Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upgrading from a Micra K11

• 23-08-2012 09:06AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭

6043407821_0cd6899429_z.jpg

Last year when the good lady and myself moved to Balbriggan we needed to buy our first car ever for her to get to work. We were a little strapped for cash having just bought a house so I opted to buy a 1999 Nissan Micra. Now I have no complaints about the car- it's been absolutely wonderful, it's brilliantly reliable, spacious enough and reasonably economical. We've had it for almost 18 months but I'd like to upgrade her to something better.

Maybe next year we'll plump down €5/6k if we have it on something really nice but in the meantime I'd be happy to spend up to €1500 on something safer, more spacious and a little more luxurious. The Micra is about as basic as it gets- not even having electric windows.

Now being a lady, she doesn't always see sense. She has a thing of not liking older cars so it can be a fine line as to what she deems acceptable to drive, but as a temporary purchase I've been thinking about the likes of:

Volvo S40 Mark I
    Ford Focus Mark I
    Saab 93
    Volvo S60

We could keep the Micra until we buy something a little more substantial but it'd be nice to change it for something with a little more poke (the Micra is underpowered for her as she drives on the motorway), something safer and more spacious.
    Ideally I'd want something with leather (not an easy choice on the Focus I know) but it's not essential, it'd be nice rather than necessary. I'd like her to experience a little luxury- hell even something with electric windows would be luxurious to us, maybe air-con, foot-well lighting etc.

Diesel isn't an option as I don't think it'd be practical, she drives about 35km to work and then the same back. Am I right in thinking that the engine wouldn't have even warmed up before it gets parked up.

I'd be happy with anything up to a 2ltr engine. I know it's going to cost a lot more than the Micra but hell why not. I won't be buying for a month or two as we just installed some home improvements and more are to come, but it'd be nice to see what our options would be- my current line of thinking is limited to the options above.

So ideally, something safer, more luxurious and reasonably reliable as I'm not mechanically minded at all. On a side note- mods this may or may not be appropriate and you might be able to answer this if it is- as I'm not too mechanically minded and it's perhaps not worth shelling out for a mechanic to check over a €1500 car, is it possible to offer a nixer to a nominated/respected fellow Boardsie to come and look over a potential purchase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Diesel isn't an option as I don't think it'd be practical, she drives about 35km to work and then the same back. Am I right in thinking that the engine wouldn't have even warmed up before it gets parked up.

Well the theory is sound, but thats approx 16,000km a year (or 350km a week, weekday only), which is fine for a diesel. I wouldnt be running out to buy one for economy reasons for that mileage, but it would be fine.

WOUld herself drive a Nissan maxima? Leathered up ones are lovely and they don't give trouble, big bus though admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

RoverJames wrote: »
    WOUld herself drive a Nissan maxima? Leathered up ones are lovely and they don't give trouble, big bus though admittedly.

I see the praise for them all the time and rightfully so, but yep, I think its size/age would be an issue. The mad thing is that, when we do go for a decent car next year she was fixated on a 05/06 focus but I've been working on her that a 04/05 5 Series is the way to go. Initially it was scorned as being way too big but then she slowly started coming around to the idea.

So while the Maxima is around the same size, I can't see it as being one she'd go for. Shopping for a lady you have to factor in lots of nonsensical reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

RoverJames wrote: »

The Maxima is a lovely car. Very refined and smooth. However, they're not economical at all. We got about 21mpg town and 28mpg on the motorway with it. The 2l V6 is a amazingly refined engine though.

No, that's another diesel myth spread round on this forum. The only time I had trouble warming up a diesel engine was an old land rover during the cold winters two years back. Anything I've driven has warmed up in less then 10 minutes from cold. Put it this way, by the time I get the Xantia on in the morning and get to the motorway exit 5km away, it's ready to go.

Would you add the Citroen C5 to your list? They've always suffered high depreciation so there is loads of cheap ones about.

Rover 75?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

I'm now closer to work than I was when I bought my 2.4ltr S60 diesel. I now have a 15km commute from Blanch to the Malahide Road just off the N32. The engine is warmed up before I hit the M50, at least according to the gauge :)

There is a nice bit of poke out of the 1.9d S40, especially if you're coming from a Micra. That all being said, if you're considering a larger purchase in a year would it not make more sense to wait it out and keep the Micra going, that'll give you whatever additional spend you are planning for this car to go towards the nicer one.

BX 19 wrote: »
    Would you add the Citroen C5 to your list? They've always suffered high depreciation so there is loads of cheap ones about.

Rover 75?

Does the C5 not suffer from unreliable electronics? Regardless, I think she'd probably find it too large.

The 75 is a gorgeous car, the interior just looks amazing. I think I'd have a hard job to convince her that she should go for it but I'd give it my best nagging skills.
    There is a nice bit of poke out of the 1.9d S40, especially if you're coming from a Micra. That all being said, if you're considering a larger purchase in a year would it not make more sense to wait it out and keep the Micra going, that'll give you whatever additional spend you are planning for this car to go towards the nicer one.

You're absolutely right- that would be the sensible thing to do- however, it'd just be nice to change to something newer. I'm not looking at this as a smart financial transaction. She needs a car to get to work (I take the train), so I'd just like if she had something that was a nicer place to be in and was safer than the Micra which is a 20 year old design!

Does the C5 not suffer from unreliable electronics? Regardless, I think she'd probably find it too large.

