Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2CP - - How bad is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Aint no double standards mate.

There is a big, BIG difference between a pint of guiness and a needle full of heroin or jd and coke and a psychodelic drug etc etc.

Alcohol is still a drug. No one is saying it's not. But we are talking two different leagues of drugs here.
    Well that's 3 different leagues of drugs. "Psychodelic" drugs don't have nearly as severe an impact on society or on individuals as heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Wolf Club wrote: »
    Well that's 3 different leagues of drugs. "Psychodelic" drugs don't have nearly as severe an impact on society or on individuals as heroin.

That's my point. All different leagues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Sergeant wrote: »
    The thing I've noticed about drugs in general is that people who take them too often tend to spend all their times talking about drugs or their last trip.

Some do, some don't. It's boring to hear unless you were party to the experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

bottle rockets....bottle rockets.

get your red tops....red tops here

wmd .....wmd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

2C-I is another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

Done it once before was locked and thought it was a yoke.Im used to taking pills and the likes but this stuff is dangerous worse than acid in my opinion,i was out of said snack box for at least 14 hours,vivid colours very very real visuals,luckily the two of us made it back to the house but it would have been a lot worse if we didnt,i broke my ankle that night dunno how but didnt go to the hospital till the next day !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 37 aherringterm

OP's post is strongly misinformed. Reads like those 60's anti-cannabis propaganda films...
    Done it a bunch of times, and noticed that it possesses the ability to be a positive experience 99% of the time as opposed to other psychedelics that can be not so consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I overdosed on 2c-b years ago, to say it was unpleasant would be a massive understatement, in fact i can honestly say it was the worst experience of my life, it turned me off taking hallucinogenics for good (except the odd toke of DMT).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Never heard of the drug until now. Certainly sounds bad tho.

Never got the idea of taking all these crazy drugs. Few pints if good enough for me. When you start treading into hallucinogens - I think you should take a long hard look at yourself.
    Ironically taking a long hard look at yourself is exactly what led does. LSD is a great life experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

no it doesnt.

what i'm getting at, is there is a certain naivety within people who dont want to appear to be "normal" or "ordinary" and are taking these drugs as if its underground, and its totally the cool thing to do. it's not.

Bull****. People take drugs because drugs are fun.
    yeah i have taken these sorts of drugs and many others, i've taken a lot of drugs back in the day and wasnt an addict, i was young and naive, and thought it was cool. it's not.

Most people couldn't give a rats if it's cool, but it's enjoyable. Just like alcohol. Just like weed.
    you havent a clue WHY you would even defend this type of drug do you?

MDMA is one of the safest of the commonly used recreational drugs in existence. That's including alcohol - which is very dangerous. The amount of stupid, dangerous **** I've done when I'm hammered. One of my close friends died aged 17 because he did something stupid he never would have done sober. My sister's 22 year old friend ran out in front of a car after a nightclub and was killed. She never would have done that sober. You hear about this stuff all the time and the fact that alcohol played a major role is completely ignored. People on MDMA sit around talking about how much they love each other and drink water.

If we're talking about the amounts of deaths caused, alcohol and tobacco would be the first to go. Easily.

You're clearly one of these old-generation men who knows nothing about the facts behind illegal drugs. Back then it was excusable but now all the verifiable, trustworthy, scientific information you need is a Google search away.
    would you "recommend" that people should go out and take cocaine or heroin? WHy not?

Because cocaine and heroin are dangerous drugs.
    theyre as dangerous as any LSD or whatever

Again absolute nonsense. You've just lost your last drop of credibility.
    so what i'm getting at, is do people only take these sorts of "hippy" drugs to be cool and anti-establishment or what?

No.

Do you drink to fit in with the lads down the pub?
    anyway, all im saying is, i've done most drugs, and most of them are a waste of time.

I ****ing hate weed. Doesn't mean it's a waste of time. Doesn't mean I go around "discouraging" others from doing it like some sort of preacher. Other people enjoy it - I don't. As long as it's safe, I couldn't care less.
    im lucky i didnt end up with serious issues from it, however, i do like to DISCOURAGE younger people from messing around with potentially deadly drugs, when there are plenty of safe things to be doing like smoke a few joints, and if you really want to go off the wall, have a few whiskeys.

Do you know how many teenagers seriously injure or kill themselves from alcohol?

I'm not trying to be a dickhead here but your cocktail of ignorance and preacher confidence really irritates me. Open your mind and look up some of these drugs that you claim to be as bad as cocaine and heroin. You'll find the scientific community holds vastly different opinions to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Beats me why someone would take a drug that alters your perception of reality - because that can only end well....!

