Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other hobbies or interests

• 19-07-2013 11:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭

Dont think this has been done before,
    So do any of ye have any other hobbies or interests that ye like to do in your spare time??
    I myself love hunting. During the winter I go lamping with the dog for rabbits and foxes and also go fetteting for rabbits during the weekends,
    Not much on this time of the year just shooting crows keeping them away from bales!

nothing I love more than going out just as it gets bright on a sunday morning in the middle of january ferreting with the frost on the ground, dont know why but it is just something I love doing! I know some of ye wouldnt have the slighest bit of intrest in it so I would like to hear yer thoughts on the matter and find out is there anything ye look forward to doing when you get some spare time!
    Looking forward to hearing from ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

soccer, hurling and a bit of golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Well, I work full time off farm so many of you would say our farming is the hobby. ;)
    I have another business I'm working to get off the ground so spare time is scarse.

Gardening, and time with the kids. Bring them cycling or walking of a Sunday if weather permits, although we'd iften head out walking forests or on the beach in the rain.

We just bought a caravan so we can get away for cheap overnights to cycle /visit in different places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

I'm back playing football at the age of 37 this year after a 4 year break, absolutely loving it :-), playing with young fellas born in 1995...
    Also do a bit of caravanning when the cows finish calving in June, the kids love staying by the beech etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

locky76 wrote: »
    I'm back playing football at the age of 37 this year after a 4 year break, absolutely loving it :-), playing with young fellas born in 1995...
    Also do a bit of caravanning when the cows finish calving in June, the kids love staying by the beech etc.

Yeah was tempted myself to come out of retirement too for the junior c team it's stopping playing seriously in 2008 after but I had been playing football and hurling with the adult team since I was 16 so had enough. Was still togging out when they were stuck for numbers up to about 2 years ago.

Between work, the farm and house not much spare time. Usually take the dogs for a stroll in the evenings. Might get back on the bike again, but being saying that for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭jimmydkid

I play soccer once a week and run 5 and 10ks on a weekend, big into sport so try and get to as many games as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Think I'd go crazy if I was stuck on the farm all the time. Mostly doing athletics at the minute, going to take up surfing soon as the beach beside me is decent enough and very handy. I wouldn't mind giving the motorbike racing a go again but thats a big time commitment and lotsa money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I'm learning how to woodturn - absolutely useless at it, but love trying! I'm also doing a theology course which takes up a couple of hours in the evenings. And I like growing veggies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Motor bike when I can. Love getting away for a few hours on my own. A few of us are going to the UK in Sept for a spin. Don't seem to have time for it any more. The extra work feeding at the moment isn't helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Spare time is something I dont have time for :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Golf is what I'm mad for but don't get to play it too much any more with full time job, farming and kids. Woulnt swap it though. Plenty of golf in my retirement!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

sea12 wrote: »
    Golf is what I'm mad for but don't get to play it too much any more with full time job, farming and kids. Woulnt swap it though. Plenty of golf in my retirement!!!!

Back playing soccer once a week and loving it, although some of the DOB on the forms are scary, all in the mid 90s
    Want to take up bit running but can't seem to get time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Bought myself a bike last week, should be ready for next years tour de france

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Golf for myself, even though it's a head wreaking game. Just up the road form Ballyvaughan and Lachinch so should get into surfing or other water activity. Sunday's the only day off though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

gaa, rugger, meeting people from all walks of life, c&w, rock and roll music , (at this stage I'm the oldest swinger in town)

long walks with my border collies, and 1 other interest which would tell my identity ( some on boards know me any how )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Avid reader and I'm often up til 3am with a good book.
    Horse riding when I've got the neighbours three/four year olds after they're broken in and before he sells them on. Rock-climbing, slack-lining when the weather is good. Painting and photography when it's not!

And of course, my ever growing collection of tattoos:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

schmokin, drinkin an fightin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

diy, gardening, and playing with anything mechanical.

I used to love watching hurling matches, but I find it fierce hard to make the time to watch 30 lads living their lives every second sunday when I could be out living my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bbam wrote: »

We just bought a caravan so we can get away for cheap overnights to cycle /visit in different places.

Great to get out to the shed now and again :p

Spare time is something I dont have time for :mad:

Who's the stick in the mud?

Muckit wrote: »
    Who's the stick in the mud?

I know, its not as if going on the lash can be counted as a hobby as that all we seem to have time for now.

Muckit wrote: »
    I love ridin'n ridin' 'n ridin' :pac: Sorry bulmers kickin in

You will nearly be ready for Le Tour given how much your in the saddle and you have the bike well broken in by now.

I know, its not as if going on the lash can be counted as a hobby as that all we seem to have time for now.
    Ah sorry bob, did half a day's work today, then went for a few down local and back home to the back garden. The blmers just jumped into my hand... hic hic :pac:

If it was you count count me in on that one too :D

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    If it was you count count me in on that one too :D

after a few beverages Kovu are we?

