Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that happened while playing football as a kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,846 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

My abiding memory of heads and volleys was asking for the cross to my head. Its a bit short and starts dropping so I drop my head for it. Keeps going lower, then I decide to knee the ball. Ended up kneeing myself full force in the nose. Blood everywhere, everyone laughing.

Or the time I literally caught the ball as it hit my nuts, due to being bent over in pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,950 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

NoQuarter wrote: »
    NEW COMERS IN!!!

Hated that rule, so used to say nah I'm just watching, then join in when someone else came along as they'd have to go in goals :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭ap1986

The constant argument of whether it was "post" or "post and in" when the balls rolled over the jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Those cheap plastic footballs that stung like hell if you got hit by them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭shuyin1

Running rings around the girls as they hack the legs off you, no foul though as they were invincible.

Those cheap plastic footballs that stung like hell if you got hit by them
    it was always a cup final ball.........or a derby!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Yip Toe Drives in north cork.

Changing sides when first team got to 10.

Playing until you could hardly see the ball it got so dark.

Brilliant :D

Somebody's family friend or cousin turns up, and it turns out he's like Messi!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Saying to Goal Hanger... 'why don't yeah build a house!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

realies wrote: »
    Playing soccer on the street and when the ball goes into some neighbours garden the neighbour keeping the ball. Happened to us loads of times.
    = feck the smallest lad over the wall to get the ball back, don't come out without it. Football was deadly serious, no way was anyone keeping the ball! Once in London the ball went over the netting and out onto the Tube lines behind -I was out over the fence and onto the electrified tracks, gotta get the ball back, its 3-2. If I saw a kid do it now, I'd have a hernia.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I'm Michael Owen, no I'm Michael Owen, your were Michael Owen yesterday so its my turn, no I called it first, no I called it over there, no you didn't, yes I did

Then to settle the dispute first person to decide to touch with the ground got to be Michael Owen

alright lads any chance of a game? Dunno you better ask the fella who owns the ball!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Opposite our house growing up in England, there were two trees, tailor feckin made for a goal, with a big brick garden wall behind it. You couldn't have asked for a better footy green if you tried.
    The problem was the neighbours... The brick wall was for 2 gardens if that makes sense?
    One half was a old cow wo would keep the football, the other was pat the window cleaner, pat was a sound auld skin and would always give the balls back.
    Until one fine Sunday afternoon, we used to name ourselves premiership players, this day I was gary linekar, I toe punted a screamer, it hit the top of the brick wall, flew up into the air and we all held our breath to see if it went to pats house, or the geebags house, it went to pats house... All was good.
    Until we heard screams and the normally sound pat came running out and chased us crying....
    Pat kept parrots and whilst cleaning the cages he had 2 of them in a mini cage on the garden table. The ball whacked the cage and killed both parrots :-(

3 days later one of the trees that formed our goal post was chopped down, forcing us to persue an unsuccessful bmx'ing career instead of football.

Sad days, and the toe punt goal was 'over' Apparently :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Fast players constantly just passing the ball to one side of you and then running around the other side

(From Facebook) "Putting the fat kid in goals because you're a tactical genius"

Turning around with the intention of breaking the players legs that just nutmegged you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

We had so many arguments about whether a tackle was actually a foul that we all agreed on 1 simple rule - "no blood, no foul". Made the game so much easier:D

Tony Pulis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Why were you not allowed toe poke it?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

House, House. Watch your House!!

I played for a British ex-pat team over in France, I kept shouting "house" at the lads, then one day one of them asked me, what the hell I was on about?

The pitch we used to play on after school looking like Buenos Aires '78 with all the Mr. Freeze wrappers everywhere.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Why were you not allowed toe poke it?

Was seen as being a cheap goal if ya scored...perceived as being less skillful than a normal shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Getting roared at by me Da when we would use the front gate as the goal and we'd be hopping balls off the back of the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

any one else play pole soccer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

Celebrating winning a match in P.E. like you just won the champions league.