Ive seen the effects of so called harmless drugs, doesnt paint a pretty picture. I guess if only some people suffers side effects or go off the wall, it really doesnt matter, thats just acceptable.

At the end of the day, if people wanna poison thier bodies with even more chemicals, its their choice. Drinking and smoking is bad enough, why introduce more things that can have chronic side effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

At the end of the day, if people wanna poison thier bodies with even more chemicals, its their choice. Drinking and smoking is bad enough, why introduce more things that can have chronic side effects.

Because it's very enjoyable and most of the time very safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Drugs are baaad, m'kay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

I reckon if a few more people here on boards opened their minds a bit, rather than shrink their kidneys, the world might be a more intelligent and intelligible place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Beats me why someone would take a drug that alters your perception of reality - because that can only end well....!

Ive seen the effects of so called harmless drugs, doesnt paint a pretty picture. I guess if only some people suffers side effects or go off the wall, it really doesnt matter, thats just acceptable.

i just see alcohol as another drug, and imo a drug that gives a crappy high that turns people into assholes and has bad after effects. i prefer other stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

In fairness, blanketly saying alcohol is more dangerous is pretty disingenuous - alcohol is only more dangerous if you get wasted on it.

The effects of anything are really dependent on quantity, potency, how frequent or infrequent usage is, the type of substance, and the emotional/mental/psychological well-being of the person.
    i'll stay on the ground thanks.
    weed and booze is plenty for anyone.

anyone taking these sort of drugs is not sane... or wont be for very long at least.
    no it doesnt.

what i'm getting at, is there is a certain naivety within people who dont want to appear to be "normal" or "ordinary" and are taking these drugs as if its underground, and its totally the cool thing to do. it's not.

yeah i have taken these sorts of drugs and many others, i've taken a lot of drugs back in the day and wasnt an addict, i was young and naive, and thought it was cool. it's not.

you havent a clue WHY you would even defend this type of drug do you?

would you "recommend" that people should go out and take cocaine or heroin? WHy not? theyre as dangerous as any LSD or whatever, so what i'm getting at, is do people only take these sorts of "hippy" drugs to be cool and anti-establishment or what?

has weed become too mainstream for them?

anyway, all im saying is, i've done most drugs, and most of them are a waste of time. im lucky i didnt end up with serious issues from it, however, i do like to DISCOURAGE younger people from messing around with potentially deadly drugs, when there are plenty of safe things to be doing like smoke a few joints, and if you really want to go off the wall, have a few whiskeys.

i dont get this desire that some people have to be like yer man from fear and loathing in las vegas. its depressing.
    Hypocritical tbh. It's one thing to do something and regret it later and advise people based on your experiences - that can be pretty valuable; but preaching at them for being in the very same position as you were yourself... is double standards.
    And you may have done so to be "cool" or a "hippy" or whatever, but that doesn't mean others have. I'd say a lot of people who do it very young are just trying to look cool and fit in, but more mature people tend to do it in order to experience what it feels like. Your reason for doing it is not universal.
    It's bizarre that you think smokes and whiskeys are fine despite your outpouring above... :confused:
    If they're ok in moderation, why aren't others?
    Beats me why someone would take a drug that alters your perception of reality
    Alcohol?

Because it's very enjoyable and most of the time very safe.

Ive seen the effects of it not being safe, thats why i disagree with the aking of drugs.

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    i just see alcohol as another drug, and imo a drug that gives a crappy high that turns people into assholes and has bad after effects. i prefer other stuff.

I dont disagree with you. In an ideal world people wouldnt drink, but they do.

Madam_X wrote: »
    Alcohol?

I already stated drinking (alcohol) is bad enough, ive spent over twenty years looking at the effect alcohol has on people. And in my experience, drugs have caused more carnage. Give me a bar full of drunk people over a bar full of high people anyday of the week.

What effects have you seen? (And I'm not talking about heroin/crack/meth or over-use of/addiction to any drug; just moderate recreational use). And honestly, I'm not in the for or against camp - there are pros and cons and the various factors I listed in my last post above - but there is definitely scaremongering and misinformation too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

And give me a room full of people on ecstasy over a room full of pissed people any day of the week.

Madam_X wrote: »
    What effects have you seen? (And I'm not talking about heroin/crack/meth or over-use of/addiction to any drug; just moderate recreational use). And honestly, I'm not in the for or against camp - there are pros and cons and the various factors I listed in my last post above - but there is definitely scaremongering and misinformation too.

For starters i work in the bar trade. Two ocassions spring to mind straight away.

The last time i was violently assaulted was by one of your so called "recreational" drugs users (was arrested twice that day from my place of employment).

