Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Short Zombie Video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think there's a place for humour, it doesn't have to be all out comedy but funny things can happen or be said and I think it would fit in with the Irish dark sense of humour to laugh in the face of such tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

that same type of humour is quite disturbing to see in reality if you're not used to it. But it's very common among doctors, nurses, hospice workers and the gardai and yep, you guessed it.. the military. Basiclly anyone who's occupation revolves around seeing death regularly. Personally I would be inclined think its a coping method or defence.

If you're going to research it, prepare yourself for a shock. Its much more personal than it appears on screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

Ok folks,

I am going to stop posting any ideas because this has to be discussed in many aspects and details, we also have to take into consideration available items, people and technical gear - but trust me, I don't want to spend time doing something as "original" as seen already in hundreds of other zombie videos.

I also don't want to go for a plot that will be either impossible, extremely difficult (permissions required from authorities, etc.) or too expensive to shoot. So from now on I leave this debate with you.

A quick update down below.

For a direct contact, i.e. if you're interested in taking part:

boardszombieproject@gmail.com

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/BoardsZombie

Hopefully there will be something to tweet soon ;)

Youtube (connected with the Twitter account):
    http://www.youtube.com/user/BoardsZombieProject?feature=mhee

That's all from me tonight,
    seeya.

Keep us updated here Tom :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭DakotaYoda

We do this regularly with our little movie crew where I live... unfortunately that is in South Dakota, USD. I'd be happy to help with suggestions or whatever remote support I could give. I do video work for my primary hobby and some at work as well. Our first full length movie, called Death Rot, will be shot this year: http://www.facebook.com/Death.Rot

Perhaps we could put together a zombie outbreak scenario/story and we could should the story from 2 different perspectives? US and Ireland? Open to ideas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

That would be a brilliant idea for a project how many locations could we do

Keep us updated here Tom :)

Hey,

There is no point at this stage really.

I talk with ScumLord currently, as I prefer to agree all the "do's and don'ts" before we get any further. I would be looking to get a clear-ish picture of what people I will be working with want to achieve. If our views on the project will be completely different, well :rolleyes:

I'm 35 and I treat this idea quite seriously - I am planning to do it from A to Z. As such, I prefer to do something I will be happy with, because I'm seriously not in position to waste my time.
    Let's wait a bit, if it has to work out, it needs to be planned very carefully and discussed before anything goes ahead.

In fact, would anyone from Dublin be up for quick beers so that we could get a quick view of each other?

could do during the week, and dont worry i'm actually the same age as yourself Tom.

Edit: Actually, wouldnt mind meeting a few dubs from here for a brew or two if some more are up for it, two birds with one stone and all that.

could do during the week, and dont worry i'm actually the same age as yourself Tom.

Edit: Actually, wouldnt mind meeting a few dubs from here for a brew or two if some more are up for it, two birds with one stone and all that.

I am after having copious amounts of Franziskaner, Captain Morgan and (oh no, god) Old Sea Dog.

I will respond to all messages on my return :P

DakotaYoda wrote: »
    We do this regularly with our little movie crew where I live... unfortunately that is in South Dakota, USD. I'd be happy to help with suggestions or whatever remote support I could give.
    It would be great to have someone with actual experience involved. Most of the planning will be done remotely anyway so it shouldn't be a major problem that your in the states.

I'll be putting up an announcement probably on Monday evening at this stage as I'm busy for the rest of the weekend where people can sign up to the project and we'll be kicking off the project by looking for the story/script.

Cool just keep me posted - this sounds like fun. We're shooting our first full length movie this summer. More of a slasher flick - no zombies but it should still be fun. It's called Death Rot: http://www.facebook.com/Death.Rot

I think the main thing would be to start hammering out story ideas.
    Start/genius of the outbreak; transmission means; zombie types; how are they killed; how far in does our story start; etc.

I really think its a good idea. I've not seen anything pulled off quite like this before. I'll help write, etc as much as you want.

Other stuff we've done, mostly for LostZombies.com, semi-recently:
    I Was Bit

Z in the Distance

Z in the Distance 2

Campinex anti-Zombie Medication Ad

What was that?

What have we done?

Eternal Beauty

If a scriptwriter hasnt been nailed down yet, I wouldnt mind working with someone to get a bit of headway.
    I'm certainly not a pro, or even an amatuer but i have written a few short stories. Just need direction, a kick in the hole and a few heads to batten down some ideas.

So yeah.. i'm volunteering some time towards this project.. there ye go.. the only time ye'll ever see me commit to anything in black and white! :D

If a scriptwriter hasnt been nailed down yet, I wouldnt mind working with someone to get a bit of headway.
    I'm certainly not a pro, or even an amatuer but i have written a few short stories. Just need direction, a kick in the hole and a few heads to batten down some ideas.

So yeah.. i'm volunteering some time towards this project.. there ye go.. the only time ye'll ever see me commit to anything in black and white! :D
    I have the announcement thread up now with an email address to send stories and scripts into. Anyone can send a script in but we may cherry pick bits and pieces from different scripts to get what we want.

Yeah, so long as i get my royalties that's cool :D

New announcement for filming locations added.

Mm, look at these guys. They've done really good in my opinion:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Irh9Ivtu9l0&feature=related

(I love watching youtube zombie videos on my mobile while I'm lying in the bath.. :) )

I'd like to think we could do better Tom. I don't want to run down that video, they did say it was they're first attempt and it was of a good standard but I think they went a bit far with the colour correction but I'm not to gone on that look. They've washed out a lot of the colour detail and taken it to far in my opinion it has a glassy look and from what I've read "grain is good".

