Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Huawei Ascend G300 Firmware and ICS Update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

There's no tweaking or rooting needed it works perfectly and is not Vodafone branded. Or even Huawei branded for that matter it's pretty much stock Android. If you just want to update to ICS just install and forget about rooting if you're worried about warranty.
    stevek93 wrote: »
    Adyx wrote: »
    stevek93 wrote: »
    Confused with all this here :P going to ask them send me out the B893 version just to be on the safe side.

Edit: Just had a brain wave these B893 B927 numbers ect are these hardware related or software related like a build number for each higher number is a newer build?

So if I buy the phone of vodafone i can flash it and install this correct. www.modaco.com/topic/355583-guide-how-to-install-ics-403-b926/page__pid__1982861__st__20#entry1982861
    Haha, it's all software. There's no hardware difference. You can indeed install that if you want. The only reasons to wait for an official ics update is to avoid voiding your warranty and because Huawei have promised full hardware acceleration will be included.

Phew, was getting worried there lol. Why does that rom not have hardware acceleration? Also will this new update be vodafone branded. Hopefully well see this update on modaco with a few tweaks and a root.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Wcool

What was your original version Eamon234?

I am on Baseband 109808 and Build C02B886 which are not mentionened in that user manual.

And the intructions on Modaco suggest to flash first to B926 as it would change the baseband to 2030 and enables HSDPA 11 whatever those are.

I am confused now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

eamon234 wrote: »
    There's no tweaking or rooting needed it works perfectly and is not Vodafone branded. Or even Huawei branded for that matter it's pretty much stock Android. If you just want to update to ICS just install and forget about rooting if you're worried about warranty.

It dosen't bleedin' work! :mad:

I tried standard + forced upgrade, both methods twice....both failed. Formatted the SD card, placed the dload folder on the SD card with the 608mb file inside the folder.

Tried both methods detailed in the .pdf file.....Update failed is what it reads!

Wcool wrote: »
    What was your original version Eamon234?

I am on Baseband 109808 and Build C02B886 which are not mentionened in that user manual.

And the intructions on Modaco suggest to flash first to B926 as it would change the baseband to 2030 and enables HSDPA 11 whatever those are.

I am confused now

Mine was B886 also I have no issues with it so far it's working perfectly. Baseband has changed to 2030 and HSDPA is fine.

It dosen't bleedin' work! :mad:

I tried standard + forced upgrade, both methods twice....both failed. Formatted the SD card, placed the dload folder on the SD card with the 608mb file inside the folder.

Tried both methods detailed in the .pdf file.....Update failed is what it reads!

Well it worked for me. Try downloading it again I had problems unzipping it the first 2 times as the file seemed to be corrupted. Also make sure you're updating using Settings>Storage>Software Upgrade

Appears i made some progress, BUT....i had to install stock Huawei B926 firmware first, Dunni why?.....the touted baseband update perhaps?

Anyways B926 went smooth by the software upgrade method, so now i am overlaying B934 over that...hopefully it goes well :)

Btw...ICS looks very different, snazzy :D

edit....b934 failed to update!

Did you verify the checksum? And also make sure you redownload the ROM as it might have changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

I couldn't get that Huawei official ICS update to work either lads. I just downloaded one from Modaco. Well, moved to B926 first I think to change the baseband, and then flashed Infusion B934. Although, didn't like Infusion so just downloaded the standard ICS B934 and I love it so far!

I used this thread - http://www.modaco.com/topic/356806-guide-upgrade-and-downgrade-the-g300-between-gb-ics-and-jb-with-downloads/ - which helped a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,699 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

It does work I'm using it!

Download file unzip copy dload folder to sd card. Settings>storage> software upgrade and that's it. Just backup everything first.

Alright, I'll give it another shot now!

Last time it failed on step 2 and the only thing that could be done was pull the battery to get it going again, tried that 3 or 4 times from the menu and another 2 or 3 times by pressing the 2 volume buttons whilst powering on... All failed at the same moment, just before step 2!

Edit: Still nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

can i skip the 893 update and install ics ota
    when its released?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭flugel

So only one person has successfully updated from stock (exactly as bought in shop) to the official ICS update given on previous page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭purple hands

flugel wrote: »
    So only one person has successfully updated from stock (exactly as bought in shop) to the official ICS update given on previous page?

Not exactly from stock, I was on b892 but followed the guide below as well and worked fine. Haven't gone through step 3 yet. EDIT: No problems here either. I would note that the 'middle package' mentioned in Section 2 wasn't in the toolkit, but it is available elsewhere on modaco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭flugel

Not exactly from stock, I was on b892 but followed the guide below as well and worked fine. Haven't gone through step 3 yet. EDIT: No problems here either. I would note that the 'middle package' mentioned in Section 2 wasn't in the toolkit, but it is available elsewhere on modaco.

I might for the craic try install the official update linked, see if I'm lucky and if it works.

Its not my own phone, only want to update it once be it official ICS or if I have to go down root route. I hope I get away with the official ICS, will save a lot of hassle!

After many MANY hours of crapola.....i had to root and CWM my phone, i then install the stock Huawei B934 ROM from Modaco. Been testing and tweaking.

Since i've fecked my Vodafone warranty and official OTA updates + support i've no choice now to stay with ROM cooks and try rebuild the phone like it was when i bought it, incl. Voda bloarware.

Has the latest Huawei ROM been pulled?