The last time i had to call an ambulance for a punter was for one of your so called "recreational" drug users. Friends said he just popped a couple of those "harmless pills".

Junkies just tend to need to be woken up, cleaning up the blood they leave behind is nasty though.

Now please enlighten me with your fantastics experiences of people who are high.

And give me a room full of people on ecstasy over a room full of pissed people any day of the week.

I wish you all the best in your endeavours, im sure if you try hard enough your wish will be granted.

What's the sarcasm about? I merely asked you a question. And I made it clear I'm pretty much on the fence, I didn't indicate I have "fantastic" stories in relation to people who take recreational drugs. I will say though, that horror stories seem to be rare.

They're not "my" recreational drug users. And the first guy probably took too much cocaine and combined it with alcohol, which anyone would agree can lead to trouble. Who's to say the friends of the second guy were telling the truth?
    All I'm saying is: if a person took one E, it's very unlikely catastrophe will follow... If a person has 10 whiskeys though, it very well could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

danniemcq wrote: »
    yourself, the world, the beauty around you. look at how the colours dance around and feel sound like you have never heard before.

you suddenly understand that in the overall picture of everything that everything is beautiful, the love you feel for your fellow man and nature as you become like one with both. Your friends become closer than you could ever have imagined you can understand eachother with no need for talking as you all just know exactly what the other person is saying and thinking.

You talk to the universe and it replies.

compare that with chatting sh*te after a few pints and i know what one i'd prefer

I find me and Mark Corrigan are scarily similar. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

For starters i work in the bar trade. Two ocassions spring to mind straight away.

The last time i was violently assaulted was by one of your so called "recreational" drugs users (was arrested twice that day from my place of employment).

The last time i had to call an ambulance for a punter was for one of your so called "recreational" drug users. Friends said he just popped a couple of those "harmless pills".

Junkies just tend to need to be woken up, cleaning up the blood they leave behind is nasty though.

Now please enlighten me with your fantastics experiences of people who are high.
    I'm sorry to hear you were assaulted, but I'd say the reason that person assaulted you was because he was a dickhead, not because he was on drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I dont disagree with you. In an ideal world people wouldnt drink, but they do.

No, in an ideal world, people could take what they want, in moderation. And enjoy themselves.

I'm in hospitality trade for 15 years now. I'd have a room full of people off their chops any day, rather than a room full of people pissed. In my experience, alcohol causes far more aggression and troublesome events.

This year alone, I've had someone try to start a fight because he was pissed and smoking a cigarette indoors, when I asked him politely to step outside. I've had to remove a young woman, of the middle of a hotel hallway at 4am, where she was passed out asleep, and left herself in a vunerable position. I've had to deal with a flooded room because a guy was pissed, and get arseholey because we wouldn't serve him anymore, and he left the shower running full tilt all day, and stuffed a sock in the drain.

D'ya know what I've had to deal with when someone was off their tits on yokes? A couple of awkward hugs (on my part, I was sober) and a phonecall from a friend telling me how awesome his shoes were.

There is more blood, piss, **** and vomit left behind by alcohol.

Honestly though, I'd much prefer if people could moderate their use of whatever substance they want, and everyone have a good time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I think I have contributed to a 2C-B thread before, I was at RockNess festival in 2010 and took a 2C-B on the Sunday, was told it was a combination of MDMA and LSD, I found it lovely and floaty, it didnt have the intenseness of the usual acid trip, there was fits of hilarity where I fell to the ground laughing and the ground seemed so soft and bouncy. My trip peaked to an amazing performance by the Bloody Beetroots Death Crew 1977. I thought it was (2CB) amazing.

I tried 2C-I at the Body & Soul festival last year on the Saturday and Sunday, slightly more intense than 2C-B but still a really nice buzz bouncing about the woods and garden area. The thing I noticed and friends also recommended to me contrary to what some folk are saying here, I found when I was tired enough this drug didnt keep me awake unnecessarily, I found I could crash out with no ill effects whatsoever the following day.

Mind you the 2C-B trip was just the one pill and the 2C-I was just a dab now and then. Like anything take in moderation though, I can imagine that if you take loads it will fcuk you up.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭I Luv Crysis

2CB? Pffffffff.. Ketamine is where it's at these days:

Wolf Club wrote: »
    I'm sorry to hear you were assaulted, but I'd say the reason that person assaulted you was because he was a dickhead, not because he was on drugs.

No it was the drugs. He came in the next day to make a grovelling apology, problem is he was apologising to the wrong guy. He proceeded to tell the staff member it was totally out of character. Long story short, he eventually got to me, he had someone vouch on his behalf, i decided not to press charges. A few bump, bruises and scraps where the extent of my injuries.