Not really beyond any other car of the age. They're better then the Megane of that era anyways. It's the same length as the Rover 75 at 4.8m. I'd imagine the Volvos are much the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

...... but in the meantime I'd be happy to spend up to €1500 on something safer, more spacious and a little more luxurious. The Micra is about as basic as it gets- not even having electric windows.....

Will that €1,500 be on its own and you keep the micra too or sell the micra and put the two figures together?

I'd opt for as late a model as a MK1 Focus personally. Cheap to run and look after and very comfy to drive.

BTW I did the same thing as you, started in a Micra and then moved to a Laguna as I was getting tired of it on long drives. But being a Jap car my micra has, ABS, central locking, power steering, electric windows, electric door mirrors, front passenger and driver airbags, alloy wheels, air con and two cupholders built into the dash under the radio!

renofan wrote: »
    Will that €1,500 be on its own and you keep the micra too or sell the micra and put the two figures together?

I'd opt for as late a model as a MK1 Focus personally. Cheap to run and look after and very comfy to drive.

BTW I did the same thing as you, started in a Micra and then moved to a Laguna as I was getting tired of it on long drives. But being a Jap car my micra has, ABS, central locking, power steering, electric windows, electric door mirrors, front passenger and driver airbags, alloy wheels, air con and two cupholders built into the dash under the radio!

Ya big fecker! Ours has ABS I think, power steering for sure, central locking and a driver airbag- none of the passenger, no fog lights, no A/C, no alloys and no cup holders. It's fine around town but for the commute to work it's not the most comfortable for her and she's not confident over taking other cars.

The €1500 will be the outlay for the new car and we'll sell the Micra afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I forgot to say mine had fogs too. I still have mine 12 and a half years later. Still have the Laguna too. At the time I was driving 120 miles a day so soon got tired of it in the micra.

Here is a decent looking 2001 Focus 1.6 for €1,600. I'd say being a cash buyer you'd get it cheaper. http://www.cbg.ie/car_detail.aspx?ID=5135230

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

That Micra would be worth more than the vast bulk (no pun intended) of Rover 75's, and with good reason too.

Echo what most people are saying about diesel, given that the car will be doing a 70km per day journey it will almost certainly save you quite a bit at the pumps.

A nicely finished 1.9d S40 sounds like it would suit your needs ideally and comes in well under the equivalent Audi/VW pricewise.

With regards safety be weary of the 5 series or any BMW, rear wheel drive with a reasonably powerful engine on wet Irish roads can be a very dangerous combination in the hands of less experienced drivers.

renofan wrote: »
    Here is a decent looking 2001 Focus 1.6 for €1,600. I'd say being a cash buyer you'd get it cheaper. http://www.cbg.ie/car_detail.aspx?ID=5135230

It does look alright but I'd probably pay a little more if I could get her a Ghia spec model.
    2ndcoming wrote: »
    That Micra would be worth more than the vast bulk (no pun intended) of Rover 75's, and with good reason too.

Echo what most people are saying about diesel, given that the car will be doing a 70km per day journey it will almost certainly save you quite a bit at the pumps.

A nicely finished 1.9d S40 sounds like it would suit your needs ideally and comes in well under the equivalent Audi/VW pricewise.

With regards safety be weary of the 5 series or any BMW, rear wheel drive with a reasonably powerful engine on wet Irish roads can be a very dangerous combination in the hands of less experienced drivers.

Well when I come to sell it I'll ask what a realistic price is. We've had it given a full service by none other than Nissan doctor himself, and then a full check over 6 months later so it's been in good hands.

That's a good point. She's never driven a 'powerful' car on a regular basis, so she would need to be mindful of something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭kirving

If you're going to get a late Mk1 Focus, try to get a Ghia model.

Not 100% sure what the LX model comes with, but in the 01 Ghia you get aircon, alloys, front fogs, electric + heated mirrors, few bits of chrome/wood here and there. I'm sure someone will correct me on on the specifics.

I still think ABS was an option in 01, so make sure the car has it fitted.

Very few focuses had ABS before the MK2 focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Well when I come to sell it I'll ask what a realistic price is. We've had it given a full service by none other than Nissan doctor himself, and then a full check over 6 months later so it's been in good hands.

Don't worry about the Micra, that will walk out the door whenever you choose to sell.

Trying to recoup anything from a Rover 75 on the other hand when you are looking to do your main upgrade could be a tougher proposition. The same is probably true of most midsize to big saloons when they're a good age, so bearing that in mind an 01/02 Focus or Corolla is probably your best bet for a stopgap.

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Trying to recoup anything from a Rover 75 on the other hand when you are looking to do your main upgrade could be a tougher proposition. The same is probably true of most midsize to big saloons when they're a good age, so bearing that in mind an 01/02 Focus or Corolla is probably your best bet for a stopgap.

Ah I know that larger cars have practically zero resale value, but I'm not too worried about that. I'm not worth a fortune, not by any means but she drives almost every day and having the car made a huge difference to her. Prior to getting it she had to travel to work by foot/train/bus- she spent about 5 hours each day travelling.

So my point being that it's a big deal to her and she's been complaining about the lack of power in the Micra so she's worth the upgrade, it'll mean a lot to her. he'll have something safer, with more poke and maybe a little luxury. I'm not fussed about recouping a small outlay if it means a world of difference for her.