Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do ye put in your drinks bottles?

• 06-01-2013 04:17PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭

As above, just wondering what do people put in their drinks bottles for their cycles? Be it good auld water, some sort of isotonic drink like Lucazode sport, or other?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Warter for a short spin (under 60km), powerbar lemon isoative for longer spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭chester3455

Water mostly and mi wadi sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

water coke half and half and a pinch of salt.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Used to be cocaine but since the recession has hit I've had to switch to amphetamines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Daysul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

Water mostly.

Just out of interest. What would you guys be eating on a short spin of say <60km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭CaoimH_in

I know of people who use Redbull (or the Aldi knock-offs). To me that sounds disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Brad768 wrote: »
    Water mostly.

Just out of interest. What would you guys be eating on a short spin of say <60km?

Nothing. . .only worry bout food on spins of 100 k plus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

CaoimH_in wrote: »
    I know of people who use Redbull (or the Aldi knock-offs). To me that sounds disgusting.
    Holy Jaysus.
    I drank the lidl stuff one day when I was totally shattered and it wasnt pleasant. Cant imagine trying to stomach while on a bike.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Some fizzy tab thinks. Is the hi 5? Can't remember. That or water

On spins greater than 30km I'd bring food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

2 spoons of sugar with a pinch of table salt to a full bottle and a 2nd bottle with water only on spins over 90km,just water for spins under,i do find that the sugar water mix takes the edge off the hunger so i dont eat all round me when i get home
    with drinks its just finding what works best for you,but not Redbull ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Just water in the bottle on all spins.
    Longer spins I bring jelly beans and a banana. Can't stomach those gels on a spin.

On the colder days tho I wonder would a hip flask with a drop of whiskey do :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

2 bottles of water - banana and sometimes fig roles. Drink before being thirsty - always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

Mugser wrote: »
    As above, just wondering what do people put in their drinks bottles for their cycles? Be it good auld water, some sort of isotonic drink like Lucazode sport, or other?

Thanks.
    Wonder what Lance would say ,

who gives a f**k what Lance says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Water - I have tried almost everything else and nothing agrees with me.
    If it is really hot I will bring some salt.

Very very cold I use some sugared peppermint tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

A couple of scoops of High5 powder into a 750ml bottle, with a sachet of the stuff in the jacket pocket. Before I started using High5, I just put a dash of Robinson's in it and I would reliably run out of energy at the 50 mile mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

t'bear wrote: »
    2 bottles of water - banana and sometimes fig roles. Drink before being thirsty - always.

Snap! Bring the exact same with me! Though sometimes, on a longer spin I'd carry a packet of fruit pastilles, just in case of emergency.

Keep the gels for racing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

First bottle - water with High5 tablet
    Second bottle - plain water
    Also carry a banana or energy bar plus 2 or 3 gels.
    (Might only use one gel but like to have a few with me just in case!)

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

High 5 tab and water in one bottle and plain water in the other. On spins less then 75km I dont need food just have a bowl of poridge before hand. Anything longer I would bring a couple of bananas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

On a more serious note, I usually use high 5 tabs in one or two bottles depending on the distance and temperature. Usually just bring muesli bars, would save gels for long sportives like the Wicklow or tour of Meath, find they work a lot better when your body is not used to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭C3PO

High 5 Zero on a hot day - otherwise just water! Always eat a bar or 2 fig rolls every hour.
    Gels just for racing ..... but they do "funny" things to my stomach if I eat a lot of them in a marathon event!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Thanks for the replies folks. Will probably stick with the water so but out of interest where would I pick up the Hi 5 stuff.

Mugser wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies folks. Will probably stick with the water so but out of interest where would I pick up the Hi 5 stuff.

Nearly any bike shop will stock them but what most people here have recommended are just tablets that give you salt/electrolytes as opposed to the High 5 energy drinks which contain calories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

C3PO wrote: »

Nearly any bike shop will stock them but what most people here have recommended are just tablets that give you salt/electrolytes as opposed to the High 5 energy drinks which contain calories!

Would it not be more beneficial to have the stuff with calories in? I have used both and the carbohydrate stuff is excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭g0g

One bottle water and one bottle water plus High5 or similar tablet thingy. Tend not to carry food and make sure my route passes a shop!:) That said, I'd bring krispie chocolate square bars sometimes if there are any at home.

Craig06 wrote: »
    Would it not be more beneficial to have the stuff with calories in? I have used both and the carbohydrate stuff is excellent.

Depends what you mean by "beneficial"? Personally I don't need the extra calories and I hate the tacky taste from the sugary drinks! Prefer to get my calories from bars or solid food and gels in races! But they work really well for some people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Brad768 wrote: »
    Water mostly.

