Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dead sheep next to my garden,,,,,

• 24-09-2012 03:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

hi every1,, hope i'm in right place,,,,there is a feild around my house thts rented by a local farmer,,,this farmer is not the kindest to animals,,,,,but over last few yrs sheep have died,,and he leaves the carcases's there to rot,,,the last died right bside my house the smell is awful,,,and its probly a health hazzard,,,and i have a couple of dogs,,,and 1 of them goes in we she gets a chance to roll in the dead sheep,,,,i wud'nt mind but he is the sort to shoot adog for lookin at a sheep,,,but won't look after his own mess,,,,is there anywhere i cud report this to,or will i have to deal with it myself,,,,,,srry for being such a long thread,,thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

bogmandan wrote: »
    hi every1,, hope i'm in right place,,,,there is a feild around my house thts rented by a local farmer,,,this farmer is not the kindest to animals,,,,,but over last few yrs sheep have died,,and he leaves the carcases's there to rot,,,the last died right bside my house the smell is awful,,,and its probly a health hazzard,,,and i have a couple of dogs,,,and 1 of them goes in we she gets a chance to roll in the dead sheep,,,,i wud'nt mind but he is the sort to shoot adog for lookin at a sheep,,,but won't look after his own mess,,,,is there anywhere i cud report this to,or will i have to deal with it myself,,,,,,srry for being such a long thread,,thanks

Best to ring your local friendly undertaker -:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭haulagebasher

Here's what you should do:
    - ring the County Council animal welfare officer and tell him the details and any previous incidents like this
    -ring the County Veterinarian Officer
    - ring the Guards
    - might be no harm to ask the Revenue Commissioners to have a look at his accounts. If he neglects animals he probably neglects his taxes too.
    Don't ring the farmer or alert him in any way as to what might happen. Let the AWO and CVO get him and give him a surprise spot visit. Who know what other juicy stuff they'll uncover.

Look, I am from a farming background so I know. Animals jsut die. But they shoudl not be allowed to rot in a field near a house as it's a health hazard.

I get the impression that the "farmer" you speak of is a real knuckle dragger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

if speaking to the farmer does nothing, the next port of call would be your local district veterinary office (DVO). I can assure you these people wont be long dealing with the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭brian_t

,,,the last died right bside my house the smell is awful,,,and its probly a health hazzard

Contact the Environment section of your local County Council for advice.
    Fallen Animals
    It is the responsibility of animals' owners to dispose of fallen animals in accordance with current animal by-product regulations . This involves the collection of the carcase by a licensed knackery and subsequent rendering.
    Reports of incidences of increased levels of fallen animals in farms are investigated by Veterinary Inspectors in conjunction with the Department of Agriculture, particularly to ascertain if a particular disease or animal welfare problem is behind the increased mortality.
    Cases of dumping of animal carcases are investigated, particularly with regard to tracing the origin of the animal involved and its owner. This is to recoup any costs involved in the disposal of the carcase, and in connection with legal proceedings that may follow such dumping.
    http://www.corkcoco.ie/co/web/Cork%20County%20Council/Departments/Environment%20&%20Waste/Veterinary/Animal%20Welfare/Fallen%20Animals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭haulagebasher

if speaking to the farmer does nothing, the next port of call would be your local district veterinary office (DVO). I can assure you these people wont be long dealing with the issue.

Don't speak to the farmer. This will mean he just might remove it but will probably allow it to happen in other areas of his land.

Also do not alert him to the CVO visit. Don't give him the chance to cover up.

Let them catch him out. It's his own fault.

They will come within 24hrs. And by god they are ruthless. The have great powers and are not afraid to weild them. I've know them to throw the book at people and have them up in front of a judge and fined heavily for animals with missing ID tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 bogmandan

thanks lads,,,,the wife jus told me this is the fifth dead 1 in last couple years,,,that has bin left to rot,,fair play to u haulage basher u have it right about him in ur reply,,,,and bob if i go talk to him bout it i run the risk of gettin my dogs shot for no reason,,,,so i think reporting him to the cvo is the answer,,,,,,thanks lads

