Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where have all the nightowls gone?

• 21-09-2013 03:34AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

It used to be mental around here at this time on a Sat morning, headers coming back from nights out retaking stories of big bad bouncers, insomniacs telling them they're stupid and to go to bed, nightshade workers passing through with words of wisdom.

If there's anything we as a nation were ever any good at, it was sitting up all night chatting rung. But not anymore. What has changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

My insomnia is as bad as ever. I read threads a lot more than I post though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

It took me two reads to realise you weren't referring to actual owls :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Haven't you heard? We're not in a recession anymore, everyone can go out again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I get by on about 3/4 hours a night. My back is killing me lately, lying in bed like an old lady :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,696 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hooo Hoo

Hooo Hoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'll give it a go: I went out, bounce said "not tonight lads". So I decked him. Then ten of the bouncers from around the area came over and I glared at them. They backed down.

So here I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I also tend to read a lot more now than post, luckily for the rest of yous ;p. I'm always awake, even when I'm sleeping I'm awake.
    Insomnia will be the death of me.
    I used to sleep like a log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭naughtyfox

Strange thing I actually only joined boards to be able to chat and read at night! Im up most nights and bored, stuck listening to others snoring to just to make me feel worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

GTA5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Going through an insomnia phase so I'll talk in owl language with you if you like? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Thought it said "night towels"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'm normally a heavy sleeper. I will fall asleep relatively quickly and I'm quite difficult to wake once I do fall asleep.

But right now I'm lying in my girlfriends bed.. With her cuddling into me.. On my side of the bed.. In the corner.. I'm uncomfortable as I'm not able to move at all and I'm really warm.. Miss my own bed so much right now..

Does that make me a honorary night owl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Dartz

Too busy coughing my guts up after catching some ****'s cold on the train back from the Aviva on Wednesday.

Never mind that AH just isn't as good as it used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

My OH is snoring so loudly it could probably break the sound barrier. And I'm lying in bed typing on my phone with one finger because I spent yesterday evening in A&E because I sliced thorough a vein in my thumb and now my hand is bandaged up which means I've been giving a permanent thumbs up since 10pm last night....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

I'm up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

To bed.

My babby woke bright and early at a quarter to five. Not sure if that makes her a night owl or an early riser but I know what it makes me. Feckin tired is what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

night owls

They are gone to Hooters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'm up.:)

You really need to allow for the time difference. It was not night here when you posted that.
    Boards.IE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    They are gone to Hooters

I thought that was the Great Tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I thought that was the Great Tits
    And usually swallows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

A wise old owl lived in an oak.
    The more he saw, the less he spoke.

So I heard anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

the drugs dont work anymore :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Reddit.

You really need ton allow for the time difference. It was not night here when you posted that.

I know. I realized that after I had hit the send button.

It was after 2 am (here) so you cannot expect me to be perfect all the time. :)

Reddit.

I am so addicted to Reddit. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Reddit is one of the ugliest websites around today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I avoid Boards (and in fact, the internet in general) after nights out now, too many embarrassing incidents and close shaves for my liking ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I avoid Boards (and in fact, the internet in general) after nights out now, too many embarrassing incidents and close shaves for my liking ;)

So you went for a bad haircut and a shave at the barbers today?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Reddit is one of the ugliest websites around today.

Hurts my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Nightowls eh? Them were the days, loved that club.

I think in some way private fora have ruined AH. Obviously, it's taken away a lot of the flirty shíte but don't see the banter as much anymore. Tear tear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I'm a member of a private forum. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Larianne wrote: »
    I think in some way private fora have ruined AH. Obviously, it's taken away a lot of the flirty shíte but don't see the banter as much anymore. Tear tear.

I've never been invited to any of these. How does one get in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Its September, everyones back to school ;)

speaking of reddit. Have you ever been to the /r/ireland sub? I'm not subscribed to it, but I still pop in once a week or so. But my god its a pretty terrible userbase. Its like a bunch of posh d4 **** and egotistical tossers. omg loike did u see the journal headline 2day? Check out dis totes kewl pic of howth head i took today loike.

I hate it.

(not saying afterhours is anything special either, mind you)

I recently quit the job where I had to work 24/7 (shifts) so no more 4am chats for me ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

I recently quit the job where I had to work 24/7 so no more 4am chats for me ! :D

No money in the prostitution gig these days ?

Ask Vito there!

bizmark wrote: »
    No money in the prostitution gig these days ?
    not any more the missus is right next to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

You can't ask to join, you have to be invited. Only the awesomest coolest most amazing of the awesome members (like me) get access to private forums. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

not any more the missus is right next to me...

That an opportunity for aggressive expansion while paying family rates you not thinking this through !

You can't ask to join, you have to be invited. Only the awesomest coolest most amazing of the awesome members (like me) get access to private forums. :cool:

I don't get invited to any because I'm too awesome. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It will go quiet here in about an hour or so and stay that way till about 10am considering it's a Sunday. Ah yes the old AH is dead and gone, it's with O'Leary in the grave.

I don't get invited to any because I'm too awesome. :(

Form your own group. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

I've only started contributing recently, but I have to say it's been fecking dead in here the last couple of nights! :-(

Fcukers must be all out enjoying themselves or something. :(

/bitterness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Lyssa

I'm only starting to come awake at this hour of the night.....
    The Nocturnal forum used to be brilliant at night, ALL the insomniacs hung out there, it's a bit quiet now though, maybe all you insomniacs should get your asses over there :)

Fcukers must be all out enjoying themselves or something. :(

/bitterness

Who enjoys themselves offline? Seriously. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

They're either gone back to the day shift or have found somebody to fornicate with. Most probably the former.