Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will this thread be closed?

• 04-10-2013 03:25PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 100 ✭✭

Long time reader, first time, etc...

So, believe it or not my fellow boardsies and boardsettes, my night out on the town last night has resulted in me creating an account in that an opportunity has been laid down before me.

There I was drinking and I bumped in to two gentleman, gentleman! We chatted long in to the night as the drinks were knocked back and I thought nothing of it but a random night out.

Anyway they happened only to be in town for the night and were stuck for a place to stay and so I offered them the spare bed in my house and my couch.

When I first met these chaps I has been fairly on it so thought nothing of it as we introduced ourselves. But, low and behold the sober breakfast the morning after the night out comes and it occurs to me that I was having breakfast with Tom Murphy and John Breslin (The big d*cks who made Boards happen) I was star struck!

To cut to the point we must have talked for an hour, everything and anything about Boards and when they realised my like for reading the site they said I should get involved immediately and suggested I become at least a Mod instantaneously.

So to the big guys (but not as big as my boys Breso and Murf ;) ) if ye could make me a Moderator or something similar that'd be super :)
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I was expecting the Bono and Bruce Springsteen story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

I want to be a moderator too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Who!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭weisses

JBTM wrote: »
    the morning after the night out comes and it occurs to me that I was having breakfast with Tom Murphy and John Breslin (The big d*cks who made Boards happen) I was star struck!

Are you male or female ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I banged Kim Basinger last night. True story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I like the cut of your gib, Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Bullshit.

It's a well known fact that nobody invites DeVore home and lives to tell the tale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

is this the user formerly known as the mderat0r? and subsequently super mderat0r..among others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Did ye fist each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

9 and a half weeks Kim Basinger or 2013 version? Not sure I'd be bragging about the latter ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I have to say, I'm a little bit disappointed with this thread...

Thought it was going to end up being a couple of lads form a huge rock band or some hollywood film actor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Tell Tom to get a f.cking job and stop leeching free sofas on the back of his internet fame!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

9 and a half weeks Kim Basinger or 2013 version? Not sure I'd be bragging about the latter ;)
    Still looks alright to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

No need. I'll be ruling comments like this with the iron fist though once my position of power is anointed though so thread carefully.

Brown-nosing forum requested. You can be mod. ;)

maybe you should just get a hobby or something, take up jogging or bate a hurley around a field for a couple of hours, get it out of your system no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

This reminds me of the time me and my buddy Bob pretended to be Tom Murphy and the other guy to blag a spare room in a guys house rather than pay for a hotel even though Tom Murphy and the other guy are loaded and from Dublin. We said the mark could be a "mod". Got a great breakfast too.

what larks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Still not a mod, eh?

Goodness me... what ever could be taking so long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

were they in good clothes or shabby clothes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I once gave Matt LeTissier a pat on the back, but you don't see me starting threads about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Pffft. That's not a Tom Murphy story... I remember one time in Fibbers back in the 90s when @$##$# ***NO CARRIER***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I've slept with both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Did they leave a tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ah, you got burned by the classic Sexless Innkeeper play. Have succeeded with that play a few times myself. It's a beaut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

why couldn't they get a hotel? Mods feck off with all the money or foes boards make no money?

Do they like apples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I am disappointed that our Boards bigwigs find themselves homeless at the end of an evening's drinking. I had expected better for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Did they leave a tip?

Just the tip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I have to say this is one of the more entertaining attempts.

What do you do?

I nodded my head like "yeah" and moved my hips like "yeah" put my hands up cause they're playin my song and the butterflies flew away YEAH party in the USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Pics or GTFO.

YES!!! I SAID IT FIRST!!! YUSSSSSSSSSS..............!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

I hate to be that guy, but I am... :D

I was at Tom's house last night, we were finishing the construction of a digs for my new tortoise. He doesn't need spare beds or anything like that given he's from Dublin, owns a house in Dublin, has family and friend in Dublin...

John's in Galway afaik - it is where he lives and works.

But it's always nice to read fairy tales on a Friday afternoon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

awww snap! Oh no you didn't....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Dav wrote: »
    But it's always nice to read fairy tales on a Friday afternoon...

Unless people are actually going round saying "I'm Tom Murphy/John Breslin, I made Boards.ie" in the hopes of a few free pints.

They didn't ask to borrow the car while they were at it, did they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

No car? That settles it. I've met them both and they don't want no scrubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

I was at Tom's house last night, we were finishing the construction of a digs for my new tortoise. He doesn't need spare beds or anything like that given he's from Dublin, owns a house in Dublin, has family and friend in Dublin...
    Didn't know tortoises were on the property ladder now :pac:

Seriously though, was the digs for winter hibernation or perhaps a summer outhouse for next year?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I have to say, I'm a little bit disappointed with this thread...

Thought it was going to end up being a couple of lads form a huge rock band or some hollywood film actor

I was expecting a rugby threesome type story.

Thread disappoints :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

I am in Galway? Ask him so. We were in The Kings Head, The Front Door, The Spanish Arch Hotel, The Quays, Buskers and finished up in The Dew Drop.

Sorry that you had a boring night with King Breso but don't urinate on me while I'm asleep please, thank you.

My apologies. Well then if you were in Galway, with Tom and John, who was the guy who looks like Tom, sounds like Tom, has the keys to Tom's house, is minding Tom's dog and let me use all Tom's powertools in his shed? :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

My apologies. Well then if you were in Galway, with Tom and John, who was the guy who looks like Tom, sounds like Tom, has the keys to Tom's house, is minding Tom's dog and let me use all Tom's powertools in his shed? :eek:

I read that not in the way it was intended adding in on Tom inappropriately

Sorry Dav :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

So.

Where did the bad man touch you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Last night I was in bed with Miley Cyrus and Sinead. Got sick in my mouth and that woke me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 stirwell

I saw barry from fair city in aldi once.. best day of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Seeing as Johnny B was one of my lecturers for the past 2 years in NUIG I have my doubts he would need somewhere to stay over in Galway. Worst case scenario he can sleep in his office in the college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

There are some genuinely unhinged people in this country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 100 ✭✭JBTM

There are some genuinely unhinged people in this country

+1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I believe this geezer

Seems legit

Mod power granted

Specialun wrote: »
    I believe this geezer

Seems legit

Mod power granted

Thank you, take care x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

How did you recognise them??

I recognised the names, not the faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

and suggested I become at least a Mod instantaneously.
    Seachmall wrote: »
    Bullshit.

It's a well known fact that nobody invites DeVore home and lives to tell the tale.

Since he got the offer to become a mod I suspect he went for option B, the brown option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur.

Jesus man. At least lie about banging a young woman.