Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC World Darts Championship Betting

• 07-12-2011 04:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

Anyone fancy the field v Phil Taylor??

Just stole this from the Darts forum:
    @setantabet
    Setantabet
    If any player throws a 9 dart finish in the PDC World Darts Championship, we'll refund all losing outright antepost bets for the event #pdc

As the guy says, that's a fairly savage off as there's being 9 darters thrown for the last three years AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

sounds decent enough alright.

Taylor was 5/4 with Ladbrokes a few days ago,now he is even money while everyone else is odds on. fantastic odds imo! those odds wont last much longer,so no........ i wouldnt back against Taylor this time round,last year was a different story,splitting up from the Mrs when the tournament started,i ended up having a nice punt on Webster beating him:)
    He is in fantastic form this year,and never forget this about the Alley pally stage....... most players cant hack it,they are up on a height,different from any other PDC tournament,but Taylor takes it in his stride and imo,will take all the beating again.
    Advice: get on Ladbrokes @ evens;)

GL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭seathestar

If Taylor turns up in the form he has been in the last few months hes going to be very hard to beat.

Aside backing Taylor you could look to having someone e/w in the opposite side of the draw, easier said than done but there could be value to be had. A few years ago Whitlock was a great price (might have been 66/1? not sure) pre tournament and got to the final against Taylor, going that way might be worth considering. Also Quarter betting (to get to the semis) could be another option.

Players Championship starts tomorrow, think it may be on itv4? Could provide some interesting points to who is in form with the worlds so close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

seathestar wrote: »
    If Taylor turns up in the form he has been in the last few months hes going to be very hard to beat.

Aside backing Taylor you could look to having someone e/w in the opposite side of the draw, easier said than done but there could be value to be had. A few years ago Whitlock was a great price (might have been 66/1? not sure) pre tournament and got to the final against Taylor, going that way might be worth considering. Also Quarter betting (to get to the semis) could be another option.

Players Championship starts tomorrow, think it may be on itv4? Could provide some interesting points to who is in form with the worlds so close.

Whitlock is recovering from an ankle injury, he had to pull out of last month's Grand Slam of Darts. I know it's darts, hardly the most athletic of sports but something like that would affect his stance and throw probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Dcuguy89 wrote: »

As the guy says, that's a fairly savage off as there's being 9 darters thrown for the last three years AFAIK

It would be one of the best offers i've seen if the max refund wasn't limited to 30 quid!

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Whitlock is recovering from an ankle injury, he had to pull out of last month's Grand Slam of Darts. I know it's darts, hardly the most athletic of sports but something like that would affect his stance and throw probably.

He hasnt really matched the form he showed 2 years ago anyway, annoying because hes one of my favourite players, on his day his finishing is top class. Id say that injury will have set him back a good bit with being out of form in the majors this year it doesn't help. Cant really see him getting it back for this as much as I wish he would.

.... Now ive said that watch him go on and win the thing destroying everyone with his scoring and finishing power! ;)

seathestar wrote: »
    He hasnt really matched the form he showed 2 years ago anyway, annoying because hes one of my favourite players, on his day his finishing is top class.
    Good point,he blew all his opponents away on his way to the final 2 years ago,his maximum finishes were something else, i had a bet of 1,300 @8/13 on a finish above 139.5 in that final. this was achieved in the first 3 legs of the game,so after that i sat back and enjoyed the final:D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

Dcuguy89 wrote: »

Ya just seen the €30 Max Limit.

I agree with the OP that it is likely that we see a Nine Dart Finish.

Reckon I'll throw 30 quid on one of the field i.e. not taylor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Dcuguy89

Just checking on Odd's Checker and you can get some decent odds on a 9 Dart Finish.