Penalties to decide who would go in nets. Everyone took one, scoring meant you didn't have to be goalie. (Goalie for the pens got a by)

Not leaving after training until you made sure you got your free bottle of lucozade sport of the coach.

Getting the crap kicked outta ya if you hung around the goalposts toe poking other peoples shots into the net.

There were days in school where we'd take the day off and wander about town, but still head up to the school during lunch time for a game of football with everyone else. Good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

anncoates wrote: »
    For some reason, we used to call a long-range shot a 'ging' so you would shout ' have a ging'. Or 'Ging it'.

We still say this :o

The yard we played in had a bad slope in it and the keeper would have a pain in the arse chasing after the ball so when it went past the jumper posts they'd just shout 'play on' and people would charge after it:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

best. thread. evar! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Blay wrote: »
    Was seen as being a cheap goal if ya scored...perceived as being less skillful than a normal shot.

I''d love to see van Persie or someone scoring with a toe poke and then a massive half hour debate/shouting match about whether the goal was legit or not. Then Tevez grabs the ball and legs it home cos he'll be grounded if he's not home by tea time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Culleeo

Augmerson wrote: »
    I remember once going for a game against a neighbouring estate across the road, we were about 9 or 10 at the time. Anyway, most of the people who lived in this estate were fairly well-off and liked to think highly of themselves (some regular people there too with no airs as well I should say) but we went down to play a team of kids from the estate.

The other kids are all decked out in jerseys especially for the occasion when we show up. We show up in our replica jerseys or t-shirts. They have everything proper football boots, gloves. They have a team photo taken and all the parents are there, everybody is cheering them on. We just showed up for a kick around so we are wondering what the **** is going on. They even got someone to ref it and he's wearing all black ffs.

Anyway, the other team proceeds to hammer us. They are scoring goals for craic. We are all over the shop. Half-time. The other kids run over to their parents who give them oranges and ****, clapping and congratulating them and we are just standing around, kicking dirt. We decided there and then what to do.

Second half kicks off. Every tackle we go in hard. We kick the ****ing shins off people. They are still scoring, but with less regularity now. We start getting dirty. Not even kicking the ball now, just kicking legs, going for crotches. Kids start crying. Concerned parents are shouting at the Ref but nobody is sent off, not even yellows.

We concede a corner. They take it. Few of them in the box. Before the ball even comes in, everybody just starts boxing the head off each other. Finally separated, Ref sends one person off, gives a penalty. Penalty is saved! Ball is passed out to me, who proceeds to leg it to the half-way line and toe-poke the ball with all my might towards their goal. We score! We go nuts. It's something like 7-1 now. We are all hugging each other, running up and down, taking shirts off, screaming at the other side. We grab the ball, run off the pitch. Somebody kicks the ball at the parents and hits a mother chest high.

Parents run after us, it's like something out of Benny Hill. We are running out of the estate with a couple of livid, enraged fathers behind us, kicking over stuff as we go, hitting cars, running through peoples gardens, screaming and telling them to all **** off and we are the champions.

We were NEVER allowed in that estate again. All those kids would never hang around with us or play with us in school again. Even into secondary school and to this day. It was a day of infamy, we won 1-7 :)

Possibly the best post I've ever read on boards, quality stuff.

I''d love to see van Persie or someone scoring with a toe poke and then a massive half hour debate/shouting match about whether the goal was legit or not

No need for a debate...give them a peno on it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I''d love to see van Persie or someone scoring with a toe poke and then a massive half hour debate/shouting match about whether the goal was legit or not. Then Tevez grabs the ball and legs it home cos he'll be grounded if he's not home by tea time.

More like Tevez grabs the ball and goes home in a huff because he didn't get man of the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

I remember at school the ball rolled in sh1t and one of the guys headered the ball. He was then called sh1t head for the rest of the day as it got on his forehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I scored a goal :D