Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Year Ambition- Bike Newbie

• 02-01-2012 02:29PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭

Ok lads after a lot of deliberating and debating with myself i have decided my ambition is to complete the ring of kerry cycle 2012 , Although i havent been on a bike since i was 10 !!

Firstly i need to purchase a bicycle , budget has to be my decider but i need something thats decent enough to complete such events , i would be willing to spend about 1000 euros to get me set up incl a helmet , clothing ,etc , i prob wont get the cycling shoes just yet .

I have been looking for a second hand bike and i have found one on a classified site that suits my budget , and my size, ill just post the details of it here to see what ye think of it,

Merida Road Race 905

FRAME: Road Race HFS-Single

FORK: Carbon Road

BB SET: attached

BRAKE LEVERS: Shimano Ultegra

BRAKES F/R: Shimano Ultegra

BRAKE FRONT: Shimano Ultegra

BRAKE REAR: Shimano Ultegra

CHAIN: Shimano CN-5600

CHAINWHEEL: Shimano Ultegra 50-34

DERAILLEURS F/R: Shimano Ultegra Double / Ultegra

FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano Ultegra Double

REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano Ultegra

FREEWHEEL: Shimano CS-5600 11-25

Weight 8.4 kg (w/o pedals

Im 5ft 3 so i think the 50 should suit me best after doing a bit of googling,
    If ye can let me know what you would think of something like this for a beginner or if anyone would have a bike that they think would suit me , id be delighted to get some advice,

Thanks a million, great community you have here , hopefully ill become a regular when i get a bit more educated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

im not too good with bike sizing (im sure someone else here will give you hand on that front) but that seems like a lovely bike, have you a direct link to the ad? how much is the seller asking? if its second hand id try to get someone who knows a little about bikes to look at it with you, as they may be able to spot something you wouldnt (been there myself)

The Ring of Kerry is a great event to get yourself into cycling, il be doing it myself for the first time this year :D people of all cycling abilities will be at it so no need to think you have to be a pro to do it, think i remember a guy with a bmx doing it last year :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

thanks for the reply Sean , wasnt too sure what the rules were here about posting links

Here it is
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/bicycles/2738788

Ya really looking forward to getting back cycling something i had always enjoyed , Thats great that your considering doing it too as a newcomer we can hold up the back of the pack together :D, i have been researching bikes for the past few weeks in my spare time but its really hard to get used to the mechanical terminology and brands , its brilliant to have somewhere to go for a helping hand !!

I think getting it into your frame of mind to do something is the hardest part , if someone asked me to do the ring of kerry last year , id have replied i wouldnt drive it let alone cycle it :D

Vivienne23 wrote: »
    thanks for the reply Sean , wasnt too sure what the rules were here about posting links

Here it is
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/bicycles/2738788

Ya really looking forward to getting back cycling something i had always enjoyed , Thats great that your considering doing it too as a newcomer we can hold up the back of the pack together :D, i have been researching bikes for the past few weeks in my spare time but its really hard to get used to the mechanical terminology and brands , its brilliant to have somewhere to go for a helping hand !!

I think getting it into your frame of mind to do something is the hardest part , if someone asked me to do the ring of kerry last year , id have replied i wouldnt drive it let alone cycle it :D

yeah looks like a lovely bike, but again id bring someone who knows there stuff to have a look at it, i think the frame is aluminum right?

yeah looking forward to the RoK this year, was going to do it last year but the lack of bike/fitness kept me away :D this year though il be a cycling machine.....hopefully :o

it takes am bit of googling researching and asking questions to get your head around all the different brands/components but stick with it, its great to know about all the little parts on the bike in case anything goes wrong

if someone told me 3 years ago id be wearing lycra on a road bike i would have laughed at them :o oh how things have changed haha

if you have any other questions fire away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Good luck Viv. Next step will be join a club. Would also recommend you do a few shorter sportives (organised cycle rides often for charity) before tackling the ring of Kerry. Have a look at the leisure cycling site and facebook page. New group aimed at encouraging non competitive cycle riding along th lines of ROK and other sportives.

http://www.leisurecycling.ie/
    https://www.facebook.com/leisurecycling

Hey Alexander ya i seen that site last night , must have a proper root around it now later ,
    Ya im in limerick and there is a cycling club here but i think ill just do some practising on my own first before i go riding with groups i could be the cause of a pile up till i get my bearings again :) , from your experience what are the advantages of joining a club ? besides meeting other riders obviously ?

