Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amy Winehouse home to be turned into rehab centre

• 07-08-2011 05:58AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Apparently Amy Winehouse's £2.5 million Camden home is to be turned into a rehab centre by her father.

Ahhh, what's worse than living next door to one junkie?
    Living next door to 50...

Seriously hate to be the neighbours, buy a house for that price and then find yourself living next door to a rehab centre,
    would think the value of your house would drop significantly also.
    AMY Winehouse's home is to become the HQ of her rehab charity.

The tragic singer's loved ones believe it "makes sense" for the £2.5million property in Camden, North London, to be the focal point of the new Amy Winehouse Foundation.

It will be boosted by profits from a new single Amy, 27, made with music legend Tony Bennett.

The foundation will boost a wide range of "causes close to her heart", the singer's dad Mitch has revealed.
    He said: "It could include help for children in trouble, kids suffering health problems, children's hospices and more.
    "We want to make a positive difference."

The foundation will be run from Amy's home where she was found dead a fortnight ago.
    Addicts

Mitch, Amy's record label Universal and her management team all agree it is the perfect place.
    Though the charity will run separately from ex-cabbie Mitch's campaign to help young drug addicts, it is also expected to be involved in rehab projects.

The Winehouse family did discuss selling the ten-room, three-storey property. But a source close to them said: "They think it's too precious to give up, hence the new HQ idea.

"They don't want to rent it out and if they sold it they think it could attract the wrong kind of buyer as it was where Amy passed away. They may sell one day but that would be some way off.

The mission statement of the Amy Winehouse Foundation is due to be formally announced on September 14, which would have been the Back To Black singer's 28th birthday. The charity intends to raise funds, then distribute them to individual projects that apply for help.
    Perfect place for HQ... Amy Winehouse's home.

Its coffers will be boosted immediately by profits from the touching duet Amy recorded in March with legendary crooner Tony Bennett. The jazz classic, Body And Soul, will be released ahead of Tony's Duets II album, due out on September 20.

Tony, who turned 85 on Wednesday, said: "All the royalties will go to the foundation that Amy's father is starting to teach all the young children not to take drugs."

The source said: "It was one of the happiest days of Amy's life when she recorded with Tony. She was so excited about doing the song with him. They both fluffed the first nine takes and were being really hard on themselves.
    "But on the tenth take they absolutely nailed it."
    Mitch, 60, added: "I couldn't be happier that everyone involved with Amy and this recording felt they wanted to contribute. Amy was so excited to be working with Tony and really looking forward to her fans hearing the song.
    "The fact that Amy's voice sounds as amazing and beautiful as ever and she is singing with the great Tony Bennett seems the most fitting tribute of all at this very difficult time."

The hard administrative slog of setting up the charity has now begun.
    But the source said: "Everyone is united in making it a success - the label, her family, friends and management.
    "Having the offices in her old house is something they all thought made sense.
    "Mitch has big plans and needs a nice environment where employees will be able to carry out their work properly."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3734658/Amy-Winehouses-Camden-home-to-be-rehab-HQ.html

I apologise if the article is messed up, it got all weird on me when I quoted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

I'd burn the place down before they got the chance. Sorry I know they mean well but feck off if there going to bring that trouble to your door without thinking about your family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Turning the gaff of a dead junkie who wouldn't go to rehab, wrote a song about not going to rehab, into a rehab...I see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Apparently Amy Winehouse's £2.5 million Camden home is to be turned into a rehab centre by her father.

Ahhh, what's worse than living next door to one junkie?
    Living next door to 50...

Seriously hate to be the neighbours, buy a house for that price and then find yourself living next door to a rehab centre,
    would think the value of your house would drop significantly also.

Missing the celtic tiger much?

and I suppose the idea of the rehab place is that the junkies can't get out to get drugs

Mod Note: Alt acc. Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I hate all of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Out of respect for the residents, Mr Winehouse should sell the house and set up a rehab centre somewhere else. His daughter has caused enough damage to the area. House prices will plummet. He should set this up in a council estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

Will this be a rehab clinic for drug addicts or those people who were subjected to her music?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭The Davestator

It wrecks my head when she is referred to as 'tragic'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They tried to make her go to rehab.

And says yes yes yes when it's too late. Typical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

There will be no hopeful spirit about that place. She tried rehab numerous times and failed. The omens would not be good imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Mr Winehouse should sell the house and set up a rehab centre somewhere else. His daughter has caused enough damage to the area. House prices will plummet. He should set this up in a council estate.

Not in my back yard and all that :rolleyes:

• I was actually a big fan of Amy's music, but this is a ridiculous idea. Camden Square is a very, very expensive and upscale place to live with lots of young families. The residents have already had enough of the constant media presence, people singing Amy Winehouse songs all night and stealing the street signs and other stuff. Let them have a bit of peace, for goodness sake. They've already had to put up with her antics and the media attention for months. They should put the rehab centre on a busy city street, not a quiet residential area.

It sounds from the article more that the house will be doing general admin type work and organising fund raising as the charity HQ rather than being the actual centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

I wouldn't hold much hope for success in the Winehouse Rehab given Amy's own experience with rehab. I think Amy's money would be much better utilized in existing facilities through the establishment of a trust that could be used to fund rehab for those that can't afford the fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's a residential area, he'd need a change of planning permission to carry out any actual treatment there. 50 junkies rocking up will never happen.

I find this man agonising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

They could name it The Amy Winehouse - Jimi Hendrix - Jim Morrison Rehab Centre. That would inspire people. All of those successfully kicked the habit and went on to live productive sober lives... NOT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

bluewolf wrote: »
    It sounds from the article more that the house will be doing general admin type work and organising fund raising as the charity HQ rather than being the actual centre?

and you dont even need to read the article, its all there in big bold letters before it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Turn Amy Winehouse home into a Junky rehab and it will also turn the Northern Tube into a Junky line just like the red Luas line we have here.

