Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris Lord Alge Mixing Masterclass.

• 27-07-2012 08:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭

Chris Lord Alge is having a Mixing Masterclass in Real World Studio near Bath Uk Thursday Aug 2nd.

Anyone want to go ? I may have access to a couple of tickets.

I'm flying in and out through Bristol.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭fitz

How much are tickets Paul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Free.

Cool.
    How are you getting from Bristol to the studio?

all to be worked out!

Flights booked!
    Looking forward to this, and fair play for organising it Paul.
    Really appreciate it.

Here's what to expect ....

http://youtu.be/PibWWdK5JRI

Maybe ?

Thanks to Tweeky for the link.

Ah, so THAT'S how he does it ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Anorak Basement

Only just spotted this today :-(

Looked great.

Let us know how it went...

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    Ah, so THAT'S how he does it ....

Informative day, thanks again for organising Paul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

Sorry I missed this. Busy in work.
    Thanks to Paul for the invite.

Where is the full report on how it was?
    Come on!

The Report.

Photo's here -
    http://recordproduction.smugmug.com/Music/Record-Producers/Chris-Lord-Alge/8850436_8NBRc2#!i=825642453&k=JBPKE

Well it started of with the best scrambled eggs ever in a small caff down the road from the studio as we were too early having caught a 6.30am flight.

After that we were still too early so got to meet the Real World Studio Staff and have a nose around by ourselves. As is often the case in upper end of the UK recording scene (in my experience) people take you as you come - so info was very forthcoming from the studios technical staff, whom I quizzed and had a sneaky show around the whole facility.

People started arriving around mid morning and there ended up with about 80 people there.

CLA himself arrived mid morning with a hard drive of a couple of Greenday tracks which the house guy set up.

Then there was lunch after which CLA started talking about himself.

There were hourly coffee/fag breaks so no one nodded off.

It took til the 3rd session before we got on to something with meat - personally I had no interest in the Head's personal history.

By that stage Tony had to head for his flight and Les had to drive to London which was a pity for them as it was after that the 'stuff' started happening.

Part of his success (and why he mixed some thing like 526 tracks in 2011, Tony might remember the exact number) is that he does the 'same thing' to the tracks he works on.

For example he did one pass on Greenday and eqed the guitars which to me sounded like -
    Sweep upper lows/ low mid for the cabinet resonance and boost that then horse on the top. Checking the console after confirmed that a boost at 160ish and 6+ db at 8k.

Similarly vocals went out through 1176 with -10db at 4:1 .

All stuff I'd read about in interview.

3 run throughs and it sounded like the record, more or less (though there was harmony part I'd not noticed before )

I quizzed him on how much prep went into the PT session and didn't really get an answer. However that night having had a bev or 2 a bit more info was forthcoming. He's 2 lads who cook the tracks to death before it even hits the console .

Again stuff I'd read about - but he didn't want to explore that for what ever reason.

After another break he was starting on another Green day track when the console blew up ! There was a puff of grey smoke out the back and that was that - the bussing card went down.

The upside of that was we went straight into a Q+A .

While that was interesting the nature of such was that really no areas were explored in depth.

Overall I enjoyed the experience and was impressed with Real World.
    I met some old acquaintances and made some new ones.

Did I learn any 'secrets' ? Not really ...

And one more thing -

1 mic on guitar amps - he says if he gets a multi mic recording of 1 amp he'll pick one and ditch the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FergalDavis

Hi Paul,
    So does he always request that the multis are presented to him in a set format ?
    For example does he always work with the same amount of tracks by the the time his minions take care of the PT sessions.

I'd say he ends up using a lot of stems by the time he actually mixes

I believe you get a set of 'instructions' - he has guys who bounce the whole heap to 46 tracks with everything in the 'usual' place - 1 for kick , 17 for vocal etc etc. and I would suggest, ridden compressed and limited before it hits his playback machine , which is an old digital tape machine (is it the Sony one ?)

I remember reading about My Chemical Romances 'Blacl Parade' Track (which whatever your feeling about the music as an Olympic Feat of mixing is to be admired) where he spoke of drums on stems.

Really, there wasn't much to be learned that isn't already in the public domain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FergalDavis

Must be nice to have minions

Here's a vid Ian Shepard put up of part of the day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=iYzDpBtyeyA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭woodsdenis

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    which is an old digital tape machine (is it the Sony one ?)

Sony 48 track DASH. which would be reasonable sounding machines in their day and would still hold up I am sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Platinum Recording

I heard somewhere that he had 3 guy's working 8 hour shifts preparing the tracks for mixing, editing, sorting etc.. And then Chris would mix the 48 tracks to the Sony 48 track DASH.

woodsdenis wrote: »
    Sony 48 track DASH. which would be reasonable sounding machines in their day and would still hold up I am sure.

He said he'd just bought 2 from Bruce Springsteen , so now has 4 !

He reckons he likes what they do to the midrange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

Sony 3348, he prefers the 16 bit version IIRC. Apparently they integrate well with the ssl for automation. Fast work. I'd say that's vastly more important than the sound. Never used any of these things. Except the old 3324 they had in RTE.