Im not too sure what frame it is but with the weight of it i would presume aluminium , must have a look at that ,

It is also a 10 speed that equals twenty gears , is this enough ?, yep id definitely do some smaller events before ROK even to get a feel for the way the events are run etc ..
    Thanks guys!

the good thing i find with being in a club is that you push yourself to get better when you are around other cyclists, i find it much easier to push myself like crazy when i have other cyclists around me whereas when im by myself im tempted to just get lazy :D

id say its aluminum as well but just find out to be on the safe side (buying carbon second hand can be a tricky business)

Yeah 20 gears is pretty much the norm on road bikes so thats grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Definitely looks a decent bike. There are a load of sites to help with sizing, google will be the best bet.
    It's mad how cycling gets to you. I've had a mountain bike for the last 6 years and ridden that a fair bit and never looked at road bikes. The past 12 months I'd say I've been on the MTB half a dozen times and have taken to wearing lycra and cycling further than I drive.

I can see how it would take off, I have never liked walking as a form of exercise , I learned how to swim before Xmas and love that but I wouldn't be great with using the other equipment in the gym , I'd prefer to be out in the air where you can see what passes you buy,

Ya I think that bike should do me for what I need just have a bike shop getting me some prices tomoro so gonna see what that turns up first before I commit to anything ,

Must have a look at some beginner threads for the best way to get training , the thing I'm dreading is the Lycra :) , I have a mental picture of me being like a female version of the only gay in the village from little Britain

Has anyone any tips as to what helmet to get ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Zebrano

Fair play to ya
    I got a mountain bike last summer and did a 40km an post meath cycle and in august did a 90km an post in waterford was great craic
    Plan for this year is to get a road bike and bo the wicklow 200 in june
    Goodluck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 chris2bhoy

hiya viv-) was actually going starting a thread on whats the best bike to buy for the rok like you will be doing it for first time only started getting into cycling late last year after breaking my ankle and was only exercise i could do brought a cheap viking road bike and while a great bike need an upgrade as for your training its good to mix it some evenings by yourself and maybe once or twice a week in a group and defo if possible do one or two local sportives before the ring if for nothing else just to get used to riding in a crowd!! good quality helmet is advised in the long run worth it!!

Hey Chris , lots of people planning for the ROK for the first time at least we won't be alone :) , how are u getting on with the cycling since you have only started recently enough ? Have you done many events ? or what distances do u do?

Yep I'm thinking of the tour of Connemara in may ,

I'm gonna def spend some money on a good helmet do u know any good brands or are they all similar ?

(sorry about the text speak for some of this , on my phone and it's a force of habit)

aw no probs viv aww love the cycling ever since firs cycle i went for which was about 15 miles or so and ended up doing 40 miles reguarly last summer great exercise mind after a cycling in the fresh air youd be starving-)! i done two local sportives cycles last year a 70 mile and a 40 mile wont lie with m bike the 70 was a test twas like i was driving a mini and the rest had mercedes hence my deciding on upgrading a little! iv a giro helmet twas 45 euro i think its comfortable which is the main thing not sure how good it would be in a fall hopefully il never find out!!!!-)

chris2bhoy wrote: »
    aw no probs viv aww love the cycling ever since firs cycle i went for which was about 15 miles or so and ended up doing 40 miles reguarly last summer great exercise mind after a cycling in the fresh air youd be starving-)! i done two local sportives cycles last year a 70 mile and a 40 mile wont lie with m bike the 70 was a test twas like i was driving a mini and the rest had mercedes hence my deciding on upgrading a little! iv a giro helmet twas 45 euro i think its comfortable which is the main thing not sure how good it would be in a fall hopefully il never find out!!!!-)

45 euro seems like a small price to pay if ya ever did come off but touch wood we never do find out is right :) , I emailed the leisure cycles site tonight was gonna become a member there and get there bike clothing kit too, Niall was very helpful and responded so quickly !

I'll keep ye updated with the bike progression :) hopefully will know more tomoro !

word of warning, the sport is very addictive :D your wallet will be crying shortly after you take it up haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,246 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'm gonna def spend some money on a good helmet do u know any good brands or are they all similar ?

All helmets offer very similar levels of protection. Extra money gives less weight, more vents and fancier materials.

Bell are generally easy to fit due to the cradle design, but can look a bit mushroomy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 morann

Hi Vivienne,

That spec looks excellent. Anything with Ultegra on it at that price is great.

Just be careful buying second hand? Sizing is crucial, warranty on parts, etc.

Buying from a shop will get you better servicing etc.

Have you got a bike to work scheme option? (sorry if you answered this already, didn't read through every response).

Joining a club is a good idea as you get to cycle with other cyclists and group cycling skills are vital. Getting out on your own is important too as you get fitter quicker fighting the elements. A mix is what you need. Also, some clubs start at distances that don;t suit some cyclists. As Alex said in his response LCI basically meet at events but do monthly training, aiming initially for the Wicklow 100/200.