I'm looking to hedge my bets.
    PDC Darts World Championship Nine Dart Finish Betting Odds
    No 1/2
    Yes 13/8

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/darts/pdc-darts-world-championships/pdc-darts-world-championship/nine-dart-finish

Reckon I'll throw a cheeky 30 quid bet on Taylor on Setantabet.com

...still can't see him being beat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

I have €5 E/W on Chizzy, i think he is gonna have a big year in 2012 and wont be long till he wins his first PDC Title, and at 66/1 for the world championshiip its a bit of value, he was unlucky to get beaten to Webby by 1 leg yesterday in the quarter finals of the players championship.

I dont think Taylor will win it, and 5/6 is a terrible price for the way he played this weekend, he has a few days to get back to form, maybe he will, but at that price, your giving your money to the bookies. He will be beaten in my opinion. Get value elsewhere with your money, and not bet on Taylor at odds on.

shocksy wrote: »
    I have €5 E/W on Chizzy, i think he is gonna have a big year in 2012 and wont be long till he wins his first PDC Title, and at 66/1 for the world championshiip its a bit of value, he was unlucky to get beaten to Webby by 1 leg yesterday in the quarter finals of the players championship.

I dont think Taylor will win it, and 5/6 is a terrible price for the way he played this weekend, he has a few days to get back to form, maybe he will, but at that price, your giving your money to the bookies. He will be beaten in my opinion. Get value elsewhere with your money, and not bet on Taylor at odds on.
    You have a great bet there in Chizzy imo but as for a winner?

the bookies have taken Taylor on in the past and more often than not ended up the looser. 2 years ago iirc he was 4/9 at the beginning,they quoted him as similar odds 10 months before last years worlds,again,there is no doubting in my mind that his split from the mrs effected his game,his averages were dreadful in the earlier rounds and that is why i had a lump on the very consistent Webster to beat him in the QF.

Mark my words,in time to come,even money on Taylor to win "his tournament" in january will be seen by most as an opportunity lost,have i done a bet yet? No. but i will post back up here shortly with my bet. i have yet to decide how much to put on Taylor,this is not arrogance on my behalf,its just i dont like tieing up money for a few week's on end. everything said here is just my gamblers opinion
    best of luck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

You have a great bet there in Chizzy imo but as for a winner?

the bookies have taken Taylor on in the past and more often than not ended up the looser. 2 years ago iirc he was 4/9 at the beginning,they quoted him as similar odds 10 months before last years worlds,again,there is no doubting in my mind that his split from the mrs effected his game,his averages were dreadful in the earlier rounds and that is why i had a lump on the very consistent Webster to beat him in the QF.

Mark my words,in time to come,even money on Taylor to win "his tournament" in january will be seen by most as an opportunity lost,have i done a bet yet? No. but i will post back up here shortly with my bet. i have yet to decide how much to put on Taylor,this is not arrogance on my behalf,its just i dont like tieing up money for a few week's on end. everything said here is just my gamblers opinion
    best of luck:)

Good post, To be honest i have never bet on Taylor. Why? Maybe because the price is always odds on or just about odds against, and knowing my luck if i did bet on him, its that time that he would probably lose lol.

66/1 fair enough price on chizzy, asking alot for him to win it i know, but it will be interesting just to see how far he gets, and the enjoyment of it.

I also have a feeling Whitlock could go close aswell, he hit a 9 darter in training the other day, so will be interesting to see him back in action.

I wont be betting on Wade or Anderson outright, i have yet to decide on Lewis, but overall im hoping for a cracking tournament with great darts.

If Taylor does win, well fair play, and well done to anyone who got on at close to evens or whatever they manage to get, i guess in darts i just dont want to take that price for an outright bet, my loss? maybe, but i'll struggle on looking for better value :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭BQQ

Peter Wright is a good bet at 4/6 to beat Jelle Klaasen.

Guys on the darts forum were impressed with his form last week. Have since found out he was using new darts he has described as "magic".