Noooope had some last night but am being good tonight. For once! Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

A Soccer player manager, takes up a lot of spare time ,I get the odd round of golf, and my telescope for the winter nights,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

got me self a mountain bike last xmas, go out every sunday morning for 3-5hrs and a few spins during the week as well. just back in from a spin through the woods, and a drink or two after
    going to get my self a road bike for next year, but the auld tractor bike is the first preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Went back to gaelic football last year after an eight year break. Was really getting up top speed this year and then.... injury. F**king frustrating!

Otherwise running, swimming, cycling, golf...... (jack of all trades....) but no time to do them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

munkus wrote: »
    Golf for myself, even though it's a head wreaking game. Just up the road form Ballyvaughan and Lachinch so should get into surfing or other water activity. Sunday's the only day off though.

Bally man myself :D fishing and kayaking for me. Been trying to get a tope on the end of my line for a few months now but it ain't happening. Astro turf one night a week in the winter. Haven't the commitment for football any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

hurling yesterday evening, only go when there stuck scored 2-5, my best tally ever:D, im like a good wine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

jomoloney wrote: »
    gaa, rugger, meeting people from all walks of life, c&w, rock and roll music , (at this stage I'm the oldest swinger in town)

long walks with my border collies, and 1 other interest which would tell my identity ( some on boards know me any how )

Lord Lucan???

that sounds like a personals advert:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

delaval wrote: »
    Lord Lucan???
    that sounds like a personals advert:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Tom barry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

... and 1 other interest which would tell my identity ( some on boards know me any how )
    :D.....Are you in East Clare?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I do a bit of blacksmithing, wish I could give it more time as it is all about practice.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Still playing hurling and football so training about 4-5 times per week ATM. Bit of cycling, out at the pheasant when the season is on and also do some cabinet making as a hobby. Never idle between them all and wouldn't really ever be inside once its dry and bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

I've a full time job aswell as the farm , I put up about 2 stone when I gave up the fags and drink but have lost it by cycling 40 km 3 times a week , I also train a few greyhounds:.........but what I used to love was heading to the river with a rod , bucket of worms and 20 Benson!!

Anyone here do snorkeling or scuba diving, something I have wanted to try for a while but havent got around to it yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Tried both, great craic, but i have to use the wet suit the whole time as im not a great swimmer and need the buoyancy. Did a bit of skydiving for a while but time doesnt usually allow for too many hobbies anymore. My main hobby these days are trying to collect money off non payers. i definately wouldnt recommend it.
    Anyone here do snorkeling or scuba diving, something I have wanted to try for a while but havent got around to it yet.

done a bit of snorting in my time if that any help:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

done a bit of snorting in my time if that any help:rolleyes:
    A hobby no doubt , but not a cheap one !

I used to do a bit of hunting , mainly just vermin but I havent time for it in the last few years .
    The grandfather used to reckon lads with hobbies were lazy and everyone should work until it was time to eat or sleep ,and if there wasnt time to sleep they should just eat some more and stay going through the night :rolleyes:

moy83 wrote: »
    A hobby no doubt , but not a cheap one !

I used to do a bit of hunting , mainly just vermin but I havent time for it in the last few years .
    The grandfather used to reckon lads with hobbies were lazy and everyone should work until it was time to eat or sleep ,and if there wasnt time to sleep they should just eat some more and stay going through the night :rolleyes:

Still an air of that about, generally people who spend most of their time doing feck all and talking about how useless everyone else is. And the sugar is bad for you bob ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Still an air of that about, generally people who spend most of their time doing feck all and talking about how useless everyone else is. And the sugar is bad for you bob ;)

Have a fat f*cker of a cousin who has no hobbies bar over eating, spends most of his day standing in the door of a friends shed, friend is a welder, looking out giving out about all the people about who "wouldn't work on batteries".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I've done both. A few years ago now, must get back at it. Try the snorkling first. You'd be amazed how much fish and life, there is down there. I took some great under water photos with that dolphin in Fanore. I'll put them up, if I can find them

pakalasa wrote: »
    I've done both. A few years ago now, must get back at it. Try the snorkling first. You'd be amazed how much fish and life, there is down there. I took some great under water photos with that dolphin in Fanore. I'll put them up, if I can find them

Dusty the fish scaring dolphin, she's always at my bass mark!! Pics would be cool pak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Is that Dusty hanging around at the Doolin pier at the moment? Or maybe it is a different one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Macra and Ultimate. Was playing in spain last month. 2 from my club team out with the Irish U-23s in Toronto atm.

between the two of those and work and the farm I'm faitly tight on spare time now which is no harm!

I used to play bass in a few bands but the band screne has dried up completly the past few years an

just do it wrote: »
    Is that Dusty hanging around at the Doolin pier at the moment? Or maybe it is a different one?

Ya tis the same one, she goes over and back regularly.

saw a guy wearing a super tshirt at the boss on tuesday night - dolphins are gay sharks :D:D