Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs France in BORDEAUX August 2011 **mod warning post 287**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

This should be a good indication of where we're at. I fully expect at least 14 of that starting 15 to travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Skunkle wrote: »
    Hope Murray and Jones get a good stint on the pitch. Dont agree with moving Earls in though I think it should have been Trimble.

I think we'll see Trimble and Earls swicth positions a lot during the game depending on the play called.

Surprised to see O'Leary completely omitted. I hope its not because he's already booked his place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Massive vote of confidence for Ryan, I'd say any sort of a decent shift will book his plane ticket for him, poor Kev McLaughlin is out of the running, Jennings has run out of time too.

Sweet jaysus, putting Ryan ahead of Mclaughlin :rolleyes: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Don't have too many issues aside from Leamy at 8 again. Bloody pointless. Anything else is open to debate but that is just a pointless inclusion. Have to think that Ryan is on the plane. McLaughlin simply won't have enough game time to show he can play a lock/flanker role. McCarthy lacks the experience at this level to sway DK.

Wallace playing 12 again suggests that D'Arcy's absence is a genuine concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

ROG and Wallace? Could be a busy evening down that channel.

Massive vote of confidence for Ryan, I'd say any sort of a decent shift will book his plane ticket for him, poor Kev McLaughlin is out of the running, Jennings has run out of time too.

So after seeing what Ryan can't do in the second row last week we get to see what he can't do in the back row this week :rolleyes:

I wouldn't rule anyone out of the picture just yet though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

Surprised to see O'Leary completely omitted. I hope its not because he's already booked his place.

Oh yes it is

Hippo wrote: »
    Oh yes it is

I know, I know , I'm trying to convince myself that its not the case but am failing.

I read an article in the Examiner during the week that claimed that: "once again O'Learys all round play compensated for his poor distribution" . You'd have to wonder how some people are getting paid to write their opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

And I think Buckley is now ahead of Hayes. Good to see Murray in the running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

theboss80 wrote: »
    And I think Buckley is now ahead of Hayes. Good to see Murray in the running.

Don't be so sure. I'd be confident of Buckley playing against Connacht and Hayes getting a start at home next weekend with Flannery and POC who are both yet to start a game. That selection is very unclear still for me unlike other areas in the pack where it seems Ryan is the clear favourite for the 5.5. and Leamy the clear favourite for the last back row spot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

interesting to see SOB at 7. Maybe means Kidney is seriously considering a Ferris/SOB/Heaslip backrow. The backrow above though is awful. Leamy isn't an 8 and Ryan is uunconvincing at 6. Combined with the midfield I can see France making hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jacknes

Agree with the post on Leamy but i'd say its a strong indication on the situation with Ferris unfortunately. Hopefully both ferris and jennings see some game time in the last two matchs.

I think sob is going to be a very busy man babysitting Rog and wallace. not going to get too much help from reddan or earls either. Leamy not the quickest across either. I could easily see a mcfadden/bod partnership next week.

good to see kearney given more gametime and hopefully jones gets a good run.

overall a good selection following from last week.

Lets just all start praying that the front row stays injury free from now until mid oct.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    interesting to see SOB at 7. Maybe means Kidney is seriously considering a Ferris/SOB/Heaslip backrow. The backrow above though is awful. Leamy isn't an 8 and Ryan is uunconvincing at 6. Combined with the midfield I can see France making hay.

David Wallace will never be dropped, wash out your mouth immediately heathen

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Podge_irl wrote: »

Exactamundo.
    We're obviously not really going hell for leather for this, as we've a winger playing 13, a 6 playing 8, a 6 playing 7 and a mediocre 6 playing 6!

Far better than last week though.

I can't understand playing Reddan with ROG and O Leary with Sexton tho?

• Ryan is not a 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Hmm I wonder where the French will target. If d'arcy is out this is Wallaces chance to convince us he is up to it. I would have liked to have seen Bowe given a chance at 13- hope JOnes and Murray get good run outs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Systic

My mystic powers deduce from that squad that Kidneys first choice 22 will be

1.Healy
    2.Flannery - yep, straight back in no matter what form hes in
    3.Ross
    4.POC
    5.DOC
    6.O'Brien
    7.Wallace
    8.Heaslip
    9.O'Leary
    10.ROG/Sexton
    11.Earls/Fitzgerald
    12.Wallace
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

16.Best
    17.Court
    18.Cullen
    19.Leamy - shudder
    20.O'Leary - shudder
    21.Sexton/ROG
    22.Earls/Fitzgerald

Ryan not McLaughlin will be on the peripheral despite McLaughlin being the much better player, Hagan won't even travel despite being better than both Hayes, Buckley and Court at tighthead, Reddan will be second choice despite his partnership with Sexton being by far our best 9-10 combo, Leamy - no matter how he plays- will be in the 22 and might even get the nod ahead from Uncle Deccie instead of Heaslip or O'Brien for an important game. Essentially, its not the form squad.

All things being fair, this would be my squad
    1.Healy
    2.Best
    3.Ross
    4.POC
    5.Cullen
    6.O'Brien
    7.Wallace
    8.Heaslip
    9.Reddan
    10.Sexton
    11.Trimble
    12.Downey
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

You can whine about leaving out the likes of Earls and McFadden but the fact is Trimble is the form winger not Earls and Downey is a safer option at 12 than McFadden.

D'arcys loss is huge. Hes probably the only player who truly is the unsung hero of the Irish team. He puts in a massive defensive shift and when hes good he can be sensational. The forgotten man, who is always easily dropped in most supporters minds but only when hes actually gone to people realise that the likes of Wallace,McFadden etc. just aren't as good at playing 12.

Now heres a question, where is James Downey now that D'arcy is out? Yeah he might not be flashy but he is a stable 12 for one of the best teams in europe and had a very good year, certainly better than Wallace has had at 12.