The story leaves a lot to be desired IMO too, much of it made no sense to me. The effects are a bit slap dash too, they lack the final bit of work to make them blend effectively because of things like not colour correcting the effects them selves to blend with the original footage. They did take a project from beginning to end though and if that's a first attempt they did a very respectable job. The composition is good and they went to the extra effort of reshooting scenes from different angles which I think adds a much more processional feel to the production.

An other thing that stood out for me was the costumes of the soldiers, they looked like they'd been broken out of the wrapper right before the shoot and even the guns themselves looked too new which made them look like toys. They looked like costumes basically they didn't looked lived in and there was no sign of stress on the costumes, props or actors.

Ah yeah man, I'm not saying it's a perfect video, no!
    But looking at a few bits, like the wife locked up in the room and shooting the other lad to put him to that shed later (already full of other bodies by the looks of things) - nicely done and fair play to the lads. I'm not saying this is any close to what I'd like to achieve.

Not sure if you saw this, it's a full length film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1v26-FEy8fw

Good work me thinks.

Now, I gotta go, clean up the gaff a bit, otherwise the missus will shoot me in the head.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 X_ShinyDrums_X

Wish I had seen this earlier. Would have definitely written a script :(

Oh and can I make a suggestion? I know a lot of people don't like them, but I think movies that are filmed, looking through a handheld are often far grittier and more intense then ones that aren't. It would make it easier to film as well. Maybe It's been suggested already, haven't looked through all posts as I don't have time.

I think our month deadline for scripts may have been a little bit optimistic.

Handheld brings up it's own problems. For the most part with handheld it's hard to get anything worth while, it'll end up a blury mess as the camera moves around. You can combat that with higher shutter speeds but that can require more light. What looks like handheld in movies and tv isn't. They would have camera stabilizers so they're sure they get the shot and had the camera shake in during post processing.

I have a homemade camera stabilizer and it requires practice to get the most out of it and it doesn't cancel out running to well.

It all depends on the script at the end of the day.

If you want to start putting script ideas together I was going to bring up the possibility of an extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

You could do the handheld camera thing from the point of view of the survivor. Like a video diary of life after Z-Day kind of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 X_ShinyDrums_X

I'll be honest, I know nothing about the filming of movies so if you say it'd bring up too many problems then that's good enough for me.

Ok, I would. But do you know how long this extension is likely to be? I'm off to France Friday and have exams between now and then. Admittedly not ones that are overly strenuous or ones I particularly care about (TY FTW :P).

Also my mum knows a family that'd probably die to get in on this, so I'll ask her to tell them about it.

Don't know if there's any plausibility in the idea. But what about writing to the Irish Film Board (or whatever they're called) to get some money to help towards cost?

I think it's a fantastic idea. And I'd love to come up (not for acting mind).

I don't know how to add videos, but look up I love Sarah Jane on YouTube for a good short film. Not the type of film that you're after but its well worth a watch and deserves all the support it can get.

Degrassinoel WoZ 'Ere

It's not that I'm against the handheld look (although I don't like it's overuse), I'm just pointing out it's not as easy as it looks and comes with it's own set of problems.

Can't say what the extension would be that's up for discussion.

i have a very basic little bit done. Tbh, it's more of a short story than a script. In-fact, it IS a short story. An incomplete short story.

Sorry, but I've no clue on how to write a script. I'm guessing it could be altered to be one. To give you the jist of it. It's in the form of a written account (omg it's diarrhea of the dead!)of the weeks after a fatal infection took out most of the human race. Anyways.. some are carriers, some die, and even more rise again as Z, or maybe devolve is a better word.
    The setting is city burbs.
    The plot has the main character going about his daily routine, surviving, making journal notes and trying to stave off boredom and insanity through various means.
    It doesn't go much further than that as I've pretty much hit a wall with writing, and tbh i just don't have time for it everyday.

So there ye have it, if you's are interested in reading it for a giggle, let me know and i'll try to put some kind of ending onto it. I'm fairly certain that with the content i have on paper you'd get maybe 10 minutes of film at a push..
    May not be to everyone's liking as it's quite depressing and lonely. But.. who said the end of the world was ever going to be sunshine and lollipops eh?

If you're looking for a free, handy script writing software tool checkout Celtx - it's what I use for all my stuff. It's free and works well - it is also now online based, there is a local client install that has a bit more functionality, so it is easy to share and collaborate with others.

For reference, in my experience, figure 1 minute of movie run time for each page in your script. It varies a bit but that should be close.

I'll give that a shot.. and yeah in that case, i have 3 minutes of footage done xD

Most certainly a start! And my 1 min/page thing sure isn't exact. It depends on the writer. Some put lots of notes/stage directions in. So - your exact mileage may vary. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

who can I send my script idea to?

boardszombieproject@gmail.com

Realistically we should probably be looking to start filming this time next year. The summer is always the best time to film due to more sun around for longer. If we tried to film this during the autumn/winter you'd have tiny windows of daylight to try and film in. Even night scenes would probably be better shot in daytime and edited to look like night time.

If we where to aim for next summer, that would give us up until new year to finalise a script and the spring to do pre-production work. Given that we're all doing this in our spare time we might need that kind of time frame. Unless we can come up with a script in the next month to make use of this years summer.

If you are planning for shooting next summer that would be grand. We've got a full length we are shooting this summer/fall and I don't think we could squeeze another one in.
    Once you guys get your general idea locked I'd like to work up a US version that takes place at the same time - just in a different place. Same general theme and feel as the Irish version...