I always get a zero byte file when I try
    HUAWEI Ascend G300 firmware(U8815,Android 4.0,V100R001C00B934,General Version)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭jgbyr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

OK so I bought the G300 yesterday and got the OTA GB update (B893). I've since unlocked the phone to use with my 3 sim. I've downloaded the official Huawei B934 rom but in the guide it says that only versions greater than B915 can be upgraded. So that means I can't follow the official update procedure right?
    Do I have to root my phone/install CWM? And then can I use the official rom?

Thanks for any help guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭jgbyr

Opinicus wrote: »
    OK so I bought the G300 yesterday and got the OTA GB update (B893). I've since unlocked the phone to use with my 3 sim. I've downloaded the official Huawei B934 rom but in the guide it says that only versions greater than B915 can be qupgraded. So that means I can't follow the official update procedure right?
    I don't think so unless you wait for an online release of ICS .
    Do I have to root my phone/install CWM? And then can I use the official rom?

Thanks for any help guys.

Yes but you need to go to B926 or B927 first.
    All the info you need is here:

http://www.modaco.com/topic/355583-guide-how-to-install-and-root-ics-403-on-the-g300/

Once you're done you can intall whatever Ics rom you like.
    Infusion is quite popular

http://www.modaco.com/topic/355994-rom-infusion-b934-ics-403-b270812-updated-b03/

Make sure to back up whatever is the current rom using CWM in case you need to reload it.

Official Vodafone ICS update from New Zealand just released!

Build B936....gonna flash soon.

http://www.modaco.com/topic/357228-ics-repack-403-b936-u8815-release-rom/

This is a ROM, totally untouched and exactly the same as Voda NZ issued as OTA update. You'll need to be rooted and CWM/Clockwork Recovery mod etc.

jgbyr wrote: »
    I don't think so unless you wait for an online release of ICS .

Yes but you need to go to B926 or B927 first.
    All the info you need is here:

http://www.modaco.com/topic/355583-guide-how-to-install-and-root-ics-403-on-the-g300/

Once you're done you can intall whatever Ics rom you like.
    Infusion is quite popular

http://www.modaco.com/topic/355994-rom-infusion-b934-ics-403-b270812-updated-b03/

Make sure to back up whatever is the current rom using CWM in case you need to reload it.

^ yes....as you need to new the new/updated Baseband version which B926/7 has....in order to update the B934/6 from there.

The rooting/CWM process is long and a pain in the arse....it's not hard, just alot of steps and if you don't read the instructions or miss a step it takes ages, like i did :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

^ yes....as you need to new the new/updated Baseband version which B926/7 has....in order to update the B934/6 from there.

The rooting/CWM process is long and a pain in the arse....it's not hard, just alot of steps and if you don't read the instructions or miss a step it takes ages, like i did :o

Haha, the exact same thing happened to me. Then when I done the brothers phone after it, reading all the steps, it took me like 10% of the time. Lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Two questions lads.

1. Will there be an official 'painless' ICS update released by vodafone that doesn't involve rooting and all that stuff?

2. Will I have have to put the vodafone SIM card back in to receive it?

Thanks.

B936 seems to be working fine. It took me half a day to go from stock Vodafone gingerbread to B926 as described by Modamco and after re-rooting and reinstalling Clockwork Mod took it to B936.

Then a lot re-installing again. But everything seems to work. Phone feels faster, especially booting.

Only thing left is installing a different kernel and changing the boot animation, but sofar thumbs up for B936.

Official Russian OTA update, build B940....cwm ROM for flashing:

http://www.modaco.com/topic/357413-ics-repack-403-b940-u8815-ota-release-rom/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 rob.ob

Two questions lads.

1. Will there be an official 'painless' ICS update released by vodafone that doesn't involve rooting and all that stuff?

2. Will I have have to put the vodafone SIM card back in to receive it?

Thanks.

1: There will be an official 'painless' update supposedly on Friday, but that could change. Vodafone handed the update over to Huawei 3 weeks ago, why it's taken them this long to roll out the OTA update, I do not know, but they are saying they'll do it on Friday. So Settings > About Phone > Online Upgrade should work on Friday.

2. I really don't know, you may need to, but it would only be if vodafone put something into the update to make sure you were a customer, which I don't see why they would (although they have been acting dickish in that manner lately). As long as your phone is set to receive updates from the same place as it was when you got it (as in you haven't rooted it with any 3rd party updates) you should be able to get the update fine, but then again, since it's an exclusive deal with vodafone, for the time being, the update repo might be synced using credentials from your vodafone account. Once again, I don't see a reason they'd do that, but they're being dicks, so expect the unexpected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

do i have to install the minor ota update that came out a while back first, or just the ics
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 rob.ob

M cebee wrote: »
    do i have to install the minor ota update that came out a while back first, or just the ics
    thanks

I don't know how Vodafone worked it, but as far as I remember the firmware upgrade B893 which was released a while back is required. I think it's main purpose was to allow ICS. Only phones with B893 would be able to receive the update.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I hope it fixes the off focusing the camera can do at time. Seems to find the focus then adjust slightly off focus sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 SaiyanX

An OTA update is now available for this phone, it is B895, and it adds in a backup tool.
    I read on Modaco that this is the last update before ICS.
    http://www.modaco.com/topic/357289-b895-ota-available/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 SaiyanX

B936 is available now.