Yes, I feel Kidney is going down the road of EOS again, his team has been picked in his mind for months. I wonder if Ross would havee actually gotten into the team had it not been for injuries? Sure he was left out of the AI if people recall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭crisco10

Starting to think that Ryan was always going to be ahead of McLaughlin. It's not like Mcl has wasted an opportunity. He just hasn't got one.

There is an argument, that at 35 Wallace offers more as an impact sub from the bench for 20 minutes.

Reddan/O'Gara/Wallace/Earls. Perhaps the least physical 9/10/12/13 for Ireland in a longtime. If Scotland targeted the 10/12 channel, France will defo do the same and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭cython

Systic wrote: »
    My mystic powers deduce from that squad that Kidneys first choice 22 will be

1.Healy
    2.Flannery - yep, straight back in no matter what form hes in
    3.Ross
    4.POC
    5.DOC
    6.O'Brien
    7.Wallace
    8.Heaslip
    9.O'Leary
    10.ROG/Sexton
    11.Earls/Fitzgerald
    12.Wallace
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

16.Best
    17.Court
    18.Cullen
    19.Leamy - shudder
    20.O'Leary - shudder
    21.Sexton/ROG
    22.Earls/Fitzgerald
    So bad, you named him twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I think the problem Kidney see's with a Heaslip/SOB/Wallace backrow is that it pretty much kills the lineout. They aren't the worlds greatest lineout operators. But then that begs the question why he doesn't try Kev at 6 for that lineout option.

People have to accept that Kidney is opposed with 2nd Rows that can cover the blindside.

Touhy, Ryan and McCarthy have all been selected to play that role in past internationals.

I just hope the backs play with more ambition this week especially when they should be getting good ball from Leamy and SOB on the charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Kinger83

Ryan is not a 6

True, and SOB is much more effective at 6 than at 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Lads alot of stuff about the injured players on here at the moment. Kidney said that D'arcy, Ferris and Jennings if fit wouldn't be risked til the last games i.e 2 weeks time. They were never getting a look in here.
    What is the problem with Leamy at 8? Has played there plenty for club and country. Always was in the shakeup for a place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

You can whine about leaving out the likes of Earls and McFadden but the fact is Trimble is the form winger not Earls

23275_115939951780254_9860_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

buck65 wrote: »
    Lads alot of stuff about the injured players on here at the moment. Kidney said that D'arcy, Ferris and Jennings if fit wouldn't be risked til the last games i.e 2 weeks time. They were never getting a look in here.
    What is the problem with Leamy at 8? Has played there plenty for club and country. Always was in the shakeup for a place.

I don't mind Leamy at 8, in fact I thought he was the standout player in the Scotland game last week. If he's playing well keep him there.

I would like to see the 6.McLaughlin 7.O'Brien 8.Heaslip backrow for just one game, instead were saying fecking Leamy and Ryan. No offence to Kidney but he seems to be giving the Munster players a fair bit more gametime. I mean whatever about McLaughlin getting in but McCarthy vastly outperformed Ryan as well. McCarthy and McLaughlin are performing much better than BOTH Leamy and Ryan right now yet neither make the squad, the mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

If I were Bowe id be getting a bit pissed off now. I know he's a cert to be on the plane but even 20 mins off the bench on Saturday would have been beneficial for him. We really need to have him match fit aswell as he will be starting any big games.

Would even have been better to drop Earls this week and put Bowe in at 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Thanos

If I see Earls announced as 13 tomorrow i'll burst :mad:

Hope it was not too painful...........
    Can us boardsies get together to superglue Earls to the wing?

and apparently not :(

Hagz wrote: »
    23275_115939951780254_9860_n.jpg

Thats right, Trimble has been playing much better. If Horgan could play 11 I would have him ahead of Earls and Fitzgerald as well. The fact is Earls has done very little this year at 11 whereas Trimble has looked very, very good. It doesn't help that Trimble is unfashionable though for many supporters.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

If I were Bowe id be getting a bit pissed off now. I know he's a cert to be on the plane but even 20 mins off the bench on Saturday would have been beneficial for him. We really need to have him match fit aswell as he will be starting any big games.

Would even have been better to drop Earls this week and put Bowe in at 13.

Has Bowe not picked up an injury or summat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

1.Healy
    2.Flannery - yep, straight back in no matter what form hes in3.Ross
    4.POC
    5.DOC
    6.O'Brien
    7.Wallace
    8.Heaslip
    9.O'Leary
    10.ROG/Sexton
    11.Earls/Fitzgerald
    12.Wallace
    13.BOD
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

16.Best
    17.Court
    18.Cullen
    19.Leamy - shudder
    20.O'Leary - shudder

21.Sexton/ROG
    22.Earls/Fitzgerald

Ryan not McLaughlin will be on the peripheral despite McLaughlin being the much better player, Hagan won't even travel despite being better than both Hayes, Buckley and Court at tighthead, Reddan will be second choice despite his partnership with Sexton being by far our best 9-10 combo, Leamy - no matter how he plays- will be in the 22 and might even get the nod ahead from Uncle Deccie instead of Heaslip or O'Brien for an important game. Essentially, its not the form squad.

Just highlighted some little pointers here.
    Flannery is probably one of the best hookers in the NH and is needed if fit, you're shuddering away there about two HCup and Grand Slam winners who have proven themselves, O Leary whilst out of form due to injury amongst other things has shown himself well capable of being at least on the plane. Leamy's covers the backrow and was one of the better players on the pitch last week.
    McLaughlin is the better back row, Ryan the better lock. Not much between them.
    Your slagging of Declan kidney and blathering about "form squads" in the off sesaon is childish and ill informed.