Did anybody see a troll today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

thanks lads,,,,the wife jus told me this is the fifth dead 1 in last couple years,,,that has bin left to rot,,fair play to u haulage basher u have it right about him in ur reply,,,,and bob if i go talk to him bout it i run the risk of gettin my dogs shot for no reason,,,,so i think reporting him to the cvo is the answer,,,,,,thanks lads

your dogs won't be shot if they don't go on to his field, in which case he is fully within his rights to shoot "them for no reason"

simplest way to deal with the carcass problem is to notify the guards

welcome to boards btw seems to be a lot of new posters on here recently

hey snowman,,,,its not his land,,he was only renting it,,,,my dogs don't normally go on this field,,,, but with rotten meat there the smell draws them in,,even on a day like today the smell coming from it is bad,,,but i agree wit u he has rights,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

hey snowman,,,,its not his land,,he was only renting it,,,,my dogs don't normally go on this field,,,, but with rotten meat there the smell draws them in,,even on a day like today the smell coming from it is bad,,,but i agree wit u he has rights,,,

he still has the same rights on rented land

as advised you are best to inform the guards and/or the local dvo

dvo contact details

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/contact/localoffices/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Is the man well? Maybe a call to the local IFA to have a word with him about it. It's not right what he's doing, if he's not in his full health a full on DVO/CoCo assault won't help.

On the other hand, if he's just a bollocks, fire ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

He would not be a troll if he took a picture and allowed us to see the dead sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Is the man well? Maybe a call to the local IFA to have a word with him about it. It's not right what he's doing, if he's not in his full health a full on DVO/CoCo assault won't help.

On the other hand, if he's just a bollocks, fire ahead.

This made me laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

This made me laugh

There's one in every village.

He would not be a troll if he took a picture and allowed us to see the dead sheep.

And as casual as you like, he says this farmer would shoot a dog for even looking at a sheep, never mind getting into the field with the sheep.
    So apparently this farmer lets sheep die in the field by the new time, (five have been witnessed by the OP's intrepid wife) the same farmer also rides around in a battered pick up truck, shooting dogs on sight! All the while nobody takes any notice, and nothing is done about this farmer.

Seems farmers are turning feral these days. He might settle down once the auld disadvantaged area payments arrive -:)

And as casual as you like, he says this farmer would shoot a dog for even looking at a sheep, never mind getting into the field with the sheep.
    So apparently this farmer lets sheep die in the field by the new time, (five have been witnessed by the OP's intrepid wife) the same farmer also rides around in a battered pick up truck, shooting dogs on sight! All the while nobody takes any notice, and nothing is done about this farmer.

Seems farmers are turning feral these days. He might settle down once the auld disadvantaged area payments arrive -:)

Redneck?

yes this particular farmer is a bollocks,,,he is in his mid 70's,,,goes to the market buys all the crap ,,he braggs to me about payin 5 euro for a sheep,,,,and u fool s thinkin i'm a moanin bastard from the village i'm not,,,i only asked for advice,,which i got in the first few replys,obviously them answers came from ppl wit brains,,not gob****es,,,,

oh and black smoke i'll get u a photo of the sheep if thats wat turns u on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

Maybe the farmer will tell the dvo that your dog killed his sheep so as far as he is concerned you can get rid of it.
    He might also argue that you are the one who should be up before a judge because you cannot keep your wild sheep
    killing dogs under control.
    I am not attacking you here i am merely suggesting that this fella might not take this easy, and if the carcass is near your house
    wellhe is going to know who made the complaint.
    So what i would suggest is you take a photo of the carcass in the field, then approach the farmer and tell him to sort it out or you are
    going to ring the dvo. If he abuses you then get in and get dialling

thanks royalmeath,,,yes that wud b a possible outcome for me,,,but my dogs are not wild sheep killing dogs'he is jus to old to b lookin after sick sheep,,,this particular sheep was coughing badly every nite for weeks,,i told him about the sheep,and he siad fck him,,what can u do with sumone with that atitude towards animals welfare,,,and thats another thing its not just about the dead sheep,,he pulls up every few weeks with sheep he just bought at the market,,,,does not look up or down at them for weeks,,,,they walk in,,, after a week in the field everyone of them is limping around,,,the wool falls off them ,,i'm told thats cause theres no nutreiants in the grass,,wat grass there is,,,its mostly reeds,,,,jaysus lads this is a great place,,,,i'm lettin loads of steam off,,,,,i feelin better already,,,,,i think i'll go out get the carcass,put it in the car and bring up to the farmer and leave it at his door,,,,,thanks lads for all the inspiration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

I take it you dont like your car if your willing to put a rotting carcass
    that your beloved pooch has been nuzzling on in the front passenger seat:eek:

its ok,,its the wife's car,,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

...but my dogs are not wild sheep killing ...
    :D Put up a picture of these while you are it at.

no,,,, cos if ye see them ye will say they are sheep killers,,,,,

Ok then, stick up a picture of the wife, taken after she finds a dead sheep in the back seat of her Beemer! -:)

Then we will believe you!

no blacksmoke,,,,cos she wud turn into a bogmandan killer,,,its not a beemer wat ever that is,,,,rangerover

Zoo

man of feeling ,,don't know wer ur goin wit that comment

Zoo- A place or situation marked by confusion or disorder.