Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trouble selling car

• 02-04-2012 01:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭

I'm selling a second 06 Jetta 1.9Tdi, there a few things wrong with it, such as some worn bushings and needs some tyres and it also has about 350k mileage. I really want rid of it and wondering will I ever be able to sell it with such high mileage or would i be better just getting it or its scrappage to a car breaker or something and what sort of price should i be looking for, I'm not even sure what type of money I should be looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Deson

markwho wrote: »
    I'm selling a second 06 Jetta 1.9Tdi, there a few things wrong with it, such as some worn bushings and needs some tyres and it also has about 350k mileage. I really want rid of it and wondering will I ever be able to sell it with such high mileage or would i be better just getting it or its scrappage to a car breaker or something and what sort of price should i be looking for, I'm not even sure what type of money I should be looking for.

Put it up for about €1k and it might be snapped up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭quietsailor

ring VW home office here in Ireland and ask if they want it as a test car? - thats big mileage in todays climate for a 5-6 yr old car

BTW this isn't a troll, some of the lads here who are into Mercs would be able to tell you a story of someone in Ireland who get given a free car by Mercedes as their old Merc had I million miles up on it and going strong, Mercedes wanted to see just how good the car still was - I don't have details of that but I remember Merc owners telling me about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,489 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Worn bushes and new tyres generally are not that expensive things to fix. Unless it is a complete POS that isn't driving then I would think that there would be some level of interest in it being a relatively fresh car, at the right price. Unfortunately the mileage will frighten alot off as the Irish generally think anything over 100k miles is a ticking timebomb.

Any photos or link to an advert?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,251 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Whatever cost you have in your head for a repair, is doubled in the mind of a perspective buyer. Get some new(ish?) tyres and get the bushings done. Then you've got a reliable (it did 350k miles!) car for cheap.

It is miles, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭markwho

The cars too expensive to keep up at the moment, has had new calipers, flywheel and clutch in the last year. Not getting any interest in it at all really.
    Here's a link.
    http://www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=773694&r=s.php%3Fm%3D93%26o%3D813%26r%3D2006%26g%3D0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

You could at least wash the car before putting it up for sale. It might be worth putting it through the NCT just to see what it fails on there maybe a cheap fix to get it passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

How do you expect to sell it if you don't wash it :roll eyes:
    I would say that if you clean it well and change the phrasing in the ad so that it sounds more like you take care of it ( i'm not saying that you don't but it's not apparent in the ad)
    Take a pic in the sun and put it on done deal for €2500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ongarite

Could do with a wash and some interior pics to see what condition its in after 210K miles.
    Are both rear quarter panel damaged or is that a reflection from the photo?

Put it up on donedeal too, don't know too many people who are looking on cars ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,252 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

+1....donedeal is where the punters look. you may well get a load of timewasters calling you, but at least you're phone is ringing. It's up to you to talk up the car when they ring, and if the mileage is advertised (and they still call you) then they must have some interest in the car.

Also without an NCT, and the high mileage, you have it overpriced by at least a Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

^This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

As you have it now you open the ad by saying it's in great condition and this list a load of things that need replacing or repairing.

What you should do is start by saying it's in great condition, brand new pads and calipers etc (spin this as a sign of good maintenance rather than the somewhat inevitable result of 350k miles), list all the features of air conditioning, power steering and all that jazz and then say all that it needs is a new bushing, maybe a new switch for the windows and some new tyres sooner rather than later. If you want to sell something then you've got to sell it. Also, don't say it's a low price because you can't afford to renew the NCT because firstly this makes it sound like you'd need a major investment to get it to pass the NCT and secondly, any prospective buyer will decide for themselves what's a good price so you're not adding anything but wordcount with that sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

This ad creates an image of a car that has been abused for nearly all its short life, tearing around Mayo and then up to Dublin, maintained on a shoe string.

That may or may not be the case, but if I was to buy a car with 212k miles, then it would want to have a couple of things going for it. Namely, a full service history and a driver who seemed to care about it. Neither of these things are obvious from this ad.

Plenty cars sell with 200k miles. They just don't have the smell of desperation that this one has. Wash it, get the wheel trims out and talk about service history, etc. See could you put any of the problems right with it.

There are lots of people who would have no problem buying a car with that mileage if the price was right and the car ok. Plenty garda cars sell every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

There's a reason why carsireland is free!

Go and get it valeted, then put up new pics.

Then come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

markwho wrote: »

I saw 3x 10yr old Bora's with bigger mileage sold lately, locally and people went nuts for them.

Pay someone €80 to valet it, you won't recognise it, and it'll sell itself...

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I get the bushings done and maybe replace the switch if you can find one second hand in ascrap yard the two dents can be pulled out by a bodyman for 50-70 euro's in the meantime I would ring around the part worn tyres and try to pick up one pair of tyres the same make and thread wear get a third and put on back with the best tyre you have. Then wash, polish and give a good hoover out.

If that is is all that is wrong with it, It should pass a NCT at that stage all of the above except the switch will cost about 300 euro inc the NCT. If you have a NCT somebody will chance it 210,000 miles is not unsellable in a diesel to a person who is doing small milage and dislikes petrol car or has a buisness and is able to write off the diesel will chance it

And stop wasting your time on carsireland if you price it right it will sell on Donedeal

PS A change of oil and filter would not go astray if you can do it yourself