If I were a camden resident I would be up in arms about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

in other news Michael Jacksons house is to become the Li'l Moonwalkers Daycare Centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Turn Amy Winehouse home into a Junky rehab and it will also turn the Northern Tube into a Junky line .

Admittedly its been a good while since Ive been in London but I was under the impression...............?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Out of respect for the residents, Mr Winehouse should sell the house and set up a rehab centre somewhere else. His daughter has caused enough damage to the area. House prices will plummet. He should set this up in a council estate.

thats assuming majority of junkies come from council estates? that a bit rich aint it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

They should have done this years ago when she might have actually benefited from it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

sollar wrote: »
    They could name it The Amy Winehouse - Jimi Hendrix - Jim Morrison Rehab Centre. That would inspire people. All of those successfully kicked the habit and went on to live productive sober lives... NOT.

What about just calling it "The 27 Club Rehab Experience" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

bluewolf wrote: »

OMG! You actually read the article and then decided to base your comments on the fact that you'd read it? How novel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Yeah I'm fairly sure they're not going to be able to open a drop-in centre without a few years of applying for permission etc., it'll most likely just be the address whatever organisation they start use for admin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Seriously doubt her living there did too much damage to the area. My aunt lived down beside her, and she said she was no trouble at all, that you barely knew she was there half the time. People have been flocking to the area since she died. The house has become something of a memorial. It's going to become a tourist attraction. I don't think they should turn it into a rehab centre, but maybe do something with it that will serve her memory in another way. The area is going to benefit in the long run from her living there, because music fans are going to make their way there to see where she lived. It's like that area of San Francisco where Jimi Hendrix lived - it was the pits when he lived there, and now it's become one of the 'coolest' and most expensive places to live in the city because of the publicity it got from him.

Just gonna throw it out there that she's in no way worthy of the 27 club, despite being a "musician" (cringe) dying at that age in the public eye.

She is no different from Jade Goody in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I heard Alanis Morissette is already on board to perform at the opening. Closely followed by Ed Byrne.

It's going to be a very strange day from what I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

I'd imagine he his talking out of his hole to be honest.

This won't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 deepeedublin

mystique 150, totally agree...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Balloon Of a fish in C.

I thought she was a genuinely troubled soul ,needed the drugs and stuff to keep things going for herself.
    Can't imagine how fame would effect my life ,especially when drugs are invovled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Just gonna throw it out there that she's in no way worthy of the 27 club, despite being a "musician" (cringe) dying at that age in the public eye.

She is no different from Jade Goody in my eyes.

thats a bit harsh!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

It's a residential area, he'd need a change of planning permission to carry out any actual treatment there. 50 junkies rocking up will never happen.

I find this man agonising.

Hats off to you for admitting it openly. St Mitch Winehouse can't do any wrong in the British media, he carved a nice little career for himself as THE go to guy for a soundbyte whenever when his daughter was at her lowest ebb, telling all and sundry he was at his wits end with her. Amy was a bigger earner when she had the tabloids chasing her sh1tfaced thru' London than when she was making music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

I was actually a big fan of Amy's music, but this is a ridiculous idea. Camden Square is a very, very expensive and upscale place to live with lots of young families. The residents have already had enough of the constant media presence, people singing Amy Winehouse songs all night and stealing the street signs and other stuff. Let them have a bit of peace, for goodness sake. They've already had to put up with her antics and the media attention for months. They should put the rehab centre on a busy city street, not a quiet residential area.

Or next door to a government minister's house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Turn Amy Winehouse home into a Junky rehab and it will also turn the Northern Tube into a Junky line just like the red Luas line we have here.

If I were a camden resident I would be up in arms about it.

Up in arms shooting heroin or up in arms protesting? Its going to be the former with the occupants of that rehab centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Bring the rehab to her! Anyway sure there's enough spoons in that house to keep them going for years!

Sooopie wrote: »
    thats a bit harsh!!! :eek:

Not in the slightest.

She's Pete Docherty, Abi Titmuss, Jordan, Jade Goody, Peter Andre, Jedward, whoeverthe **** is making a twat of themselves this week, insert overexposed, talentless tabloid Sun/Mirror muppet here....etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Not in the slightest.

She's Pete Docherty, Abi Titmuss, Jordan, Jade Goody, Peter Andre, Jedward, whoeverthe **** is making a twat of themselves this week, insert overexposed, talentless tabloid Sun/Mirror muppet here....etc.

That's just stupid, to say Amy Winehouse is/was talentless is just retarded. You may have not liked her off stage antics, but she was certainly talented.

The same goes for Pete Doherty to a lesser extent. But you're certainly right with the rest of your list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Bint should be forgotten about.

Total lush.

No martyrs around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

A lot of the people commenting here don't seem to realise that there are council flats across the square from her house.

Bint should be forgotten about.

Total lush.

No martyrs around here.

..........what?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    ..........what?:confused:

You heard me pal.

Nope, I attempted to comprehend the bizarre collection of words that was your post!

BaZmO* wrote: »
    That's just stupid, to say Amy Winehouse is/was talentless is just retarded. You may have not liked her off stage antics, but she was certainly talented.

The same goes for Pete Doherty to a lesser extent. But you're certainly right with the rest of your list.

Right, in fairness she wasn't talentless. But I stick by my original statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Amy Winehouse home to be turned into rehab centre

No, no, no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭The Snipe

Its an idea that was proposed by the guards so that they can find the last of the drugs :D Those junkies can sniff em out better then any dog!