Did well last year - beat co stompe and paul nicholson before running into phil taylor. Klaasen has mostly disappointed since his lakeside win, but continues to be priced as a former "world champion" :rolleyes:

BQQ wrote: »
    Peter Wright is a good bet at 4/6 to beat Jelle Klaasen.

Guys on the darts forum were impressed with his form last week. Have since found out he was using new darts he has described as "magic".

Did well last year - beat co stompe and paul nicholson before running into phil taylor. Klaasen has mostly disappointed since his lakeside win, but continues to be priced as a former "world champion" :rolleyes:
    i too was impressed with his game last week,i was looking at these odds and this game with the dutch man stood out........... 4/5 is available;)

http://www.oddschecker.com/other-sports/darts/pdc-darts-world-championships/peter-wright-v-jelle-klaasen/winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

shocksy wrote: »
    Good post, To be honest i have never bet on Taylor. Why? Maybe because the price is always odds on or just about odds against, and knowing my luck if i did bet on him, its that time that he would probably lose lol.

66/1 fair enough price on chizzy, asking alot for him to win it i know, but it will be interesting just to see how far he gets, and the enjoyment of it.

I also have a feeling Whitlock could go close aswell, he hit a 9 darter in training the other day, so will be interesting to see him back in action.

I wont be betting on Wade or Anderson outright, i have yet to decide on Lewis, but overall im hoping for a cracking tournament with great darts.

If Taylor does win, well fair play, and well done to anyone who got on at close to evens or whatever they manage to get, i guess in darts i just dont want to take that price for an outright bet, my loss? maybe, but i'll struggle on looking for better value :P

If Chisnall and Taylor win their respective first round matches, they are scheduled to meet in the second round. Probably why Chisnall is such a big price.

A few small bets on the outrights and quarters betting for interests sake to start the ball rolling, with a few accums over the tournament! Taylor will be very hard to beat but Im not a fan of taking small prices so I will have a couple of small punts in the hope 1 or 2 might click!

Mark Webster 25/1 E/W 1/2 1-2

My main fancy, after giving me a good run last year and in decent form reaching the players final last week I like his chances of reaching the final at least. If all going to plan will probably play Wade in the 1/4 finals and Lewis in the semis, however it remains to be seen how Lewis copes with the pressure of being defending champ. If it comes to be id say he fancies his chances against either of them. As for the final, who knows, will probably be Taylor unless theres a shock along the way!

Michael Van Gerwen Win 360 (Betfair) / Reach The Final 125/1 / Q3 Winner 33/1

Like doing a big outsider and a bit of a crazy selection but willing to give Van Gerwen a go. Played decent enough in the Grand Slam, although he lost 10-9 to Hankey it was a sign of some form he has been lacking for a while. Up againgst Osbourne in R1, I feel he should beat him. Looking at the quarter he's in many of the players are much alike ability wise bar Anderson, who can either be amazing or poor, with his doubling sometimes being a big hinderence. If he got that far (winning the quarter) id be delighted, but will cover the unthinkable just incase he shows some of his ability from early in his BDO days. At the same time he could flop in the 1st round and be sent packing but with very small stakes and huge odds il take my chance:)

Wayne Jones Quarter 3 Winner 18/1

Tough player to beat on his day, Il have an interest on him in this market. Having reached the semis before he has shown he can do it. Potential tough 3rd round Vs Lewis but im hoping Lewis may falter under the pressure of being reigning champ... queue him blowing him away! If he manages to get through that potential encounter he could play Newton, again another toughie but il take my chances for the craic :D

Good Luck everyone and lets hope its a good tournament!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

A whitlock v lewis final is 125/1 on bet365.
    its unlikely to happen but not a 125/1 shot.

l fancy a reapeat of last years final of anderson v lewis which is a generous enough 14/1.

l've done those 2 bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

a whole €1 on Kim Huybrechts to win @ 400/1, :p not that he has a chance but I seen him play once and thought he was good against Taylor

