She will end up coming barging in and opening them, and asking me why they are closed. She always does it. She has even said the landlord told her once to leave them open and to pass it on to the others in the house. It was herself talking, not the landlord.

Help me, what do i do?

Im half tempted to pay a guy to stand outside and flash himself while she's gawking out the window. No need to be nosey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Close one and leave one open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

fapfapfapfap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

open during the day, closed at night time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Front room faces due west so when the sun is out (!) they are open in the day to get the room warm as possible, then drawn when it gets dark. As I have 6 foot hedges overlooking isn't really an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've got blinds and I keep them sort of half open during the day, people can't see in but I can see out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Closed in the sitting room - sure I'd be morto if someone seen me watching ellen........While fapping!

Open everywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

The last place I lived in was a ground floor apartment and I ended up keeping the curtains closed all the time because everybody walking by would have a good nose in. I hated it though - no natural light, and no proper air going through.

Now I live in a fourth floor apartment. I do have another apartment block across the road that overlooks mine but, feck it, they don't know me and the odds are that they won't be watching. I leave the curtains open most of the time and if they cop an eyeful, well, at least I have my natural light!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

After hours - asking the important questions of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

It's funny this thread should be posted, I was actually considering getting the curtains in my bedroom lined, they let in far too much light. Defeats the purpose really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

i like the living room curtains open if i am in there, it is bright out, i am not trying to watch telly/play playstation, wii etc, and i want the nice light. if i am watching telly or something then no close the damn things. we live in a bungalow so i like curtains closed when not in a room so as not to advertise the contents. there is a pathway alongside the road about 5 foot ish from my house, and another pathway that runs outside the 5 houses in the row here (for access).

i remember when we first moved down here there was a youth hostel just up the road. we hadn't been here a wet weekend when i was sitting in my room, at the computer (back to the window) with the curtains open and the window open. i heard foreigners talking, decided to be nosey and look see who was talking so loud when walking down by the road. turned round and saw three (spanish i think they were although i don't know) people standing RIGHT by my open window gawking in and talking to each other.

FFS the pure rudeness of it. ever since i have kept curtains closed most of the time. I notice that people, even walking past on the footpath by the road cannot help themselves staring in the window if the curtains are open. i have caught them doing it on many an occasion and stare back with evil eyes:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I have blinds so I don't really feel the need to close my curtains that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Open so i can moon my neighbours

It's funny this thread should be posted, I was actually considering getting the curtains in my bedroom lined, they let in far too much light. Defeats the purpose really.

get blackout lining, room will be dark all the time.

hondasam wrote: »

I will indeed! No more northern hemisphere summer-induced sleeplessness for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Whats that?,when im working nights i go to bed at 6am and its hard to sleep when so bright out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

So any advice for my second question. What do i do with the nosey housemate? I dont want to be threathened with the landlord said to leave them open. Do landlords have a say about the curtains in their house?

yes they do own them after all.

Whats that?,when im working nights i go to bed at 6am and its hard to sleep when so bright out.

lining that lets in no light at all, if you sleep during the day these are a must have.

Surely landlords don't have a say in whether curtains should be left open or closed? Unless they are also living in the house. Otherwise they must have little for worrying about.

lining that lets in no light at all, if you sleep during the day these are a must have.

Oh right so they are like black curtains or something?,where can you buy them?

Surely landlords don't have a say in whether curtains should be left open or closed? Unless they are also living in the house. Otherwise they must have little for worrying about.

It's the OP who has little for worrying about.

Oh right so they are like black curtains or something?,where can you buy them?

they are heavy white lining, you can buy them in any curtain shop, clip on to existing curtains. I promise you will not know how you managed without them.

Thanks a lot Sam,i never heard of them ill have a look tomorrow for them :)

just ask for blackout lining they will know what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Curtains closed all the time for me, live on the ground floor of an Apt block so need them closed cos I never know when the urge to knock one out can strike :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

McChubbin wrote: »
    I have blinds so I don't really feel the need to close my curtains that much.

If it wasn't for Venetian blinds it'd be curtains for the lot of us...

/gets coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Im half tempted to pay a guy to stand outside and flash himself while she's gawking out the window. No need to be nosey.

ill do it for free:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

ill do it for free:pac:

I'l see you tomorrow so? Can you come when the neighbours kids are at school? Dont think they want to see that kind of thing.