Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The justice system is broken

• 07-08-2011 04:00PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

When you read through the sunday rags and an odd upmarket sunday paper,you usually get stories about the latest hoodlum to appear before the courts,usually handed down an suspended sentence or a very short sentence.

These sentences don't seem to actually work,most criminals know if they behave themselves in prison they can get a reduction in their sentences,and some cases the judges seem to backdate them so they can be out in the streets within days.

Our system does not seem to be like the UK where an nuisance can be jailed for "public protection" and be out if the authority beliefs they are no longer an threat to society.

Sometimes i think the average gangster does an actual better job in administrating justice instead of the guards/judges,the gangster can either beat up or execute these vermin's due to some personal dispute,i don't feel sorry for these people in most cases as they have numerous convictions for the same crime and be back out on the streets within months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

when potentially guilty criminals who resist arrest can call assault on the garda who is trying to arrest them, then it's really screwed. that judgement during the week against the garda could blow up so many arrests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Needs to be fixed.
    Urgently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Our justice system is wrong in so many ways it prevents the Garda from effectively policing the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

RMD wrote: »
    Our justice system is wrong in so many ways it prevents the Garda from effectively policing the country.

Our police force is ineffective as well which certainly doesn't make this situation any easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Our just system isn't broken; criminals aren't in control; our crime rates aren't through the roof etc etc etc.

Are things perfect? No. Can things be tightened up, harsher sentences imposed etc? Of course. But let's stop getting carried away with ourselves about how bad the situation is. It's really not that bad at all, especially relative to other Western countries.

It's funny that some people mock tabloids as the dregs, and then couch their posts in the same type of hyperbolic hysteria that the red tops specialise in.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My xbox controller is broken.
    We've all got problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭decembersun77

The justice system here is not good just like all the other systems here! I know that they are wanting to cut education! after they have cut health. Two of the most important things in a society! Well that shows how little they know. The Uk system is okay and functioning but there is a few things that could be improved.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Was it ever working in the first place?

Answer - No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

We've all got problems.

Bloody hell, and i thought i had problems. Sorry to hear this dr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

We've all got problems.

She's making a list
    And checking it twice;
    Gonna find out Who's naughty and nice
    Fidelma healy eames is coming to town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Einhard wrote: »
    Our just system isn't broken; criminals aren't in control; our crime rates aren't through the roof etc etc etc.

Are things perfect? No. Can things be tightened up, harsher sentences imposed etc? Of course. But let's stop getting carried away with ourselves about how bad the situation is. It's really not that bad at all, especially relative to other Western countries.

It's funny that some people mock tabloids as the dregs, and then couch their posts in the same type of hyperbolic hysteria that the red tops specialise in.

Maybe not but things are going downhill and it needs to be stopped before it gets any worse, We are a small country with big problems.
    The main problem is that most criminals have no FEAR of getting caught,
    I have seen young lads of no more than 10 years of age involved in criminal damage right in the middle of crowds of people with not a care in the world, If kids think they can get away with that its no wonder the older lads are walking around doing damage.
    And this aint what i read from papers this is from my own view.