Derek! wrote: »
    a whole €1 on Kim Huybrechts to win @ 400/1, :p not that he has a chance but I seen him play once and thought he was good against Taylor

I think l seen someone tipping him against Dolan the irish lad in the first round match at 1/1.

might do a treble him p wright 4/6 and ian white 6/5

robbie1977 wrote: »
    I think l seen someone tipping him against Dolan the irish lad in the first round match at 1/1.

might do a treble him p wright 4/6 and ian white 6/5
    I dont know much about Ian White but I think Wright is very good on his day, not to mention his hair styles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,233 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I like Scott Rand @ 6/5 v Andy Smith. Rand was very good in the players last weekend

Not long to go now and im a bag of nerves,just out of interest,ive a wee punt on the dutchman in the opener as jamie craven is not worth backing based on his display in the players tournament last week.

ive a decent double done on lewis and webby to win,which is no forgone conclusion.

craven hitting a lot of 5s and going nowhere fast unless he ups his game considerably after the break,no maximums yet for him

I dont know much about Ian White but I think Wright is very good on his day, not to mention his hair styles :D

Yea I've never heard of Ian White either but he was being tipped on the darts forum
    against robert thornton who l taught was a decent player so there must be something in it like thornton totally out of form.

and wright has got new darts recently and loves them
    and is meant to be in great form.

in hindsight after rearding what l've wrote there about white it would make sense me investigating about it before backing.

have a read of the darts forum thread thread derek they are very knowlegable on the darts.

Yea I've never heard of him but he was being tipped on the darts forum
    against robert thornton who l taught was a decent player so there must be something in it like thornton totally out of form.
    i dont understand:confused: peter wright is playing jelle klassen.

i will be havin a bit of the 4/5 on offer on wright who played very well last week

Sorry I was talking about Ian White not Wright.

Nice one Robbie, i'll have a look

I forgot how bad Webster can be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Anyone fancy Lewis -2.5?

Im gona sort out my betfair account and try trading on these darts matches.
    the market fluctuates so much its unreal.

I'd say most games both players hit 1.5 in running thats evenly priced pre game .

I covered myself a bit for a €16 loss on a treble if Richie wins and a €38.53 profit if Webster does

good thing I did to, I'm clueless as to why Webster kept switchin to treble 19 when he just wasn't hittin it tonight :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭PopTarts

Got Lewis @ 4/1 there 5 minutes ago

€20 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

PopTarts wrote: »
    Got Lewis @ 4/1 there 5 minutes ago

€20 on

I almost got it. Huge mistake there from powers. Before I could lay on it they changed it to 1/8

BOHtox wrote: »
    I almost got it. Huge mistake there from powers. Before I could lay on it they changed it to 1/8

Knowing my luck now Heydon will win it!

haha, he's looking decent but I still reckon Lewis at this moment in time

BOHtox wrote: »
    haha, he's looking decent but I still reckon Lewis at this moment in time

2 sets down! :rolleyes:

OMG..........:eek: Lewis going out? looks like it as Heydon is unrelenting

Lewis @10/11
    Heydon @ 4/5
    Not too sure who to go for.

Over to the darts forum I go
    >

4/5 Heyden is huge value in running. Massive.

I got both of them to win both at over evens. The odds flucuate so much that I managed to get them over evens at different times. Lovely stuff. Time to relax and watch a bit of darts

I got Heydon so that if he does win I'll break even.

If Lewis wins, I'm up €60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,453 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

odds up and down in this match so much

I wonder if they will pay the 4/1 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

2 sets down! :rolleyes:

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I wonder if they will pay the 4/1 though

l'd pretty sure they will they made a similar mistake on the rugby at the weekend and paid out.

It would have been lovely to get on then, maybe next time

bet365 site update the scores before the player throws on the tele.
    l think the live sign should be taken down off the screen

Shocking stuff!

That Heydon fella is very good :eek:

Great game though. Heydon isn't going to give up!