Hope this helps.
    Niall

morann wrote: »
    Hi Vivienne,

That spec looks excellent. Anything with Ultegra on it at that price is great.

Just be careful buying second hand? Sizing is crucial, warranty on parts, etc.

Buying from a shop will get you better servicing etc.

Have you got a bike to work scheme option? (sorry if you answered this already, didn't read through every response).

Joining a club is a good idea as you get to cycle with other cyclists and group cycling skills are vital. Getting out on your own is important too as you get fitter quicker fighting the elements. A mix is what you need. Also, some clubs start at distances that don;t suit some cyclists. As Alex said in his response LCI basically meet at events but do monthly training, aiming initially for the Wicklow 100/200.

Hope this helps.
    Niall

Hi Niall thanks for taking the time to reply , I don't have the bike to work scheme as I'm self employed , so a grand is all I can spare to spend , I know what ur saying about buying second hand but that's all I can afford , unless the bike shop can come back with some good pricing , can't wait to get back in the saddle altho you wouldn't do much cycling down here today with the weather !!

no probs viv and today is a great day for a cycle knowing the irish summers we have been getting today would be great training lol-)

Just a quick update ..
    Bought a bike :) although it wasn't the one I had previously posted :( !!
    Basically I have spent the last 2 days listening to "it's just a phase your going through" ... " you will use it for the first week then it will turn into a clothes horse" etc etc .. Great encouragement !!

So it got me re thinking my budget just incase they were right , was saying this to a friend of mine and he said he had a friend selling a racing bike that was practically new for 150 euro and threw in a water bottle and a brand new pair of padded shorts :)
    He arrived on with it tis evening and it fits great but Jesus the wheels are fair narrow!!

The make of the bike is claud butler San Remo it's only a 7 speed and has aluminium frame , but most importantly it has wheels and brakes :)

So from here the journey begins , going to put the previous budget money left over to one side to maybe upgrade later in the year if all goes to plan , it might sound like self doubt but i have been known to go through phases every now and again so better to keep my few bob got a while and see how I go .... Off to buy my new helmet tomoro :)

So all I need now is a bit of sunshine and were off ...woohooo !!

well ware to the new purchase-)

Right lads .... Were off !
    Went for a 5 mile cycle the other morning before work , thought I'd never make the last mile , breathing was hard and legs were tired only averaging about 10 miles an hour, but only starting out so all I can do is improve!
    After the shock I got after the 5 miles said I'd better start doing something about my fitness , have an exercise bike at home and started with 5 miles and now up to 12 miles with medium resistance at avg 22mph before Im ready to pass out :) , I know you don't have the same conditions as road cycling but do ye think this will help me? Only really started at it this week and can already feel my thigh muscles tightening and 3lb lost , I reckon the ring of Kerry might be a bit ambitious , I was hoping if I kept all of ye updated , ye might be able to guide me along the right path!
    Also my cousin has a bike we are going to start riding together but I want to get my pace up first not to be holding him back
    Let me know any tips etc. I use the exercise bike every night

Thanks a mil lads
    Viv .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Postit

I use the exercise bike every night

I'm no fitness expert so perhaps someone here will advise you better, but my tuppence worth is that rest days are physically necessary so that the muscles can repair, rebuild and strengthen.

From a point where you did no exercise at all, to exercising every day could mean that you are over-training and will most likely get injured at some point.

When that happens, you risk becoming demotivated and by the time the injury heals, mentally you may feel you have to start all over again.

Get some proper advice though, everyone is diffferant. Just be careful.

Good luck!

yeah starting out from nothing i would leave a rest day for the legs to recover, id also get some sort of recovery drink to take after a cycle (i use this stuff) as you get fitter you can start to do it every day if your up for it, just dont burn yourself out with it at the start, enjoy it :D

Taking yere advise lads !! Gonna take today off as a well earned break :) might head to the swimming pool later instead for a bit as it's not as intense ! Might get the bike to a bike shop tomoro for a service as I have a clicking, a service wud prob do no harm either !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Consey

In my opinion the RoK is now ambitious for you. If you can keep going, you will find yourself doing more and more all the time. Even by say mid Ferbruary, you should find a good improvement.

As the other lads say though, do listen to your body and give yourself rest days etc.

I know a colleague at work who wasn't fit and managed same as you - did Ring of Kerry no problem to her and absolutely loved it.

It's a fantastic cycle and a great goal - so no reason why you can't if you can keep going over the cold winter months !!!

Good luck with it and fair play to you.