The hills and other cyclists!

godtabh wrote: »
    Some fizzy tab thinks. Is the hi 5? Can't remember. That or water

On spins greater than 30km I'd bring food

Your need to bring food on so short distances should reduce the more you cycle. Example - I rode 67k yesterday and 50 odd today on nothing but breakfast thst I had a few hours earlier on both days and one bottle of water on each ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

I just put water in mine, its cheap and i'd need to be diluting it with something that would bring it up to
    the same level as lucozade or red bull for it to have any major effect on me. Tho finding I've been eating a lot on
    the bike this past year or so, so maybe... but i like eating...

who gives a f**k what Lance says
    ah now now you can't be saying things like that.
    he didn't murder or rape anyone did he. jeez i give up.:(

ah now now you can't be saying things like that.
    he didn't murder or rape anyone did he. jeez i give up.:(

i know but we are chatting about contents of our water bottles loads of threads if you want to chat about Lance

i'm not having a go honest but who mentioned lance eh you did :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Lawdie

Water and/or High 5 tablet (citrus). Longer distance mini jelly babies (not in the water) to munch away on. The liquid high 5 shots are easy on the stomach.
    jelly-babies-lineup-275x137.jpg
    Today's victims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Mostly high5 zero. On longer rides I'd add a scoop or two of 4:1 powder to the second bottle.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

High 4:1 for a longer spin.

no not me first im thirsty now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

I forgo the bottles and just bring some of this....

Link: jonessoda.comWA.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭padjo5

One of the lads mentioned some sort of energy powder to add to water, SIS or something like that, any experiences of this stuff to share?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

I have started using rockstar, the blue can, its not overly sweet flavoured and I find it does give me a decent kick in the arse! Before that it was water with a dash of dilute, only discovered it on a spin one day and forgot my bottle and spied this on the shelf on offer €1 per can and went for it. I just fill my wee bottle with it and the other big bottle with water if i'm only thirsty but sip the rockstar just as I start to feel tired.

With regard to the 0 calorie electrolyte tablets, used them once or twice but ended up binning them, it's really not hot enough here for you to need to replace your electrolytes, unless you have perspiration issues...

I can see the benefit of the 4:1 stuff on a long (100km+) spin to replenish glycogen stores and prevent muscle wasting, starting your recovery mid-spin, but you can get most of it from whole foods anyway, so it just depends on whether you prefer to get your calories from drinks or food.

I definitely think everyone would benefit from a post-ride recovery drink though, but 2:1 carbs to protein is more suited for such a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

I just fill my wee bottle
    You bring a bottle to wee into.
    cant speak for the other boardsie's but I usually find a gateway (preferably to a field but if no field is available then any gateway suffices) and on really cold days I .......errr yeah a gateway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Water. Stop at a garage half way and get gatorade and a snickers ice cream. Man I look forward to a nice snickers ice cream, jet fuel for the cyclist.

For anyone who doesn't like energy gels I reccomend giving Gu mint chocolate a taste. I am tempted to eat them at home sometimes I like them so much.

Can you get these in Ireland?:

http://www.powerbar.com/products/236/powerbar-energy-blasts-gel-filled-chews.aspx

If not I'm going to have to fill a suit case with them when I come home in March.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »

Can you get these in Ireland?:

http://www.powerbar.com/products/236/powerbar-energy-blasts-gel-filled-chews.aspx

If not I'm going to have to fill a suit case with them when I come home in March.

Pretty sure I spotted daragh_ eating some on a club spin recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I just take water. I don't do enough cycling to need anything else, sometimes I'll have a sugar free energy drink like Monster or the Aldi/Lidl offerings before hand for a boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Billycake

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Your need to bring food on so short distances should reduce the more you cycle. Example - I rode 67k yesterday and 50 odd today on nothing but breakfast thst I had a few hours earlier on both days and one bottle of water on each ride.

Out of curiousity, what type of intensity are you riding at on breakfast alone over these distances? I ask because if I'm doing FTP intervals or similar over those distances there's no way breakfast will do me. Thanks.

Billycake wrote: »

Out of curiousity, what type of intensity are you riding at on breakfast alone over these distances? I ask because if I'm doing FTP intervals or similar over those distances there's no way breakfast will do me. Thanks.

PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Water. I bring a flask of tea if there is no coffee shop on the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 surox

I used to use Powerbar iso drink + recovery for afterwards - however recently changed to Kinetica products (100% energy) + recovery and gels for longer rides - I have to say they are worlds apart - Kinetica blows powerbar out the water - plus all made in Ireland so guess thats a bonus too (I like the fact that they have control on all the ingredients etc in their products).