Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what groupsets are the pros using

• 30-03-2013 05:27PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭

Do most of the pros use Shimano (ultegra, 105 ?).
    As far as i can see, Shimano is like a monopoly

Have the pros started using electronic shift systems yet, or is it allowed ?

Do campy or Sram have any groupsets fit for top professionals, and does anyone use them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

http://inrng.com/2013/01/2013-pro-team-bikes/

Pretty much all are electronic I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Yes they do, in fact it's generally considered that the Campagnolo's 11sp Super Record group is a cut above anything Shimano or Sram have to offer.

Roughly half of the Pro teams use Shimano Dura Ace while the other half use either Campagnolo Super Record or Sram RED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

MungoMan wrote: »
    Do most of the pros use Shimano (ultegra, 105 ?).
    As far as i can see, Shimano is like a monopoly

Have the pros started using electronic shift systems yet, or is it allowed ?

Do campy or Sram have any groupsets fit for top professionals, and does anyone use them ?

They would be Shimano Dura Ace (Shimano's top of the range), not Ultegra or 105.

I'd say they all use electronic now.

I think your third question has been answered.

Basically, the pros will use what they are paid to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Wow, I'm surprised at how few are using SRAM. I had thought they roughly equalled Shimano's presence. Also, no Reynolds or Easton wheels anymore?

And no Zipps or Lightweights, what does that tell us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

531 wrote: »
    Basically, the pros will use what they are paid to use.

wasnt it sean kelly who said the best bike he rode was the one he was paid to ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

And no Zipps or Lightweights, what does that tell us?

Do OPQS not use Zipps?

I stand corrected. No lightweights,what does that.........?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I stand corrected. No lightweights,what does that.........?

That LW don't sponsor pro teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

No ultregra or 105 at this level...

All teams are using either Shimano dura-ace, Campagnolo super record or record or SRAM red.

As said already, the pros used what they are paid to use. SRAM have reduced their level of team sponsorship significantly this year and Campagnolo have filled this void,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Diarmuid wrote: »
    That LW don't sponsor pro teams

Well yeah...But why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Well yeah...But why not?

Because they are a small enough company - When pros what to use them, they pay for their wheels (some famous quotes out their about this - no time to google for it). Look at all the "Easton" disc TT wheels in last years Tour under BMC, look at what Wiggins used. A lot of rebranding going on. Also look at what wheels the guys and girls where using in the Olympics when some folks where using their own kit. They have their boutique name already - the probably don't need a pro team - their wheels are €3k+ so not for everyone!

Have a look at what the top Kermesse riders in Belgium use, about a 30% of races are won on them. (I have used them for 3 years)

On that note, Mavic is popular in Belgium, as are Shimano wheels - don't think I saw any Zipp wheels last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭bwalsh1983

Issue of roleur a few months back ran an article on Lightweight and its founders. Funny story about Ernesto Colnago wanting a number of pairs of them to put on show and prototype bikes to which lightweight said they would invoice him for. They dont give freebies to anyone and for the most part its a loss game if you sponsor a pro team. They are a very small independent fabrication company but if I had 3k+ to spare it would be headed that way...

bwalsh1983 wrote: »
    but if I had 3k+ to spare it would be headed that way...

Less that 3k - I'm selling one of my pairs (I have a few), brand new rear tub, 1500km on the front (perfect condition) and a few months of their insurance plan left on them. And yes, they are magical :) Sorry to make a plug for my wheels - but racing in Asia doesn't exactly pay the bills very well! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83558852

At Continental/Pro-Continental, lots of Ultegra, Force and Rival groups about. I currently ride durarace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

At Continental/Pro-Continental, lots of Ultegra, Force and Rival groups about. I currently ride durarace.

cheers Ryan
    Was just reading your blog. Interesting stuff.
    Do you use the di2 electronic shifting, or the non electronic version ?

MungoMan wrote: »
    cheers Ryan
    Was just reading your blog. Interesting stuff.
    Do you use the di2 electronic shifting, or the non electronic version ?

I use the normal - because that is what the team bought (not everything is sponsored) - cycling is no soccer - I think some people would be surprised how shoe string a lot of teams are run (even smaller world tour teams). Our complete budget for the team probably would not cover a top UK soccer player for a week.

I stand corrected, thanks Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 stripeypaint

I use the normal - because that is what the team bought (not everything is sponsored) - cycling is no soccer - I think some people would be surprised how shoe string a lot of teams are run (even smaller world tour teams). Our complete budget for the team probably would not cover a top UK soccer player for a week.

bit of a skewed comparison between road team budgets and earnings of footballers. Revenues which football create in comparison to cycling is sort of like comparing David and Goliath. It's the same story in the MTB side of things. Top 20 in the world make a relative living from it (for risking their lives) but riders from top 40 onwards struggle to even get support to attend a full season. In my opinion the larger manufacturers such as Giant,Trek,Spesh etc dont seem to put that much back into the sport and it's a shame really.

bit of a skewed comparison between road team budgets and earnings of footballers. Revenues which football create in comparison to cycling is sort of like comparing David and Goliath.

Yeah - my point was that many folks think that the "Pros" have everything, great equipment, great training, great food put in front of them... I have heard comments like that many times. For 99.9% of "Pro" riders (including Conti riders here) - it is simply not the case. I watched many A4 riders use much better equipment then "Pro" teams.

Specialized support a lot of teams, especially in the US, but I think some of the other brands could do a lot more. (Polygon, made in Indonesia/Taiwan, support the Indonesians well - there are small (20 rider) cycling schools that they help to raise the standard)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Yeah - my point was that many folks think that the "Pros" have everything, great equipment, great training, great food put in front of them... I have heard comments like that many times. For 99.9% of "Pro" riders (including Conti riders here) - it is simply not the case. I watched many A4 riders use much better equipment then "Pro" teams.

Sure hasn't Nico said plenty of times while at AG2R that they wouldn't give him a TT bike to train on (probably why he is so bad at it), he only had 1 bike and even in the off season that was taken off him, put in lock up and he'd to source his own machine for winter training? Crazy stuff. Also they wouldn't even stretch to a solid disc rear wheel at last years tour instead coming out with the story of how it wasn't any better in aero tests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I think Euskaltel have been using the same bikes for the last three years. Review in one of the magazines said the dirt/wear from previous year was on bike they were looking at. Larger teams had all new.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Specialized support a lot of teams, especially in the US, but I think some of the other brands could do a lot more. (Polygon, made in Indonesia/Taiwan, support the Indonesians well - there are small (20 rider) cycling schools that they help to raise the standard)

Speaking of Polygon, they are currently trying to expand into the European market, might see them sponsoring a team or something in Europe soon.

They are one of the biggest OEM manufacturers in the world, so I'd imagine they make decent quality bikes, looking at their german distributors site, they look very good value for money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

iregk wrote: »
    Sure hasn't Nico said plenty of times while at AG2R that they wouldn't give him a TT bike to train on (probably why he is so bad at it), he only had 1 bike and even in the off season that was taken off him, put in lock up and he'd to source his own machine for winter training? Crazy stuff. Also they wouldn't even stretch to a solid disc rear wheel at last years tour instead coming out with the story of how it wasn't any better in aero tests.

Would he not have bought one himself? Surely he could afford even an entry level or second hand one to train on?

Seaneh wrote: »
    Speaking of Polygon, they are currently trying to expand into the European market, might see them sponsoring a team or something in Europe soon.

Polygon Sweet Nice is an Irish Continental team.

Orange Monkey MTB team in the UK is on Polygon.

We were brought on a tour of their factory last week - cool!

Polygon Sweet Nice is an Irish Continental team.

Orange Monkey MTB team in the UK is on Polygon.

We were brought on a tour of their factory last week - cool!

If you can get me a line on a Helios frame for a good price, let me know :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Seaneh wrote: »

They are one of the biggest OEM manufacturers in the world, so I'd imagine they make decent quality bikes, looking at their german distributors site, they look very good value for money.

You got a link? I'm toying with the idea of upgrading to a carbon frame...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

godtabh wrote: »
    Would he not have bought one himself? Surely he could afford even an entry level or second hand one to train on?

That's exactly what I thought but I dunno, maybe there are other reasons / factors at play that we're not privy to.

Also Ryan, saw the PSN announcement on your blog back in Jan. Good luck with it and hope it works out well. Not quite taken on the jersey mind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Nico's team hadn't the kit but he did have the nice contract in his pocket so thats probably why he didn't complain much -

But its like anything - even in the one level there are many tier's - since ye have mentioned football, even though they are all premier league, look at the difference in riches from ManYoo/Citah down to QPR/Reading - its vast. Same would be true in pro tour from Sky who seem to have everything available down to previously mentioned Euskaltel who probably don't.

Same at Conti - many here will have seen on the Ras the Rapha lads and how profesional the squad is turned out, same with An Post - ok what these squads lack in equipment they have backup experience and knowledge in abundance with the likes of Kelly,Herety - contrast to the Polygon lads who kinda sound like backpackers really - so even in the one division, massive differences between teams regarding equipment but also experience, knowledge and also ability.

colm_gti wrote: »
    You got a link? I'm toying with the idea of upgrading to a carbon frame...

I found a link by googling Polygon bikes europe but can't find it now :o.

Was about €1500 for full carbon 105 groupset and wheels with a ritchie finishing kit.